Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 18th September 2019 - 05:12:48

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Watties Tomato Sauce - Roasted Garlic review

« 12 Monkeys: Season One review12 Monkeys: Season OneWatties Tomato Sauce - Fiery Chilli reviewWatties Tomato Sauce - Fiery Chilli »

Score: 8.4/10  [13 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6408 - Watties Tomato Sauce - Roasted Garlic
Produced by Heinz Watties Ltd

Watties Tomato Sauce - Roasted Garlic
Price:
$3.59
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Watties

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Watties Tomato Sauce - Roasted Garlic product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWhat gives Wattie's Tomato Sauce its unique taste that Kiwis know and love?

The rich tomato puree (equivalent to a large number of tomatoes) concentrated into every bottle and a special blend of spices. Wattie's Tomato Sauce is rich in lycopene, a powerful antioxidant. Available in a range of sizes and packaging options for your convenience.

NEW Wattie's Tomato Sauce Roasted Garlic takes New Zealand's favourite sauce and expertly blends it with roasted garlic. Roasted Garlic.....mmmm.

Nutrition
    •  No added colours
    •  No artificial flavours
    •  No preservatives
    •  99% fat free

Check out Watties onlineClick here to see all the listings for Watties Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
garlic   nzmade   sauce   tomato
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pink & White MallowsPink & White Mallows
Rating: 10.0
Zesty Garlic Herb BlendZesty Garlic Herb Blend
Rating: 9.9
GoNatural Fruit and Nut Delight barGoNatural Fruit and Nut Delight bar
Rating: 8.4
Tasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank CasseroleTasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank Casserole
Rating: 9.1
Wonka SweetartsWonka Sweetarts
Rating: 8.2
Watties Tomato Sauce - Fiery ChilliWatties Tomato Sauce - Fiery Chilli
Rating: 7.9
Barrys Bay Coldsmoked Appletree CheddarBarrys Bay Coldsmoked Appletree Cheddar
Rating: 9.4
Loaf Mini-Bites - Brownie BitesLoaf Mini-Bites - Brownie Bites
Rating: 9.1
Leaning Tower Pasta Uno : Saucy Spaghetti & MeatballsLeaning Tower Pasta Uno : Saucy Spaghetti & Meatballs
Rating: 4.3
Sids Low Sugar Raspberry VinaigretteSids Low Sugar Raspberry Vinaigrette
Rating: 8.8
Homebrand Cake Mix Vanilla packet 340gHomebrand Cake Mix Vanilla packet 340g
Rating: 9.5
Lefty's Gourmet Pizza BasesLefty's Gourmet Pizza Bases
Rating: 8.8
M&Ms - CoconutM&Ms - Coconut
Rating: 7.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 21st of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

In my household we are huge garlic fans, using garlic in pretty much every dinner meal that we make, so getting this to trial was pretty awesome and since I've known it was coming out I've been eagerly awaiting it. The bottle and its design is what we've come to know and love as being Watties, though I haven't bought much in this brand recently due to finances and Watties being at the higher end of the dollar range. We like to use ketchup on a range of foods like fries, pies, quiche etc. and so when we had a quiche the other night, out this came. The kids all gobbled it up and asked for more, I myself would have loved more garlic in it.

I made pizza tonight for dinner and thought that I would use this as our base sauce, trying it out on the kids pizza first it came out as a little too sweet for me and not enough flavor. I had some mushroom and garlic lying around so I decided to fry them up and then add the mixture to the sauce before spreading it out on the pizza bases. Eating the finished result, it certainly aided the overall result and made for a delish pizza. Whilst I did enjoy this sauce, I would have loved for it to have a stronger garlic taste to it, and we went through it far too fast, so a bigger bottle as well, without being too hard hitting on the wallet.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 14th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I quite like roasted garlic. It is sweet and nutty in flavour and is a great addition to a lot of meals. Tomato sauce is a staple condiment in our household. Mixing the two items together sounded very appealing when I first laid eyes on this bottle of sauce.

The bottle is a decent enough size and for the price, I think it is reasonable deal. The bottle is easy to use, and stores well in the fridge door also. Bets of all, without any fanfare, I was able to squeeze this sauce onto man plates of food in the last week without complaint. My children absolutely loved this sauce and polished off every saucey delight I served up.

I served this with mini hot dogs, chips, as well as chicken nuggets. My husband thought it was a good stand alone tomato sauce. Nothing special as such, but not a bad tasting standard sauce. I felt the same. This sauce has a slight garlic hint to it, but not enough to make a great deal of difference to the flavour. I guess I was hoping for more of a garlicky hit. Still it was edible and the bottle was empty pretty quickly. So I think, for kids this would be excellent. It just didn't get me excited.

One thing I did do was add it to a meal, where I was building a sauce with other ingredients. In that case this worked okay, though I think some crushed garlic would have been just as good. Still it was edible and the bottle was empty pretty quickly. So I think, for kids this would be excellent. It just didn't get me excited.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 10th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Our family loves Watties Tomato Sauce and it's safe to say that it goes on almost everything, sandwiches, meat, pasta, pies and of course the classic kiwi fish and chips. When I saw this product come up for review I knew it was a must to try, a combination of roasted garlic and tomato sauce what could there be not to love about it? My first thing I did upon receiving the sauce was to open it up and smell it, as I did this I thought it had a really strong garlic smell to it and so at this point was keen to find out exactly how this was going to taste, my first thought was is this going to be to garlicky for me? While I love garlic I prefer the taste to be subtle rather than overpowering.

Being a Sunday meant my partner and his brother were doing their Sunday ritual in our house, watching UFC and snacking on some hot chips from the takeaway store - the perfect time for me to get my Wattie's Roasted Garlic Sauce out of the fridge to be tested by the biggest sauce lover I know my partners brother! I put the sauce out on the table with the hot chips and straight away the sauce was poured into a pile ready for dipping, at this stage I hadn't mentioned the new sauce variety and so was interested to see the reactions, straight away I got a "this sauce tastes a bit different", though when I asked what it tasted like they couldn't quite give me an answer. Though they said they enjoyed it and would happily eat it again, I pointed out that it was roasted garlic and when they thought about they said they could just manage to taste it, though on certain more seasoned foods probably wouldn't know any better.

I decided to give a try for myself, like mentioned above the garlic taste was very subtle and definitely not strong or overpowering as I would have first thought from the smell of the sauce. A nice taste and not too overpowering so that you could still happily feel as though you were eating tomato sauce. The bottle size is obviously smaller than that of traditional Watties Tomato Sauce, so I probably wouldn't buy it as an everyday sauce as it wouldn't last long in my house, but as an occasional change it would be nice, it would probably also make a fantastic base for a pizza, or a great addition to a snack platter.

Click here to read the profile of rachaelch13

Review by: rachaelch13 (Rachael)
Dated: 29th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.0/10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

We love garlic in our household so we were very excited to taste this new Watties Garlic tomato sauce. First impressions on the sauce is that it was quite costly at $3.59 when our usual much bigger tuimato sauce is around the same price for about half more.

we decided to try it out on some frozen chips first so we could really get a good taste of the sauce, my two boys hated this sauce straight away I to think that the garlic flavour was really over powering more like a raw garlic then roasted but we decided to give it a second chance on our homemade pizzas as the sauce base, we found that this as a sauce base was a lot better - the cooking seemed to mellow out the raw garlic taste and gave off a nice subtle hint of garlic to our pizza. the boys also tried it in some homemade pizza scrolls for school and gobbled them up.

My overall opinion on this sauce is I would not buy it again for my family unless our usual sauce is out of stock. However in saying that I urge people to give it ago as it is great used as a base for many dishes and baking.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 13th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Anyone who knows me, knows I love tomato sauce with just about everything. And I'm not talking about a dainty little dollop, I'm talking full coverage, barely able to taste the food, "would you like some food with that sauce?" kind of thing. I'm not ashamed to admit it, I think it's the kiwi way right?! My kids are the same and even request tomato sauce with cringe worthy options like vegetables (this is where I draw the line).

When I saw this Watties Tomato Sauce with Garlic up for review I thought it was a no brainer that I should apply for it. I love the Watties brand and their Tomato Sauce is the only one I eat and have at least 4 bottles aside in the cupboard to make sure I don't run out.

I first tried the garlic flavoured one with some simple oven fries so I could really gauge the flavour, if a sauce doesn't work with oven fries then there is seriously something wrong with it. I found it had a really good mix of garlic and tomato flavour. The garlic wasn't over powering but you could clearly taste it and still enjoy the tomato flavour. It had just a hint of an after taste of garlic but nothing that would make everyone within smelling distance avert their eyes. My husband really enjoyed it too and actually choose this sauce to use instead of his old favourite Tuimato.

I quite like the bottle size that I received to trial, it's smaller than the traditional Watties Tomato Sauce which makes it a great treat sauce to pull out for something different. I still love the original sauce but I'd definitely buy this to have as an extra flavour in the fridge.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 11th of July, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was, as usual, really excited when my parcel arrived from KIWIreviews. I couldn't wait to open it andxsee what I had been sent. I had applied for Watties sauces, and was hoping my parcel would contain one. I was stoked to see the Watties tomato sauce with roasted garlic.

I am a massive tomato sauce fan, which is to be expected if you are born and bred in New Zealand. I also love garlic, possibly a little to much. Combine the two together and in my eyes you could possibly have the ultimate in sauces. Like any watties product, the packaging is good quality and the attention to detail in the label is also top notch. Easy to open, use, and pour bottles means that as expected, watties produced another great product. Now were the contents top notch as well?

Dinner time was lamb chops and veges, so the perfect excuse for sauce. It smelt yummy. I was really excited. Tastes great. A good mix of tomato and garlic. Neither more over powering than the other. I like it, but I don't love it :( Its ok, I'm happy to eat it, but I feel a little dissapointed. I expected more maybe, or maybe as my oldest son said: Its not right. Its not tomato sauce. Why try to change or fix something that is not broken. As I said, I'm happy to eat it. He however refuses lol I will buy it in the future but it wont be a regular shopping expense and it wont take the place of good old fashion original tomato sauce :)

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 24th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I recently went in to my local supermarket to stock up on 'Tuimato' sauce (my go-to tomato sauce), and found that it wasn't in stock. In fact there was no empty spot where it would be sold either. Whether it is gone temporarily or permanently, I don't know. But this meant I had to pick another sauce to lubricate my food with. While I like Watties, they have never been a huge favourite as I have found their sauces to be rather acidic, rather than flavourful. But as this product was up for review, I decided to give it an opportunity to once again sway me.

I chose to test this product by using it to accompany some fast food.The usual "dry food" that usually would require a lot of sauce to add moisture; thick beer battered fries, this time from Burgerfuel.

I found the sauce worked well. Despite garlic being considered one of the top 10 foods that cause heartburn, I honestly felt that it reduced the sharpness and acidity of the sauce. The garlic wasn't exactly a prominent flavour, but it did create an prolong the aftertaste of the sauce, and made it a fuller, more rounded sauce.

I used the sauce on that occasion, and have used it once since, yet my bottle is half empty. So my only real complaint is the size of the bottle; 330g is really not a very big bottle for a big tomato sauce aficionado as myself. I did enjoy it more than most sauces available at the moment, and would place it in my top 5 tomato sauces (Maybe No.3 or 4). I just need to find it in a larger quantity. Because I need more than 4-5 large servings per bottle.

Click here to read the profile of tamstar22

Review by: tamstar22 (Tami)
Dated: 15th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My son and I really love garlic and of course my son is tomato sauce keen, like what kid isn't. So when we picked up a bottle of this awesome garlic tomato sauce we were very keen to try it out. and without a doubt it was really good, it actually has a good hit of garlic to it but not over powering. My son has started to have it on most things, even broccoli and for some people they may find that weird, garlic tomato sauce tasting like broccoli but hey if it makes my son eat it then I will not complain.

It also is great due to the fact I have my mother living with us who can't stand garlic so my son and I really miss it in our food now as I don't add garlic when cooking, and for us its like that one thing we can still have which we can just add to our own plates, so in that area I really love it, and it keeps mum happy not having garlic in her food . It's really tasty with fries, steak, mash, chicken, pizza etc. I used it as a pizza sauce base, it was yum.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 13th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

We are garlic mad in our house, seriously garlic mad, we happily use one bulb of garlic per dinner so when we heard this was going to be released we were excited and when I saw it up for review I simply knew I had to request some to try. The bottle label is what we know and recognise as Wattie's, so no change there, why ruin a good thing. We haven't bought Wattie's tomato sauce in quite a while due to needing to buy the least expensive so price wise this would be a treat for the family, I'm hoping there will be an option to buy it in a bigger bottle for not too much more cost wise.

Taste wise, I really enjoyed this, I could smell roasted garlic once opened and couldn't wait to give it a try. My first use was with some plain potato balls and it tasted so good, knew it had garlic in it (though as with our tastes we could always do with more garlic in it). The kids all had to try something that was new and all declared that they loved it and thought it was delicious, wanting to have more of the sauce on the plate. It didn't take long at all to get through half the bottle, trying to make the rest of this last, as it was so good. Can't wait to see it on special.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 11th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

With the amount of sauce our family goes through we really should buy shares with Wattie's. The girls love tomato sauce and if they could have their way they would put it on everything. When I saw that Wattie's had a new sauce which included Garlic I jumped at the opportunity to trial some. Seriously I love my garlic and if I could hit the nail on the head with the two flavours how fantastic would that be.

We always buy the biggest Tomato Sauce there is because when its used it really is used. So when I saw the size of the bottle I was a little disappointed. My first thought was this would not last one day in this house. I really hope they come in bigger options.

Smelling it, you can smell the garlic and I got rather excited. I brought some sausages for dinner and could not wait to cook them so also brought a small packet of Savaloys so we could trial straight away. Silly me I only put a squirt on the plate and put it down and the girls had devoured the sauce straight away so I got the tiniest bit imaginable. I had to go to the kitchen and pour my own bit. Sad to say it was not as garlicy as I was hoping for. It was extremely suttle and tasted more like a smooth tomato sauce.

I cooked the sausages and chips for dinner because I could put sauce on both areas. The girls loved it. My husband said it was nice but also agreed not as garlicy as he had hoped either. Maybe because we use a lot of garlic in our meals but I really only got a suttle hint and even the Pork Sausages seem to have more flavour then the sauce. That is not saying there is not garlic in it I just could not really taste it. Saying that I will definitely be buying this flavour again because nothing beats having Fish'n'Chips with garlic and tomato sauce.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 11th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Watties Tomato Sauce is a Kiwi tradition and it is something that most people will have in their homes. I know that there are certain meals that we just have to have some Watties sauce on, like sausages and chips. The kids would fill ripped off if they didn't get it. As a family, garlic is another love of ours. Mix the tomato sauce and garlic together and you should have something that we will all enjoy.

The first thing I noticed was that the bottle is smaller than our usual choice for the family. I wondered if I could get a bigger option as we do go through quite a bit of sauce in our house. I had a look on the website and it turns out that you can only get it in the 330g bottle.

We made a cottage pie for dinner and everyone was very excited to add some sauce on the top. The kids consumed it, just like it was their usual Watties Tomato Sauce. I don't even think they noticed the difference. My husband and I found that it was a bit on the sweet side and we didn't get as much of a garlic taste as we were expecting. We love garlic and I think that if something says that it is a garlic flavour, we think that it will have a significant presence of garlic.

If I saw this sauce on special, I would consider it along with the standard Watties Tomato Sauce, but I don't think I would go out of my way to buy it. I would be buying it as an alternative to the standard sauce rather than because of the presence of the garlic.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 10th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Our family have been enjoying Watties Homestyle Tomato Sauce so when I was offered the Watties Tomato Sauce with Roasted Garlic I thought we were sure to love it. Kiwis love Watties Tomato Sauce and we are Kiwi after all. The garlic variety is much more like the original sauce than the homestyle one. It is a smooth consistency with no noticeable garlic smell.

In order to sample the sauce in it's natural state I decided to try it with some plain sausages. The garlic flavour was evident at first bite. It was not an overpowering flavour but rather a subtle garlic taste. I quite enjoyed the extra flavour. It is a sauce that you can happily share with the whole family and the kids won't complain it is too spicy. This also means that it can be used with and in a variety of dishes. I am keen to try it in lasagne, burgers and with my corn fitters and over my mash potatoes.

It is good to note that the garlic variety is the same price as the original variety tomato sauce, as is the homestyle. The tough question is do I buy a different sauce each time or fill the fridge door with all the different varieties Watties have? Only time will tell especially since I haven't tried the chilli one yet.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 7th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I honestly can not recall a time before I loved Watties tomato sauce. I vaguely recall my parents mentioning that it was sparingly dabbed on some of the first solid food I ate as a baby, and it has been a staple part of my pantry since my Uni days - a time when food was sometimes prepared while I was less than fully 'with it', as any (ex-)student will know. For me, it has topped such foods as chips, burgers, steak, pavlova, ice-cream, fried bananas, fresh pineapple... and a host of other dishes both expected and otherwise.

Still, this is the first time I have tried it with an 'added extra' to it, and I have to say I am a fan. The extra depth the roasted garlic gives it makes it something quite unique - similar but still definitely a step up from the competitors. In my opinion at any rate. I was inspired to use this as one of two ingredients combined to create a base sauce for a recent pizza experiment, and the gamble paid off tastily. I have also used this just as a 'regular sauce' on pies, in sandwiches, on lasagne, and even on regular takeaways, and every time it showed itself to be flavoursome, easy to pour, and just as crave-worthy as the parent product.

Overall, I would consider making this my new 'number one go-to sauce' except for the price. It's a fair price, but regular consumption of this at a rate equal to my use of the 'original recipe' would push my budget over the limit. So, as much as I want to fill my pantry with it, it will remain, for now, a 'treat sauce', to be used sparingly and with great care.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 1410: Spicy Chicken Pizza
Produced by Domino's Pizza

Product image for Spicy Chicken PizzaSpecial tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese, capsicum, onion, seasoned chicken, olives, peri peri seasoning, chilli flakes and a swirl of chilli mayo.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I wonder if other dogs think poodles are members of a weird religious cult."
Rita Rudner

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream