Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 26th August 2019 - 13:13:56

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Movies > Family > Big Hero 6 review

« Karajoz Coffee Company Genuine No.1 Blend Whole Coffee Beans reviewKarajoz Coffee Company Genuine No.1 Blend Whole Coffee Beans NZ Vapor - NV eJuice reviewNZ Vapor - NV eJuice »

Score: 9.1/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5990 - Big Hero 6
Director: Don Hall and Chris Williams

Big Hero 6
Price:
 
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Walt Disney Studios (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
in cinemas from Dec 26th 2014

Big Hero 6 product reviews

From Walt Disney Animation Studios, the team behind "Frozen" and "Wreck-It Ralph," comes "Big Hero 6," an action-packed comedy-adventure about the special bond that develops between Baymax (voice of Scott Adsit), a plus-sized inflatable robot, and prodigy Hiro Hamada (voice of Ryan Potter).

When a devastating event befalls the city of San Fransokyo and catapults Hiro into the midst of danger, he turns to Baymax and his close friends adrenaline junkie Go Go Tomago (voice of Jamie Chung), neatnik Wasabi (voice of Damon Wayans Jr.), chemistry whiz Honey Lemon (voice of Genesis Rodriguez) and fanboy Fred (voice of T.J. Miller).

Determined to uncover the mystery, Hiro transforms his friends into a band of high-tech heroes called "Big Hero 6." Inspired by the Marvel comics of the same name, and featuring breathtaking action with all the heart and humor audiences expect from Walt Disney Animation Studios, "Big Hero 6" is directed by Don Hall ("Winnie the Pooh") and Chris Williams ("Bolt"), and produced by Roy Conli ("Tangled").

Check out Walt Disney Studios (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Walt Disney Studios (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
alan tudyk   animated   chris williams   damon wayans jr   daniel henney   disney   don hall   genesis rodriguez   hero   james cromwell   jamie chung   maya rudolph   robots   ryan potter   scott adsit   tj miller
Other listings you may be interested in:
Meet DaveMeet Dave
Rating: 8.5
The FogThe Fog
Rating: 3.0
Breaking HabitsBreaking Habits
Rating: 9.5
The Quantum ActivistThe Quantum Activist
Rating: 8.8
Zootopia Zootopia 
Rating: 10.0
TakenTaken
Rating: 10.0
Batman: The Killing JokeBatman: The Killing Joke
Rating: 8.5
SunshineSunshine
Rating: 9.5
Planet of the ApesPlanet of the Apes
Rating: 10.0
Over the HedgeOver the Hedge
Rating: 9.8
Nocturnal AnimalsNocturnal Animals
Rating: 9.5
The Simpsons MovieThe Simpsons Movie
Rating: 6.5
Ice AgeIce Age
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 31st of October, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I saw trailers for this when they first came out and loved the look of the movie, tonight we needed a family film and this is what I picked.

Right from the start we were enjoying the film, getting right into the story and finding out the Hiro is an orphan who lives with an aunt and his brother, things progress and we also learn that he is basically a child genius, which of course, makes everything to follow plausible. A big, sad moment hits us right near the start, though I didn't really feel a wave of emotions as I wasn't too invested in Hiro at the time. Soon though we have some laugh out loud moments, and one scene certainly made me think of someone who had had far too much alcohol to drink...

The movie does a lot of twists and turns when it comes to playing with your emotions, from happy, sad, angry etc. so a full range here, and certainly when all is revealed closer to the end... There was one part, the big reveal so to speak, when Hiro learns something, that moment really tugged at my heart. The kids were hooked on the film, they're 8, 6 and 4, and all were laughing along at all the right moments. My son had some big questions at the end about why didn't Hiro do this, why did this person do that or not do that etc. and a good lesson in subjects of loss and revenge.

This was a great family film, even my husband stayed down to watch it (something he doesn't usually do) and it was promptly requested that we own the DVD one day. A big hit in our house.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 8th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had seen the trailer for this movie and thought it would be a good family movie but then I heard that the movie was really scary and that young kids might find it scary so I gave it a miss. Every holiday our church puts on a family movie and this time the movie was Big Hero 6.

I was watching expecting the kids to be seeking hugs and to need to be comforted but I waited for something that never happened. The movie was easy to get into, some parts were predictable but there were plenty of laughs on the way. Baymax reminded me of on oversize cuddly toy. The animation was fantastic and the film had good points and sad points, any unexplained events were answered before the end of the movie in such a way that kids could understand why good became evil. I did have my youngest on my lap saying that the movie was a bit scary but he was the first to ask me to buy the DVD.

I have now learnt to watch the movie and make up my own mind as everyone takes something different from each movie. Personally I didn't find it scary and thought that the story had a good moral lesson. I recommend watching the movie and being able to get some good conversations going with the kids.

This movie is going to be part of our family movie collection.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 8th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

To be honest I had no attention of seeing this movie. Didn't look like my cup of tea. But when my husband started showing interest and the girls also started saying they wanted to see I started to enter a couple of competitions and was stoked when I finally won tickets. Received christmas eve and my husband was straight on the computer to find out when we could view next.

This movie is one hell of an emotional rollar coaster. One minute your laughing, next your mad, next your happy and then you are physically crying. I was all over the place with this movie. My daughters six and three where also crying, gasping and laughing.

The movie it self is extremely predictable. You knew within the first five seconds the brother was going to die because he was way to nice and you were basically counting the minutes down. It came as a shock to my three year old who is just learning about death and fires and she screamed out 'oh no' and then kept asking questions to find out if he was alright. My husband had to explain that he had died and then that lead to more questions and we had to remind her to be quiet as in a cinema which was full of other kids asking questions.

You could pretty much guess what would happen scene by scene but it was still a fantastic movie. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it and both girls are insisting we get it on DVD so they can watch again. They are both in love with Baymax and my husband recently got Disney Infinity for the x-box and they are all now wanting to get the character Baymax.

The drive home was interesting as both girls had questions about the bad guy and why did he do it and other various questions. Then the death subject came up again and also discussions on fires. Where as my girls both enjoyed it I am not sure they maybe were a little young to watch it. After the million questions they are happy with the answers and now love the posters they got.

We will definitely buy when comes out on DVD and I just hope they remember all the talks we have had beforehand. I don't know why Disney has to make such sad movies..... maybe next time a happy ever after movie could be on the agenda.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 8th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Despite reading some mixed reviews about this movie - horror stories of dark themes seemingly designed to traumatize kids - I was keen to see it myself. Deciding to take the gamble and make a 'family outing' of it, I took the clan off to see it on a "quiet" night. The movie starts off with a bit of a kick, and a predictable scenario which is easy to spot the probable outcome. While adults will be quick to see how it will play out, kids aren't. They don't have the pool of experience to enable them to say "Oh, but of course he will get..." etc.

On the downside of the movie - which I want to get out of the way quickly - it *is* very predictable. Adults and older kids will know what is about to happen, especially if they are fans of "How to Train Your Dragon" and "Iron Man" which appear to have had a heavy influence on the character interplay in this movie. My teenager was sitting there basically playing the movie through in his mind 1-2 minutes ahead of it playing out on screen, I could see him nodding as predicted events unfolded. However, my youngest was enthralled, and though he did predict a few bits, that just led to even more enjoyment for him as he's driven by his own success and seeing his thoughts proven correct just helped to keep him focussed.

The other positive aspect of the film's predictability though, was that as a parent I was ready to provide comfort and support when the sad/scary bits popped up - for me, that's a pretty good reason NOT to chalk the predictability up as a "major negative" the way some of the critics have. Being prepared to have your youngun' suddenly crawl into your lap crying, and ready to comfort them is a very important aspect of parenting.

Setting that aside, the rest of the movie was pretty neat - the goodies are awesome goodies, it's a real "Nobodies becoming somebodies" story that gives the strong message that you can be whatever you want to be if you have faith in yourself, really believe in what you are doing, and stay in good company. There is also a segment in the movie, quite brief but vital, that shows that even if you stuff up and 'turn bad', you can still recover from it with the support of real friends. And let's face it, every kid goes through something like that in their life - either as the one who turns to the dark side, or one of those who can be there and offer support and friendship to bring him/her back into the light.

Overall, I quite liked the movie actually. Despite not really being "my thing", it was a movie that had too many positives for me to write it off as "...another Pixar mousse..." of a movie. Well worth seeing, but do be aware there are scenes that younger kids may find upsetting... but as a parent I feel they are important scenes for the messages they carry and/or the opportunities they offer.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 9th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I got asked if I would like to see the film Big hero 6 I had a look at a trailer first and thought it looked great, child friendly so I agreed to take my just turned 5 year old and 6 year old to this movie, I had shown them the trailer and they loved the look of the big white balloon man which my son (5 year old) called the blue man.

It starts off great with a boy making things and finished school at a very young age, and just wasting away his life as he doesnt know what he really wants to do, he has a brother and no parents so living with an aunty. This story has a large loveable balloon robot that causes so many laughs with his misunderstanding and limited language, I heard both my children laughing at times. This movie seems to have all emotions in one movie, sad, tears, laughter, scared.

As much as I loved the movie myself and my 6 year old daughter enjoyed it, she did say she was a little scared in parts, but she was okay where as my 5 year old son was on my lap for some of the movie, if I knew what it was going to be like I wouldn't of taken him to be honest, I know my daughter will be fine as she has been to scaryish movies before. There is a lot of dark drama in the movie that I wouldn't recommended for young children I would say more 7-8 years old for this movie. it might look cuddly in the trailers but there is a lot of scary parts in it too.

Listening in the theater my son wasn't the only one scared either, there were children there younger than my children. However for those that were old enough to watch it, its a great movie, again I loved it, it pulled on my heart strings and yup I found myself with tears rolling down my face a couple of times. The movie is very well made I will give it that :)

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 8 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I saw the second trailer to this film beforehand, and thought that it appeared to be quite a nice film that a nice child would enjoy. After seeing the first trailer afterwards, I became slightly confused as to what the film was actually about. So I stopped watching trailers and waited to see the film.

This film - despite the warm, cuddly, white, fluffy, marshmallow, balloon character - is actually targeted at an older age range than I expected. While there were many parts of the film that were hilarious, and involved a fair amount of simple, slapstick comedy that younger children would enjoy, this film has a lot of dark, negative vibes, and I know some of the younger children in the theatre were a bit scared of it. I'd probably recommend 8-9 years and onwards.

Similarly to previous Disney Pixar movie "UP", we find a character with no parents, whose remaining closest family are tragically lost, leaving them with the decision as to whether they should complete their goals or just fade into obscurity. The lovable balloon man sidekick is a hilarious character that has a limited knowledge base, so ends up in some very comedic situations and acts entirely inappropriately.

The plot to this film, was rather convoluted for a family film, and had many mature and negative themes (revenge, loss, hatred, spite, betrayal) which greatly contrasted some of the more light-hearted aspects of the film. I did come to love the Baymax character though, and it was tugging on my heartstrings by the end of the film, but there were really too many bad characters, and too many losses to really make this a film that the whole family can enjoy; unless they are all just that little bit older (8+).

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Movies'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 8197: Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children -  Directed by Tim Burton

Product image for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar ChildrenFrom visionary director Tim Burton, and based upon the best-selling novel, comes an unforgettable motion picture experience.

When Jake discovers clues to a mystery that spans different worlds and times, he finds a magical place known as Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. But the mystery and danger deepen as he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers... and their powerful enemies. Ultimately, Jake discovers that only his own special "peculiarity" can save his new friends.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Consider the postage stamp: its usefulness consists in the ability to stick to one thing till it gets there."
Josh Billings (1818 - 1885)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream