Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 19th October 2019 - 00:23:51

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Fish > Pacific Crown Tuna - Naturally Smoked review

« Pacific Crown Tuna - Lemon Pepper & Black Olives reviewPacific Crown Tuna - Lemon Pepper & Black OlivesPacific Crown Tuna - Sweet Thai Chilli & Lime reviewPacific Crown Tuna - Sweet Thai Chilli & Lime »

Score: 8.3/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6247 - Pacific Crown Tuna - Naturally Smoked
Brand / Manufacturer Pacific Crown

Pacific Crown Tuna - Naturally Smoked
Price:
$1.69 / 95g tin
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pacific Crown

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Pacific Crown Tuna - Naturally Smoked product reviews

Delicate pieces of gently smoked premium tuna. Ideal for sandwiches, savoury biscuit toppings or as a meal when served over rice, noodles or mixed through pasta.

A healthy source of Omega 3, Pacific Crown tuna is wild caught using dolphin friendly methods.

Check out Pacific Crown onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pacific Crown Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
omega 3   salt   smoked   tuna
Other listings you may be interested in:
Fruit Bites - Apple with crispy riceFruit Bites - Apple with crispy rice
Rating: 6.8
Pacific Crown Tuna - Sweet Thai Chilli & LimePacific Crown Tuna - Sweet Thai Chilli & Lime
Rating: 9.6
Pacific Crown Tuna - Lemon Pepper & Black OlivesPacific Crown Tuna - Lemon Pepper & Black Olives
Rating: 8.0
VenerdiVenerdi
Rating: 8.7
Mrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Butter Chicken mixMrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Butter Chicken mix
Rating: 9.8
Pacific Crown Tuna - Tomato, Basil & OreganoPacific Crown Tuna - Tomato, Basil & Oregano
Rating: 9.3
Pics Peanut Butter - SmoothPics Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
Pacific Crown Tuna - Tom YumPacific Crown Tuna - Tom Yum
Rating: 7.0
Healthy Choice : Pepper SteakHealthy Choice : Pepper Steak
Rating: 8.9
Pacific Crown Tuna Chunks in Spring WaterPacific Crown Tuna Chunks in Spring Water
Rating: 9.2
Pacific Crown Tuna - Ginger and LimePacific Crown Tuna - Ginger and Lime
Rating: 8.7
Old El Paso Mexican Sour Cream ToppingOld El Paso Mexican Sour Cream Topping
Rating: 1.5
Pacific Crown Tuna - Mild Thai CurryPacific Crown Tuna - Mild Thai Curry
Rating: 7.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of bubblesnz

Review by: bubblesnz (Tania)
Dated: 4th of May, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Quality:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

This is one of my all time favourites, as soon as you open the tin you can see the flavour before you even taste it..and the nice chunks of Tuna in there. The Quality of this product is also outstanding and our whole family just love it. I thought it might have been a bit oily at first, but no..no oily taste at all, but a really nice blend of flavours which goes really nicely on toast and crackers and even just on a plate with some salad and is definitely value for money, I do however wish..( every time I eat some) that there was onion inside the mix but I know that is more a personal taste thing and I sometimes just add my own to it, which then makes it perfect for me.

The amount of smoky taste is just perfect also...it doesn't take away from the taste of the Tuna at all, but adds a nice subtle taste . I highly recommend you trying this tin of Tuna and just know you wont be disappointed and if you are on a budget this is a great way of making a cheap healthy meal, my latest was turning it into some Fish Cakes which came out super delicious.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 6th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Quality:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I've had a lot of tuna am not a fan of smoked tuna and that horrid fish taste. This one isn't like most of them that I've had and it didn't leave that gross oily texture on my fingers. I would even go as far as saying it is palatable. This wouldn't be my first choice but definitely is not to be discounted. I found it went really well on a salad sandwich and wasn't overpowered by all the other flavors as sometimes happens. That's if you can get it past the kids.

All three of my children really like it and with one studying geography and the responsible business practices, she supports buying this product. This is perfect on toasties when you want that classic tuna melt taste.

Here again, pacific crown has kept the label and coloring classic and easy to find in the shops that even my four year old can identify what it is. She can even tell you which is her favourite. These can's are a great size for the lunchbox, handbag and I would like to see if they do bigger ones for the at home meal. When you are a family of 5, 95grams just doesn't go far.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 27th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Quality:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I love tuna and usually stick to plain or flavoured tuna so when the chance to review naturally smoked came up I decided it was a good time to try it. My dad does a lot of smoking which I love so was keen to see what smoked tuna was like.

I must say opening the tin I was a little disappointed there was quite a bit of oil in it. I drained it off but found the tuna still had a bit of an oily taste to it. I found I didn't really get a smokey taste either I don't know if its because I drained the oil off and lost some of the flavour or if it just wasn't their to begin with. It's not that it was terrible it's just that it was lacking something. It wasn't quite a plain tuna but wasn't smoked as I had imagined it to be.

I was going to just have it on crackers but as I found it a bit bland I decided to try something else with it. I had some cream cheese in the fridge so I mixed some in with the tuna added some spring onion and made a yummy sandwich spread. While I won't be buying it again to eat on its own I would happily use it again as sandwich spread.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 19th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Quality:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I eat a lot of tinned tuna as my wife doesn't like fish and I don't know how to cook fish so tinned tuna is an acceptable compramise I find, so that I can have fish in some of my meals. I like smoked tuna, in fact that's the one flavor I get the most often when buying tuna so I was excited to try this, one confusion though is that it says it is "Naturally Smoked" but the ingredients states "natural smoke flavour" so I'm not sure if the fish was smoked or if it is just flavoring....

We hadn't gotten anything out of the freezer for dinner but happily we had sauce, cheese, tortillas and tinned tuna and chicken, so pizza it was for dinner. All the kids wanted to try this out, so I gave them a small taste each with all three giving the thumbs up and saying they thought it was yummy, though my son was the only one who requested it on his pizza. We put some garlic margarine on the base, some BBQ pizza sauce, the tuna, cheese and garlic granules sprinkled on top. The tuna was nice but no strong flavor so it didn't really stick out at all, but my son really enjoyed it and I don't think I've seen him eat his pizza so fast.

Whilst not a strong flavor, and I wish there was a little less oil, this is good value so if it is the cheapest then that's what I'm getting quite happily.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 4th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Quality:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We enjoy tuna every now and then in our house and the kids will devour a small tin by themselves. I love smoked fish and I was looking forward to trying the smoked tuna. Rightly or wrongly, I was expecting that smoked tuna wouldn't be oily, when I opened the can I was a bit surprised to find that it had quite a bit of oil in it. I tasted it and didn't think that it tasted like it was smoked. I must say that I did enjoy it, but it wasn't at all what I expected. I think that I would have struggled to eat more than part of a can with all the oil in it. Sharing it was definitely a good idea.

I offered it Miss three and she opened her mouth and in went the tuna. She decided that the cat should have some as well. She grabbed a spoonful and put it in the cat's dish. The cat was over the moon and ate it smartly in case Miss three decided to take it back! Meanwhile, Miss three came back to us and requested her own cracker with the tuna on it. She had eaten it up before, I knew what had happened. So it got the thumbs up from her.

The front of the can says "Naturally Smoked" but the ingredients states "natural smoke flavour" - I am not sure what that actually means as the front of the can gave me the impression that it was actually smoked.

Our family usually have tuna in spring water as it is better for us so it has to be something pretty special for us to consider tuna in oil. I don't think this particular tuna stood out enough for us to make it a special purchase.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 26th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Quality:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

As a child, I remember my father used to be a keen big game fisherman, and was often away from home for 3-4 days every season catching wild tuna. He'd come home with a chilly bin stacked with tuna steaks, and about a week later he would take off for a day and return with the other half of the fish that had been smoked by a friend of his who owned a smoke-house. So, smoke tuna is one of my earliest childhood memories and is the single biggest reason that tuna is about the only fish I will eat. Normally, I can't stand fish, but smoked tuna... that's my kryptonite, buddy.

Opening the can I was a little saddened to see the amount of oil - I know it has to be there to prevent the fish meat from oxidising and losing it's lovely colour and flavour, but that still doesn't make it easy to see. However, in fairness, I have opened cans by far more commonly-know "high grade" brands and seen a can filled top the brim with oil, and far less flesh in it, so Pacific Crown get some points back for making sure the can is packed as "fish with a bit of oil" and not "oil with a bit of fish".

Recently being selected to receive a boxload of random products to trial, I found myself with some strange ones, including little filo pasty cups - hardly big enough to do anything with, and with the cavity so blocked by the puffed-up pastry it was difficult to get anything into it - but I managed to shoehorn some of the tuna into a few of them, then wedge in a slice of fresh spring-onion, a 'stick' of baby Roma tomato, and then sprinkled the top with some Moroccan seasoning mix. This made for a nice, if somewhat dry, snack-bit that was liked by those who tried them. (The second round, I added a squirt of Aioli into the bottom first, and that helped a bit with the dryness.)

I found the smokiness of the tuna to be... quiet. I would have said "lacking" but when I tried it on its own there was a slight hint. I am not sure if the tuna was smoked, or there was a "smoky seasoning" added to the oil - I suspect it was more likely the latter - but for me this was a let-down.I admit my taste buds prefer stronger flavour profiles, but I was hoping for something with that deep smokiness I have found in some other products - this was tame, sedentary, and quite simply too 'flat' to impress.

Overall, while this will never become a regular member of my pantry, it is one I'll consider if I need to prepare some snacks for those who, like so many Kiwis, have really mild taste buds. I would hesitate to use this in any dish that has any spiciness or even middling-strong flavours because they would drown it, but if you like the quieter flavours then this is one you may well consider. On crackers with a slice of fresh tomato would bring out the flavour, or with a slice of colby or mild cheddar instead of the tomato would be good too.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 13th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Quality:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

To be honest I have never purchased Tuna before and I was absolutely lost at what to do with it. I jumped online and got some inspiration and decided to have Tuna Hamburger Patties. Nice, quick and simple.

I mixed together the can of Pacific Crowns Tuna Naturally Smoked, eggs, ripped up some white bread, pepper, lemon, onions and cheese and put in fridge for twenty old minutes. I then fried them up - they fried beautifully and did not fall apart at all which was great. My youngest supervised me and told me when to turn the patties over. While cooking I also cut up some cheese and put some Tomato Sauce and Tartare Sauce into dishes.

Less than half an hour I had a quick platter done up for us to eat. We all enjoyed the meal but I did not find it very smokey at all. Actually if I was honest it was rather bland. Maybe if I was to do in the future again I would use two cans instead of one to give it a bit more flavour and at this price that would be a really great meal. Also would add some spring onions just to give it that extra kick. But value wise I was impressed you got a lot for such a small can.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 10th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Quality:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was given some of this tuna to review and as smoked fish in a white sauce is an easy go-to quick meal in our house, I was keen to try it out in this way.

I took a guess at quantities of ingredients as the can was so small, and it ended up making a nice small one person sized meal, perfect to add a hard boiled egg to and serve over toast. For me it was a great lunch meal to take to work, but I'd also have considered freezing the resulting meal for when I needed something to feed Miss 6 if we were eating later/eating something else for some reason.

The smoked flavour was very subtle and had Miss 6 got to try it, I think she would have really enjoyed it. She finds some cans of smoked fish a little strong. I can see this being perfect just in sandwiches, wraps etc too.

I highly recommend keeping little cans of tuna like this in the pantry as we do, as they are a great easy option to grab for lunch at work, and although we tend to go for other flavoured varieties I can see this flavour being one we'd happily keep on hand to enjoy again.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 8371: Down to Earth Organic Chutney - Dates & Tamarind -  Produced by Down to Earth

Product image for Down to Earth Organic Chutney - Dates & TamarindThis sweet and savoury chutney is like a dipping sauce and very much a must accompaniment with savoury snacks like spring rolls, samosas, chips, crackers etc. This particular sweet-tangy dip is popular in Northern and Western India.

Dates are powerhouse of essential vitamins and minerals and are a fantastic natural sweetener. Tamarind is called Indian date. The combination of dates and jaggery makes it iron-rich chutney.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"If corn oil is made from corn, and vegetable oil is made from vegetables, then what is baby oil made from?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream