Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 18th August 2019 - 11:15:10

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Fruit Juices > Aroha Sparkling Rhubarb review

« Close to the Wind reviewClose to the WindAroha Sparkling Feijoa reviewAroha Sparkling Feijoa »

Score: 8.0/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6773 - Aroha Sparkling Rhubarb
Brand / Manufacturer: Aroha Drinks

Aroha Sparkling Rhubarb
Price:
$3.20
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Aroha Drinks

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Aroha Sparkling Rhubarb product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur Rhubarb Sparkling has proven such a hit we keep having to expand our Rhubarb patch. The sheep haven't made much fuss about their paddock getting smaller but our customers keep asking for more. When they start bleating as much as our customers we will have to find a bigger field for them.

Check out Aroha Drinks onlineClick here to see all the listings for Aroha Drinks Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
juice   nzmade   rhubarb   sparkling
Other listings you may be interested in:
PortPort
Rating: 8.8
Aroha Apple and Pear JuiceAroha Apple and Pear Juice
Rating: 9.1
Nature's Energy : Supa ShakeNature's Energy : Supa Shake
Rating: 5.0
Aroha Sparkling FeijoaAroha Sparkling Feijoa
Rating: 9.0
Aqua Shot active water : MandarinAqua Shot active water : Mandarin
Rating: 8.1
Aroha Ginger and Honey Cordial with LemonAroha Ginger and Honey Cordial with Lemon
Rating: 9.6
JuiciesJuicies
Rating: 9.7
Old Mout BoysenciderOld Mout Boysencider
Rating: 9.2
Nekta Liquid Kiwifruit with Aloe VeraNekta Liquid Kiwifruit with Aloe Vera
Rating: 9.0
Aroha Sauvingnon Blanc and SaffronAroha Sauvingnon Blanc and Saffron
Rating: 7.9
Aroha Gooseberry CordialAroha Gooseberry Cordial
Rating: 8.2
Cafe LatteCafe Latte
Rating: 10.0
SuperchocSuperchoc
Rating: 8.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 21st of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 5 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I was really excited to see a rhubarb flavoured drink as it's something I've not seen before and I absolutely love rhubarb, so was keen to try it. When it comes to flavoured waters though, I tend to be a bit wary that the flavour would be too insipid and so I was pleasantly surprised that this is not too watery and it has a good strength of flavour.

Hubby and I both tested this and his first comment was "very mild" and that he didn't particularly like it. I can't say I loved it either and I think it's because I was expecting something tart and refreshing, but it seems the sweet elderflower overpowers the taste. I can just detect the rhubarb if I really think about it, but I don't think I would have picked rhubarb flavour at all if I hadn't known in advance. I guess this is great news for those that don't love rhubarb as much as me!

Although I drank this cold, I had one sip and decided ice would help so added some at this point. By now I did have a lovely refreshing drink, but I can't say it's one I'd be keen to try again. It's not that there's anything drastically wrong with it, but it just wasn't what I was expecting. I love that there are new and exciting drink flavours out there for us to try now, and this might suit some, but sadly it's not really for hubby and I. Price is on point for what I'd expect for a speciality bottle of drink like this.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 4th of January, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Ok I adore rhubarb, have done so since I was little. I do admit though that I am not a huge fan of flavoured water. In fact I find the concept of flavoured waters to be kind of wrong. But as this is a sparkling water, then I am ok with giving it a try. This one is a combination of rhubarb juice and elderflower. I am ignorant when it comes to knowing what elderflower is, but a quick google search tells me that elderflower comes from the potentially toxic elder plant 'interesting'.

From what I have read elderflower is a sweet drink, whereas rhubarb has always been, to me, very tart. I assume that it is the elderflower addition to this drink that gives it the sweet taste, as I did expect the drink to be quite tart so was surprised that it was not. Upon opening the bottle I was met with a very delightful and tasty smell. However the smell is stronger than the actual taste. I wa really surprised to find that the flavour was extremely mild. So mild in fact it was almost non existant. I actually was quite dissapointed in the lack of flavour but in saying that I found it quite a refreshing and enjoying drink, especially nicely chilled on a hot day.

Although I would have preferred a much stronger flavour I did enjoy this and would purchase it again in the future. :)

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 29th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have tried a few of the Aroha drinks range and have been meaning to try the sparkling Rhubarb. When it arrived I was so keen to try it I stuck it straight in the freezer so it could chill in a hurry. Once it was ready I cracked it up and the first thing that hit me was the lovely smell. While it didn't remind me of rhubarb just from the smell it was a lovely sweet inviting smell. On first taste I didn't get the hit that I was expecting it tasted more like a sweet sparkling water. I did however notice a little bit of sediment on the bottom so I gave it a little swirl around before taking the next taste. This time I did find a little more flavour to it and could pick up hints of both rhubarb and elder flower.

I found it went down very quickly and was very refreshing, it has just the right about of fizz. I could easily see it becoming my drink of choice on a hot summers day. As soon as I finished the bottle I started thinking how nice it would be as a jelly. So off I went to the local cafe to get a second bottle and I whipped it up as a jelly, As it was setting I spied the apple juice I had in the fridge so decided to make one of my favourite combos and whipped together an apple jelly to layer on the top. The results one very light and refreshing summer dessert! It's safe to say I will be buying the sparkling rhubarb again both for drinking and for making into a dessert.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 27th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Thinking back on it, I can't remember ever eating rhubarb on it's own; apple and rhubarb, strawberry and rhubarb, raspberries and rhubarb. When I opened this product and took my first swig, I was hit by the realisation that I don't really know what rhubarb tastes like. The beverage tasted like none I had ever tried before. Scanning the ingredients, I locked onto the flavour that was the most noticeable; the elderflower nectar. Elderflower provides the prominent flavour in this drink, and I really can't put my finger on whether the rhubarb has any real role beyond affecting the colour.

On a side note, when I poured the drink out into the glass, there was some pink sediment in the bottom of the bottle. I didn't see anywhere on the bottle that mentioned it, but gently upturning the bottle to mix the sediment back into the drink before pouring or drinking, is probably best.

But I'm not really disappointed by the lack of "noticeable" rhubarb. The rhubarb label got me curious enough to try the drink, and I certainly don't regret it. It was a lovely, light beverage. Not too highly carbonated, so it went down smoothly. Very slightly sweet aroma that lingers on the breath after ingesting. I hope to see it in some slightly larger vessels, as I still had some cravings after the bottle was finished. Quite possibly one of my favourite non-alcoholic beverages that I have tried in a long time. I would certainly buy it again, and hope to see it food establishments in the future, providing an alternative to the usual unhealthy fizzy drinks.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 22nd of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have enjoyed being introduced to a new brand of non-alcoholic drinks. I like to spoil myself with different non-alcoholic drinks at BBQ's when I am driving. When I saw the flavour of this drink I was interested in how this could taste. I love rhubarb however know how much sugar you need to put in to take just some of the tart taste away. I was happily surprised to see that Aroha has used a combination of both cane sugar and stevia to sweeten this drink.

On opening this bottle it was obvious that this was a sparkling drink but not too fizzy like some drinks can be. There was no distinctive tart smell too it. On the first mouthful I had to really try and taste the flavour as found the sweetness (although not that sweet) over took the rhubarb taste. After a couple of mouthfuls however you could get a slight taste of the rhubarb and the accompanying elderflower nectar.

The labelling on this bottle was very eye catching and gave you the real feel that everything was natural and that a lot of love/aroha had gone into the making of this drink.

Although this drink did not have the strong rhubarb flavour I was expecting it was still pleasant to drink. I will be looking out for this in future as feel it will be well received on a hot summer day and a reasonable price.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 6th of December, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 3 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

I was so excited when I saw a rhubarb flavoured drink becoming available for request and couldn't wait to try it when I saw it pop up in my bag of request goodies. I have many fond memories of enjoying rhubarb throughout my childhood due to the massive rhubarb patch that we used to have growing in our garden, which always seemed to be overtaking everything else growing around it, no matter how much of it we tried to eat away. Rhubarb was something that we often enjoyed over our breakfast cereal in the mornings, stirred through yoghurt and best of all stewed with apples to make a super tasty dessert. These days rhubarb sadly is not something I have often as it's not the cheapest thing to buy at the shops, so I really couldn't wait until my drink had chilled enough to enjoy.

Opening up the bottle there was a good amount of fizz to the drink, though not a lot of smell. With my first few sips of the drink I knew that I was to become sadly disappointed with the drink which did not live up to what I had hyped myself up to thinking it would be like. The sparkling rhubarb drink was in fact sparkling, but it tasted more like sparkling water than it did rhubarb, there was a very faint taste to it but definetely it wasn't like the tart taste that you do expect from that of rhubarb, it was an ok drink but not what I was expecting, giving 2 other people a taste of the drink, there reviews on it were the same as mine "it just tastes like fizzy water, with a little bit of sugar mixed in".

Reading the label I noted that the water used in the drink is elder flower mineral water, and I decided that perhaps this was what the taste was that I had experienced (though with not having tasted elder flower before I couldn't be sure). The drink would be refreshing on a hot day, but I would prefer it had a lot more flavour to it, and perhaps a more distinctive taste than it does. The label is very well presented with eye-catching fonts and a picture of rhubarb and states it is made in New Zealand which is always a bonus when buying products in my books.

Sadly I have to say though this drink did have a light refreshing drink to it, I wouldn't go out of my way and buy it if I was to come across it in the shops.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 5.0
Product reviews for listing 585: Nature's Energy : Supa Shake -  Brand : Natures Energy

Product image for Nature's Energy : Supa ShakeShake it for 15 seconds and it's ready to drink! A while-you-wait milkshake.

Available flavours: Chocolate, Banana, Strawberry.

Manufactured by: Mainland Products Ltd.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I'm tired of all this nonsense about beauty being only skin-deep. That's deep enough. What do you want, an adorable pancreas?"
Jean Kerr

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream