Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 16th October 2019 - 12:38:24

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Thomas and Rose #5 - Nashi Pear and Passionfruit review

« People, Places, Things reviewPeople, Places, ThingsHarvest Scrumpy Cider with Lemon reviewHarvest Scrumpy Cider with Lemon »

Score: 9.6/10  [9 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6602 - Thomas and Rose #5 - Nashi Pear and Passionfruit
Brewed by: The Harvest Cidery

Thomas and Rose #5 - Nashi Pear and Passionfruit
Price:
$4.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Harvest Cidery

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Thomas and Rose #5 - Nashi Pear and Passionfruit product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsCrisp juicy Nashi Pear blended with a subtle hint of passionfruit is a match made in heaven. Our latest combination is light and refreshing and is sure to impress. Best enjoyed chilled, over ice.

Check out Harvest Cidery onlineClick here to see all the listings for Harvest Cidery They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
apple   cider   nashi   passionfruit   pear   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Monteiths Crushed Pear CiderMonteiths Crushed Pear Cider
Rating: 8.6
Thomas and Rose #1 - Strawberry and LimeThomas and Rose #1 - Strawberry and Lime
Rating: 9.6
Pete's Natural - KolaPete's Natural - Kola
Rating: 9.6
Export CitrusExport Citrus
Rating: 8.1
Swim Caffeinated Vodka SodaSwim Caffeinated Vodka Soda
Rating: 6.3
Lite Lemon, Lime & BittersLite Lemon, Lime & Bitters
Rating: 9.4
Thomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger CiderThomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider
Rating: 9.1
H2 Coco Pure Coconut Water - Pineapple H2 Coco Pure Coconut Water - Pineapple 
Rating: 7.8
Thomas and Rose #4 - Watermelon and Cucumber CiderThomas and Rose #4 - Watermelon and Cucumber Cider
Rating: 9.3
Diet Snapple - Raspberry TeaDiet Snapple - Raspberry Tea
Rating: 8.9
Thomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry CiderThomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry Cider
Rating: 9.5
Slimmer's DelightSlimmer's Delight
Rating: 9.3
Libero ChiantiLibero Chianti
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 13th of October, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love fruit ciders and so far Thomas and Rose are yet to create a flavour combination I don't like. The fruity and refreshing nashi pear and passion fruit in this make it very pleasant and very easy to drink. I loved the combination and served chilled over ice this made a very refreshing drink that I could see myself drinking more if over the upcoming summer months.

See these drinks are perfect for summer bbqs and two of these is all I need as they are a good size and each bottle contains a couple of glasses not just the one. Being a relatively low alcohol content they are appealing to me to drink because I am not a big drinker. However as they are so easy to drink (taste like fruit juice) I can see how you would definitely have to drink in moderation as they could quite easily sneak up on you.

These would make an ideal base to fruity cocktails or punch bowls but even just alone they are great and I am definitely going to buy more! My partner wasn't a fan but he is generally a beer drinker and this was a little too sweet for him. I though think that the sweetness is spot on as its not sickly sweet and is enjoyable to drink. For this reason I would say I could make it a favorite drink.

Although this wasn't my favorite of the Thomas and Rose range its a strong contender but its more exciting to have a couple of flavors so I would probably buy this and the Strawberry and Lime and have a couple of drinks of different flavors to change it up a bit. These are great value for money so totally affordable to have a couple when you are in that mood?

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 11th of October, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I got this cider to review just before school holidays and with the frantic pace that comes with having two girls at home and then planning a 10th birthday during this time, I was remiss in actually tasting the cider! Come a lovely sunny day, and having just finished mowing the lawns, I duly went on the hunt for a refreshing drink, thankfully I spotted this cider and quickly poured myself a glass over ice and sat on my deck to enjoy a long awaited taste.

The cider has just a wonderful smooth taste, the nashi pear and passionfruit is a genius mix, sweet but not too sweet and it was just what I was looking for after a hard days work working tidying our section. I really liked that the cider wasn't over carbonated, which made it very drinkable.

My husband also tried the cider and after realising that his wife who was singing the praises of the drink and she was actually right (go figure), he asked me where we could buy more from. I wasn't sure, so I called the local Liquorland, unfortunately they didn't, so I visited the Thomas & Rose webpage which directed me to New World, Pak n Save and Four Square. So we went down to the local supermarket and bought some more, much to my delight.

Overall I would definitely recommend this cider to all who of course if of age to drink it, it really is so moreish.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 25th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Portion size only gets a 9/10 because it wasn't enough! This was one of the most more'ish ciders I have ever tasted, and this bottle triggered a craving in me for way more... to the point I did something I haven't done in years - I went and bought a case of it! I don't normally buy a case of anything.

The flavour was smooth and mellow, just sweet enough to offset the usual acidity of cider that makes it so distinctive. As soon as I raised it to my lips, I caught definite hints of the passionfruit, and the first sip confirmed those and the very characteristic mid-tones of Nashi as a base. I was hooked, from that first sip.

As a drink, this would be a hit with anyone at the family BBQ, and the only shame is that the kids won't get to try it. At least, one can hope not, because they will love it too, and not even notice the alcohol content until it was way, way too late for their little bodies. With that in mind, I wanted to experiment a little, so I poured about half a bottle into a saucepan and warmed it gently for a few minutes. I was able to smell the alcoholic components vaporising, and I was left with a non-alcoholic version. However, as much as that would be safe to give the kids, it also changed the flavours of the drink, making it a lot less desirable... so, that was a dud result.

Using this as a base for a cocktail could be good - I'll leave that to more experienced bartenders though, because I am not a cocktail drinker. A youthful encounter with an over-charged "Flaming Lamborghini" removed a lot of my love for that style of drinks... along with a decent chunk of my fringe and most of one eyebrow.

Overall, I am a huge fan of this drink. However, I have made the hard decision to leave the rest of the case in storage for warmer weather, because I really think the best time for this drink will be on a warm evening after a stinking hot day, sitting beside the BBQ cooking sausages and bacon on the grill. Of the five flavours now in the "Thomas & Rose" range, this IS my #1!

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 24th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My wife simply adores Nashi Pears and enjoys a good passion fruit flavored item so I knew that this was a must try cider combination for the two of us. So far I haven't tried any cider in the Thomas and Rose brand and not liked it, all have been a hit in our household (even my mother in law gets to try some with us). I like the label design, it flows well and it makes it easy to spot on the shelf and recognize the brand. This is a small bottle but I was able to give both my wife, my mother in law and myself a serving of this lovely drink.

We all agreed that we could smell the nashi pear straight away with just a subtle hint of the passion fruit hiding behind it. My mother in law said that it had a lovely flavor to it, reminiscent to the sparkling grape juice that we buy at Christmas time. I liked the drink though would have been happier with a smaller serving size, I let my wife finish off what I didn't have. My wife really enjoyed it and says she could have easily had the whole bottle to herself, so I think this will be a good one to get her to enjoy on her own.

Another good cider from a great brand name.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 23rd of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I like Thomas and Rose brand cider as a brand. I find that they don't follow the usual stereotypical flavours. So having a flavour that includes passionfruit and nashi pear piqued my interest. Thomas and Rose is a New Zealand alternative that effectively fills the niche that is otherwise filled by Rekorderlig ciders.

The beverage itself is very enjoyable. The upon opening the bottle, the aroma is instantly prevalent. A strong pear scent. The cider itself is quite yellow in colour (more vibrant than the Appletiser beverage), and has medium carbonation. The flavour is smooth. Even taking small sips at a time, the bottle was finished within half an hour. Unlike most other ciders, which have a very strong apple flavour, this beverage tastes strongly of pear and passionfruit.

The flavour itself isn't too strong though. It has a fine balance between flavour and alcohol content, providing a very light beverage. While I can't say for certain, the flavour seems to feel less "sugary" than that of Rekorderlig cider, and lacks any sharpness or tartness that you would find in Scrumpy ciders.

I like the size of the bottle; 500mL and only 4.0% alcohol, this product is a very good drink to be able to enjoy a good amount of the beverage without having to worry about too much alcohol. I was a little disappointed to see a lack of an ingredient list; with a full flavour, one will often be a little concerned with the ingredients and sugar content. Even the website lacks any information regarding what is used in the beverage. The price is pretty average for a sweet, full flavoured cider, but still slightly on the high side for a drink I could see myself drinking a lot of.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 20th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am not a drinker and seldom ever do indulge but after three days of moving my mother and dealing with a whole range of emotions I just needed to unwind. My husband suggested I have a sip of this to see if I liked it. He poured a cup and I looked at it and instantly thought 'it looks just like a shandy'. He took a sip and went 'wow this is so smooth and so easy to digest' and insisted I take a sip. Smelling it first it was devine so sweet and definitely smelt of passionfruit. I took a sip and instantly asked for a glass.

This is really easy to drink, it has a fantastic taste and no yucky after taste. I was just taking regular gulps/normal drinking and found that I was rather disappointed after I had finished my glass to find that the bottle was empty. I could easily find myself drinking this on a regular occasion. It doesn't feel like alchol and it was just so pleasant tasting, definitely the sort of drink you could see yourself having on a nice summers nice out on the deck.

My husband was concerned that it was either going to be over powered by the Nashi Pear or the Passionfruit but it was perfectly balanced in the centre. It wasn't to sweet and hits the spot perfectly. For the price this will definitely be having a place in our fridge. I found I really enjoyed it and hit the spot perfectly.

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 15th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I'm a big fan of Thomas & Rose cider after trying a couple of their other blends and I was really excited to try their newest flavour combination as nashi pears are one of my favourite fruits. The bottle clearly states that it is an Apple cider with added Nashi pear and Passionfruit but I was not disappointed, this product is absolutely divine - crisp, sweet and refreshing, smooth and fruity with just the right amount of sparkle. I was pleasantly surprised as I'm not a big fan of passionfruit but Thomas & Rose have got their blend just right.

It comes in a 500ml bottle (1.6 standard drinks) which I reluctantly split with my partner - he could really taste the passionfruit where I was tasting more of the sweet apple and pear. The labelling is simple yet striking and has a recycled feel to it and as far as price goes it is on par with other similar products.

I like my cider sweet so for me this product was spot on. It would make the perfect summer beverage for an after work drink or for sharing with family and friends - another top quality product from Thomas & Rose.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 14th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have tried every flavour in the Thomas & Rose range so I was thrilled to see a new flavour being released. This is number 5 in the range, and comes in a 500 ml bottle. The bottle is made of brown glass which is generally better for the contents as it reduces the UV that can affect beverages. The label has a matt almost recycled feel to it and the beautiful watercolour splotch motif. The colours mixed on the label are perfect for representing Nashi Pear and Passionfruit.

I split this bottle of cider between myself and my husband. Now this cider is an apple cider with the flavours of Nashi Pear and Passionfruit in the mix too. The ingredients list makes it unclear if the flavours are achieved through fruit juice, fruit concentrate or flavouring. However, before the glass even got to my nose I could smell the pear. I mean, this pear aroma hit us both in the face! It is also the clear first flavour of this cider, which then finishes on a passionfruit taste.

Because of the boldness of the flavours in this cider, we did question whether what we had was a flavoured cider or a cider made of the fruit themselves. One thing I generally notice with other pear ciders is that you hardly taste the pear at all. Pear is a really subtle flavour and is often overpowered by the taste of the alcohol in a cider. So as far as making those flavours pop, this drink definitely achieved it.

Price-wise, it is in line with other ciders in this style and I would definitely pay that price for a bottle or two of cider if I was going to a picnic or BBQ event. The bottle size is perfect for me to have one drink with a friend or two drinks if I am out and enjoying some spring/summer weather. For us, this flavour was probably a bit on the sweet side. But I think that Thomas & Rose should get a big tick for getting the pear taste to really pop the way they have.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 10th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The most AMAZING cider ever!!! When I saw that the Thomas and Rose Fine Fruit Cider Nashi Pear and Passion fruit cider was available for review I jumped at the chance to apply for it in my next review package. So when I picked up my package of goodies today I was happy to see this sitting amongst a variety of other products. Upon returning home I popped my bottle of cider in the fridge to chill while I prepared dinner, by the time I had dinner ready the cider was perfectly chilled and ready to enjoy.

I have tried many ciders before from various different manufacturers, but I have to admit that this was the first time that I had heard of Thomas and Rose Fine Fruit Ciders, some ciders I have tried in the past have a very strong cidery taste to them that in my books is a bit to over powering and takes away the beautiful fruity flavours that a cider should have, so upon opening my bottle I was hoping that this wasn't going to be the case. I can happily say that this was very far from being the case, this was honestly and by far the most amazing tasting cider that I have ever tasted before! Will be great served over ice on those hot summer days we have to look forward to.

My first initial sip of the Nashi pear and Passion fruit Cider I thought reminded me of sparkling apple juice which my family sometimes has at Christmas, it seemed to have a very sweet apple taste and the same amount of bubbles (which wasn't to many) as I remember having in sparkling apple juice. In my next sip I took a bit more time to allow the flavors to develop in my mouth and I could really taste the Nashi Pear, the Passion fruit not so much, although it was there it wasn't very strong, as was the pear and apple. I love Passion fruit and Pears so this was definetely a great flavour combination for me, with the flavours working together really really well, with the perfect amount of sweetness, it certainly wasn't a tart tasting cider which is what I really enjoyed about it. On the back of the bottle it reads "We went exploring for the perfect fruit combinations..." they got it spot on in this little bottle of heaven.

The cider is also made from New Zealand ingredients as well as imported ingredients which to me is important as I do like to support New Zealand products when I can. The bottle is of a generous size 500ml which is the equivalent to 1.6 standard drinks. If you are after a super tasty and sweet cider full of flavour I definitely recommend you go out and buy this, I know I will be keeping an eye out for this at my local supermarket next time I'm there, I can't wait to see what other yummy flavour combinations they have available in their range!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 7787: Basilur Vintage Style Tea - Christmas Tree -  Brand / Manufactured by: Basilur Tea

Product image for Basilur Vintage Style Tea - Christmas Tree85g of Green loose/leaf tea with natural apple, cherry, cornflower, mango and passionfruit flavours.

Packed into a foil resealable bag to preserve freshness.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"You know you've read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend"
Paul Sweeney

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream