Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 15th September 2019 - 22:22:31

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Yoghurts > Raglan Coconut Yoghurt review

« The Secret Garden reviewThe Secret GardenThe Great Fire reviewThe Great Fire »

Score: 9.3/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 6201 - Raglan Coconut Yoghurt
Brand / Manufacturer Raglan Coconut Yoghurt

Raglan Coconut Yoghurt
Price:
$14.99/700ml or $9.99/400ml Jars
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Raglan Coconut Yoghurt

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality stores

Raglan Coconut Yoghurt product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsPure coconut goodness, handmade with love in Raglan!

Paleo and dairy-free friendly, with lots of probiotics for happy, healthy tummies.

    •  Dairy-free
    •  Lactose-free
    •  Gluten-free
    •  Soy-free
    •  Nut-free
    •  GMO-free
    •  Gum Free

    •  Kosher
    •  Paleo
    •  No Preservative
    •  100% NZ-made

NOTE: 15/06/15 - New jar sizes are now available, and the 'Jar Recycling Scheme' has been discontinued.
NOTE: 30/07/16 - Pricing has been updated.
NOTE: 12/08/16 - New 'Gum Free' recipe.

Check out Raglan Coconut Yoghurt onlineClick here to see all the listings for Raglan Coconut Yoghurt Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
acidophilus   bifidobacterium   coconut cream   dairy free   gluten free   gmo free   gum free   honey   kosher   lactose free   nut free   nzmade   paleo   probiotics   raglan   soy free
Other listings you may be interested in:
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Vanilla BeanRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Vanilla Bean
Rating: 8.9
Eureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea SaltEureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea Salt
Rating: 8.3
Little Yoghi Probiotic Coconut Yoghurt - VanillaLittle Yoghi Probiotic Coconut Yoghurt - Vanilla
Rating: 8.9
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Mango and TurmericRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Mango and Turmeric
Rating: 9.1
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Strawberry & AcaiRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Strawberry & Acai
Rating: 9.2
Ham and Pineapple Classic PizzaHam and Pineapple Classic Pizza
Rating: 8.3
Proper Crisps - Kumara CrispsProper Crisps - Kumara Crisps
Rating: 9.2
Taste of India Vindaloo SauceTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Rating: 8.3
McDonalds - Grand AngusMcDonalds - Grand Angus
Rating: 8.5
Nut Brothers - Super CrunchyNut Brothers - Super Crunchy
Rating: 9.4
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala VanillaRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala Vanilla
Rating: 9.4
Top Notch Macadamias - Smoke 'N' SpiceTop Notch Macadamias - Smoke 'N' Spice
Rating: 8.3
Little Yoghi Probiotic Coconut Yoghurt - StrawberryLittle Yoghi Probiotic Coconut Yoghurt - Strawberry
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sarahjk

Review by: sarahjk (Sarah)
Dated: 2nd of August, 2019

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We are big yoghurt eaters in this house and this is our favourite brand of coconut yoghurt. We love the flavour and how thick it is. Sadly we would go through one a day so not in the budget unless it is for special occasions. I do like that they come in glass jars, which we do use in our pantry, donate to the school or recycle. The kids do have to be careful handling the glass too, as we have had one fall out of the fridge.

In a world full of plastic, it is amazing to find companies that do use glass and eco-friendly packaging. We enjoy this with meringues, on homemade granola, with swirls of stewed seasonal fruit or as a treat, my daughter enjoys the barkers strawberry sauce.

We are a gluten-free household so it is reassuring that there is no gluten in this product to keep me and our daughter safe. It also makes it easy at family events when our family come together and there are multiple food allergies, that this is a reliable product that everyone can eat, without worries of cross-contamination. I find it reassuring that there are no preservatives or artificial flavours and colours.

Click here to read the profile of loten10

Review by: loten10 (Katie)
Dated: 10th of July, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The first time I tried Raglan Coconut Yoghurt was at the Auckland Food Show. I really wasn't expecting too much- I mean how can you really make a creamy yoghurt without using 'actual' dairy' right? But on that first tiny mouthful I was hooked. This luscious, creamy and smooth yoghurt with a sweet yet tangy but rounded taste left me wanting more and more. It didn't have the really strong coconut taste I expected (a la an artificially made 'coconut flavoured dairy product', this was much more subtle than that. I don't eat much dairy anyway as it flares up my eczema, so I decided that I would try a jar and see how I got on.

I have since had so many uses for this product. Yes, it is totally delicious on cereal, in layered parfaits It is also amazing frozen into ice-blocks (whizzed up with some blueberries is my daughter's particular favourite and guaranteed to halt any tantrum or injury-related crying), and makes a curry so creamy and luscious there is no need for cream. I love the fact that it is free of so many things- so many people can use this yoghurt, and I know that I can use it in baking and cooking for guests without fear of allergic reactions. However, my favourite way to eat this is still on it's own, with a spoon, straight from the jar. It is just that good.

I also need to mention the company itself, as I love the fact that I am supporting such a fair and ethical business. They are part of so many projects and schemes to ensure that they leave the world just a little bit better than when they started- and it is so good to see a company flourishing using these principles.

Overall, I think that their tag line of 'Joy in a jar' just about sums it up really. Such a beautiful product from an ethical Kiwi business.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 16th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

We seem to go through stages in my household where we eat a lot of yoghurt and with Miss 3's skin tending to flare up with to much dairy intake, I have often looked at the varieties of coconut yoghurt available in the supermarket chiller however had never purchased it as I thought it would be safer to stick with the soy yoghurt which I know she will eat.

After reading all the great reviews on the Raglan Coconut Yoghurt on KIWIreviews I was very excited to see a sample station of Raglan Coconut Yoghurt set up last week at my local supermarket during there Birthday celebrations, this to me seemed like the perfect opportunity for both Miss 3 and myself to sample the yoghurt without having to pay for a tub of something that we perhaps wouldn't like. When Miss 3 was handed her little tub and spoon she gobbled it up saying it was "yummy" and quickly asking for more, the lady at the stand said she was amazed at how she had eaten it as children usually screw there faces up and don't eat more than a mouthful due to the tartness, I must say I was also quite suprised as it was quite a tart yoghurt even for me.

We ended up buying a small 400ml jar of the yoghurt, which Miss 3 was begging for more of when we got home. This yoghurt goes great as a dip for wedges which I decided to try as an alternative to sour cream. It also works perfect in smoothies and as a yoghurt, due to the tartness of it I have been adding canned fruit to it to sweeten it up a little which works well and still gives you a balance of the creamy coconut taste and texture. I've also tried putting a dollop onto a bowl of porridge and sprinkling it with brown sugar which was very yummy. The biggest problem with this yoghurt was that it didn't last us long enough.

I am really impressed by the health benefits of this yoghurt especially the high quantity of probiotics it contains, as well as how natural and free from nasties it is. The packaging was eye-catching and the glass jar makes it seem rather fancy! For the price I will certainly be happy to buy more of this, such a healthy and yummy treat that is so rich and creamy.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 27th of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was lucky enough to receive a 700ml jar of this divine Raglan Coconut Yoghurt to review. I wasn't really sure what to expect having heard of the product but not delved into what it was. Anything made in Raglan is going to be a unique and quality product in my view and the yoghurt has proved itself to be just as unique and special as Raglan itself is.

The lid of this jar claims that it is handmade with love. I love the labeling on this product as its very eye catching. The nutritional analysis is in KJ and the old style calories (thank-you for that !) This is a great product for many restricted diets and I imagine it fills a huge gap in the market for products that are completely allergy friendly.

I must be honest and say when I initially saw the size of the jar and the price I thought what a lot of money for not much but upon opening this jar I think the price point is fairly reasonable. This yoghurt is exceptionally rich and I couldn't really imagine having more than a few dollops at a time. The taste is just sublime and very intense. I really love coconut so this is a flavour that I am already sold on but I particularly love the almost bitter (though that isn't quite the right word maybe sharp or tart almost like a lemon sharpness) taste that just leaves you feeling completely satisfied and sated with this product.

I have let the family taste it but have really reserved it for myself and have been having it as a treat every night. I can definitely recommend trying this and in comparison with other dairy free yogurts I have tried this is definitely my favourite by far. A fantastically unique product to fill what I think is a gap in the market.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 6th of March, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was so excited to see a product like this come up on KIWIreviews. My son and I were on a very restricted diet a couple of years ago and I was looking for a product just like this with no luck. I had even looked up how I could make a coconut yoghurt myself at the time as it would mean that I could substitute it for milk/yoghurt in other recipes.

I had read an article in the local paper about this local company and was taken by their story. Loved how this business has grown so quickly and they have learnt so much along the way. Loved how they value recycling and this showed by them first reusing jars found in second-hand shops and now they are buying in jars are offering a $1 discount off the next jar if you return you old jar.

When I was given this product I was told I probably had a few days before it could no longer be used. I am very fussy on use by dates on perishable goods so was not going to be waiting the 3 days to get into this yoghurt. I would have liked to have seen a best before date on the jar somewhere so that I could use it up to this date comfortably knowing.

When opening the jar I found this difficult as my little hands don't seem to like those bigger jars very much - I therefore had to call on the help of my hubby which wasn't a bad thing as he too was keen to try it. The first mouthful I found to be quite bitter but the texture was that of normal yoghurt, the aftertaste being that of coconut milk. I gave this another go and found as I got past the top layer of the yoghurt it was not as bitter. I enjoyed the taste, however hubby didn't like the coconut flavour and was keen to add some flavouring to it - in which he did and continued to eat.

I did save half a jar to use in some cooking as was keen to try it with an Indian dish that I normally either use coconut cream or plain yoghurt. It gave the dish a new flavour as this was a mix of the coconut cream and the yoghurt.

I think that this company has filled a gap that many people out there on special diets are missing. Although it is expensive many special diet products are. This will definitely be a product that I revisit especially if my diet has to once again become dairy, soy and gluten free.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 4th of March, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have an issue with too much dairy and I am always on the look out for alternatives. Coconut has recently been hitting the shelves in a variety of different ways. I have tried coconut flour, coconut water, coconut oil, coconut milk and coconut cream. I was very excited about trying coconut yogurt. I wasn't quite sure what to expect but I was pretty sure it would be good.

My first impression was how creamy it was, the texture was a bit like a good greek yogurt. I took one spoonful, with the intention of wanting to just give it a go. I used that spoon to dip into the jar as well as to eat off. I couldn't help it, I ate it and just had to have some more. I went through a few teaspoons in the same way as I didn't want to double dip into the jar and cause it to go off. I really couldn't get enough. I shared a bit of my precious yogurt with my children at this stage, and their reaction was the same as mine. Miss Three responded with "Mummy...it's YUMMY".

The taste reminded me of coconut cream but it wasn't as rich or sweet. Looking at the ingredients, I see that it is made of 99.7% coconut cream, so the taste wasn't surprising. It had a nice freshness and tartness about it without tasting like it was unsweetened. There is organic raw honey in the mix, as well as probiotics. As with all probiotics, you would only get the benefit of them if they are eating in the raw state, so cooking with the yogurt wouldn't be as good.

On the day I picked the yogurt up for review, I was feeling a bit sick. After my tasting experience with the yogurt, I seemed to feel much better. With only one test like that, I wouldn't like to say that it was a cause and effect situation but I was pretty happy that I felt better and I would be willing to try it again if I had the same issue.

The jar is simple in colour and design and very attractive to the eye. The company supports recycling and gives you $1 off your next purchase if you return the jar - great idea. It is clearly labelled not the jar that the product is best eaten within 10 days. That wouldn't be a problem as it would be harder to keep with from the family for 10 days - it would easily be gobbled up within a couple of days.

I would like to bring up the issue of the price here as I don't want to end the review with the only downside of the product. At $15.99 for 700ml, it is a very expensive version of yogurt. With the price, it is important to consider that this is a hand-made product and not a mass-produced product which is full of sugar and additives. Unfortunately, even knowing how good this product is, the price would deter me from purchasing it very often. I would certainly consider it if I was making a very special breakfast of dessert as it is truly amazing (and could work out cheaper and better for you than going out for either treat). One suggestion could be to supply the product in a jar half the size, paying around $8 for 350ml wouldn't actually seem as high (although I do understand and respect the fact that each jar has its own cost of the jar, labeling etc and therefor may not be a viable option).

I tried the yogurt is a few different ways - it made my berry and banana smoothie beautiful and creamy, it worked perfectly when layered with fresh berries from the garden and cereal for breakfast, and it tasted truly divine by itself.

To complete this review, I would like to say how much I enjoyed this product, I am now going to have to wait for that special reason to splash out and buy another jar. I am missing the flavour already.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 3rd of March, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I love yoghurt and I love coconut but I must admit that this product was going to be a very clear yay or nay from me. I wasn't 100% sure that a dairy free yoghurt was going to live up to the taste of the Greek style yoghurts I love. Still I was prepared to be open-minded about it.

I got the jar on Monday night. The next day I had a very early start as I needed to get to work for 6:30am and then a trip to Auckland for a 9am meeting. I got up, had a shower and then decided I needed to have breakfast. Usually I have breakfast and by 8am I am starving. But that morning, I had some muesli with anicent grains, and some of this yoghurt. I didn't add milk or anything else.

The taste was brilliant. It tasted like a yoghurt but it was like thick creamy coconut. It was just delicious. I would have eaten the whole jar right then and there if I didn't need to get on the road. I went to work, and got in the car. 8am came and I still felt full. 10am came and I still felt comfortable but not hungry. I have a meeting that runs right through lunchtime and I usually eat beforehand. That day I didn't feel like eating at all until 2pm! Completely unheard of!

That night I went home and I gave my daughters a taste of the yoghurt. Neither of them really enjoyed it, which was fine - more for me. However, I did get my daughter baking in the kitchen with me and we made a nice moist chocolate coconut yoghurt cake.

Wednesday night I used this yoghurt for a fish meal. I mixed it with some Smoked Paprika and salt and vegetables as well. The parcels were baked in tin foil and served on rice. The meal was pretty good though I think the other flavours overwhelmed the yoghurt a bit.

The shelf life on this product is a bit on the short side, but think if you got it fresh you'd easily finish the jar in the time you have. The jar it comes in is really cool and I love all the branding. The colours and the smiling coconut motif is so cute. The price is a bit on the high side but I think if I was looking for something dairy-free because of an allergy I would be inclined to purchase it regularly. I'm definitely planning a special trip to Dinsdale Bin Inn to pick up another jar in the future.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 28th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have been trying to eat healthier and cut down on dairy foods so when the opportunity came to review Raglan Coconut Yoghurt I put my hand up. When I collected the yoghurt I was warned to get it home to the fridge straight away and it only had two to three days left to be eaten. Following these instructions was not a problem at all as my five year old daughter and I loved the product and there was an empty jar within two days.

When I looked at the unopened jar it appeared that the yoghurt was a drinking consistency but once I opened it I saw that it was actually very thick (much thicker than regular yoghurt and had a small amount of whey around the outside. When I spooned the yoghurt out of the jar it didn't fall off the spoon and make a mess on the bench was a great bonus.

We have a smoothie each morning for breakfast so this was the ideal way to use the yoghurt. I used both the curds and whey in the smoothies. It gave the smoothies a distinctive coconut flavour which worked well with all the fruits. It was so popular with Miss 5 that I told her if she went straight to sleep she could have a coconut smoothie in the morning and I had a very peaceful evening.

The label tells us that the yoghurt is full of great stuff and ideal for most diets. There is also a statement that if you return the jar you will receive $1 off your next jar. One thing that was missing from the jar was a use by or best before date. It states to use within 10 days of purchase but it is unknown how long it has been sitting in the store and I have a tendency to forget when I purchased something.

I admit to enjoying the yoghurt straight from the jar on a few occasions. It was delicious and would also explain why the jar didn't last long in my house. It is a bit expensive to buy regularly but would be a great treat. I am saving my jar to buy more sometime.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 25th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Texture:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given some of this yoghurt to review and I was keen to try it out as I enjoy yoghurt and I'm a fan of coconut. I have to admit though that I tend to go for the mass produced yoghurt at the supermarket and so I wasn't sure what to expect in terms of taste and texture.

The first thing I noticed is that this yoghurt is lovely and thick in texture - something I'm not used to, but loved. And on tasting it, I could definitely taste a subtle lovely coconut flavour. Because I'm used to much sweeter yoghurt, I initially found it just a tiny bit sour for my taste buds but this was easily fixed by adding a bit of brown sugar... maybe taking away from some of the health benefits but a good option if you needed it sweeter.

I tried it with my 6 year old too, and she wasn't a fan, although she instantly picked it as coconut flavour even though I hadn't told her. She preferred it with sugar mixed in too, which is not really a good advocate for the yoghurt we usually eat - obviously we are getting far too used to much sweetness!

I had a blueberry loaf recipe I'd been wanting to try and I used this yoghurt in it and my loaf came out perfect. Although the coconut flavour was lost in the actual baking, I served the loaf with more yoghurt on the side and it was an absolutely delicious accompaniment... and no I didn't need to add sugar as it complimented the sweet loaf perfectly.

I've also tried it with some unsweetened cooked apples and again it was perfect... my taste buds are already adapting to the more natural and healthier yoghurt - which has to be a good thing! Although this is more expensive than what I'd normally buy, I can see the health benefits and love the creaminess... oh so creamy! I can certainly recommend this yoghurt if you are looking for something of quality that tastes delicious too... I'm even going to resist adding sugar from now on and give my body a real treat!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.6
Product reviews for listing 1045: Kumara Hash Browns
Produced by Kauri Coast Kumara

Product image for Kumara Hash BrownsKauri Coast Kumara Hash Browns are full of flavour and goodness. With a slight herb and spice flavouring and chunks of red kumara these hash browns taste great.

Kauri Coast Kumara Hash browns are best served with bacon and eggs or great as an after school snack for kids.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Never invoke the gods unless you really want them to appear. It annoys them very much."
G.K. Chesterton

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream