Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 19th September 2019 - 05:56:02

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Sanitarium Berry & Ancient Grains Toasted Muesli review

« Sanitarium Light & Tasty - Golden Almond Crunch with Coconut and Clusters reviewSanitarium Light & Tasty - Golden Almond Crunch with Coconut and ClustersBrick Mansions reviewBrick Mansions  »

Score: 8.2/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5975 - Sanitarium Berry & Ancient Grains Toasted Muesli
Produced by Sanitarium Foods

Sanitarium Berry & Ancient Grains Toasted Muesli
Price:
$7.39
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Sanitarium

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Sanitarium Berry & Ancient Grains Toasted Muesli product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsSanitarium Berry & Ancient Grains Toasted Muesli contains sweetened cranberries, strawberries, buckwheat and sorghum.

Benefits:
    •  Source of protein
    •  High in fibre
    •  Low sodium
    •  Contains Beta-glucan
    •  Source of magnesium
    •  Source of iron
    •  Source of thiamin

Check out Sanitarium onlineClick here to see all the listings for Sanitarium Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
buckwheat   cranberry   fibre   iron   magnesium   nzmade   protein   sodium   sorghum   strawberry   thiamin
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pics Peanut Butter - SmoothPics Peanut Butter - Smooth
Rating: 9.2
Cocavo - Chilli and LimeCocavo - Chilli and Lime
Rating: 7.3
Roshen KonafettoRoshen Konafetto
Rating: 8.7
Fabulous Feijoa Yoghurt TubFabulous Feijoa Yoghurt Tub
Rating: 9.3
Kaweka - Chilli Con CarneKaweka - Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.5
Oven Baked Sandwich: ItalianOven Baked Sandwich: Italian
Rating: 8.4
ProduceProntoProducePronto
Rating: 9.0
Barrys Bay Coldsmoked Manuka HavartiBarrys Bay Coldsmoked Manuka Havarti
Rating: 7.9
Verkerks Traditional Aged SalamiVerkerks Traditional Aged Salami
Rating: 10.0
Avocado SpreadAvocado Spread
Rating: 9.5
Indian Creations: Butter ChickenIndian Creations: Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.9
LASCo SalamiLASCo Salami
Rating: 9.6
Complan 500gComplan 500g
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 10th of March, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

When the box says muesli, it isn't kidding around. After adding some soy milk (the joys of being lactose intolerant) and placing the first scoopful of cereal in my mouth, I could have sworn that I was eating a crumbly muesli bar. The consistency and texture, the flavour, the aftertaste, it all reminded me of my days in primary school, eating muesli bars during morning tea.

The upside to this, is that the meal is very filling. I had poured myself a rather generous portion, and halfway through it, I regretted pouring so much; it was just so filling.

In my honest opinion however, I had no soy milk when the product first arrived, so I cheekily just ate, a few handfuls cleanly, without any milk, and it tasted great. Whether it was the fact that I used soy milk, or whether its all milk, I'm not sure, but the flavour felt diluted. The sharp, sweet taste of the cranberries and strawberries was barely discernable when eaten with soy milk.

The packaging clearly seems to be targeted towards a more feminine demographic. As a male, the packaging makes this product something that I probably wouldn't really consider when buying cereals. That being said, if it was in the pantry, I would certainly have no problems with eating it dry, as it is quite delightful.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 26th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

This box fairly sings I am full of berry flavour and I will taste good, and the box doesn't lie! As soon as you open it you are hit with the fruity berry smell, and it made me hungry, even though I'm not a muesli fan. The muesli itself was pleasant on the eye when you poured it into the bowl, a great mix of textures and traditional muesli ingredients, smattered with pinks - the berries were in evidence. Being of a slightly scientific mind I had to check whether there were any colourings to create this pretty pink, and the answer is no - it is simply the dried berries. This makes it a great way to get some berry goodness into your body all year round. Further reading confirmed the use of natural ingredients, and it is made in New Zealand, perfect!

I tipped some into my bowl, and poured in my milk, the taste was delightful, I am really a traditional Weet-Bix girl, but I have to admit this made a lovely change, and it was a hit with my family. Another thing that impressed me with Sanitarium Berry & Ancient Grains Toasted Muesli was that even to the last spoonful it retained its shape, I simply detest soggy food so this was important to me. I really like the distinctive colour of the box, it is easy to find in the supermarket, and it hints at the flavour retained in the box. The back of the box has some feel good breakfast sayings, to help you get motivated for your day. The taste is great, and it seems like a bonus that it's packed full of goodness and created here in god zone. I think this product is well priced, and it will become a staple in many muesli lovers' households.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 15th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I love muesli. I always have. For some reason I always believe I am doing my body a huge favour whenever I eat muesli lol and as I eat it with natural yoghurt, I feel even more healthier than ever haha :/ so I of course was glad to get picked for Sanitarium Berry and Ancient Grains toasted muesli. And I must admit when it arrived I was really surprised that the 'sanitarium' writing on the box is rather small and I found myseld searching for it again when writing the review. I'm used to brand names jumping out at me. It does not on this box.

The brand name may be small on the box but the product name is not. The box is really simple in design and made to look, well, made to look ancient! Possibly not ancient as such but aged lol afteall this is all about the berrys and ancient grains. I was unsure about the ancient grains and imagined that when I opened the bag it was going to be filled with mould covered cereal...I am pleased to report that this is not the case and these ancient grains are so very very fresh! lol

So the bag is jam packed with grains, sweetened cranberries, strawberries, buckwheat and sorghum (those last two are the ancient grains. If you were worried about that the box tells you all about them lol)....which when thinking of heath and wellbeiing, has got to be good for you. The flavours all combine perfectly and are so good. The muesli is fresh, crunchy, and so good down to every last bite. Both box and bag are easy to open too.

As an added bonus everyone in my family (old and young) liked this. The freshness, the taste, the great amount of fruit and ALL so good with natural yoghurt hehe and its also perfect in muesli bars. We make a lot of homemade muesli bars and this holds shape well in them and drizzled with chocolate is so very yum. I even admit I enjoyed it as a cereal with plain milk. Inever eat muesli with milk lol it was ok. The only dissapointing factor would be the nearly $10 per box price tag. Life is hard. Money is short. And so I would not spend $8 on this when that $8 could buy cornflakes, 2 bread, marjarine, & milk. That makes me really sad :(

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 2nd of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I got this to review, having requested it as I am NOT a breakfast person but figured I would give this a try as you never know, and I though I don't like muesli you never know when your tastes may change or you may find that one brand or type that you rather enjoy or at least like. This is a nicely designed packet that is simple at the same time as giving a decent amount of information about the product, I rather like the design and it a rather eye catching item, my eyes are certainly drawn to it each time I enter the kitchen.

Trying this on its own I have to say that muesli is still not my thing, not just for breakfast but for at any time of the day, though my husband and friends daughter both rather enjoyed it. Given that I didn't want to eat it on its own I decided to make a muesli bar of my own. I mixed shredded coconut, butter, sweetened condensed milk, chocolate chips and some of this muesli together and baked it in the oven. Once it had cooled down and shared amoungst everyone it was a BIG hit with everyone (out of three adults and six kids) wanting seconds and thirds, seriously could have made more, the fruit in the muesli really added to it and was the kids favorite part of it.

On its own I wouldn't eat this again but for a homemade muesli bar I would.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 18th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

My husband was the taste tester for this product that I got to review - as he is a toasted muesli lover, and a WAY better critique than me for it!

The box itself is nice to look at - and easy to pick the one you want on the shelf, being that it is quite a different colour to a lot of other products. The colourful and fun designs are great - my two girls loved them! The ancient grains caught my attention - as being a health conscious Mum - I try to give the best, and most filling things to my family, since we all have been told how important breakfast is! The information on the box is very detailed also - helping you make sure you know what is in it.

On to the review - this is from my husband mostly, but I did try it, as well as give some to the kids to try - as in a busy household, knowing there is something THEY ALL will like is important ! The cereal has a great visual appeal when out of the box - with lots of grains and berry bits. The bits are dried strawberries, and yum!

Adding milk to it - the cereal retains its shape and consistency - something that is really important in our house - my husband dislikes (greatly ) mushy cereal - as do I for cleaning up after the children! The taste was great - not too sweet, not mushy - just right for us all. The three children ( ranging in ages from 5.5 to 18 months ) all devoured it and asked for more - so that to me is a huge TICK!

At full price it is a little pricey - however, we have noticed it regularly comes up on special and that is when we buy it. It has a lot of very good factors about it - and definitely is a yummy cereal. My next thing was to try this on top of an apple mixture as a crumble, as I think it would be delicious with the strawberry in it, and I was right - very very nice - bits of strawberry in an apple crumble - thanks Sanitarium - YUM!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 7th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

When I first saw this product on the supermarket shelves, I found myself drawn to the box. The bright red and the fun designs on the box were really neat and I could hardly believe it was a Sanitarium product. It just seemed so fresh and new. I wasn't too sure about the ancient grains thing though, so on the shelf the cereal stayed. I know "everyone" is into the whole Paleo thing, but I don't tend to go for fad diet stuff. I just do my own thing.

Still, when the product came up for review via KIWIreviews, I was intrigued an I figured if someone as unsure as I could try it and give it a real go, then we would know if it was any good. The first thing I noticed about the cereal itself was the pieces of dried berry. You could see the strawberry pieces and that was exciting. I ate a little of the dry berries raw without milk or juice and they were really tart but delicious.

I added some milk into a bowl with this cereal. The milk turned a really cool purple colour. I ate the cereal and I felt good. It tasted great, the purple milk was a nice little drink afterwards. It staved the hunger off well too which is good because I have been so focused on the house this week. I've been doing a major overhaul and declutter and I really need a lot of energy and to not need a break too quickly.

This morning for something different and to use up some old bananas I made breakfast muffins. I used chocolate cake mix, bananas and then topped with this muesli. Once cooked I had two for my breakfast. These filled me up nicely and were really tasty too.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 30th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 4 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a weet bix during the week and muesli during the weekend kind of guy so when I saw this was up on offer I knew that I had to put my hand up and ask for some to try out.

Looking at the box and the design I would have to say that I'm not a particularly big fan of the box, I like the main color of it but the rest of the design just doesn't quite sit right with me and had I not gotten this to review that alone would probably have put me off getting this to try. The information on the box is very good and thorough, you get the full list of what exactly is in the muesli and just how much of the good stuff is packed into your breakfast bowl.

My youngest was game enough to want to try some, more of a "daddy is eating it so I want to eat it too" than anything and she happily ate half of it before deciding that she really wasn't too keen on it at all. My only real dislike for this was that I found it to be rather chewy but other than that I have no complaints about this, there's dried cranberries and dried strawberries, which is a nice yummy touch. Whilst I'm not usually a fan of coconut in my food due to the texture I didn't really notice it in this, which added to the "this is a decent product" vibe, I can see us buying this in the future when on special.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 3963: Dannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Garlic -  Brand / Source : Danny's - The Real Pita Bread Co

Product image for Dannys Pita Bread - Long-Life GarlicDanny's Garlic filled pitas are a favourite among our customers! Toast them in a toaster or sandwich press and the hot garlic filling will flavour the whole bread.

Pita Bread packed in our fully sealed packaging has a longer life than normal bread. It's packed in a protective atmosphere to maintain freshness and will keep well ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"A man who is 'of sound mind' is one who keeps the inner madman under lock and key."
Paul Valery (1871 - 1945)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream