Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 11th December 2019 - 20:47:17

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Soups and Chowders > Tasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut Soup review

« Avengers: Age of Ultron reviewAvengers: Age of UltronTasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank Casserole reviewTasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank Casserole »

Score: 8.1/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6370 - Tasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut Soup
Brand / Manufacturer: Tasty Pot

Tasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut Soup
Price:
$6.50 +/-
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Tasty Pot

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Tasty Pot Soup - Kumara & Coconut Soup product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsKumara & Coconut Soup with caramelised onion & coriander.

    •  High in Fibre
    •  Gluten Free
    •  Dairy Free
    •  Low Fat
    •  2 of your "5+ a Day"

Check out Tasty Pot onlineClick here to see all the listings for Tasty Pot Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
coconut cream   coriander   cumin   dairy free   garlic   gluten free   kumara   lemon   onion   pepper   salt   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Tasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank CasseroleTasty Pot Meal - NZ Lamb Shank Casserole
Rating: 9.1
Tasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad DayTasty Pot Soup - Good Soup for a Bad Day
Rating: 7.7
Tasty Pot Meal - Chicken KormaTasty Pot Meal - Chicken Korma
Rating: 8.1
Takaro TakeawaysTakaro Takeaways
Rating: 7.5
Healthy Choice : Fillet of LambHealthy Choice : Fillet of Lamb
Rating: 8.9
Tip Top Crammed Choc EruptionTip Top Crammed Choc Eruption
Rating: 8.9
Cumberland SausagesCumberland Sausages
Rating: 10.0
Mrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Smoked PaprikaMrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Smoked Paprika
Rating: 9.5
Bake Your Own - Pancake, Pikelet & Waffle MixBake Your Own - Pancake, Pikelet & Waffle Mix
Rating: 9.0
Kraka Russian FudgeKraka Russian Fudge
Rating: 8.0
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
RJ's Sour Twisters - SodaRJ's Sour Twisters - Soda
Rating: 8.6
Down to Earth Organic Chutney - Apple WalnutDown to Earth Organic Chutney - Apple Walnut
Rating: 7.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 28th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I really enjoyed the other tasty pot meals so was looking forward to this one as I love soup and have had Kumara soups in the past that were very enjoyable. However I was not a fan of this particular flavour combination as I felt the coconut taste was too strong. I do like coconut and do add coconut milk to curries however I felt the coconut in this was just too strong and it wasn't a taste I enjoyed I only ate about half of the container of soup before I decided I just couldn't stomach finishing it.

As a soup it was quite thick consistency I was expecting it to be a lot smoother so I am not sure I could get used to the thicker texture of this soup. When dipping bread into the soup it was too thick to get a nice dip and wet the bread like I would normally do with soup so I would say for me I would like the soup to be a thinner consistency. If you like a nice thick soup though you would love the consistency of this soup. I liken it to more of a kumara puree than a soup.

Although I wasn't a fan of this particular variety I would buy others in the tasty pot range again as they are a good hearty meal for a good price. At $6.50 you get a decent sized meal for a cheap price and the bonus is they are made from all natural ingredients that you can see with your own eyes. I like that they are natural as you can have a nutritious meal in 4 minutes without even having to cook.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 25th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I love Tasty Pot and so was keen to give the new recipes / flavours a go through KIWIreviews. Without trying new ones through a review process, I would probably keep to ones I know and like. From past experiences, not all supermarkets in my area stock Tasty Pots unless they have them on special.

When asked to see if my local supermarket stocked the new flavours I was surprised to see that not only had my local New World stocked the new flavours but all the old ones too. This was a huge step as before this they only stocked some soups (not meals) sometimes.

It is packaged in a recyclable container with not only informative but entertaining labelling. I loved the personal touch of kiwi humour - cook in hangi (good luck) and on the base of the container saying 'hope the lid is on nice and tight'. For a soup I would of like a bit larger portion size.

The heating was nice and simple, however I do prefer not to heat in container as the container gets very hot.

I was looking forward to the soup as kumura and coconut are two flavours I cook a lot with. Not necessarily together however. I enjoy a homemade soup. I was however disappointed at the taste of this soup. It had a rough texture and a flavour that I did not match that of kumura and coconut that I was expecting. This left a very unpleasant aftertaste. I will probably not be buying this one again as there are others that I rate more highly in their range.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 25th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Another amazing tasty pot co meal! Kumara and coconut two of my favourite things. I was thrilled to get the chance to review this as I love coconut and also love Kumara.

I read the instructions on the back of the packaging but I don't particularly like putting plastic containers into the microwave so tipped it into a bowl instead and did it that way. I did have a giggle while reading the container and loved the kiwi style sense of humor that goes with it especially the part about the hangi.

After zapping my meal in the microwave and opening the door a really nice aroma of coconut drifted out into the kitchen. My mouth immediately started to water. I gave it a mix and was really suprised at the amazing thickness of the soup. It wasn't runny like other brands that end up being a liquid drink. It was thick which told me straight away it actually must have a decent amount of vegetables blended into it to make it keep that consistency.

My first spoonful made my taste buds explode the coconut mixed with the kumara made it nice and filling and was a simple yet tasty combination. The only thing I can think of that might make this taste that little bit more amazing would be a hint of heat (spicy flavouring) to give it a bit of a kick.

All in all another great soup that will be a great addition to the shopping list over winter time.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 25th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 4 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

In all honesty this would not be my first pick off the shelf when looking for a soup as I do NOT like Kumera at all, but that's the great thing about KIWIreviews, I can try something new with minimal effect upon my wallet. I do like coconut quite a lot so how know... it could end up being quite nice... I love the joke about "hangi... good luck" on the back of the packet and followed the basic instructions for heating it up on the stove, which really only needed about three minutes.

There was a hint of coconut to the aroma with a lot of what I assumed was kumera and I dished it out between myself and my husband, which was a good serving size for the two of us for a late night snack to fill our grumbling tummies before bed. I found the texture to be a bit gritty which put me off the soup right away but I stuck at it as sometimes you can get used to the texture. My husband liked it though found it had too much coconut whereas I didn't like it at all in the end, I just couldn't adapt and so I wouldn't buy it in the future.

I'm glad I gave this a go, but kumera is still not my thing.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was lucky enough to get three tasty pots to review and kumara and coconut was my last one to taste. I ended up visiting 4 supermarkets before I found one that had it left, so it must be a pretty popular flavour.

Once I finally found it I decided it was soup and toast for dinner that night in my house. Once again the packaging was bright and attractive and had all the information I could want on it, including the hangi instructions which never fails to make me giggle.I really like the fact that the tasty pots provided 2 of your 5 plus a day it makes it easy to get them in when life gets busy! The heat up as always was super easy and when I took off the lid the yummiest smells hit me and I couldn't wait to tuck in.

Kumara is one of my favourite vegetables so I was pleased that it was the first flavour that hit me followed by the creamy coconut. The rest of the ingredients were in the background but each made it just perfect. I love the fact it was thick and creamy I really dislike thin soups. All in all it was another winner for me and one I will be sure to tuck in to again soon.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 20th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I was at the supermarket yesterday, I saw this soup. I ummed and ahhed about it, til I remembered that my husband was going out tonight. So I picked up the soup and bought it for tonight. When I got home after work, I was so glad to have something simple and easy to cook for me. I had a long tough day at work, in a full day training session. If you have ever done one for anything, then you know that like it or not, you will be a brain dead zombie by the end of the day!

So there I was, incapable of thought and not particularly hungry - they feed us on the course. I made a quick dinner for the kids and then settled in for some unwind time. Once I started to feel hungry again, I went and got this pot out of the fridge. Cooking it up was easy! You take the lid off, remove the film on top and then place the lid loosely on the pot again. I put it in a bowl to sit in for easy transporting from the microwave to the bench, and then cooked it as per the instructions. It all worked fantastically and was as easy as it sounds.

The lid did get hot as did the pot, so the bowl was an excellent idea. I opened the lid to stir away from myself as well to avoid steam. Then I just grabbed a spoon and dug in. The soup was a good thickness and was very filling. The flavour was brilliant for me. It is not hot and spicy but it has that feel like it is going to have a little spicy heat. I enjoyed the flavour, and can still taste the silky creamy coconut taste in the end notes of the soup. I could definitely taste that kumara right up front. Plus there was onion pieces in there but not so you are overwhelmed. The soup was just a really good appetizing consistency.

I liked the serve size and the packaging too. This soup is gluten free too, which means that anyone can eat and enjoy it but especially for those avoiding wheat or barley. The packet made me laugh. In the heating instructions it says "Hangi - Good Luck" after the microwave and stove top instructions. Yeah, probably not a good idea!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 4569: Chicken and Cranberry Chef's Best -  Produced by Dominoes

Product image for Chicken and Cranberry Chef's BestSeasoned chicken, camembert, red onion, baby spinach & mozzarella with cranberry sauce

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It ain't the parts of the Bible that I can't understand that bother me, it is the parts that I do understand."
Mark Twain

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream