Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 21st June 2019 - 05:56:14

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Biscuits and Crackers > Pods - Mars review

« Pods - Twix reviewPods - TwixPods - Bounty reviewPods - Bounty »

Score: 8.6/10  [15 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 612 - Pods - Mars
Brand: Mars (NZ)

Pods - Mars
Price:
$3.29
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Mars (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
June 2005

Pods - Mars product reviews

Top 10 Most Read in 2009Ever found yourself licking an ice-cream stick? Or eating biscuit crumbs off your lap? You have, haven't you? And we know why. It's because you've finished something tasty. The key word being 'finished'. Kaput. The final siren on your enjoyment has been blown. And you can't handle it.

So that's why we created 'Pods' crunchy biscuit. They start off as biscuit wafer caups baked in our revolutionary Wakrone oven which makes them amazingly light and crunchy. In these wafer cups is a delicious Mars filling. And in each pack are 40 of these delicate suckers - and they're bite sized.

See the genius yet? That's right. You can have one and eat it. And it tastes great. And then when your brain calls out and says 'Hey you, give me more of whatever that was,' you can reach in the pack and have another. And another. And that, my learned friend, is why enjoyment now lasts longer.

Check out Mars (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Mars (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
biscuit   caramel   chocolate   snack   sugar   sweet   treat
Other listings you may be interested in:
Cafe ParadisoCafe Paradiso
Rating: 10.0
Taste of India Mango Chicken SauceTaste of India Mango Chicken Sauce
Rating: 8.3
Eureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea SaltEureka Premium Popcorn - Original Sea Salt
Rating: 8.3
Del SaucissonDel Saucisson
Rating: 9.3
Pods - BountyPods - Bounty
Rating: 8.8
Hersheys Magic ShellHersheys Magic Shell
Rating: 8.2
Pods - TwixPods - Twix
Rating: 8.8
Pics Peanut Butter SlugsPics Peanut Butter Slugs
Rating: 9.5
MoonPie BitesMoonPie Bites
Rating: 8.4
Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Vanilla BeanRaglan Coconut Yoghurt - Vanilla Bean
Rating: 8.9
Tegel Zoo Animal Chicken Nuggets 1kgTegel Zoo Animal Chicken Nuggets 1kg
Rating: 7.6
Cheez DippersCheez Dippers
Rating: 7.1
Pods - SnickersPods - Snickers
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 15th of August, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

So so so so so so YUMMY!!! I love biscuits, Mars bars, and all things chocolate so these were heaven in a pod to me. I'm not quite sure what it is but minature products seem to really appeal to me, when I saw these tasty looking morsels in a combination of my 3 most favourite things there was no questioning over whether or not I was to try them.

The fact there were 40 to a box made me not feel so guilty, as I portioned them out into bags of 5 which seemed just the right number to hit that sweet sugar craving. The crisp biscuit shell was the perfect thickness and texture with just the right amount of crunch to them. The caramel was smooth and flowing, with a creamy, rich taste. The caramel is a bit runnier in consistency than that of the standard Mars but to fair I do actually prefer my caramel to be this way. Topped with thick creamy chocolate these are perfect. I have served these up at Christmas before and they are always so quick to go, my family absolutely loves them. They make a perfect sweet treat for a lunch box and a great snack for watching a movie or sports match, grab a handful and your good to go.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 1st of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.8/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

Out of the 3 flavours I had tried, this was the one that I had the highest expectations for. Mars bars, were always my favourite compared to Twix and Snickers. That being said, I prefered Milky Way's compared to Mars Bars, because despite how much I enjoyed the flavour, the Mars Bars, were big enough, that I'd be over the sweetness by the end of it. Milky Way's were small enough to enjoy without overdoing it.

But its the nougat that I have always enjoyed the most in chocolate bars, It was light and fluffy, compared with the thick, rich, intense flavour of the caramel. Which is why I was let down by these Pods, While the flavour was less intense than the Twix and Snickers flavours, it was still too sweet and sickening for me. It was okay for a few, but I would never be able to eat a packet that big, so it is wasteful.

Without the separation of nougat and caramel, it just didn't appeal to me. I am still curious to try the Bounty Bars Pods, as I do love the coconut bars, and their lack of caramel may provide a flavour that I will enjoy, but I will have to wait and see. These Pods just didn't do anything for me.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 30th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 7 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had never tried these before despite the fact they had been around for so many years, I only heard of them by seeing the reviews on KIWIreviews! I decided I had to try them as they had such great reviews and was real gutted that I couldn't find any bounty ones as bounty is my favourite chocolate bar of all time. My choice because of that was these Mars bar ones.

I was impressed by the taste, which was a crispy biscuit shell filled with yummy mars bar. I found the caramel was a bit more free flowing than in a normal mars bar but that didn't bother me because I love caramel. The chocolate had that great mars bar quality. They are quite a good size for a quick snack for a chocolate fix being so bite sized you can have a relatively guilt free handful.

The only complaint I have is there is just not enough in a pack, because they are just so moreish and after sharing around you are left wanting more, more, more. Overall a great product although I really would like to try the Bounty ones!

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 21st of December, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 3.3/10
Taste:
Score 2 out of 10
Portions:
Score 5 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

Gosh from reading the other reviews about this product I must be the only one out there who doesn't like them!! I have never bought my own packet of Pods but have tried them on a couple of occasions at friends parties or work shouts, and I can't say they are anything special and I am a fan of both biscuits and Mars bars!! But put these two ingredients together and I can happily turn these Pods down.

I don't really understand the concept of them and maybe that is the problem, but I woudn't go out of my way to look for these at the supermarket or even recommend them to family or friends. I haven't tried these in a few years and maybe my tastes may have changed but for now I can't give a raving review on Pods.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 14th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

A few years ago when Mars first introduced Pods it seemed like I couldn't go to a gathering without someone providing some. Everyone was talking about them and of course I had to try them. They are definitely are party food.

They are in a packet that is made for sharing. They come in a sealed bag inside a box. I am thankful they are packaged like this as there are a few crumbs in the bottom of the bag but would be even more it there wasn't a double layer of protection.

Unlike other Mars products they are not individually wrapped and look great in a small bowl. The biscuit base meant that the pods were not as sweet as most chocolate treats. There are several other varieties to try but the mars one remains my favourite.

They are an expensive way to enjoy what is essentially a chocolate biscuit but great when you need to take something to a party and have no time or energy to prepare a plate.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Mars Pods are the king of biscuits and chocolate treats! The hard shell that encases the Mars filling is the perfect thickness and the Mars filling is not too sweet, nor too sickly. I really like that these are unique and still there is nothing in the market that is remotely similar to pods.

I find it hard to locate Mars Pods these days, but i was an avid buyer of these a few years back. The price of them seems accurate in accordance to the size. Pods go under the mantra of "once you pop you can't stop" so make sure you have a friend to share with!

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 8th of April, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Mars pods the ingenious combination of mars and bikkie in one...and these are so good. Chocolaty, bite sized, light and crunchy 'pods' full of flavor that wont let you down. And best of all they are a nice little price that will not break the bank, which is a good thing, because once you start you cant sop eating these delightful little morsels. And best of all they come in more other flavors, so you wont get bored.

Pods are great as snack for when your feeling a little peckish, and a definite must have for movie or games nights too.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 15th of January, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was first introduced to Mars Pods at a party, where they sat in a bowl next to the chips and dip. Everyone wanted to try one and as a result of the sheer guest volume, I only got one. However, it was a delicious morsel.

The next time I saw them was at the movie theatres (not sure why I blanked on them being in supermarkets) but it became a little tradition for me and my daughter, that we would attend movies and eat pods. Eventually I did find them in the supermarket, and often have a bag of them in my purse just in case of an adventure trip to the movies (I know, I know...). We get a bit of popcorn now as well, but pods have always been a favourite.

I think it's partly the wafer bottom, the odd UFO shape, and of course the chocolatey yumminess hiding inside. They taste just like a Mars bar, only feel less naughty because you can have a bite, two, three...you get the picture...though to be far I dont remember a time when we have opened a pack and found any left at the end. Thank goodness they only come out as treat food!

We have only tried the Mars ones, would love to find the Bounty ones but have never had the pleasure. And as for the Snickers ones, I have had many years of not eating nuts due to pregnancy, breastfeeding and then a fusspot daughter who doesn't eat peanuts (just smooth peanut butter), so that rules that flavour out. Mars Pods are definitely our Pods!

Click here to read the profile of angel7801

Review by: angel7801 (Janine)
Dated: 18th of May, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Mars pods are awesome. Great flavour Great price very unique idea. Great for chocoholics. Approx 40 per packet of delicious bite size pieces of creamy caramel with a nice biscuit crust and pure chocolate topping. What more could you want? A mouthful of gooey bliss in each bite. They are very addictive. You cant just eat one.

Click here to read the profile of monkeyspoon

Review by: monkeyspoon (Andrew)
Dated: 18th of March, 2010

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

With mars bar being my favourite chocolate bar, I decided trying mars pods would be a great idea and it was. It comes with a fair price and a lot of flavour.

The combination of biscuit shell, mars bar centre and topped with chocolate, makes for a snack for serious snackers. Though one box is plenty for most I would be inclined to by at least two at once.

So if you want a snack to share with friends and family or something full of taste to pig out on, I reccomend the mars flavour PODS.

Click here to read the profile of mandaz79

Review by: mandaz79 (Amanda)
Dated: 26th of August, 2007

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 8 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I have tried all the PODS (I think) I love them all!! They are so moreish. I can eat the whole box if not careful. I think they are a great price and a great taste. Love them!!

Click here to read the profile of goldfishstar

Review by: goldfishstar (Natalie)
Dated: 24th of June, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Mars bars have always been good, and the Mars Pods are no different, they are good!

With a deeper chocolate flavour than the Twix ones, these are good if you want the chocolate rush...
Personally, I doubt that I would eat too many in one sitting, as I'm not a huge chocolate fan, but great to have there to nibble on :)

Click here to read the profile of testbot

Review by: testbot (Marcus)
Dated: 23rd of June, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Of all of the Pods flavours, this one is my favourite. I used to be an avid muncher of Mars bars, until my doctor warned me that so much sugar would give me diabetes. I had to cut right back then. These are biscuits I would eat, but not to any great extent, I have lost a lot of my 'sweet tooth' in the last few years. But I know that if I still craved sugar the way I used to, these would be what I would happily sit in front of the TV, slap on a movie, and munch down by the box-load. Grin Icon

Click here to read the profile of mr. wayne

Review by: mr. wayne (Wayne)
Dated: 23rd of June, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Having eaten four boxes of these things I can safely say that i know what they taste like. I can also say that I feel rather ill but that is beside the point. At first they struck me as rather gimicky without the long term appeal of more classical chocolate treats, that they should have been bigger and more buscuit like and with more filling. This view has been altered after extensive testing and thinking about where you would have cause to eat them. As far as a sit down and munch out on them snack with a movie they are not perfect, as after about half a dozen you don't want any more as they are quite sweet, even more so than normal chocolates thanks to the cereal like biscuit outer. However they make up for this thanks to the novelty value gained from trying to eat all the biscuit first or trying to separate the two peices (like pulling apart liqorice allsorts). I am of the opinion that they would be best suited towards a dinner party of some description, as they would fit in amongst the crackers and cheeses as well as the chips and pineapple pieces on sticks, small and interesting to tide you over till dinner. This I think is reenforced by the fact that they are packaged in a box rather than in a bag, even if this is just to protect the fragile pieces it elevates them to classy snack status, like those chocolate wafer sticks and magnum icecreams. Pods are a tasty treat, but not to be overdone, enjoy a few with a cup of (insert ridiculously named coffee beverage) and enjoy the moment safe in the knowledge that you are far trendier than anyone else in the vicinity. Or impress your friends and collegues with pre dinner nibbles and knock off the Jones' for First Place on the neighbourhood coolest dinner party list. For you ease and convenience I have ranked each flavour in terms of my preference. I'm not saying that this is The Be All and End All to these Flavours, it's just my opinion. Pods are labelled as "Ingeniously Crunchy" and while they are definately crunchy the ingenious part remains to be seen, they may not be my cup of tea, but then I don't drink tea either.

Mars Pods

The Mars bar, malt and chocolate overload, and the only competition for a moro. These pods had a dark biscuit shell and tasted just like a mars bar, easier to eat than the twix with a richer flavour I got through 8 before I felt ill, which is better than the 5 twix it took, still very sweet but the nicer flavour meant that they only just missed out on the top spot but it was close, very close.

Click here to read the profile of boggie

Review by: boggie (Hayden)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Uniqueness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Two words to describe - "num nums!" Again though, eating a whole box: not a good idea.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 1330: Nando's - Johnsonville -  Located: 8-12 Broderick Rd, Johnsonville

Product image for NandoPh: (04) 478-9005

The first restaurant opened in December 2000 in Glenfield, Auckland. Nando's soon caught on in this beautiful land where people have a love for life that extends into many different outdoor activities from their obsession with rugby to their passion for sailing. New Zealand is not big when it comes to population but they are big on character and they have taken to Nando's with our unique approach to ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
Albert Einstein

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream