Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd October 2017 - 17:24:42

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Watties Bit on the Side - Smokey BBQ sauce review

« Watties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade reviewWatties Bit on the Side - Onion MarmaladeWatties Bit on the Side - Smoked Paprika & Tomato Sauce reviewWatties Bit on the Side - Smoked Paprika & Tomato Sauce »

Advertising...

See your advert here!
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.3/10  [12 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 6411 - Watties Bit on the Side - Smokey BBQ sauce
Produced by Heinz Watties Ltd

Watties Bit on the Side - Smokey BBQ sauce
Price:
$3.49
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Watties

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Watties Bit on the Side - Smokey BBQ sauce product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsCreated to make any meal more special. If you're looking for a way to turn a meal into something extraordinary, try a Wattie's Specialty Sauce. Wattie's has a delicious range of versatile Specialty Sauces to add flavour and enhance your meal experience.

NEW Wattie's Bit on the Side Smokey BBQ Sauce is deliciously rich and smokey. It tastes amazing with grilled or barbecued meats.

Nutrition
    •  No preservatives
    •  99% fat free

Check out Watties onlineClick here to see all the listings for Watties Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bbq   nzmade   sauce   sugar   tomato
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sealord Tuna Express - Mexican SalsaSealord Tuna Express - Mexican Salsa
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
BBQ and Garlic Shrimp PizzaBBQ and Garlic Shrimp Pizza
Rating: 6.3
Tub FudgeTub Fudge
Rating: 8.0
Kaweka - JambalayaKaweka - Jambalaya
Rating: 8.0
VavasseurVavasseur
Rating: 9.0
Tatua Dairy Whip Chocolate Dessert ToppingTatua Dairy Whip Chocolate Dessert Topping
Rating: 8.7
Watties Bit on the Side - Smoked Paprika & Tomato SauceWatties Bit on the Side - Smoked Paprika & Tomato Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Cafe ParadisoCafe Paradiso
Rating: 10.0
Tasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank CasseroleTasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank Casserole
Rating: 9.1
Watties Bit on the Side - Onion MarmaladeWatties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade
Rating: 9.8
Barker's Lime CurdBarker's Lime Curd
Rating: 9.0
Pretzel Crisps - Honey Mustard and OnionPretzel Crisps - Honey Mustard and Onion
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 18th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We have always been fans of Wattie's sauce in our family, with it pretty much being the only sauce we buy. While I like tomato sauce my partner much prefers either a steak sauce or a BBQ sauce so at our supermarket shop one day when we first spotted this he popped it straight into the trolley, after having tried several of the other sauces in the Watties Bit on the Side range and enjoying them I had no problem about buying this particular product to try.

The sauce is a rich, dark colour and thicker than any BBQ sauce that I have tried before, the aroma from the sauce is really quite strong and hits you as soon as you open up the bottle, this is due to the smoked flavouring of the sauce and also because of the spices that have been used. Trying a bit of the sauce on my finger I was impressed by the taste which I thought was quite fruity tasting, the smokeyness wasn't as strong as I was worried it was going to be so I was happy about this.

This sauce is so versatile and we have found so many uses for it already, like many sauces it is great for dipping and dunking foods in such as chicken nuggets, sausages, chips and wedges. But the uses don't stop here with it making a great marinade for steak and chicken. I have tried this sauce on burgers dressed up with meat patties, grilled pineapple, bacon, melted cheese and lettuce, and it tasted delicious with the addition of this sauce. It also works well on homemade pizza, I've used it to make both a meat-lovers style pizza and also a BBQ Chicken style pizza, the only problem I encountered here was that with the large pouring hole it wasn't an easy ottle to use to make a BBQ swirl on top of the pizzas as I like to do.

A great quality sauce from Watties's that I have purchased several times now, and will continue to buy.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 3rd of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

For me Watties is my go to brand for sauces, tinned foods and anything else they offer to be honest. Quality, Great tasting and affordable. As soon as I saw the Smokey BBQ Sauce I knew the first thing I would use it on would be my favourite, Wedges!

For me there is nothing like a hot dish of Wedges, with melted cheese, sour cream and finished with Bbq Sauce! I was excited to try this new addition to the Watties family. As soon as I opened the bottle the aroma was strong so I was a little wary but that feeling vanished the moment I took my first bite! The smokey flavour was there but was not over powering, it was delicious!!

I have since used the sauce with a variety of foods such as home made pizza, burgers & to marinate chicken nibbles and it has been a hit each and every time! The serving size is great, neat labels too but the glass bottles are not my preference, the sauce was difficult to get out and once you begin to reach the end it is almost impossible to get out, I would prefer a squeezy type bottle. Other than that delicious!

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 19th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Wattie's has always been a trusted brand to me and one I remember since I was a child so more often than not I will grab the Wattie's brand in any product I buy if it's available. I hadn't yet seen this product in store when it came up for review so quickly put my hand up hoping I would be lucky enough. Knowing that my husband and I love a good BBQ sauce and I use it in so many different family dinners that I cook I was excited to try this out. I love the fact that this BBQ sauce has no added preservatives and is 99% fat free as it means I am making a healthier choice for me and my family, something I try to do as much as possible.

When I first opened the bottle for a sniff test I must admit that I was a bit worried, it smelled really strong and I suddenly worried that the smokey taste would be more than I would like. Thankfully the trusted Wattie's brand once again pulled through and they have got the taste of this product just right! It definitely has a real smokey taste to it and still holds a real depth of flavour when added with other ingredients/flavours too. Yum, this sauce has proved to be a favourite over the last two weeks and we have used it as a dipping sauce, a sauce to smoother on chips/pizza and a sauce to mix with other ingredients to make a marinade for chicken nibbles. All of which are things I've made/eaten before but I am sure they have tasted better for using this product.

I really like that this sauce isn't over the top expensive and is a product I can afford to regularly buy in our shopping. It tastes like it should be worth more so I am over the moon about that. I also really like the serving size and find the bottle fits well in our fridge door. The one thing I would change if I could would be the bottle in terms of the top/lid as I simply love having a squeezy bottle or smaller lid so I can accurately measure or add sauce to what I'm doing rather than it pouring out and ending up with a big mess (which always seems to happen no matter how careful I am).

Out of everything we tried my favourite use has got to be on pizzas as we found it made them taste better than the pizza shops - it really is that good. I know I will be buying this again as the bottle has disappeared super fast. Delicious taste, great price and has so many uses, this is a product I happily recommend to others to try Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 13th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was pretty happy to get a bottle of this sauce to review as my husband and I love to use BBQ sauce in a quite a few different meals and on it's own as a dipping sauce. We decided to start with some chicken bites and use the BBQ sauce for dipping.

The flavour was perfect, better than any other BBQ sauce I've tried before. The smokey flavour was very mild, just how I like it to be. The only downside was the glass bottle. While the bottle itself looked very nice and classy it wasn't very practical. I spent a lot of time trying to get the sauce out and ended up putting a knife down the lid so I could scoop it out but this didn't really work very well. I've had other sauces in glass bottles which have had suggestions on how to effectively remove the sauce from the bottle but I noticed that this BBQ sauce didn't have those suggestions and I was hesitant to put the sauce in the microwave to loosen it as I didn't know how it would affect the flavour of the sauce.

I did notice that almost every other review on here has mentioned their struggle to get the sauce out so I hope that Watties takes this into consideration and improves the usability of the bottle. Although I loved the flavour of this sauce I don't think I'd buy it again for the simple fact that I could not easily get the sauce out.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 10th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I enjoy a good sauce and so was most keen to sample this latest Watties product and see if it was worth adding it to our shopping list or not.

We had a need for dinner but I hadn't gotten anything out of the freezer but after having a rummage through everything I ended up deciding upon chips, shaved ham and garlic... Knowing that the chips would need a sauce I decided it would be a great chance to try out this BBQ sauce. In a pot I fried up the garlic and then added the chopped up shaved ham, I then got my four year old to help pour in the sauce and we ended up with half the bottle in there! Added some cheese, left it till it melted and then popped it on the plate as a side/sauce to the chips. Well, it was delicious and the kids were asking for more, almost ignoring the chips!

I've been adding some of this to our meals, such as a dash or two of it on our potatoes and vegetarian bacon and veges in the crockpot. My one big gripe about this though... The bottle says that you should place this in the fridge once it has been opened, but I'm struggling with that considering that when it's warm and at room temperature it flows out of the bottle wonderfully but when cold from being stored in the fridge... Very hard to get out of the bottle and I find myself getting frustrated with it. I would love it if I could store it at room temperature without fear.

This is a good product which has a great taste, I would only bypass it in favor of a sauce that would flow easier.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 6th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I find a lot of BBQ sauces are rather bland and do not carry thru with the promise of a smokey flavour to it. I have to admit I was concerned this was going to be one of those occasions. Although as soon as I opened the bottle and took a whiff of it the woody aroma that meet me was rather surprising. To be honest my mouth started watering and I just had to trial a little. It had a very pleasant smokey taste.

My daughters both wanted chicken and chips tonight so that is what I made them. I brought the chicken nibbles and placed on grease proof paper in a deep dish and then put about three quarters of the bottle all over it. I then left for a good hour and then placed in the oven. I was a little concerned that it would burn so just put on a low heat and cooked for about 90minutes. When I pulled the pan out they where swimming in the sauce which got me rather excited.

There was rather a lot of sauce left in the pan so after dishing it up and scooped it up and poured over the chicken. Also, for my husband and myself gave a little extra of the sauce cold so we could both experience the difference.

I have to say so far my only complaint is how hard it is to get the sauce out. Even as I was marinating the chicken it just bloobed out and took a couple of good shakes before I got the quantity I was after. When I placed in the fridge I tipped it upside down so when I poured on my husband and mine plate it came out nicely. I am a little concerned about how much wasteage there could be as would hate to leave any in the bottle.

The whole family agreed the sauce was devine and one of my daughters asked if we could have this every night for dinner as it was so delicious. I am hoping they come with a bigger bottle as it really would not last in my household. I do like the price and definitely will be buying again.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 27th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was really excited to be able to review this as we love trying new sauces in our house, and I particularly love a good barbeque one! When I opened it up, it had a really nice strong woody smell and I new that we would have to make pizza with this.

When we made pizza, I used this as a base on one of the pizzas and this worked well with the meat lovers kind of toppings that we added. On the other pizza I used a tomato base with chicken and cheese and added a swirl of this on the top. This was probably my favourite one as the flavour was stronger.

Sunday night in our house is rib night. Usually we buy them pre-marinated however I thought that this smokey BBQ sauce would make an awesome coating for the ribs. Now, I wasn't wrong and the BBQ sauce was an excellent addition to the ribs. Everyone asked me what was on them and why it was different. So a win-win here.

A huge bonus for me is the price, I like to buy things according to my preference on taste however the cost needs to come into it to. This is a really budget friendly product which the whole family can use. Yesterday I spotted my partner using some in a sandwich he was making. Another way I would like to use it is in burgers, however our chilly southern weather needs to warm up a little before its burger weather again!

Click here to read the profile of shadowshaded

Review by: shadowshaded (Jeremy)
Dated: 20th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Ive had my fair share of BBQ sauces and I am pretty selective on what sauce I chose to continue purchasing.This happens to be one of those chosen few sauces.Value for money is excellent , this is a cheap sauce that has great taste and consistency.

I noticed in comparison to other BBQ sauces it is pretty low in sugars which is a plus in my books. Being a thick sauce made it a little difficult at times getting it out of the bottle with control but I wasn't complaining when a bit more came out than intended.I would recommend possibly changing the bottle to a plastic squeeze bottle to make it user friendly for applying the sauce.

Its taste is spot on as it isn't overpowering to what I was adding it to and it has a lovely smokey flavor to it.Being that the flavor isn't too strong it is great for the kids to add to their foods. The other plus side to it is with the taste and thickness of the sauce it is great for basting meats, using as a marinade for roasts , adding to stir fry for extra flavor and anything you prefer because it is great for such a wide variety of foods.

I would easily recommend this sauce to anyone and buy again as I have been for awhile now.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 17th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a fan of a good smokey BBQ sauce. It has to have a good smokey flavour to hit the spot. When I opened this bottle, I was pleased to find that the smell lived up to my expectations. It also passed the tasted test! The one issue I had with it was that it was rather difficult to get out of the bottle. I had to use a knife to encourage it out of the bottle. I also found that when I got near the end of the bottle, I was unable to scrape it out and had to use some water to rinse it out and get the most out of the sauce. It is a tricky one, as I liked the thickness of the sauce but at the same time found it hard to get out. Perhaps a squeeze type of bottle might have helped with getting the sauce out of the bottle. I do understand the use of the glass bottle though, as it has a classier look to it than plastic. Considering these thoughts, I think I would just put up with being creative with how to get the sauce out of the bottle!!

Back to the taste of the sauce. I loved it. The kids loved it. My husband loved it. It was a winner here! We tried it in a variety of ways. Initially, we put it on top of a shepherds pie. Although it was nice, I think that there was too much flavour coming from the pie and it didn't allow the sauce to shine!

The second test I did was with bacon and some nice fresh bread. Now, that was tasty! The combination worked well. It also worked well as a sauce on top of the base when making pizza.

Finally, the one that I didn't even think of. My husband was making ribs for dinner a couple of nights ago. He asked me what sort of sauce he should put on it. Of course, I suggested BBQ sauce. I was thinking that he would find a good recipe and make it himself. Instead, he found my review bottle of Smokey BBQ sauce in the fridge and spread it over the ribs. When I came home, I was a bit shocked as I hadn't expected him to do that. It did smell good though! I noticed that the ribs looks a little dry as they were cooking and I suggested that we rinse out the rest of the bottle and pour it over the top when they were nearly cooked. The end product was a meal that we all enjoyed and it had just the right amount of sauce on it for everyones liking.

So there you go, the sauce worked well with meat and also as a sauce to cook in as well. I will be watching out for this sauce when I go shopping.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 14th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I like a good BBQ sauce so I was eager to give this sauce a try as I do like a good BBQ sauce. Opening it and giving it a little taste is was nice to see that it tastes nice and smokey. I decided to use this first by marinating some diced bacon in it for a couple of hours before adding it to some diced onion and garlic, frying it for a little while before adding eggs and cheese to make some scrambled eggs. Handing out dinner to the kids, they happily gobbled it down, saying it was yummier than usual and it did add a nice subtle flavor to the meal.

My big gripe with this bottle is that the sauce is thick and that makes it hard to get it out of the bottle so I couldn't go straight from the bottle on top of my favorite dish as I don't want big globs of the sauce over the dish, so I ended up banging some out onto a plate and using a spoon to put it on my dinner in smaller blobs. This dish was rice with falafel on it, with mayo and bbq sauce on top of the food. This was a great accompanyment to the dish.

The price isn't too bad and it would be a sauce I would happily buy, however with the issues just to get it out of the bottle I'll only be buying if on special.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 13th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was lucky enough to get to review this watties BBQ sauce. We are avid sauce lovers in our house and once we find a sauce we like we generally don't tend to wander out of the comfort zone. But I was ready to try something different for a change.

I first opened the bottle and put a small bit on my finger first to see what it tasted like. It wasn't over powering and it had a nice smokey taste to it. I did find it quite thick in comparison to other sauces and had thought to myself I wonder how easily this will come out of the bottle. I decided that this sauce screamed marinade to me so that is how I was going to give it it's first taste test.

We decided on having steak for tea so I threw some of the bbq sauce into a shallow dish and popped the steak in, then covered the top of the steak in more sauce. Left it to marinade for a few hours then threw it in the pan. While eating my steak I could taste the bbq sauce perfectly. Not overpowering, not too sweet and it had more of a savoury taste to it. I personally can't see myself using this as a dipping sauce as I found it too thick. To me its more of a marinade for meat.

I was a bit disappointed in the bottle it was in as because the sauce is so thick its actually quite hard to get out of the bottle when you are getting towards the bottom! I ended up having to add a small bit of hot water into it and swishing it around to get it to pour out easily. Perhaps watties might think about changing it to a squeeze bottle or having a nozzle on the top to make life easier. All in all a good hearty sauce and I would definately by this again in the groceries.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 12th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given some of this sauce to review. Although we are great sauce fans in this house, I in particular prefer something a little different to plain old tomato sauce, but I do get a bit nervous trying new BBQ sauces as I sometimes find them a bit overpowering. So this was a perfect way to be able to try it out risk-free.

I first tried it inside wraps - a favourite dinner in our house, where everyone can pick what they want to go in them. I was keen to try it out, but was a little surprised when hubby also bypassed his favourite good old Watties Tomato Sauce to use this sauce instead!

Both us of agreed the flavour was very nice - it wasn't too overpowering at all, but it really did elevate a plain meal to something a little more exciting. And another night serving it with oven chips, it gave us a chance to try it without it being drowned by other flavours and again it was really delicious all on it's own. The description is spot on as you can really taste the subtle smokiness in there.

I can see us also using this sauce as a swirl on home made pizzas and in a nice meaty burger. The possibilities are endless really.

The only problem is that it's not that easy to get it out of the bottle - it doesn't pour easily and I'm finding I'm having to stick a knife into the bottle at the moment. I'm not sure how it will go when the bottle gets down a bit though... but it's worth the effort for the taste.

I never look at price when buying sauce (except to stock up when my favourites are on sale) - I'd rather buy on taste preference, and so I'd happily buy this sauce again on that basis.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 4901: Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Italian Spice Rub -  Brand / Manufacturer : Simon Gault

Product image for Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Italian Spice RubSimon has been using this Italian rub on chicken for years.

But don't save it just for chicken. It's great in burgers or meatballs, over grilled tomatoes and if you're throwing a prawn (or pretty much anything for that matter) on the BBQ or in the frypan, a good sprinkle of this will make your food sing.

Please note: The Italian and Kiwi seasonings are Gluten free but all are packed on a line with products that may contain gluten.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"What do you do when you discover an endangered animal that only eats endangered plants?"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream