Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 20th October 2019 - 20:00:43

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Cleaning Products > Selleys BBQ Tough Wipes review

« Selleys BBQ Tough Grease & Grime Cleaner reviewSelleys BBQ Tough Grease & Grime CleanerPlanet 51 reviewPlanet 51 »

Score: 8.7/10  [9 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 6105 - Selleys BBQ Tough Wipes
Brand / Manufactured by: Selleys

Selleys BBQ Tough Wipes
Price:
$5.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Selleys

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Selleys BBQ Tough Wipes product reviews

Selleys BBQ Tough Wipes are an effective, quick and convenient way to clean your BBQ every time you use it. They are perfect for BBQ surfaces and the powerful cleaning nodules loosen and power through tough dirt while the strong cloth traps the grime and absorbs grease leaving a fresh, clean and healthier cooking surface.

Features
    •  Cleans and absorbs BBQ grease and grime
    •  Powerful cleaning nodules to scrub through built up grime without scratching surfaces
    •  Quick and easy to clean before or after you cook
    •  Healthier BBQ surface to reduce the spread of germs
    •  Available in packs of 12, 20 and 25 super-sized 250x300mm wipes.

Where can this product be used?
    •  Cleaning your BBQ in the lead up to the summer entertaining season
    •  Keeping your BBQ surfaces spotless and healthy, before and/or after each time you have a BBQ
    •  What materials is this product suitable for?
    •  BBQ Plates, Grills & Racks
    •  Hood
    •  Rotisserie
    •  Wok Burners
    •  Utensils
    •  Interior Health Grills
    •  Public BBQs

Handy tips
    •  Use the wipe with the 'nodule' side down
    •  One to two wipes are needed per BBQ cleaning session.
    •  More wipes may be required if the BBQ is very large or very dirty.

Check out Selleys onlineClick here to see all the listings for Selleys Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bbq   clean   grease   grill   grime   hotplate   selleys   wipes
Other listings you may be interested in:
Footworks Foot BuddyFootworks Foot Buddy
Rating: 10.0
SuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh CitrusSuperGel Shaving Gel with Super Fresh Citrus
Rating: 9.2
NZYME Toilet CleanerNZYME Toilet Cleaner
Rating: 9.2
Closer to Nature Electric SteriliserCloser to Nature Electric Steriliser
Rating: 9.3
Scotch-Brite Easy Erasing PadScotch-Brite Easy Erasing Pad
Rating: 8.9
Earthwise Dish Wash Liquid Concentrate - ElderberryEarthwise Dish Wash Liquid Concentrate - Elderberry
Rating: 9.7
Selleys BBQ Tough Grease & Grime CleanerSelleys BBQ Tough Grease & Grime Cleaner
Rating: 9.3
Raid Advance Ant Killer BaitRaid Advance Ant Killer Bait
Rating: 9.4
SuperScrub Ultimate Face ScrubSuperScrub Ultimate Face Scrub
Rating: 8.8
Polaris Stainless Steel ReviverPolaris Stainless Steel Reviver
Rating: 10.0
Earthwise Laundry Liquid - Lemon & GardeniaEarthwise Laundry Liquid - Lemon & Gardenia
Rating: 9.0
Earthwise Laundry Liquid Pods - Fragrance FreeEarthwise Laundry Liquid Pods - Fragrance Free
Rating: 8.7
Wonder BroomWonder Broom
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 22nd of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Packaging wise Selleys have gone for the classic wipes type thing and this works really well, at least until you need a second wipe if you don't wear gloves. My hands were gross after cleaning the BBQ and the stove. I've even gone as far as cutting one in half just to remove the grease from my hands and the cleaning nodules really help. As far as the smell goes, I must say I think instantly of the alcohol hand sanitizer but to smell this I had to really stick my nose in the packet.

I've always believed this kind of thing to be a bit of a have and a rip off but having tested them, would suggest anyone and everyone trys them. I can't stand the oven cleaner smell so my oven is really bad and while these didn't make it perfect, it made a huge difference.

My bbq was used last on saturday night and I can't connect the bottle to heat it and follow the directions, so had it pretty tough. Once the excess stuff was taken off with the scraper (fish slice) and it was given a wipe with newspaper to take the burnt bits off, these were fantastic and I guess you just never know how bad your bbq is until you try these. We have the added disadvantage of it being old and second hand, using these I believe we will have a few more summers yet.

I think these will be tucked away in our outing kit so that when we come across the public bbq's and are having lunch, we don't have to cover it with tinfoil or worry about whatever contamination we might get. These will save you money and should be available at your local butchers.

Click here to read the profile of melpalmy

Review by: melpalmy (Melanie)
Dated: 2nd of June, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Well let me start this by saying, that my BBQ needed a clean! It was an all over clean, grill, sides and hood. Luckily my husband had find BBQ cooking liners a few years back, so the actual tray is always clean, but that doesn't stop spitting of oil/fat etc from going on the sides and grill parts.

I was keen to try this product as I was firstly interested to see if they did what the packaging said they would and secondly whether the wipes had harsh chemicals and/or smell.

The packaging is very similar to baby wipes dispensing, so it was very user friendly as you can reseal the packet after each wipe or between cleans. The wipes themselves have nodules on one side, that assist to removal or baked on grease and they are smooth on the other side. I would suggest that the user of the wipes wears rubber gloves, not because of the chemicals in the wipes but just because of the filth that the wipe takes off! The wipes were great to wipe down the sides of the BBQ with not too much effort. I would suggest that the user scrapes down any excess burnt on food first and the wipes can simply scoop/wipe off.

What was most pleasing was to minimal smell on the wipes, in fact you really couldn't smell anything unless you really tried and the wipes very SUPER thick and very nice to hold onto.

My BBQ turned out great, in fact I was so pleased with the ease of cleaning, that I did my oven as well. This was also a success. These wipes would be great to mop up any of those spills you may have in your oven and reduce the need to use the harsh chemical spray (and smell) of oven cleaners. I have recommended these to my friend who suffers terribly from asthma, who is unable to clean her oven with any oven cleaners as it triggers an attack.

Overall, I would recommend these wipes to people to keep those spills under control in both your BBQ and oven. Good product Selleys.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 19th of May, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I'll start off by saying that I don't currently own a BBQ, despite my husbands constant wishing to buy one, but I figured this might just work well on my oven. One concern I always have with any chemical is how it is going to affect me as if they don't affect the skin on my hands making my skin condition a thousand times worst or it spins me into a asthma attack faster than I can blink, so due to those reasons I haven't cleaned my oven since we bought it. The pack is nice and simple an the great thing about it was when I pulled out one wipe, only one came out, I didn't have any trying to sneak out with it and being a trial to put back in and close it back up again.

There is no strong smell to this, nothing that affected my breathing at all, which I was really happy about and so couldn't wait to try it out even more. Getting one out it was easy to see which side needed to be used for cleaning and it unfolds to a decent size. I did find that leaning into the oven wasn't the easiest on my back but the shape of it did mean that I could get into the corners and shelf rack slots easily, I would like a thicker, harder version though for added pressure to make cleaning some parts easier. I ended up using four wipes on the inside of my oven, afterall, it hadn't been cleaned for over a year but it did a really good job cleaning up a whole tonne of grime from the inside of it.

With no effect on my breathing and my skin not being effected at all I am loving these wipes and whilst there is some room for improvement, these wipes mean that I can clean my oven a lot more often, no more excuses.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 25th of March, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

My husband always does the barbeque in our house - and ALWAYS complains about having to clean it. Seeing the advertisement for this product on the television a couple of times, and figuring, I might be able to do him a good turn cleaning it, I asked to review these.

The instructions are very clear on the packet - allow BBQ to cool then clean - ie not giving the residue the opportunity to " set " onto the plates. First time using a product, and particularly a review product, I like to do as suggested, so did this, BBQ'd then waited for it to cool, coincidentally with another review product to drink!

I started off with one wipe, quickly realising that I would need more than one. The initial wipe down removed a fair amount of the residue, but I definitely needed to use more pressure to get it all off. The nodules designed to grab the residue and pull it off are on one side, however, due to this, you need to lie it flat to utilise the majority of them. I found this to not be efficient, to be honest, and had to continue using wipes - four in total - with a okay result. It is a good product, but I do not feel it lives up to its claims, and how easy it makes cleaning the BBQ.

I then decided to use the wipes in a slightly different way - on my stove top. In this situation - I TOTALLY recommend them - they were sensational - wiping and cleaning all the mess away - and with minimal effort.

What I liked about these was the easy open packet, the size of the wipes, the fact that they are food safe, and do not leave my hands feeling "chemically."

I do recommend these - but do be aware that for me it took a number of wipes to achieve the result.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 12th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

BBQ's are a big thing in our family during summer and whenever one is planned it usually involves the extend family. Lots of people means lots of food and a messy bbq at the end. I admit I usually leave the cooking and the cleaning to others but when there was a chance to review the wipes I jumped at it. If there was something that made life a little easier I was keen!

After a big bbq it was time to put the wipes to use, I was surprised with how quick and easy everything came off. Within a few wipes you could see the difference and by the time I was finished the bbq look almost new. It was certainly easier to clean then the method that is usually used. As the BBQ is a 6 burner it took a few wipes to clean it but to me it's money well spent. Made clean up so quick and easy.

A few days after the bbq I dropped a tray in the oven and it splattered everywhere having no oven cleaner on hand I grabbed a bbq wipe and I was pleased to say it wiped everything away with ease, I was really impressed with the results and it removed grime almost as well as oven cleaner does.

I have already brought another packet of the wipes and can see that they will quickly become a must have for any summer bbq.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 8th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As with most kiwi families, we love our BBQs. In fact, we use the BBQ most evenings during the summer. As a result, it gets rather messy and on the odd occasion (I mean a lot of the time), it doesn't get the aftercare it should. It is always a pain to open up the lid and find built-up grease and food from the previous BBQs.

The Selley's BBQ wipes have a special texture on one side and some cleaning agents in them. The cleaning agents are food safe, which is important considering the wipes are likely to be used just before the BBQ is used to cook food on. There are two textured surfaces on the wipes, one of them is bumpy and the other is flat. The bumpy one removes the caked on grime and the flat one is more for general cleaning. The wipes are absorbent and pick up the surface grease nicely. It is surprising that they do not fall to bits, even whilst scrubbing hard out, regardless of how much work they have done. This is impressive and worth noting. It is even possible to use both sides of the same wipe and therefore making them more cost effective and the surface cleaner. They are leaps and bounds ahead of using paper towels to clean and mop up grease from a BBQ. The resealable lid on the pack maintains the moisture in the wipes and prevents them from drying out.

They do a great job on both cast iron plates and also on stainless steel outer surfaces. Our BBQ had a lot of baked on residue and therefore took quite a number of wipes to cut through it. I think that it would have been better to start with the suggested Selleys BBQ Tough Clean and then come back to the wipes for more of the day to day work. We were successful in cleaning parts of the BBQ with just the wipes and in fact we got some of the stainless steel nice and shiny. It did take quite a bit of elbow grease with just the wipes though. We also used a BBQ tool to get some of the hardened build-up off and found that we used about half a packet of wipes on this initial clean. After using the wipes, we did see that there was a suggestion to warm the BBQ and then cool to the touch before cleaning - this may have assisted us too. It shows how reading the instructions can make a job easier!

There are a number of suggested uses on the back and a couple of them stuck in my mind as being particularly useful - public BBQs and camping trips. Until I read the suggestions, I had just thought of keeping a pack in the BBQ trolley. I can now see how useful they would be in public situations as it would mean that we could keep our cooking surface clean and safe for our use and also clean it up for the people after us.

I am usually a person who likes to use cloths for cleaning as I don't like waste. However, The fact that the wipes are disposable really works in this case as it means that we didn't have to wash horrible, greasy cloths.

At about 50 cents per wipe, they are well worth it. This is a product that we will definitely keep in our house.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 8th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I admit I have actually been using these for years, which is why I didn't keep a review sample for myself - I always have a supply of them in the garage, and keep a pack hanging off the side of the BBQ at all times.

I tend to do BBQ dinners, and because my whole family are night-owls, by the time we finish dinner it's usually after sunset. So, I tend to leave the BBQ overnight and use these to prepare a freshly-cleaned surface for cooking on the next day. Heating up the grill and plate, I prepare a wipe. Pulling it from the pack, I ball up one half of it, and wrap the other half around it, nodule-side out. This gives me a fairly solid 'wad' of cleaning miracle. Once the grill is starting to steam a little, I turn off the burners under it and give them a good, quick scrub - first up and down the bars, then across them.

Once that's done, I spark the burners back on and move to the plate side. I un-wad the wipe, and wadding the greasy side into a ball and wrapping the clean half around the outside, I give the plate a good scrubbing, sometimes adjusting the wipe so that more 'clean' surface is placed on the outside. Then, a quick basketball shot and the dirty wipe is in the outside bin, and the BBQ is happily steaming off the cleaning solution.

Knowing that the cleaning solution will get removed totally by the heat is a great feeling. I used to use beer as a cleaner, but that always made a mess, clogged up the drip tray, and made the BBQ smell like rotting mushrooms after a few weeks. Then I would have to use some pretty caustic stuff to clean it. SO glad I discovered these wipes in The Warehouse when we bought the new BBQ a few years back.

Overall, these are just amazing, and I will never switch to a liquid or powder-based cleaner again. Simple to use, highly effective, and the packet is brilliant. I am a die-hard fan of these, and have made a point to recommend them to everyone I see eyeing up new BBQs.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 5th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was pretty happy when a packet of Selleys BBQ Tough Wipes turned up for me to review. My husband loves having an excuse to use his barbecue and this was a great reason. I went to the supermarket and bought my favourite barbecue food, marinated chicken kebabs and marinated chicken nibbles, these are the ones that my husband hates to cook the most because they make such a mess on his precious barbecue, but for this reason I thought these would be the perfect test for Selleys Tough BBQ Wipes.

My husband cooked them and as usual they left behind quite a bit of a mess but this time I was prepared! I waited until after we had eaten to let the barbecue cool down a bit because I didn't want to burn myself and then I grabbed a wipe and started to wipe away the excess food scraps, it was so easy, way easier than I thought it would be. I put very little effort and pressure into wiping and all the grease, grime and stuck on food was just coming away without a problem. And the best thing is that I only needed to use the one wipe, meaning I can have up to 11 more barbecues before I need to buy another packet.

For only $5.99 for a packet of 12 it is excellent value and makes a horrible job so much easier. At this price, how can you not buy them?! I will certainly be buying some more to store with the barbecue tools.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 5th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Seeing the advertisement for this product on the television a couple of times, it shows a man cleaning the mess from his BBQ before he uses it. So I figured I'd use it in the same manner. I had had a really messy BBQ (lots of marinated meat and pork riblets) earlier in the month that I had neglected to clean after use, so it seemed the perfect opportunity to see how accurate the advertisement.

It was interesting to read that the directions actually recommend cleaning the BBQ as soon as it has cooled down after use, as opposed to cleaning it from cold as the advertisement showed. But the results certainly showed favour towards cleaning a mess that hasn't had the full opportunity to "set" onto the BBQ.

I gave the cold BBQ an initial wipe down, and found that large chunks of the mess came off with ease, but the wipe very soon became discoloured and less effective. The nodules only being on one side also made it more difficult to wipe with any proper force as I couldn't scrunch it up at all, without losing the use of those scrubbing nodules. This also made it difficult to use the entire wipe. It was a bit like a tissue, where you blow your nose into the centre, but the outer edges remain unused.

After limited success using only the wipes, I reheated the BBQ, and then allowed it to cool down, before trying another wipe. This time, more came off but it still lost it's effectiveness after a few movements of the hand. I eventually had to resort to using the BBQ spatula tool to forcefully scrape the mess from the BBQ grates, and just use the wipes afterwards to clear the excess.

While a good product, when used in conjunction with the usual BBQ tools, it is clearly designed to be used on a freshly used BBQ as per the recommended directions, and not on a cold BBQ as the advertisements would have you believe (unless you don't mind having to use a good 3 or 4 wipes to achieve the desired results).

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4615: Para Plus Headlice Treatment -  Brand / Manufacturer : Para Plus

Product image for Para Plus Headlice TreatmentPARA Plus is easy to use, for the treatment of Head lice and their eggs and is easy to use on children due to the design of its convenient aerosol applicator.

Para Plus - the only registered Head Lice treatment with two active ingredients: Malathion PLUS Permethrin

- Treatment for Nits and Head Lice
- Increases the ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
Albert Einstein

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream