Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 14th November 2019 - 19:04:36

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Pasta mia Beef, Lemon & Rosemary Sauce review

« Pasta mia Tomato, Bacon & Red Wine Sauce reviewPasta mia Tomato, Bacon & Red Wine SauceWhittakers Braeburn Apple with Vanilla Chocolate reviewWhittakers Braeburn Apple with Vanilla Chocolate »

Score: 8.3/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6474 - Pasta mia Beef, Lemon & Rosemary Sauce
Produced by Pasta Mia

Pasta mia Beef, Lemon & Rosemary Sauce
Price:
$8.50 / 360g pouch
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pastamia

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Pasta mia Beef, Lemon & Rosemary Sauce product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsAs well as bringing you a fine range of hand-crafted, artisan pastas, Pasta mia also bring you a range of beautiful sauces to complete your dishes.

Crafted in New Zealand with local & imported ingredients.

Ingredients:
    •  Tomato
    •  Beef
    •  Onion
    •  Carrot
    •  Celery
    •  Lemon
    •  Parsley
    •  Olive Oil
    •  Rosemary
    •  Garlic
    •  Salt
    •  Pepper

Check out Pastamia onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pastamia Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
beef   carrot   celery   garlic   lemon   nzmade   olive oil   onion   parsley   pasta   pastamia   pepper   rosemary   salt   sauce   tomato
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pasta mia Gluten-free Fresh FettuccinePasta mia Gluten-free Fresh Fettuccine
Rating: 9.0
Pasta mia Fresh PappardellePasta mia Fresh Pappardelle
Rating: 9.4
Pasta mia Venison, Pancetta & Rosemary RavioliPasta mia Venison, Pancetta & Rosemary Ravioli
Rating: 9.6
Pasta mia Roasted Capsicum & Macadamia TortelliPasta mia Roasted Capsicum & Macadamia Tortelli
Rating: 9.2
Pasta mia Tomato, Bacon & Red Wine SaucePasta mia Tomato, Bacon & Red Wine Sauce
Rating: 8.6
Pods - TwixPods - Twix
Rating: 8.8
Americana pizzaAmericana pizza
Rating: 8.5
Mini Gingerbread Men Mini Gingerbread Men 
Rating: 8.5
Sandhu Naan Bread Herb and GarlicSandhu Naan Bread Herb and Garlic
Rating: 9.5
Oxford Beef & Cheese RollOxford Beef & Cheese Roll
Rating: 7.2
NZ Seedless Bramble BerriesNZ Seedless Bramble Berries
Rating: 9.7
House of Dumplings - Prancing PorkHouse of Dumplings - Prancing Pork
Rating: 8.8
Raptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt SprinkleRaptor Rubs - Vegetable Salt Sprinkle
Rating: 9.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 21st of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was a little unsure when I looked at this product. I saw that it labelled Beef as an ingredient of the sauce. Did the sauce go with pasta alone? or was it best to add more meat to it? This threw me off for a bit and I left it sitting in the fridge for a few days while I contemplated the best way to go about preparing the product.

The directions effectively say to heat and combine with pasta, so that was what I did with a sample. Combining some of the sauce with pasta, I found that the most prominent flavours were tomato and lemon. Very light in flavour, but very very strong tomato flavour.

While it was okay, it wasn't exceptional, and I decided with the rest of the sauce, I would combine it with beef mince to make more of a bolognese. Even with the mince, the flavour profile still didn't quite sit right, and I ended up adding a couple of birds eye chillis to give it a kick.

The sauce being used as directed on the packet was very easy to use, and combined with pastamia pasta, takes less than 10 minutes to prepare from start to finish. But the flavour itself was too prominently tomato for my taste, for what is advertised as beef, lemon and rosemary.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 19th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

By the time I got around to opening this sauce packet I had run out of fresh Pasta Mia pasta to eat with it. I went to my local supermarket but I couldn't find it there, so I suspect I may need to go on a search for it in future. In the end I only had some dry macaroni in the cupboard, but I picked to use it for this sauce as I knew the sauce would shine pretty well against the plain dry pasta I was using.

Into a pot, I boiled some salty water. I held back using oil in my water, even though I wanted too. I just wanted to make sure that the taste we all got was the sauce. Once the pasta was cooked and drained, I heated the sauce in a saucepan and then re-added my pasta. I served the pasta in a bowl each, with a little grated cheese on top.

My littlest girl ate a good amount, but got full very quickly. My eldest daughter ate her whole bowl full and asked if we could have it again. My husband also polished his whole bowl off, asked if there was more (there was). He said we should get it again, but also wanted me to add mince or something next time. He forgave me for not doing so this time, due to needing a honest review of the flavour. He felt that it just needed more protein for him.

I enjoyed the taste as well. There is a taste like olive oil infused with lemon. Then there is a beef flavour and lots of big tomato flavour in there as well. The sauce is really chunky and looks great. The big chunks of tomato were good, because it felt more home-made. However, my husband also doesn't tend to like cooked tomato, so he was able to remove the bigger pieces if he wanted to.

To be honest I was a little worried about the lemon in this sauce before I tasted it. I had read a couple of the earlier reviews and wondered if I was going to like it. But I shouldn't have worried! It was delicious and the whole family liked this one so if I ever find it again, I will definitely be buying it. The lemon gave it a fresh flavour that just made the sauce a real stand-out for us.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 14th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Oh sweet lord this one was a real surprise! I'll be honest and admit the only reason I took this one on was I saw that it had 'beef' in the name, and I got distracted after that. By the time I clicked 'hang on... LEMON?!' it was too late to offer it to anyone else, because I had just cut the top off the pack. Still, in for a penny...

Having this on top of the Pastamia Fettuccinni was a brilliant match, and I thank the team at Pastamia for sending both. To have this atop a mass-produced pasta would have been akin to eating the finest cured ham on top of a stale salad cracker - it would not have been the done thing!

I found that I couldn't really detect the beef per se... I know it was there, but the citrus tang, combined with the distinctive taste of celery, plus the delicate hints of garlic weaving through it all, sort of 'hid' the beef flavour from me, which was a bit of a shame, but it did allow the uniqueness of the lemon, celery, rosemary and parsley to come through and really make this meal something different. While I can easily see how some would not like it, personally I was really impressed, and enjoy it very much.

In fact, it has inspired me to start testing out other citrus zests in some rich meat dishes, to some mildly good success. I still need to work out the right ratios and balance on some of them... something severely hampered by my apparent inability to stick to, or write down, recipes. LOL Icon

Overall, though not priced such that I would aim for this as a regular grocery item, it is one I would consider extremely suitable if I was cooking up a special meal for someone I wanted to impress, and didn't want to risk possible failure of my own efforts. I'll stick to making the dessert myself instead. Grin Icon

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 10th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given some of this to review and by serving it with the Pastamia Fresh Pappardelle pasta tonight, it meant for a very quick and easy, but quality meal. I read on the packet that this sauce has meat in it, plus plenty of veges so there really is no need to serve it with anything but pasta. However I was a bit worried it wouldn't feed our family of 3, so made extra meatballs, but it turned out that this wasn't really necessary.

Luckily I'd served the sauce on the side as Miss 6 didn't like it at all - she ended up getting out good old tomato sauce to jazz up her pasta! My husband and I both ate the sauce but neither of us were that fussed on it. I honestly thought I would love the flavour from the description but we both found the lemon a bit overpowering, and we wouldn't buy that flavour again. However it felt like we were eating a great fresh, quality product and so I'd happily try one of their other flavours.

Although this seems expensive at first glance, it does go a long way and we felt it was fairly filling. So for a very quick and easy meal, it is a much better option that expensive takeaways and a so much healthier to boot.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 10th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I served Pasta Mia's Beef, Lemon & Rosemary Pasta Sauce with their Fresh Pappardelle pasta. I topped it off with a little parmesan cheese. With the first taste of the sauce, I was presented with a strong lemon flavour. It was obvious that lemon was a main part of the mix. I wasn't 100% sure if I thought it was amazing or just ok. I think that the lemon may have been a bit overpowering. With this in mind, it definitely needed to be served with a simple, plain pasta. It wouldn't work with anything else that was too strong in its own right e.g. filled pasta.

I found that the sauce was a rich blend of good quality ingredients. I was able to actually see and taste the fact that there was beef in it. It is a sign of quality when it is possible to find the main ingredients in the product. I found a good amount of beef in the sauce but not over the top - it was still a sauce rather than a mince dish.

Although we hardly ever use salt my mother and husband both felt the need to add a little salt. I was fine with it as it was.

Although our children would usually love a beef and tomato sauce or dish, they didn't like this at all. I think the lemon became the primary flavour that they tasted when they had their first spoonful and overwhelmed their tastebuds. Just as well we always have some basic, homemade tomato sauce in our freezer.

It was nice and easy to create a meal using this sauce along with some Pasta mia parrardelle. The sauce only needed two minutes in the microwave and it was ready to serve. It was so much quicker than creating out own sauce.

As with all of the Pasta mia products, this sauce is made from quality ingredients without any rubbish in it. In fact, I can look at the ingredients on the back of the pack and know that, given the exact quantities of the items, I could make the sauce in my own kitchen. All of the ingredients are recognisable as real food. I really value this in food that I purchase.

Although I did find the sauce a bit too lemony, I appreciate the quality of this sauce and I would be keen to try others in the range.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 9th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was given the Pasta Mia pastas and sauces to review on a night that we needed a quick and easy dinner as there were only a matter of minutes between getting in the door before having to go out again. I decided to serve the Beef, Lemon and Rosemary Sauce with their Gluten-free Fresh Fettuccine. This made the perfect convenience meal as it went for the pouch to the plate in less than 10 minutes.

I was surprised to see so many vegetables in the list of ingredients. The texture was so smooth that my daughters who hate celery and onion didn't even notice it was there. Yay for sneaking vegetables into unsuspecting kids and husbands. Pasta Mia have definitely done better than I can do with that. Unfortunately the smoothness also meant that my kids didn't believe they were really eating meat. To them it was flavoured tomato sauce.

The dominant flavour in the sauce was the lemon. It was a little too strong for all of us. I think the girls were expecting something more like spaghetti bolognese. My husband and I both thought that if it had more beef and less or no lemon it would have been very enjoyable.

The pouch suggested it was 2-3 serves. We found that it gave 3 good size servings. This meant that combined with the fettuccine it would feed 3 for $19. This is a good quality convenient meal which is cheaper than most rubbishy takeaways.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 6.3
Product reviews for listing 6481: Whittakers Marlborough Sea Salt and Caramel Brittle Chocolate -  Manufactured by Whittakers

Product image for Whittakers Marlborough Sea Salt and Caramel Brittle Chocolate
Batch No.2 Marlborough Sea Salt and Caramel Brittle - in Milk Chocolate 33% Cocoa

For Generations, Whittakers have had a passion to create world class chocolate, and now they have launched the New Zealand Artisan Collection. Combining the world's finest cocoa with the most delicious ingredients sourced directly from New Zealand's finest artisan producers.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I like this place, and willingly would waste my time in it."
William Shakespeare (1564 - 1616), As You Like It

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream