Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 16th July 2019 - 11:00:02

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Watties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade review

« Watties Tomato Sauce - Fiery Chilli reviewWatties Tomato Sauce - Fiery ChilliWatties Bit on the Side - Smokey BBQ sauce reviewWatties Bit on the Side - Smokey BBQ sauce »

Score: 9.8/10  [17 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 6410 - Watties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade
Produced by Heinz Watties Ltd

Watties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade
Price:
$3.35
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Watties

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Watties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsOur Wattie's Bit on the Side Chutneys and Pickles are the perfect condiment to a sandwich or served with roasted meat and poultry. However you like them, they will add that extra bit of spice and flavour to your favourite dishes.

Wattie's Bit on the Side Onion Marmalade is a delicious, thick, chunky relish that is perfect on sandwiches, burgers or simply served on a platter with cheese and crackers. Available in a 310g jar.

Nutrition
    •  No added flavours
    •  99% Fat free

Check out Watties onlineClick here to see all the listings for Watties Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
balsamic   brown sugar   mustard   nzmade   onion   pepper   vinegar
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pop Tarts - Frosted CherryPop Tarts - Frosted Cherry
Rating: 7.2
Nuttz Cinnamon CashewsNuttz Cinnamon Cashews
Rating: 8.7
Cecile's Boys & Gold MuesliCecile's Boys & Gold Muesli
Rating: 9.3
Watties Bit on the Side - Smoked Paprika & Tomato SauceWatties Bit on the Side - Smoked Paprika & Tomato Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Mrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Cajun SeasoningMrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Cajun Seasoning
Rating: 9.7
Proper Crisps - Onion with Green ChivesProper Crisps - Onion with Green Chives
Rating: 8.6
Kiwi Seasonings - Lime and Wild BasilKiwi Seasonings - Lime and Wild Basil
Rating: 8.3
RJ's Raspberry Licorice StrapsRJ's Raspberry Licorice Straps
Rating: 9.2
Pickapeppa Hot Mango SaucePickapeppa Hot Mango Sauce
Rating: 8.9
Barkers Cacao Nib Raspberry CoulisBarkers Cacao Nib Raspberry Coulis
Rating: 9.3
Watties Bit on the Side - Smokey BBQ sauceWatties Bit on the Side - Smokey BBQ sauce
Rating: 9.3
Frescarini Bolognaise Ravioli 300gFrescarini Bolognaise Ravioli 300g
Rating: 8.5
Juicy Fruit - CitronicJuicy Fruit - Citronic
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of November, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I wasn't really interested in trying this to begin with but that's the bonus of getting something to review, you're pretty much getting it free, so I knew that I could try this without any big loss. Opening it up the kids and husband naturally wanted to try it straight from the jar to begin with, despite my suggestions otherwise, one child (who loves things with this kind of flavors) loved it, the others promptly gave it a thumbs down. I knew I'd have to try it too to be fair and found it very tart but I knew that if I used it with something else that the flavor would be improved.

I decided to first use this in a side dish for our dinner. I grabbed some puff pastry out of the freezer and then spread a layer of this onto each sheet, a nice amount of cheese on top and then fold in half, cut into strips, pop into the oven and wait... The aroma had my mouth watering and once dished out the family gobbled it down with the my eldest eating eight of the pastry strips! Tonight I tried it on my pizza, wanting something new and a bit different, usually my husband has only been eating a quarter of a pizza but tonight he wanted more and even the kids wanted my pizza.

I'm still not a fan of the mustard seeds, but it wasn't too noticeable once mixed with the right stuff. On its own I wouldn't recommend this, but as an addition to any meal to add some flavor I give it the thumbs up.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 9th of November, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a huge lover of onion marmalade, I love it on burgers, toasties, cheese and crackers, with bread and pate and I love it in savoury muffins. Working as a chef for the past ten years I have tried many different onion marmalades and this one is very tasty and indeed a product I would buy again. The flavours are yum and the texture I found at first a little different with the onions being rather crunchy but I was enjoying it by the end of a couple tries with the product.

Watties in by far my favourite brand to buy and this adds to the list of another Watties product which has out done themselves with. I really like how its also 99% fat free and has no added flavours. this is great and also easy to read on the label. another thing I was impressed by was the seal of the jar, although it was on tight, it was not crazy tight that I needed to bang it and run it under hot water to pop the lid. I stuggle to open jars and this I found open well enough with a good twist. I'm looking forward to trying this in muffins or as a pizza base. my son tried some as well, who sometimes does not like certain marmalades flavours but he was really keen to have more. he really liked it on his home made beef burgers.

Click here to read the profile of stephanieanna

Review by: stephanieanna (Stephanie)
Dated: 26th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I found this to be a great one for the whole family. I use it on cheese and crackers, burgers and also tried it as a base on home made pizzas. It has a really nice tangy flavor but isn't too over-powering.

I have bought other brands of similar chutneys and find that the flavors are far too vinegary. I find it very good value for money considering other brands have similar stuff available in much smaller jars for a higher price. It is super delicious with cream cheese on a toasted bagel but I find myself often adding it to all sorts of things as it is very versatile and it adds a nice hint of taste to plainer flavored dishes. I wish it came in a bigger jar as the amount we use it we can quite easily go through it in just 2 weeks (that is using it most days and sometimes more than once a day). Definitely a crowd-pleaser and a favorite for our house-hold. If you are reading this review and haven't tried Watties Onion Marmalade yet, do grab one next time you are in the shop. It really is much nicer than other more expensive brands!

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 23rd of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I go out, I enjoy having scone or bread with onion in it. I have tried at home before and I never seem to get the flavour right. When I saw that Watties Onion Marmalade was available for review, I didn't initially think about how I might use it. To be honest, I actually didn't request it for some time. Then all of a sudden, when I was looking at the products, it dawned on me that it might be nice on a pizza or in a bread. It was then that I started to get excited! I got my request in for the product and soon I had the product in my hands!

Why oh why didn't I try it sooner? I made up a simple bread dough (yeast, sugar, salt, flour and water), I rolled it out and put a layer of the Onion Marmalade and grated cheese on the surface. I then rolled it up into a log and sliced it into scrolls/pinwheels. I popped them onto a pizza stone and into the oven, at around 180 degrees (approx) and waited for about 15 minutes. I was just about drooling by the time they came out of the oven and was so impatient that I had to have them while they were still rather hot! I was in scroll heaven. Using this Onion Marmalade was so much easier and tastier than my attempts previously. The finished product was a nice mix of savoury with a little sweetness as well.

The scrolls kept well until the next day and were good to eat cold or reheated. No tests were possible on any subsequent days as my husband and I demolished the lot of them. The kids don't like onion and we couldn't persuade them to even try it. All the more for hubby and I.

Watties, as a brand, is one that Kiwis know and trust and I feel that I am getting quality when I buy from the brand. For the most part, the ingredients in the Onion Marmalade are ones that I would imagine would be used in a version of this product made at home. I did find it interesting that there is a statement in rather large lettering at the back that says "no added flavours". This would be true, however, there is colouring added! My preference would be that flavouring or colour wasn't added to food products.

I can see that this product will have a good lot of use in our house. My version of onion scrolls will be useful for family gatherings, picnics, lunches etc. I think that my husband and I would also enjoy the Onion Marmalade on pizzas.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 15th of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Wattie's is a definite favourite in our household for when it comes to sauces. I have been buying the Wattie's Bit on the Side sauce range for a few years now, as they all work so well as a quick and easy sauce or marinade for your favourite meats and stir frys. I had been looking at the Bit on the Side Onion Marmalade on the shelves at my local supermarket for quite some time as it sits alongside the Wattie's Bit on the Side Tomato Relish which I once brought and fell in love with and having been buying ever since. I often contemplated buying this marmalade but in the back of my head I kept saying that I had no use for it so had never actually purchased it. When I saw it was up for reviews I jumped at the chance to sample it, as it seemed like the perfect opportunity to do so without spending money on it.

I decided to try this on beef burgers that we were having for dinner. I made some homemade beef patties, which I topped with lettuce, tomato and cucumber, I decided to add a decent size spoonful of the onion marmalade as the sauce to the top of the bun. The sauce tasted fantastic on the burgers and the flavour really stood out and made the burger a bit more gourmet than it usually would be, the marmalade was sweet and tangy and the flavours went hand in hand. Since making the burgers I have used up the remainder of the marmalade, it made a fantastic pizza sauce to a yummy meat lovers pizza that I created, it also goes perfectly on a simple yet yummy snack such as cheese and crackers.

No matter what I seem to put the onion marmalade in or with it seems to be a hit every time, even from my "I hate onion" partner who has now told me since trying this that he likes caramelized like onion sauces and that I should buy this again, which is saying something as usually if he doesn't like something he really doesn't like something and will boycott it for life. This is definitely going to become a kitchen staple in our house yum yum.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 6th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have seen this product on the shelves at the supermarket now and again. I hover a little and then think, no and move along. When the product came up for review, I figured I could at least try it and if it was good then I would know for next time I see it at the supermarket. I'm really glad that I had a chance to try it because it is one of my new favourite things ever.

The first thing I tried this on, was a burger. I used Angel Bay Lamb patties, and added this onion marmalade as the sauce. We had some lettuce, tomato slices, cheese and a nice soft sesame seed bun. The overall taste was amazing and this as a sauce really set the burger apart. The next day we had American hot dogs for dinner and I used this instead of the America mustard. Again, this really made the dinner that bit more special. For the first time in ages, I actually enjoyed this meal. I don't make American hot dogs often because I don't like them.

Over the course of the week I have had this for breakfast on toast with cheese slices. I have had it in grilled cheese sandwiches too. I even added it to a casserole meal I did on the weekend. It is a tasty product on its own. But it is really versatile too. And when you take into account the price, I think you get excellent value here for something that is a more fancy product. I'll definitely be buying this one again.

Click here to read the profile of rachaelch13

Review by: rachaelch13 (Rachael)
Dated: 29th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I first saw that this Onion Marmalade was up for review I jumped at the chance to try it as i'm always looking to try new things to add to our lunches and baking and at $3.35 its a small price to pay if it can add a bit of extra flavour.

First impressions when I tried it by itself it was a tad sweet for my liking but I felt the overall flavour could work in many dishes. we decided to try this out on our usual sunday cheese scones it went down a treat! even my two boys who think they hate onion went back for more.This was also very yummy on our leftover roast beef rolls and I also added a teaspoon to our homemade gravy the results were amazing I wanted to drink the gravy it was so good!. When you first look at the container size you think it might be a bit small however a little bit of this product goes along way and I have managed to get around uses for $3.35 this product will continue to be placed in my trolley and I look forward to experimenting more with it well done Watties!

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 27th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have been buying watties products for as long as I can remember and it is certainly a brand we have a lot of at home from canned products through to sauces and condiments they are definitely a favourite brand in our house. I love the quality of watties products and in particular the bit on the side range is of very high quality. I have in the past tried the bit on the side range of sauces but had never tried this particular bit on the side onion marmalade.

In the past I have tried a few different caramelised onion chutneys and it is a flavour I really enjoy so I knew I would like this product. On opening I could smell straight away that I was going to enjoy it the sweet smell of onion hit me straight away. At first I tried some on a cracker with some cheese. I loved that there were real bits of onion as it added a great texture and the onions were cooked perfectly so they werent too crunchy but still had that level of texture to them.

The taste of this marmalade is divine it has the sweetness of the onion and then a gentle spice from the mustard seeds so it gives you a sweet and spice sensation in your mouth. For me it worked perfect in burgers but even as a bit on the side with some sirloin steak it made the meal much more interesting. We quickly went through this jar with my kids having it in cheese sandwiches for school so I have since gone out and bought more.

I think this will become a regular in our shopping trips as everyone really enjoys it and I in particular love that it is made of natural ingredients and as a bonus is lower in fat than other chutneys. A perfect 10 out of 10 from us this onion marmalade delivers on all levels, taste, consistency, price, ingredients and number of uses as regular as the family fave Watties tomato sauce!!

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 20th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Wattie's has always been a trusted brand to me and one I remember since I was a child so more often than not I will grab the Wattie's brand in any product I buy if it's available. In saying that I hadn't yet seen this product in store when it came up for review so I quickly put my hand up hoping I would be lucky enough. I wanted to try this as it seemed like something different and would be something that could add flavour to my meals and snacks. I loved the idea that this product has no added flavours and is 99% fat free - making healthy choices for my family is something I try to do whenever possible.

I first tried this Onion Marmalade matched with cheese and crackers for an afternoon snack with my husband. We were both impressed with the level of flavour that it carried through and the way it matched well with the cheese and crackers. I was a bit unsure of the mustard seeds and these weren't quite my cup of tea however they didn't put me off the product. At the same time I am sure the actual flavour of this component would have added to the overall flavour of the onion marmalade so I can understand why they are in there.

The next item I enjoyed making was an absolutely delicious pizza. The onion marmalade added so much extra magic to the pizza, the flavour of it mixed well with chicken, spinach leaves, cheese, tomato paste, mushrooms, ham and pineapple. I have also used a few spoonful's of this product in a slow cooker meal when I had run out of onions (which I would normally dice up and add to the dish). While I can't say I could taste the marmalade in the finished meal (and I didn't expect to) I can say that it worked excellent as a replacement and I would happily do the same again. I am sure it added to the overall flavour of the finished meal.

All in all this is a fantastic product that I will be adding to our shopping list in the future. I liked that I had many uses for the one product and the size of the jar meant it was stored easily in my fridge door. Full of flavour - if your onion lover or just want to try something different then I recommend you give this a try! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 11th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

It's safe to say we have a new product that has been added to our shopping list! The onion marmalade has been an instant hit and we have already been out and brought some more, the uses for it are endless.

The taste is perfect and has just the right amount of sweetness and spice to it. The chunks of onions in it are well cooked and gives the marmalade a wonderful texture. The first time I opened the jar to use it the smell was wonderful and I couldn't wait to tuck in. We were having burgers for tea so I added a bit of marmalade instead of cooking up onions and it worked great. It really complimented the burgers and even with all the other ingredients the onion marmalade stood out.

Since then we have used it in many different ways. My husbands favourite use is in sandwiches with a bit of ham or chicken. I have also used it as a filling in chicken breasts with a bit of cream cheese, the results of that was a request for it for dinner again the following night!

Sitting down to watch movies the other night I decided to try something a little different as a dip to go with our crackers. I mix together a little cream cheese and onion marmalade. Once again it was an instant hit, the onion marmalade is so good I think you could do just about anything with it and have it turn out perfect!

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 8th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I must admit I am a lover of relishes, pickles and chow chows, so I was excited to review this onion marmalade. What struck me when I opened the jar was the sweet smell of onions and balsamic vinegar, the appealing caramelised colour and that I could actually see the chunky diced onions and the mustard seeds.

I decided that the marmalade would be a great filling to add to our toasted sandwiches, so I spread some in the sandwiches with cheese and ham. They were definitely a hit, they smelt great and gave our sandwiches a lovely tangy taste and even my 9 year asked for another one, and that's saying something.

The next day, we had visitors came over and I served the marmalade on a platter with cheeses, crackers and cold meats. Our guests all commented on its great taste and how it was really yummy to have with their snacks while enjoying their glass of wine. My guests were a bit surprised that it was referred to as a marmalade and they all commented that perhaps it should be known as an onion relish or a pickle, as the name marmalade gave them illusions of breakfast spreads.

I would certainly buy this again and have it my pantry, because I think I've only scratched the surface of its uses.

Click here to read the profile of lindanne

Review by: lindanne (Linda)
Dated: 3rd of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Such a number of uses for this condiment it is hard to say what is best. We have used it for cheese platters, pizza, sandwiches,chicken (cold and hot) and of course for cold meats, especially that Christmas ham. Great with crackers and cheese for a snack too! I take it to work for morning tea with my cheese and crackers for a change up while hubby will have it on his sandwiches. Use the last bit in the jar to add with stock to gravy or stews as I can't bear to waste any little bit of it.

The onions are soft and sweet, just they way it should be with the sauce not being too sweet. The size on the onions are good, you can see it and know it is real food, The colour of the Onion Marmalade makes it look appetising and warm.

Very well priced for a high quality condiment. Could certainly do with a larger jar and would be willing to pay a little more too. Used at all special occasions in our house and even sometimes, just because! Will be ensuring we keep stocked especially around Christmas, as I know it sells so fast then.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was really looking forward to seeing how versatile this marmalade was. I had presumed it was going to be along the lines of a relish or chutney and I believe I was correct. It has a thick texture so isn't runny, however it is very moist and spreadable. There are visible chunks on onion and mustard in it.

I first tried this on some peckish crackers with cheese and it was a taste sensation, it added an extra little bite to the snack. I let the children try it and Mr almost 7 really enjoyed it, however Mr picky 4 didn't - however he doesn't like much!

The next meal where we enjoyed this marmalade was in a stuffed baked potato. I added two tablespoons to the mash mixture along with creamed corn and cheese and it really lifted the flavour of the potato. It was nicer than putting in onion on its own as you didn't end up with crunchy onion bits that haven't cooked through.

Ive also added this into sandwich, on top of a quiche and in a pork casserole, all times it added that something extra to the meal and was so easy and convenient. I love that the jar has a wide neck as it is easy to get a teaspoon or tablespoon in there to scoop out the correct amount on the first attempt.

This is a wonderful price for such an awesome product that really makes a difference in your cooking. I have already brought another jar to have in the fridge and I'm sure that this will be a staple in this house from now on. Yum!

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 21st of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I saw this Onion Marmalade I was not just thinking of all the ways I could substitute jam because I know just how amazing this stuff can be despite being called a marmalade.
When I opened the jar it looked like a Branston pickle but much smoother. There are no cubed pieces of vege in this beauty. The smell and colour are great and I knew straight away I would be able to use this on so many different things. I really like the taste, I like the tang and I love the smell. I am a real relish / pickle nut and this product has been enjoyed so far on toast, in cooking at the browning onions stage, with pate and gherkins and crackers and in my cheese sandwiches.
Price point is excellent if it was $2.50 or $2.99 I think it would be underpriced so at $3.35 or even $3.50 I am still happy to buy it. Well worth the price. Generous size at 310g also with an easy to locate label. The yellow and black label is something that I can easily scan the products for at the supermarket before finding it.
I would recommend this product to anyone that likes a good pickle, chowchow or similar condiment. It will become your next best favourite!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 13th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Had visitors yesterday and a hungry girl with not much on offer. So went back to the trusted family favourite of 'cheese on wackers' and finished off with a dallop of the Onion Marmalade bit on the side. To be honest did not look that appealing but when you taste it all I can say is wow its delicious!.

There is so much flavour in this and will definitely be in the fridge from now on. It will take over from the chutneys we use because seriously who does not love onions on there sandwiches. My friend was going straight out to buy one and we discussed various options for this and one that stands out is an American Hotdog. Will not need anything else besides this and maybe some cheese. Even a pizza base would be great.

I am so impressed with the flavour in this. I love my onions and use on most things but to have it so handy done up in a sauce of its own its like magic in a bottle. The price is great and the size is also really good. While watching a movie last night made some for my husband with the remaining 'wackers' and he was so impressed he got up and made some more using some left over garlic bread. Fantastic is all I can say.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 12th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I've attempted to make an onion jam/chutney before and to be honest it's kind of time consuming, uses lots of onions for very little effort and well, as for slicing onions, - enough said! So I much prefer to buy the stuff, especially when it is as yummy as this!

Upon being given a jar of this to review, I was keen to try it out in a few different ways. Getting given this jar, coincided nicely with an evening when I was serving make your own wraps for dinner, and as I was chucking all the fillings on the table, I realised I'd forgotten to slice up some onion to go in them. So instead I just grabbed this jar of relish and we used it in our wraps instead. It gave an absolutely beautiful flavour to our wraps - I might never bother preparing onions again! I can see this would work just as well in burgers in the same way.

Then tonight I was doing a simple weekend dinner of sausages wrapped in bread and sauce. Instead of using plain old tomato sauce in my wrap, I used this onion marmalade instead - it made something simple and boring much more delicious - I'll be doing this again for sure!

Next on my list is pizza breads - I love making pizza bread and am always trying new toppings - this onion marmalade would work perfectly all on it's own, or by adding cheeses and other toppings to make it more like an actual pizza.

Although I don't know how the price compares to other brands, I never go on price for this sort of product anyway. So based on the taste, this will be a permanent addition to the fridge at my house and I'll happily buy again, and there really is nothing I can score this any less than 10 on for all categories.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 7th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

At a recent food show I encountered something different - a flatbread that had been spread with a roasted onion jam before baking - the results were amazing, and while I have almost ZERO ability when it comes to breadmaking, I still wanted to use this 'marmalade' in something bread'ish. Spotting some very bread-like "pizza bases" in the in-store bakery section of my local supermarket, inspiration struck me.

Grabbing a double-pack of bases, I tore around the supermarket gathering ingredients, and then shot home to 'play'... I was about to make PIZZA! First step of course was to make the base sauce, so I mixed equal measures of the onion marmalade and another Watties product - the Roast Garlic tomato sauce and spread that generously over one of the pizza bases. Covering that with some grated cheddar cheese, chopped onion and capsicum, then a layer of assorted meats (some left-over pre-cooked venison mince, diced polish sausage, slices of salami, slices of left-over steak, bacon bits, and chopped ham) and topped it with some more grated cheese. Popped in the oven, left to cook for 15 minutes, and I had a dinner experiment to try.

Overall, this was am amazing ingredient for the pizza, and it also went really well on the other pizza base the next night, when I used only the onion marmalade and some grated cheese and grilled it until the cheese was just starting to turn golden. I can easily imagine using this marmalade and some cream cheese to make a stunningly easy and flavourful party dip for a BBQ table spread, or even on it's own as a dip. It also handles itself admirably in a ham and cheese toasted sandwich too. Wink Icon

I will be buying more of this as the weather warms up!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.3
Product reviews for listing 7556: Sukantha Rice Crisps - Cashews -  Brand / Manufactured by: Sukatha

Product image for Sukantha Rice Crisps - CashewsSukantha Rice Crisps started with homemade Thai traditional style rice crisps in Phetchaburi since 1993. Rice Crisps are also known as Kaotang and are the most famous and popular choice of Sukantha with its original recipes and best selected natural ingredients, especially the famous Thai-Hom Mali (Thai Jasmine) rice - with its distinctive aroma, colour and taste - mixed with palm sugar and Thai herbs.

Kaotang is a delicious and ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Are there specially reserved parking spaces for 'fully-abled' people at the Special Olympics?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream