Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 18th June 2019 - 04:49:46

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Heat and Eat > Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day review

« Tasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank Casserole reviewTasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank CasseroleSpark reviewSpark »

Score: 7.7/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6372 - Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day
Brand : Tasty Pot

Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day
Price:
$6.50 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Tasty Pot

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsGood Soup for a Bad Day with roasted chicken, ancient grains & winter vegetables.

    •  High in Fibre
    •  Gluten Free
    •  Low Fat
    •  2 of your "5+ a Day"

Check out Tasty Pot onlineClick here to see all the listings for Tasty Pot Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
amaranth   carrot   celery   chicken   cream   garlic   gluten free   kumara   leek   mushroom   onion   peas   pepper   potato   pumpkin   quinoa   salt   tarragon   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Turkish DelightTurkish Delight
Rating: 9.3
Chicken & Chips PizzaChicken & Chips Pizza
Rating: 8.2
Tasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut SoupTasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut Soup
Rating: 8.1
Tasty Pot Meal - Chicken KormaTasty Pot Meal - Chicken Korma
Rating: 8.1
Jewel of India : Lamb Korma WrapJewel of India : Lamb Korma Wrap
Rating: 8.0
Sunday Best - Bacon, Egg and PestoSunday Best - Bacon, Egg and Pesto
Rating: 9.1
RJs Berry TwistersRJs Berry Twisters
Rating: 9.4
Chicken and Prawn DumplingsChicken and Prawn Dumplings
Rating: 8.2
Veal Cordon Bleu dinnerVeal Cordon Bleu dinner
Rating: 8.8
Maketu Bacon & Egg - Single ServeMaketu Bacon & Egg - Single Serve
Rating: 9.3
Kaweka - Beef & Ale CasseroleKaweka - Beef & Ale Casserole
Rating: 8.0
New World Steak and Cheese family pieNew World Steak and Cheese family pie
Rating: 10.0
Tasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank CasseroleTasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank Casserole
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 4th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

This was one of those dishes that you have to be brave about, because visually it's a little off-putting, but flavour-wise it was surprisingly better than expected... but only just. There's a lot going on in this soup and unless you are prepared for it, it may be a little confusing and overwhelming.

Personally, I think it could have done without the mushrooms, but that's just me - I'm not a fungi-guy really. Never acquired the taste for them and while I can tolerate them as an ingredient, if they become too prominent the whole dish suffers in my view. Still, for some, this may be a highlight so I leave it to you to decide for yourself if the flavour is too much or not.

Texture-wise this was bordering on a broth - thicker and chunkier than a soup by my reckoning, but not chunky enough to be a stew. Personally, I hate to admit but I was not a fan.

Overall, this is one I probably will not be buying again. It had too much going on, and by the time I got to the end of the pot I was quite happy to be finished it.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 25th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This was the second Tasty Pot I received for review and when I saw that I had been chosen for this, I was really excited. I really LOVED the name - it is very relate-able and something I would take a second look at in the supermarket. I like the colour and It initiates the thoughts of warmth and sitting next to the fire with granny's home made soup.

The instructions say that you can heat in the plastic bowl, however I don't like to heat in the original plastic, I put it in a normal bowl and heated it in the microwave. It wasn't too appealing to look at, there were some large chunks and some bits that I was not sure what they were. Anyhow, isn't the point of soup to get your daily intake of vege and use all the leftovers?!! (I love that this is 2 of the 5+ a day serve - Awesome!)

Thankfully it tasted better that it looked. It was subtle, but on a snowday (which it was today) it was much welcomed by my belly. The texture was a little odd and the veges a little mushy, however keeping in mind its healthiness, it is a winner in my opinion.

It is a little more on the expensive side, however the serving size is awesome and you would get two lunches with this. It was awesome with cheese rolls added on the side and dipped in! A southern speciality! I'm not sure I would buy this again because of the price and others on the market being a little cheaper, but it is a great competitor and I hope it comes on special at our local New World so I can try the Kumera and Coconut soup.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 25th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I was very lucky to be given the chance to review three of the different tasty pot meals. This would have to be my least favourite out of the three of them unfortunately. I was intrigued when reading the name "good soup for a bad day" and it immediately had my mind boggling about what flavour it could be.

I was interested to read on the back of the packet that it was 100% natural ingredients and gluten free. Most soups on the shelf have gluten in them so its nice to see an allergy friendly soup.

I poured my soup into a bowl before heating as I don't like having plastic in my microwave. I was astounded by how thick and lumpy the soup was and how many vegetables and chunks of chicken were actually in it. The colours of the grains weirded me out a wee bit and made me feel a bit iffy about wanting to try it. I like chunky soups but was unsure as to how the texture of the grains would go.

After heating I was impressed with the smell, it was a nice strong smell of chicken but it was enough to make my mouth semi water. My first spoonful was great but the grains/lentils just didn't do it for me. I managed to eat the entire soup but I wouldn't rave about it like the other two flavours. Flavour was amazing, smell amazing but the grain texture is just not for me. Maybe if the grains were blended or a bit softer it might have changed my mind and just blended in with the vegetables instead of sticking out.

All in all a good soup but not as amazing as the other two flavours I got to try.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 24th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

When I grabbed this off the shelf I really wasn't too inspired by it and given a choice, based upon looks, I wouldn't have bothered trying this but given that I needed to review it I bit the bullet and finally sat down to eat it. I followed the instructions on the back of the pot on how to heat this on the stove top and soon enough it was bubbling away, my husband and I both agreed that there was a strong smell of the cream but not much else. One thing that we did notice was that there were a couple of big chunks of mushroom and leek, which didn't really fit in with the rest of the dish.

My husband decided that this looked very unappealing, I won't give details, but none the less I had to tell him to shut up before me off even giving it a try. I split it with my husband and we both dug in, despite the concerns about how it looked. The grains add a bit of an odd texture to it but we adapted to that soon enough and I could tell that there was kumera in it by the slight texture, I usually cannot stand kumera (because of the texture) but it was tolerable in this soup and it didn't take long for either of us to finish our share.

A nice soup once we got over the appearance and the grains but I'm not sure we'd buy it again.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 15th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

The name is a bit of an odd choice. If asked to guess the flavour of soup from "Good Soup for a Bad Day", one would generally pick the classic chicken soup, and yet it still seems a very subtle title. Of course closer inspection mentions "roasted chicken, ancient grains, & winter vegetables", but it still didn't catch my eye, when I was scanning the shelves in the supermarket.

I quite like the labelling on the product with its humourous additions to the heating instructions, and use of asterisks ("*"). I was a bit unsure of the clear packaging. Despite knowing it is a soup, it looked less than appetizing when viewed from the outside and looked half empty; but that was just a trick of the packaging.

Today I ended up doing heavy manual labour in freezing rain. So when lunchtime came around, I was looking forward to something hot and filling. The heating instructions were very straight forward, and mention caution as the packaging is hot after heating. It is important to also mention that due to the shape of the lid, it may also drip onto you if you have to carry it a distance after opening and heating.

I still didn't think that it looked the most appetizing once heated (infact it looked more like a passionfruit sauce), but this is due to the consistency of the product. I generally prefer a thicker chunkier soup. This product is more watery; it still has chunks of meat and vege, but because of the consistency, they sink to the bottom of the packaging. There are a large number of ingredients, but they are all present in small volumes. I am not a fan of pumpkin, but it is present in small amounts to not ruin the flavour for me.

The flavour was not strong, but rather subtle. There was no ingredient that really took the main stage with taste. But it was still nice, and surprisingly filling. I'd have no problem with having this product again, but probably wouldn't be looking for it specifically, unless I was feeling sick and needed a easy to prepare chicken soup.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 13th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Good soup for a bad day, I was sold on it as soon as I saw the name this was one I just had to try. What a better day to try it then one where it's freezing cold and pouring rain!

On reading the ingredients list I was pleased to see once again as promised the list was made up of 100% natural ingredients. Reading the ingredients it had everything included to make for one very tasty soup. it was so easy to throw in the microwave and heat, by the time my toast was ready so was the soup.

Opening it up the smell was wonderful stirring it up I could see the big chucks of chicken and veges, there was also lots of grains in it. On the first bite I was a bit unsure the flavour was great and what you would expect from a full bodied chicken soup but the grains were an odd texture. However after the first few spoonfuls I got used to the texture of the grains in the soup and I was sold. It reminded me more of a decent home made soup then a mass produced soup. The chucks of roasted chicken was my favourite part of the soup and they was plenty of in mixed through.

I will be buying A good soup for a bad day again for sure, perfect winter pick me up!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.1
Product reviews for listing 3956: Little Kids Cheesy Raviolli -  Brand : Watties

Product image for Little Kids Cheesy RaviolliFrom the Watties Little Kids range comes Cheesy Raviolli, Cheese filled pasta squares in a tomato based sauce with no artificial colours or added preservatives it makes for a popular nutritious meal for active toddlers. For children 12 months+

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"In all affairs it's a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted."
Bertrand Russell (1872 - 1970)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream