Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 20th August 2019 - 02:37:53

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Jelly Tip Chocolate Block review

« David Attenborough's Rise of the Animals: Triumph of the Vertebrates reviewDavid Attenborough's Rise of the Animals: Triumph of the VertebratesMinions reviewMinions »

Score: 8.6/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6531 - Jelly Tip Chocolate Block
Manufactured by Whittakers

Jelly Tip Chocolate Block
Price:
$4.69
Available:
Now for a limited time

Jelly Tip Chocolate Block product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsNEW, limited edition Whittakers Jelly Tip Chocolate.

Whittaker's have teamed up with New Zealand's favourite ice cream makers Tip Top to create Whittakers Jelly Tip Chocolate.

Be quick! It won't be around for long!

Avaliable for a very limited time!



Tags:
chocolate   jelly tip   tip top   whittakers   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
18 Below Blueberries18 Below Blueberries
Rating: 9.5
Sealord Tuna Pockets - Lemon Sesame and GingerSealord Tuna Pockets - Lemon Sesame and Ginger
Rating: 9.3
Pita PitPita Pit
Rating: 10.0
Alexandra's Rice Pudding - Sticky Date & GingerAlexandra's Rice Pudding - Sticky Date & Ginger
Rating: 9.0
Rings Around Uranus (low gluten)Rings Around Uranus (low gluten)
Rating: 8.5
Box OfficeBox Office
Rating: 9.5
Peanut MarblePeanut Marble
Rating: 9.4
Top Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' SaltyTop Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' Salty
Rating: 9.3
Dr. Oetker Easy Icing - BlueDr. Oetker Easy Icing - Blue
Rating: 8.8
Dad's Pies - Pepper SteakDad's Pies - Pepper Steak
Rating: 9.2
Down to Earth Organic Chutney - GarlicDown to Earth Organic Chutney - Garlic
Rating: 9.0
House of Dumplings - Vegan TreatsHouse of Dumplings - Vegan Treats
Rating: 8.8
Meyer Tasty GoudaMeyer Tasty Gouda
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of spud

Review by: spud (Matt)
Dated: 3rd of May, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I recently got given a block of this for my birthday and seeing it was a shock. I was a little unsure about how this chocolate would taste, given that it was based off a popular ice cream. I love Jelly Tip Ice Creams and was hoping to have the same result with this chocolate but even after the first few pieces I was still unsure.

The chocolate didn't taste like chocolate to me, and seemed to me like a mediocre attempt at making more money through an already well established brand. I didn't like the runny jelly, as to me jelly should always be solid. I felt like the taste of the Jelly inside was too different to the Jelly Tip ice cream I'm familiar with, but still managed to overpower the flavour of the chocolate.

I asked a friend what they thought of it, and they said they preferred it frozen. I thought they were crazy at first, but I decided to try it. After freezing it, I actually preferred how it tasted. Although it still wasn't perfect, it definitely bumped up my rating of it from about a 3.5 to 6. The Jelly texture was nicer frozen (rather than being runny), however the odd taste, and the lack of chocolate flavour was still present.

Although I didn't like this chocolate, I can see how people would. I would recommend giving this a try (especially since it's only limited) and seeing if you like it. Hopefully you enjoy it more than me!

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 30th of November, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

You know those moments when there is so much hype surrounding a new product, that you don't want to try it for fear that it will just be a let down. Yeah that is me! I'm that person, whether it is food, a book, a movie....I am often the last to try or taste, and to be honest am often let down because the hype destroyed expectation.

Well that happenned with the Jelly Tip chocolate. Growing up, Jelly Tip was my all time favourite icecream block followed by Raspberry Popsicle lol So obviously when it was released there was going to be a jelly tip choc I felt quite excited. I like those wee nostalgic moments that remind you of growing up in nz. Obviously everybody liked jelly tip because omg the hype...

Seriously, Kiwis went crazy. Notas crazy as the choc milk phenomena but may as well been. The chocate was selling out fast and so were the biscuits. I hadnt bothered trying to get any as didn't wanna succumb and be a sheep, as much as I wanted too. I admit I also did not realise it was' for a limited time'. Then oneday...hubby brought me home some :)

The packaging instantly reminded me of my childhood and I instantly wanted icecream lol I opened it up and could smell the devine smell that is cocoa and sugar lol but with a hint of jelly. I broke off a piece. The chocolate was good (but then when is it not good lol). The jelly centre smooth and velvety. A lovely combination but just not the same. I popped it in the freezer. Good decision. I much prefer it chilled. Perhaps its closer to the actual icecream being in freezer lol but defo nicer chilled then room temp and defo not so great slightly soft either. Its a nice choc but for me, it didn't live up to the hype.

Click here to read the profile of poppyjade

Review by: poppyjade (Cushla)
Dated: 6th of October, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

What a delicious treat to come across, not sure if this is a good thing that it is limited edition or not, it is the sort of flavour that wants you wanting more especially if you are a Giant Jelly Tip lover like I am and also a chocolate eater from way back.

Huge supporter of NZ companies and this is two brilliant iconic companies that have had a collision together and made something absolutely delicious. If you are not a jelly tip fan then I suggest you try this straight off the shelf as it takes like jelly without the creamyness of the giant jelly tip. If you are huge fan of the Giant Jelly tip then I strongly recommend putting this in the fridge, I tried fridge, shelf and freezer and fridge was the winner by a country mile.

The chocolate stayed fresh for a few weeks and only reason I could not eat it was we were away so it sat waiting our return. Whittakers always has great tasting and super fresh chocolate in great bite size pieces, they have kept their size chocolate for years and have not changed this. Lovely tasting, lovely freshness, traditional chocolate wrap! winner I say.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 1st of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Being a fan of the tip Top jelly tip ice creams and of Whittakers chocolate, when I came across the Jelly Tip Chocolate that was to be released on my Facebook news feed I knew I had to try this the day it came out. I certainly didn't regret buying this chocolate it was absolutely delicious .

First I had tried it straight from the packet after getting to my car and thought it tasted amazing, however it wasn't quite tasting like how I thought a jelly tip should taste, upon arriving home I decided to put it in the freezer, I had only left it there for a few hours before deciding it needed a re-sample. Let's just say this was even better this time around and the block didn't last long. A few days later I returned to my local New World where I had purchased my first block to find they had completely sold out, going across the road to Countdown I came across the same problem sold out. Silly me didn't realise it really was such a limited edition product or how popular and delicious it was going to be. Luckily my Mum living in the small town of Kaitaia was able to source me some more of this tasty treat.

The jelly that they had used in the chocolate was amazing and tasted like the real thing, unlike the jelly which had been used in the jelly tip biscuits which I had found to be quite sugary and grainy. The balance of the creamy white filling with the combination of milky chocolate and jelly was to die for, the only suggestion I would make would be the chocolate would be better if half milk and half white rather than majority being that of white chocolate. Overall it was $3.99 well spent.

I would definitely recommend to others and would suggest this be kept in the freezer, hopefully jelly tip July returns for 2016 so we can enjoy more of this tasty treat.

Click here to read the profile of gterore

Review by: gterore (Glenice)
Dated: 19th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had to buy it. It was splashed all over my facebook news feed so I had already had time to imagine what it was going to taste like. It was the first thing I saw when I stepped into our local Pak n Save and next to it was the Griffins Jelly tip biscuits. As a major fan of not only the original Jelly tip single ice creams but also the 2 litre version, I had to give it a go as soon as possible. I wish it didn't have white chocolate on it. Although I do like white chocolate I think it spoilt it a bit. The jelly bit is great. And being Whittaker's of course the milk chocolate was awesome.
Although it wasn't as awesome as I had hoped it was still yum enough for me to devour more than the recommended daily intake. I am not sure how I had thought they were going to replicate a less cold chocolatey version of vanilla ice cream but for me the white chocolate just didn't fit with the rest of it. More brown chocolate would have been better. Or maybe nougat or something.
I would recommend that others do try this product because at the end of the day it is chocolate and jelly and even though there is no ice cream, these two still make a great combination.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 14th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had seen this in the shops and debated if it would be worth it or not but finally got brave and bought some. I did share with my kids as they were looking at me with sad puppy dog eyes.

I wasn't sure what to expect as I have tried the ice cream and liked it. I did take a bite and very quickly put another square in my mouth. I don't let things melt slowly in my mouth but I did try to savor the nice smooth flavour, the chocolate and jelly compliment each other and I didn't miss the ice cream.

I know this is a limited edition chocolate but I would really like if it could be more permanent as I am fussy with chocolate, I prefer white chocolate to milk chocolate and never touch dark chocolate so to find one that tastes this good is rare. I didn't try the biscuits as I was really impressed with the chocolate. A friend said she wouldn't try it as Jelly tip is supposed to be ice cream and originally I agreed with her but after tasting the chocolate I have changed my mind.

I'm sure the kids enjoyed this as they have all asked for more.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 11th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

With only 850,000 bars made for New Zealand that had assumed it would last for a month or so but it looks like it will run out this week. Luckily the craze had hit facebook just before we went to the supermarket and when I saw a stand thought that it would be a sin not to trial it. My husband had also heard about the chocolate and being the sweety that he is also brought me home a bar.

To make it interesting we decided to make a big smorgasboard for dessert. I had purchased the Jelly Tip Biscuits, the Jelly Tip Chocolate and finally the Lewis Road Creamery Milk. Each member of the family got 2 pieces of the chocolate, a biscuit and half a cup of the milk. The room was silent as we all nibbled on the chocolate first. Looking at it its white chocolate on the top, a sliver of brown chocolate on the bottom and when you bite into its jelly. Delicious. The two girls and myself adored the chocolate where as my husband preferred the biscuit. I can not fault the chocolate.

I have to say this chocolate war between Whittaker's and Cadbury is perfect I am definitely enjoying the benefits. Either nibble at the sides and let the jelly ooze out or stick it all in your mouth and suck on it or just eat it normally the choice is yours but it really is so yummy. Even Australia is hearing about it and I have had to send my brother the Chocolate and Biscuits over to him. When he was in NZ recently for family reasons his one major request was to trial the Chocolate Milk. Long may this war continue.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 8190: Pic's Boysenberry Jelly -  Produced by Pic's Peanut Butter

Product image for Pic's Boysenberry JellyPic's Peanut Butter has met its match with our really good jelly.

What are the peanut butter makers doing messing around with berries? Making jam, that's what - but we don't call it jam because it hasn't got enough sugar. What it has got though, is boysenberries.

Glen and Maree, from Tasman Bay Berries, grow boysenberries. Lots of boysenberries. In fact, Nelson is the boysenberry centre of the Universe. ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Do married people live longer than single ones or does it only seem longer?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream