Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 25th June 2019 - 08:00:43

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Original Muesli - Vanilla Cashew review

« Get Hard reviewGet HardOriginal Muesli - Natural Apricot reviewOriginal Muesli - Natural Apricot »

Score: 9.1/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 6331 - Original Muesli - Vanilla Cashew
Produced by Vogel's

Original Muesli - Vanilla Cashew
Price:
$6.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Vogels

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
In supermarkets nationwide

Original Muesli - Vanilla Cashew product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsA tasty blend of lightly toasted wholegrain oats with cashews and sunflower seeds.

Check out Vogels onlineClick here to see all the listings for Vogels Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
breakfast   cashew   cereal   muesli   nzmade   oats   sunflower seeds   vanilla   vogels
Other listings you may be interested in:
Leena Spices - Harissa Spice MixLeena Spices - Harissa Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
Meal for One - Beef Bourguinon and Creamy Delmonico PotatoesMeal for One - Beef Bourguinon and Creamy Delmonico Potatoes
Rating: 9.8
Original Muesli - Natural ApricotOriginal Muesli - Natural Apricot
Rating: 8.8
Cafe CubaCafe Cuba
Rating: 5.8
Tendercrisp ChickenTendercrisp Chicken
Rating: 8.9
Vogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and LinseedVogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and Linseed
Rating: 9.4
Vogel's Cranberry & Blackcurrant ClustersVogel's Cranberry & Blackcurrant Clusters
Rating: 9.4
Alexandra's Dukkah - AromaticAlexandra's Dukkah - Aromatic
Rating: 9.2
Scone Toast: Apricot and HoneyScone Toast: Apricot and Honey
Rating: 8.2
Nando's - JohnsonvilleNando's - Johnsonville
Rating: 8.5
Oven Baked Sandwich: MeatballOven Baked Sandwich: Meatball
Rating: 8.6
Meyer MaasdamMeyer Maasdam
Rating: 8.4
Barrys Bay Coldsmoked Pohutukawa RedBarrys Bay Coldsmoked Pohutukawa Red
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 2nd of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a fan of subtle new flavours and for me cashew and vanilla was just the ticket. I was really hopeful (as I always am) that this product would be as amazing as I imagined but it did lack a teeny bit for me. I really like a clustery nutty almost glued together with honey type cereal and I know there are those exact cereals out there but I just expected a little more from this. Aside from my initial misgivings I still very much enjoyed the flavour.

It has a really small particulate count in that it is not a big and small clumpy cereal that you might expect from rolled oats and whole cashew nuts. The cashew nuts are not huge and do not even stand out from the rolled oats as something to cherry pick from your bowl when enjoying a bowl of this muesli. I was really pleased that it was able to hold me for a long time past morning tea even to lunch or just before. With the help of a cup of tea this muesli is easily all you need to take you to lunch.

I found the even texture and non bleached taste very nice. Some cereals taste washed but the vanilla mixes perfectly with the milk that I had and most people would have this with. The packaging looks great and boxes are so boring so I really liked the idea of a resealable packet. But alas the cut line for the scissors destroyed the reseal line. Probably just a packaging error.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 27th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I love Vogel's breakfast products and we regularly buy several of their cereal choices in our house so I was excited to be picked to review this product. I have to say that my age old favourite which never seems to tire is mixing muesli (or in fact any cereal we buy) with yoghurt and fruit. I am simply not a cereal and milk person, never have been and never will be. I only mention this here as this, along with baking is the basis that my review is judged on. Overall I have to say that I have enjoyed eating this muesli and would buy it again.

As soon as I received this product the first thing I noticed and instantly loved was the packaging. No more boxes with fiddly little tabs to keep the product air tight and a bag to roll down just to make double sure the product doesn't go off... Total genius using a bag... And a resalable bag at that! You got this spot on Vogel's, please don't change a thing (except maybe to change some of your other products to the same great packaging) Grin Icon Along with this great packet design was also the simple and well presented nutritional information. All appeared as it should there, although I was quite surprised at how high the sugar content was for a muesli containing no fruit. In saying that, the sugar content was still well below most other cereals out there on the supermarket shelf so something that doesn't play a negative influence on choosing this cereal.

The taste of this muesli is great, I wouldn't say that it tastes strongly of vanilla - the smell and taste is definitely there but for me I could have done with it being a bit stronger. Perhaps because I simply just love vanilla. In saying that this was also a massive good point as it meant that it mixed well with other flavours, in this case the yoghurt and fruit I have been mixing it with as well as other ingredients when I used it for baking. Making Anzac biscuits with this muesli gave the biscuits that little something a bit special. I would in fact buy this product to simply use for baking alone as it really did work so well and had great flavour. I think its also important to note that this muesli doesn't contain huge amounts of cashew nuts or sunflower seeds - for me personally I found the amount to be just perfect and a great balance however I could understand for other people they might be annoyed that there wasn't enough of these ingredients in the mix.

Overall another fantastic Vogel's product that I do recommend to others to try and know it will be featuring in our supermarket trolley in the future Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 25th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

This is a new favourite! I had many great ideas for the Vanilla Cashew muesli but decided to try it with just milk to start with, to die for would be an understatement! The flavour is not to strong but definitley there and so delicious!

I decided to "flash it up" filled a tall glass 1/3 of the way with passionfruit topping, then filled it to almost 3/4 with plain unsweetened yoghurt and then topped it off with this muesli. This creation was divine and is my new daily breakfast! Absoloutley delicious!

I love that it comes in a bag and not a bag inside a box! Less waste that way which is always a bonus. The Vanilla Cashew Muesli came in an 8-- gram bag which is significantly more that you would recieve in a box, most brands come in 3-400 gram boxes. This makes it great value for money! This would also be the perfect flavour for homemade yoghurt muesli bars!

The kids were not to fussed on the cashew flavour which was fine by me, more for Mum! I imagine this size bag will last me 3-4 weeks which is a great buy! Great flavour and awesom packaging!

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

There are very few things I will eat for breakfast as I want to feel full after eating and not need to chow down three quarters of the box or bag before I feel like I might have had enough. This was an interesting muesli aa there is no fruit so I was expecting to find that I would need to add sugar but it was delicious with just milk and I felt full near the end of my bowl so that is a good sign. I didn't feel the hunger niggles for a few hours so it definitely passed the test, best part about it was that it tasted delicious with just milk.

I was going to try baking something with it but found it much too nice to risk baking and finding g it is not as nice. Since I am supposed to be avoiding sugar in my diet I will be buying this again, how often depends on the price.

The bag looks good, nice natural neutral colours and a nice big bag so it lasts a bit longer. The information is well presented and easy to read, I especially appreciate the nutritional information being big enough to read easily as sometimes the small print is hard to read and if I am not sure of the sugar content then quite often I put it back.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 3rd of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

Firstly this comes in a bag not a box which I assume means that you get more for your money as this is an 800g bag whereas most cereal boxes seem to be around 4-500 grams. I liked that. I must admit to some difficulty in getting open both my bags as they seemed to be melded completely together above the re closable strip and I ended up destroying the bags so badly that the reusable strip on them was no longer. This became very annoying as the weeks rolled on and I everyday was irritated by the fact that it hadn't just cleanly opened. Note to Vogels "please make the bags easier to open. Thankyou Smile Icon"

Well that little gripe out of the way and onto the product. Firstly the smell. I love the smell of vanilla every time I open this. The smell doesn't quite translate to the taste but that's okay. So interestingly this has puffed wheat in it. I'm not sure if that is what gives this its chewy texture but the muesli is definitely not as crunchy as I would have expected. That said it does have an interesting texture. This product doesn't have any fruit in it so the 14 grams of sugar per hundred grams can only be attributed to straight sugar which I wasn't keen on and there is more sugar than cashews in it. I should put it out there that I eat a lot of Vogels muesli and definitely love their products but I am not so sure I would buy this again.

This muesli just has a slightly peculiar taste that I don't relish and I, rather interestingly for me, have actually finished the bag of untoasted muesli that I had ahead of this whereas I would usually demolish toasted muesli within days.

So for me this wasn't really an outstanding product that I would buy again but if you want to try a muesli that is without fruit then this might be one for you.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 27th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I absolutely love muesli and am known to have a variety of packets on the go at the same time, as when I new product comes out I am keen to try.

The first thing I liked about the Vogel vanilla and cashew muesli I was given to try was that it was in a 800g packet. This being double in size to the majority of other packets on the market. That would mean that it would last me a little longer.

I loved that all the nutritional information was on clearly listed on the packet and it didn't have quite as high a sugar that other Vogel muesli (clusters) have. On opening the packet the mix was very light in colour even though it did say that it was slightly toasted. There seemed to be a lot more oats than anything else but I think that it was because all the ingredients just blended in in colour. I was pleased to see it had no added fruit as I don't like muesli's that have a lot of raisins. I would prefer to add a banana as extra fruit.

I normally eat my muesli with just milk and sometimes will add a sliced banana. The first mouthful of this muesli was not what I was use to with it being like putting a spoon of oats into he mouth - quite dry, so I added my banana. Although I like the taste, the texture is definitely something that I will have to get use to.

I sometime use muesli as a porridge and thought this would be a good one with so many oats, however the texture was not good due to the puffed wheat.

I will buy this in future (if on special as that is the only way I buy muesli) and just remember to add my own banana to make it more moist.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 26th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

When I was offered Vogel's Vanilla Cashew Muesli to review I couldn't say no. My five year old daughter is always keen to try new breakfast cereals so she was very happy to see I had bought it home too. To say that this muesli is a hit in our house is an understatement. Miss 5 had 2 servings with yogurt for breakfast and then requested it for lunch too. Her big sister (6.5 years) who only ever has toast for breakfast decided she needed to find out what all the fuss was about and now insists on having it dry for breakfast every morning.

To be honest it doesn't look that appealing both in the photo on the packet or when it is poured into your bowl. It is all a pale brown colour. That is because it is a fruit-free muesli so doesn't have the rainbow of colours that a fruit-filled muesli has. This is a big plus for me as I am very fussy about the tried fruit I eat so usually have to spend time in my busy morning routine picking out the stuff I don't like. I didn't have this problem with the Vanilla Cashew muesli. This makes it not only more convenient but more economical as it saves on wastage.

To say that this muesli is a hit in our house is an understatement. Miss 5 had 2 servings with yogurt for breakfast and then requested it for lunch too. Her big sister (6.5 years) who only ever has toast for breakfast decided she needed to find out what all the fuss was about and now insists on having it dry for breakfast every morning.

I have been having a couple of tablespoons in my smoothies for breakfast and loving the vanilla flavour that is coming through. The muesli blends so well with all the other ingredients. I have used the muesli in place of rolled oats in an ANZAC biscuit recipe. These were very popular too and didn't last long in our house.

The only problem I have is that although the muesli came in a very convenient resealable bag it wasn't big enough and we have gone through the packet in only a week. Hopefully others will have the same issue and they will bring out a bigger bag.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 22nd of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I was so happy to get new Vogel's Cereal to trial. I love Vogel's cereal and often buy their peanut butter one at my supermarket. I find though that their boxes of cereal, while being utterly delicious are often on the small side and don't last me a week. This bag of cereal was about 300 grams more so I figured I would easily get a week or more out of it.

I took this cereal to work with me and had a bowl on the Monday. A work colleague was with me in the kitchen and commented on the look of the cereal. She liked that there was no fruit pieces and the mix of grains in it. So I told her to get a bowl! The flavour of this cereal is so good. That vanilla flavour and the caramel tones of the toasted cereal, just worked so well. It was sweet without being too sweet and just a great balance. I also loved the look of it with all the seeds and different cereals in there.

I enjoyed this cereal so much I almost polished it off entirely and it did last a few days longer than my usual Vogel's cereal. But last night I thought to myself, no I need to get into the kitchen and experiment a little with this. So I took the remaining 3/4 cup worth home. Into a bowl I added this cereal, softened butter and brown sugar. I made a crumble mix, cut up some feijoas and then spooned the cereal mixture over.

I baked the crumble until it was slightly golden and then served it with french vanilla ice cream. What a treat! My husband and I shared this dessert and it was just perfect. The crunch and flavour of the cereal was not hidden even with the additions. It was the perfect comforting dessert for a chilly autumn evening. This would make the perfect crumble topping over any fruit that you wanted to bake for a dessert.

This one, I would definitely want to find again and buy it. That extra volume to the pack was brilliant and lasted a good amount of time til my next supermarket shop. The taste was brilliant, the ingredients were top quality and looked great on each spoonful. I'm not sure on the price at this stage, but given the volume and quality I would be prepared to pay a little more than I normally would.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 2991: Roshen Cream Biscuits -  Brand: Roshen

Product image for Roshen Cream BiscuitsAvailable in three varieties:
    •  Sugar Cookies with a cream filling and berry jam drop
    •  Sugar Cookies with a chocolate cream filling
    •  Chocolate Sugar Cookies with a Vanilla Cream filling

Perfect for that cuppa, a treat for the kids, or something special to serve Aunty Gladys and her bridge club for morning tea.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I like this place, and willingly would waste my time in it."
William Shakespeare (1564 - 1616), As You Like It

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream