Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 21st October 2019 - 16:10:39

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Personal Hygiene > Health Basics - Opito Bay Summer Body Wash review

« Balsamic Roasted Onion and Parmesan Focaccia reviewBalsamic Roasted Onion and Parmesan FocacciaHealth Basics - Te Mata Apple Dew Body Wash reviewHealth Basics - Te Mata Apple Dew Body Wash »

Score: 9.8/10  [12 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6493 - Health Basics - Opito Bay Summer Body Wash
Brand: Health Basics

Health Basics - Opito Bay Summer Body Wash
Price:
$4.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Health Basics

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Health Basics - Opito Bay Summer Body Wash product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFresh is not just a feeling, it's also a way of thinking. It's there in the product we bring you enriched with key New Zealand plant extracts. It's there in the bright colour, look and feel of our distinctive new packaging. And it's also there in the innovative way our 400ml body wash functions with it's unique hanging rope. (You can see how the rope works here). No drip, no waste, and always within easy reach.

Harakeke: Hydrating, soothing, moisturising and healing
Manuka Honey: Antibacterial, moisturising and healing
NZ Meadowfoam Oil: Rejuvenates and moisturises
Jojoba: Rich in vitamins and minerals, natural skin barrier

The East Coast of New Zealand is one of the best places in the world to watch the sun rise. It's just you, with golden sand one side, and an infinite blue horizon the other. No distractions. This is pure inspiration for the body wash you are about to enjoy.

It's the kind of authentic, natural experience that could only be found in New Zealand.

    •  Soap Free
    •  Paraben Free
    •  Hypo-Allergenic Fragrance*
    •  Not Tested On Animals
    •  Made In, Of And For New Zealand

Check out Health Basics onlineClick here to see all the listings for Health Basics Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
body wash   harakeke   honey   jojoba   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pest Xit UltraPest Xit Ultra
Rating: 9.1
Martha Gardener Lavender Wool MixMartha Gardener Lavender Wool Mix
Rating: 10.0
Only Good - Protect Natural Hand WashOnly Good - Protect Natural Hand Wash
Rating: 9.9
Earthwise Aloe Vera ConditionerEarthwise Aloe Vera Conditioner
Rating: 9.9
Shaving SoapShaving Soap
Rating: 9.5
Wonder BroomWonder Broom
Rating: 8.9
Health Basics - Te Mata Apple Dew Body WashHealth Basics - Te Mata Apple Dew Body Wash
Rating: 9.9
Earthwise Oxygenated Whitener Lavender and EucalyptusEarthwise Oxygenated Whitener Lavender and Eucalyptus
Rating: 10.0
Protex Liquid Hand WashProtex Liquid Hand Wash
Rating: 9.3
Dishwasher Cleaner Concentrate - LemonDishwasher Cleaner Concentrate - Lemon
Rating: 9.1
Eucalyptus and Orange Laundry PowderEucalyptus and Orange Laundry Powder
Rating: 9.3
Expra Multifit Synthetic Refill 305gExpra Multifit Synthetic Refill 305g
Rating: 9.8
Soak and FloatSoak and Float
Rating: 8.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of gamerulz

Review by: gamerulz (Mike)
Dated: 12th of October, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Working on road crews, by the end of the day you stink. I don't mean you smell a bit, like you've been for a run and you smell a bit of stale sweat. If you come home and you don't smell of asphalt tar, dirt, rotten stale sweat, and god knows what else, then you didn't do a proper days work. So yeah man, at the end of my work days I make skunks run in fear. A plain shower doesnt always get the whole smell off me, especially the tar smell in my hair, and I'm not one for prissy girl shampoos and body lotions. Getting this was more of a Hail Mary Pass to try and get my missus off my back about the smell.

Surprised myself, because I actually really like this. Doesn't smell of fancy flowers or little green apples, or anything else ponsy like that. It has a sort of citrus smell and it works really well at getting rid of the road grime, and it does a pretty solid job of dealing to the tar smell in my hair too. Came home at the end of my shift on Saturday and because I had been working near the tar truck my hair was full of that petrolish smell. A good handful of this rubbed through my hair, then wash my body, then rinse my hair clean, and I stepped out of the shower without any tar smell on me that I could tell.

As soon as I stepped into the bedroom, my missus made sure to let me know she loved how I smelled, so thats the big seal of approval on this for me. At $4 a bottle, and it hangs in the shower like soap on a rope, it's manly enough I don't feel like I am doing the girly wash thing. I was really pleased at the design that stops it dripping when you pop the lid. I wouldn't risk leaving the cap open the whole time, but I know I can pop it open and won't lose a dollop onto the floor or have to dive for it with my hand to catch any. Its ready when I want it, and it stays in the bottle when I dont.

Yeah, already bought up some more bottles. Never would have tried this without KIWIreviews giving me the chance, so chur for that, eh!

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 29th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My youngest gets really bad eczema when I use chemicals on his skin as he then is in a bit of pain trying not to scratch and crying that it is itchy. I have been using the fragrance free, colour free and soap free body wash by Health Basics on him and it made bath time a lot better so when given the chance to see if he would react if adding a Hypo-Allergenic fragrance I thought it was worth trying s it can be rather difficult to find the other body wash.

I like how it can be stood upside down and the body wash doesn't leak out and that the bottle has to be squeezed first. The bottle is nice, great information printed on it and the picture is cute, I like how it has a map of New Zealand with an arrow pointing to where Opito Bay can be found. I put some in the bath like bubble bath and my son thought it was cool to have a bubble beard and I liked that he came clean while playing in the bath. I also used some on a puff and washed him off in the shower and no reaction at all, no dry or itchy skin and no tears from a little boy.

I am glad to have found a body wash I can use and not cause my son pain as he can't escape baths or showers.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 24th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was excited to be able to review this product after getting to review the apple one. I love the fact it has a handy rope so I can hang it over the shower tap or hang it up out of reach of the toddler. It is a great size for holding onto and I found it also slots into small places when it needs stored away in the bathroom cupboard.

For me the bottle is perfect. I like the fact that it can hang so all the body wash sits at the bottom of the bottle so it comes out of the container perfectly and it also means you can get out every last bit of the body wash with minimal waste. My toddler used some in the shower (with my help) and she could easily unclip the lid and squeeze it out without too much effort. Anything that is easy for a toddler to use is great in my books.

The smell was great it was a nice refreshing sweet smell. It wasn't over powering and it didn't have that horrible chemical smell that some other brands can have. I loved that when I put it on my shower puff and started rubbing it along my arms that it instantly and easily bubbled up to make a nice soft bubbly cleaner. I have quite sensitive skin and there are not many shower gels I can use without flaring up my skin. But this one along with the apple one have both been great on my skin and haven't caused any flare ups.

Thanks Health Basics for another amazing product to review. It has been added to the shopping list when we get through this bottle. Such great value!

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 24th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Opito Bay is one of my favourite places in New Zealand to visit, it's actually where my husband proposed to me so will always hold a special place in my heart. When I saw the Opito Bay Summer Body Wash up for review I just had to try it to see if it reminded me of it's namesake.

To start with, the bottle is beautifully bright and inviting, just like Summer. The yellow reminds me of the Sun, the beach and honey. The bottle had a rope attached to a hole in the top which can be removed if you wanted to place it on a shelf, since I have no where to hang things in our shower I removed the rope and placed it on a shelf. I really liked how the lid opens at the bottom to allow gravity to help all the body wash stay at the opening ready for your squeeze and there is even an anti drip valve to stop random drops falling out.

I stopped using soap quite a few years ago because it was messy and actually quite bad for my skin and since then I've tried lots of different body wash brands and scents but I tend to stick to the Vanilla and Honey scents as a personal preference. This Opito Bay Summer was soap free (always a bonus) had a very subtle scent but it seriously reminded me of good times had at Opito Bay in the Summer time - perfect for it's name if you ask me!

I lathered up my loofah with a generous amount of body wash and as I was applying it I immediately realised I'd put too much on and bubbles were everywhere! I actually see this as a good thing because 1: I love bubbles and 2: it means this bottle will go a lot further than I originally thought.

The price of the bottle is very reasonable and I will definitely be adding it to my favourite brands and scents.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 23rd of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was excited to try this product after noticing it had been given a makeover with new packaging - the bottle appealed to me straight away and aside from the obvious 'summer' in the name the yellow also reminded me of summer sunny days. I have pretty much used the same or only brand/scent of body wash for as long as I can remember for the simple fact that it doesn't flare my eczema up but after reading the description of this product I just knew I had to give it a go to review. The ingredients list certainly appealed to me and the characteristics of the ingredients are something that my skin could do with.

I love the bottle design of this body wash - the lid is at the bottom so there's never any issues getting the last drop of body wash out. It also has a string attached which means you can choose to hang your body wash up in the shower. I couldn't help but think this would be great for summer camping trips where there isn't always a shelf to put your body wash on. The smell of this body wash is for lack of a better word beautiful - it smells like summer, and is somehow calming. This mixed with the steam/heat of the shower and the lovely smooth velvety texture means that showers are such a blissful treat! I also love the way my skin feels so moisturised after a shower. Definitely couldn't ask for more in a body wash.

I am more than happy to report that I am not at all disappointed with this product - in fact I can quite happily score it a 10/10 in all area's concerned - there really is nothing I didn't like about this product nor nothing I would change. My husband, daughter and I have all used this body wash over the past week n a bit and have just loved it. At around $4 a bottle, it feels, smells and washes like it should be worth more but I am definitely not complaining as this price tag means it can feature regularly on our shopping list. Totally recommend to others to try - you wont be disappointed! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 18th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Nothing beats laying back in a bath and soaking while some luxurious lotion goes to work with its magic, this is my idea of heaven on earth. I love my baths and have at least three to four a week. I have extremely sensitive skin and have to be very careful with what I use. I also only use sensitive products on my girls so was very curious what would happen while using this product. I loved that it had a rope so after using can just hang back up.

While filling the bath the first time I took the top off and had a big smell. The first vision I had was a beautful sunny day with flowers all around me. I am not sure if that had something to do with the yellow bottle but I automatically felt relaxed and at peace. My hand had been playing up with excema and really just wanted to get in the bath and chill. I put the Body wash cream in near the end and found it left a snail trail, granted I hadn't moved any of it around. While lying in the bath it felt like spirits where all around me, but my skin was left feeling great afterwards and took a lot of the pain out of my hand.

The next night my girls had a bath and I added the lotion much earlier and mixed it around. To their delight they got bubbles and they both said they loved being in the bath. The next night it was my turn again and also gave myself a bit of a treat by making lots of bubbles. I can't say the smell is all too strong while you are in the bath and found I did not have any on my skin afterwards either, which was kinda disappointing.

I have not directly used on my skin while showering but both girls have and they had no problems with it. Again the smell was not as strong as I would of liked afterwards. But for the price we will definitely be purchasing again. I am so happy that I had no reaction and all three girls enjoyed it. Unfortunately my husband was not up to smelling like flowers and passed on the whole experience.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 18th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I don't use bars of soap as they dry up my skin far too much and I find it difficult to find a liquid body soap that isn't too expensive and doesn't affect my skin badly. Getting this, my first impression was that I really like the design on the bottle and it doesn't clutter too much whilst easily giving you all the information that you may wish for. I really like that this can hang, so I can keep it out of reach of the kids and it has to be squeezed to get any soap out which made it perfect for taking with me to the hospital, no fear of it leaking into my bag.

Using this I've washed both my skin and my hair (This works well for me) and had a good result from it, it gave my hair a great clean and didn't irritate my eyes when I got some in my eyes, which always has to be a bonus. Now for me, the most important part, how it affected my skin... No bad results from using this soap and not once did it dry out my skin which is a huge bonus. I'd love to give other soaps in this brand a go and see how they go, at $4 I could see me getting this for my own personal use.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 27th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have in the past over looked the health basics products but when I saw this come up for review the name Opito Bay Summer drew me in. I wanted to smell summer in a bottle and this truly delivered, the smell of this is amazing and was a smell I looked forward to using in my shower. In fact when other family members were showering and the smell was wafting out of the bathroom I really enjoyed it too.

The manuka honey really gives it a sweet pleasant aroma but not only that this body wash leaves your skin feeling refreshed and smelling great. It contains different ingredients like jojoba and harakeke that really cleanse the skin and give it a good condition so you hop out of the shower not only feeling clean but with soft well conditioned skin. I was a bit sad when this bottle run out so have since gone out and bought the Apple variety to give a go. I will not look past the health basics range again as these body washes are a real treat.

We regularly use shower gel over soap as it is nicer on the skin and this body wash with its natural ingredients and gentle formula is something our whole family can use even the youngest member of the household. Being soap free it doesnt irritate our 3 year olds skin which is great and we have found if you use it in the bath you can work up some bubbles like a bubble bath so he really liked that. The thing that was the biggest novelty for our 3 year old was that it has a handy little string to hang the body wash up quite a nice little addition that other body washes don't have.

We will definitely be buying this again in future shopping trips it will just become a toss up as to what fragrance to choose!!

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 22nd of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I really highly rated the Te Mata Apple flavour, I say flavour because it makes me want to eat it, like the chocolate flavoured erasers, but anyway, I did not think anything else could be that amazing until I tried the silky manuka milk called Opito Summer Bay. Wow, serious contender for my favourite body wash. Unlike the apple this product is smooth and warm and light hint spicy just for a fraction in the hot water. It creates a relaxing state through the emitted fumes and scents alone. It made my skin feel so smooth itself, not glycerine like or "grippy" as some products can do after rinsed off. Kids love it and it is not too harsh on the eyes when accidentally a little bubble got in my youngest face. Not as harsh and stinging as a more processed product might be.
It almost seems like someone turned on a tap on a beehive, extracted the contents, added some warm milk and shook it up. That is how delicious this product is. Price is excellent, container has a rope as well as a flat bottom for sitting in a rack, easy squeeze outlet which does not need as much pressure as the apple I found out when I dispensed a little too much by mistake, generous container size and did I mention excellent price point? Yes I did, but it is true.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 11th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We had been happily washing our bodies with another Health Basics body wash - their delicious apple one, when I decided to change things up in the shower the other day. So far I have had three showers and my eldest has had 2 showers with this body wash. I must say as sold as we were on the apple, this Opito Bay Summer Body Wash has seriously turned our heads.

The first time I opened the bottle, out poured this beautifully silky and creamy body wash. It was far more like a creme and felt like pure luxury on my fingers. The smell as well was just so yummy. It has a touch of that herbal, forest smell to it, but then the main scent seems to be bush style manuka honey. So sweet, and with the steam kicking those scents around, it was easy to feel very relaxed.

The first time my daughter had a shower with this body wash, she was expecting the apple gel. She was disappointed when I said it was a honey one, and muttered "oh okay, then. Let's just get it over with" to me. That attitude was quickly replaced when her hand touched the body wash. She ohhed and ahhed over it, and asked for three more handfuls of the wash as she cleaned her whole body. She was absolutely blissed out with the whole experience compared to the energising I saw with the apple gel.

The next shower she took, she was all about getting clean and asked when she could use the body wash. She also made sure it was "that nice honey one" before she even jumped in. I am loving this body wash so much, it really is like a little bit of pampering - a quick me-time pick up. Will definitely be getting this one again! And with the rate that Miss 8 is using it, I will have to replace it soon.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 10th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am definitely a body wash person rather than a soap person. I find that soap dries out my skin and can encourage eczema to flare up. I am glad to see that this product is soap free. My husband tends to use soap for his face as well and of course, he put this body wash on his face too. I felt much happier about him using this on his face than soap!

I love the fact that this product is on a rope as it means that Miss Three can't empty the entire container into the plug hole when she has a shower (which she has done before with other products). I know that my body wash is safe from her inquisitive hands. I found that it hung nicely in the shower and was easy to access with wet hands. There wasn't a chance of me dropping it on the floor of the shower because of slippery hands. I noticed that the body wash only came out of the container when I squeezed it. This meant that there weren't extra drips coming out after I had taken what I needed. I had a look and found that there was a special valve to prevent excess coming out. I think this is great.

The packaging works well with the branding for 'Health Basics' The text and imagery are simple and effective. The look and feel of the container are the same as the other products across the range and easy to identify as being part of the same brand.

When this range came out, our family was excited to see that Opito Bay was part of the range. This is where our family go on holiday and therefore it is special to us. We all take great pride in having the pump version of this product in the shower at the beach. I am sure that other families will enjoy having the products named after their favourite places in New Zealand too. We also use the hand soap in the range at home as well.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 5th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love body wash. It is one of my everyday luxuries. When I was offered Health Basic's Opito Bay Summer Body Wash to review I had to try it. Having already tried and loved their Te Mata Apple Dew Body Wash. It was a safe bet that I would enjoy this one too. The Opito Bay Summer scent was much more subtle which meant that it didn't clash with any of the other products I was using on my skin. It lathered up well which the kids really loved, and I secretly loved the bubbles too. This also meant that a little goes a long way on the shower puff. My skin was left feeling clean and soft.

The bottle is very well designed. It has a rope that can be used to hang it from a rail or the shower mixer. If you chose it sits well on the shelf too. This is the option I chose as I wanted to keep it out of reach so the kids wouldn't waste it. The opening is on the base which allows gravity to help you get the last drops out of the bottle. It also has a drip free valve for those times you forget to close the bottle and it really does work.

I was surprised to find that the 400ml bottle cost just $4. Since it is available in supermarkets it shouldn't be hard to find. There are several more varieties available in this range so I will be forced to make a decision of staying with one I know or trying a new one. Maybe at this price I should pick up a couple.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 3540: Primal Earth SPF15 Moisturiser -  Brand: Primal Earth

Product image for Primal Earth SPF15 MoisturiserPrimal Earth SPF 15 Balm is a soothing natural Balm that is non-greasy while locking in essential Moisture. With Non-nano natural Zinc Oxide it protects against the elements.

    •  Protects against harmful UVA and UVB rays
    •  Immediately alleviates skin ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do the Alphabet song and Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star have the same tune?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream