Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 19th November 2019 - 20:09:39

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-In review

« Dead Sight reviewDead SightTombquest #3: Valley of Kings reviewTombquest #3: Valley of Kings »

Score: 9.6/10  [2 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6672 - Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-In
Author: James Dashner

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-In
Price:
$18.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
September 2015

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Movie Tie-In product reviews

The second book in the Maze Runner series that is soon to be a motion picture, hitting theaters September 18, 2015. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. This special movie tie-in hardcover edition features an eight-page full-color insert with photos from the film.

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.
Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WCKD isn't done yet. Phase Two has just begun - The Scorch.

There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die. The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch-the most burned-out section of the world. And WCKD has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them. Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers' destruction - and they're determined to survive.

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
fiction   james dashner   maze runner   movie   paperback   scholastic   sequel
Other listings you may be interested in:
Magic in the BloodMagic in the Blood
Rating: 9.8
There Was An Old Woman Who Swallowed A WetaThere Was An Old Woman Who Swallowed A Weta
Rating: 8.8
Klutz - Mix & Match DrawingKlutz - Mix & Match Drawing
Rating: 9.6
The Amazing Spider-Man vs MysterioThe Amazing Spider-Man vs Mysterio
Rating: 9.3
The Song of the Ship RatThe Song of the Ship Rat
Rating: 8.9
The Wheels on the Bus - a Sound and Action bookThe Wheels on the Bus - a Sound and Action book
Rating: 9.3
Wombat StewWombat Stew
Rating: 9.3
Slow Food Fast - Quick to Prepare Slow Cooker recipesSlow Food Fast - Quick to Prepare Slow Cooker recipes
Rating: 8.5
Thea Stilton Special Edition # 4: The Cloud CastleThea Stilton Special Edition # 4: The Cloud Castle
Rating: 9.9
Pig the WinnerPig the Winner
Rating: 9.8
Bloodtree Chronicles #3: ThatchthorpeBloodtree Chronicles #3: Thatchthorpe
Rating: 9.8
The Kiwi Hokey Tokey - Board Book EditionThe Kiwi Hokey Tokey - Board Book Edition
Rating: 10.0
Lily the Littlest Angel 3: Lily Goes Skitter SkatingLily the Littlest Angel 3: Lily Goes Skitter Skating
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 6th of March, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I really enjoyed the first film and was eager to read this young adult book to see if it was going to be as good as the first one. Generally books are better in my opinion! This is on par with the film and really extended on the dark dystopian theme that runs through. This theme when analysed is rather depressing, who wants to think of corrupt governments. This idea is quiet sophisticated and clever and it left me with wanting more answers!

This series is aimed for teenagers, and you could liken it to the hunger game series. I prefer this as it leaves you guessing more and is more of a brain game! Thomas is a captivating hero and his compassion along the journey keeps you reaching for more. However his sleeping / passing out did get annoying and tedious even in the end!

The journey into the outside world, which is more intense in most aspects than the maze itself allows this book to stand on its own. The books is filled with fast paced action and the threat of Zombies is a must for any dystopian teen read. At times, this seemed ā˜tokenā ™ almost as though it was written because that is what the reader will expect. However I need to keep in mind it is a teen book!

Overall, I really enjoyed this and have it on the book shelf at work for others to enjoy. It is lovely to read the book then watch the film and see the book ā˜come to lifeā ™. It is great value and I would recommend to anyone who has a slight interest in Dystopian themes, or is looking to try something new.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 26th of November, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I can see why the Maze Runner series has such a cult following. This book definitely is a page turner. It was such a thrilling ride that engulfed me entirely. There were moments where I was so involved with the book I had no idea what was happening around me. Although a tad confused in places as have only watched the first movie which it turns is nothing I am assuming like the book.

I feel I do need to read the first book to give the answers I really require. There are brief explanations through out the book which still confuse me. Basically the sun sent out some dangerous flares which fried half the world around the equator. At the same time a deadly viris was released called the flare from what I can decipher the maze was set up to help save man kind. Why? I still don't get that part but for some reason these kids are all very special and hold the key to saving everyone. After escaping the maze they are informed they all have the flare and have two weeks to reach a destination and receive the cure.

Although, I still have a lot of questions still I really enjoyed this book and am interested in reading the rest. I hated the Maze Runner movie and by the end of it I had given up on it and didn't fully listen to the end explanation instead I asked my husband once it had finished and he also was at a loss. When I saw this up for a review I assumed all my questions would be answered and I would know exactly what is going on - wrong!

The chapters are so incredibly random. A new chapter starts when it did not have to. The chapters ranged from 2 pages up to about 10 maximum. I don't beleive this was necessary, however with 360 pages to read you feel like you are accomplishing a lot when you finish yet another chapter. It is a very easy read with a lot of action.

The only thing that really annoyed me, besides more questions then answers, was the swearing or rather lack of it. They used other words instead, I am assuming, because it is a kids book you can't go around dropping the f bomb - instead using words like shuck and klunk Also there are terms used for various people and things which where not explained very well but I am guessing that would of been answered in the first book.

Overall I really did enjoy the writing and the pace of the story. Got a little tedious and drawn out in places but when the action started you raced along with Thomas and the rest of the boys from Group A and the Girls from Group B. A really enjoyable read.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 684: The Desert Road
Written by Megan Hutching

Product image for The Desert RoadNeutral Egypt was never meant to be a New Zealand battlefield. Kiwi troops arrived expecting a short stay before continuing to France. Mussolini had other ideas.

For the New Zealanders, the campaign became their longest and most important land engagement of the war.

Fought amidst swirling sandstorms, torrid temperatures and debilitating diseases, the North African campaign tested the resolve of soldiers and medics alike. ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Consider the postage stamp: its usefulness consists in the ability to stick to one thing till it gets there."
Josh Billings (1818 - 1885)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream