Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 25th March 2019 - 06:31:01

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Tasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc review

« Tasti Oaty Bakes - Original Recipe reviewTasti Oaty Bakes - Original RecipeTasti Oaty Bakes - Almond, Poppyseed and Lemon reviewTasti Oaty Bakes - Almond, Poppyseed and Lemon »

Score: 8.6/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5849 - Tasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc
Produced by Tasti Products Ltd

Tasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc
Price:
$4.49 / box of 6 bars
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Tasti (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Tasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWholesome, delicious treat to remind you of Mum's home baking. Tasti crafted these Oaty Bakes so you can enjoy delicious rich choc, with the goodness of wholegrains.

Go on, take a well-earned break and indulge in one of our new favourite recipes!

Check out Tasti (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Tasti (NZ) Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cane sugar   chocolate   cocoa   cornflakes   golden syrup   nzmade   oatie   oats   rice   sunflower oil
Other listings you may be interested in:
Bennetto Raspberry Dark Chocolate Mini BarsBennetto Raspberry Dark Chocolate Mini Bars
Rating: 8.8
Tasti Oaty Bakes - Almond, Poppyseed and LemonTasti Oaty Bakes - Almond, Poppyseed and Lemon
Rating: 9.7
Tasti Oaty Bakes - Original RecipeTasti Oaty Bakes - Original Recipe
Rating: 9.4
Salted Caramel Choc TwistsSalted Caramel Choc Twists
Rating: 8.1
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Original Muesli - Natural ApricotOriginal Muesli - Natural Apricot
Rating: 8.8
Kumara RostiKumara Rosti
Rating: 8.8
Maketu Smoked Fish PieMaketu Smoked Fish Pie
Rating: 9.0
Anathoth Farm Traditional Fruit MinceAnathoth Farm Traditional Fruit MinceOxford Ham QuicheOxford Ham Quiche
Rating: 9.2
Hot Dog Harry PizzaHot Dog Harry Pizza
Rating: 8.5
ValentinesValentines
Rating: 4.9
New Way Sausage RollsNew Way Sausage Rolls
Rating: 8.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of melissaandchloe

Review by: melissaandchloe (Melissa)
Dated: 18th of October, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

Alot of people at work had recently started bringing the Tasti Oaty Bakes to work in their lunches and were constantly saying how good they tasted. After seeing them on sale at the supermarket the other day 2 boxes for $5 I decided to pick up a couple of boxes, one of the triple choc and one of the lemon and poppy seed, I was really hoping they would live up to the expectations which I had for them and really couldn't wait to try them.

My first thought about these was the way the box portrayed them to be very natural and good for you looking (even though they were a chocolate product!) with a picture of 5 opened oaty bakes stacked up on a bench wrapped in a thin piece of twine or string, beside some scattered oats, coconut and chocolate. To me this suggested that they only use real ingredients which I was rather pleased about. Upon reading the back of the box I found that I was in fact right, the product was described as "wholesome, delicious treats to remind you of Mum's home baking". They also claimed to have all the goodness of wholegrains. Happy with what id read it was time for the moment of truth as I undertook the very important taste test!

So upon opening up the box I found that each of the 6 oaty bakes are individually wrapped in a plastic package which is easy to open, and to my amazement these bars were believe it or not the WHOLE size of there packaging which is not a common thing to come across these days, with most bars being a half if not smaller than there packaging. Biting into the bar it reminded me a lot of the afghans that I used to bake with my Dad growing up every few weekends, although I have to say that they did look a lot more like a peanut brownie with all of the little white oats that were visible. The texture was really nice not to dry but not to soft and cake like, it was perfect and did not crumble when bitten into, there was a nice amount of tasty chocolate chips throughout and you could definetely taste the oats in it. At the bottom of the oaty bake was a super yummy wafer thin layer of chocolate which added to the taste just nicely.

Definetely one of the better 'Muesli Bars' out there and best of all there New Zealand made. Will definetely be stocking up on these when I see them on sale and can't wait to try the rest of the range.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 3rd of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I got my hands on Tasti's Oaty Bakes - Triple choc variety to taste and I thought they were good. So first off you get six in the box and each of them are individually wrapped with a size that is more square then rectangle, so think of a slice of home made baking, the image on the box is pretty accurate.

The packets are nice and easy to open which might not seem like much, but some things are so hard for kids to open, so this is really good to see. Opening the packet you can smell the chocolate aroma straight away, and it smells great. There is nothing artificial in them and are made with whole grains. They taste just as good as they smell and if you were to give someone one that was unwrapped I think they would be hard pressed to guess they came in a box of six from the supermarket.

I was travelling around seeing people the day I had the box with me so gave them to a range of different people, everyone liked them and I think there was some genuine surprise that they were a mass produced product, so well done Tasti on producing a good quality product. The price is really reasonable compared to other products out there which is great and I was really expecting them to cost a bit more for what they are. They are definitely a treat type product so keep that in mind, but go get some, you wont be disappointed.

Click here to read the profile of sbevin

Review by: sbevin (Shona)
Dated: 24th of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 6 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

Was very excited to try Tasti's Oaty bakes which they says tastes like home baking . So with excitement opened the packet and 6 very good sized portions appeared. First up they are very easy to open even for small children's hands, Fabulous chocolate aroma, makes the mouths water!

Right from the first bite, you get that crunchy texture from the oats and small good sized pieces of white chocolate so that they aren't over - powering , the icing on the top is just the right amount as any more and it could get sickly. Little bit on the dry side, so could have been a bit better in that area. Overall tho I think they can be forgiven for that.

Good to see that they are made in New Zealand. Love the fact these are made of whole grains and best part no artificial flavours or colours . Packaging wise I think the writing could be clearer as bit small , could be the font used which makes it hard to read for those who like to know whats in their food. Good size for storing in pantry how ever.

So overall good product and for the price maybe a treat product and not for everyday use .

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

These are tasty little morsels; little fudge brownies, with an oaty texture.

Six individually wrapped little oaty treats per box, is great value. Unwrapping the bars, I found there to be a very strong chocolate aroma, that had me salivating. This was a good thing, as biting into the treats revealed them to be crumbly, and slightly dry. The flavour of the chocolate is just as full as the aroma, but there is a very subtle acidic aftertaste that lingers on the tongue.

White chocolate bits inside of a chocolate brownie, half covered in a thin chocolate layer; this is certainly not an everyday treat. Maybe a once a week sort of luxury. I did enjoy these baked goodies, and they had a very consistent and genuine chocolate flavour to them. They are a good small portion size, which is helpful, as these would be easily scoffed down no matter what size they came in.

I certainly would not class these treats as nutritional, but they definitely are tasty. I would have loved for them to be just a little bit moister, more like a brownie in texture, and less crumbly. But nevertheless, they were tasty, great value price, and according to the box, they would last almost a year if they remained wrapped.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 1st of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

When I got to try the Triple chocolate flavour for the first time I was excited and also pleasantly surprised. because of the look of the bar I assumed that the little white pieces were peanut pieces because it looks so much like a peanut brownie bar. They did turn out in fact to be little bits of white chocolate. Excellent! All of the bar from the top to the bottom was somehow cleverly crafted from different types of chocolate.

The base was a harder thin layer to start the tongue on the ride, followed by the brownie baked middle complete with little white choc bits that are blended with crunchy flakes and wholegrain greatness! There are three flavours in the range however and as great as this one sounds it is not my favourite of the bunch.

For the price RRP you get 6 bars in the box and I am happy with that. I used these bars for breakfast quick grab out the door in the morning when I was rushing and didn't have any time to make toast and a tea. They are also perfect for a 10am smoko break pick me up. I had these as light snacks basically throughout the day and was more than happy with the product.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 27th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

When I first saw these I got excited as in the UK I use to buy oaty cakes from bakeries and thought these might be something similar. I was wrong these were very different but in a nice way.

The packet is very inviting and gives you the impression that it is treat rather than an everyday lunchbox item. The individually wrapped bars are very simply labelled with the flavour which is always a bonus when you have a couple of different flavours in the lunchbox.

My first pick of these was the triple chocolate, even though I am not a complete chocolate fan I thought they would be more appealing than the original. The little bar, that is more like a little slice looked amazing. Chocolate base and what looked like a very smooth mixture.

My first bite amazed me, it was not the really sweet chocolate flavour that I was expecting which was great. I loved the smooth texture with a few crunchy bits in every bite. I could definitely see these being popular in my lunchbox as they were very filling and reminded me of a slice I may buy at the cafe.

So although they are not as cheap as muesli bars I feel that they would definitely save me money in the long run as eating one of these felt like I had been to the cafe.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 18th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Well, I have to say, these bars are impressive, I have had snack food along the same lines as this, but I don't think I have ever had anything that can be called an oaty bake. I really loved the flavour of this particular set of bakes, the three types of chocolate in them (white, milk, and dark) all balanced each other well, the slight bitterness of the the dark chocolate helped to tone down the over-sweetness of the white chocolate, and then the milk helped to round things out and give a smooth, somewhat consistent flavour.

The texture of the product was good, it was dry, but not too dry, although it was quite crumbly, so perhaps a bit of extra moisture or some form of bonding agent might be useful in these. Out of the two flavours I tried, I loved this one the most, no doubt because my favourite type of baked goods is anything chocolate, so the flavour of this product was so similar to my acquired taste, with just a small flavour offset to make things a little less redundant for my taste buds, just set something off in my mind that got me addicted to this stuff, and it was because of this that made me consume this flavour faster than the other by a ratio of approximately 3:1 (for those who are not nerds like me, this means that for the first 3 bars I had out of this box, I only took 1 out of the other one).

The price is reasonable, at around 75 cents a bar, the price comes close enough to the product's value to be deemed as a fair deal. The bakes had visual appeal, they looked good, it wasn't a packaged mess, it all looked uniform and didn't remind me personally of anything disgusting, so I would have to give that aspect a full 10/10! All in all, I think this is a great product, and it is a very affordable snack food I would like to have a bit more often, although I am not entirely sure how good that would be for my health, so it will not be that regular.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 17th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

The Tasti Triple Choc Oaty Bakes do not claim to be a health bar but it is pleasing to see that they contain no artificial flavours or colour. It is more like a slice or biscuit as the oats are quite fine although still noticeable. My daughters (4.5 and 6 years old) both enjoyed the bar as much as I did but it is something I could see being designed to have with a hot drink.

There are three lots of chocolate in the bar: A thin chocolate base, cocoa in the biscuit and small bits of white chocolate in it too. I expected all this chocolate would make it very sweet but was pleasantly surprised to find it wasn't. It did taste like home baking but mine wouldn't have looked as neat and uniform. Although no one complained it was slightly dry and I noticed we all grabbed for our water bottles once we had finished. This would probably make it a good one to dunk in your hot drink but the packet disappeared too quickly to test that out.

At about 75c each it is priced to be a treat rather than something you throw in your kids' lunchboxes everyday. It is still affordable to have in your own lunchbox compared to buying something from the cafe or vending machine. It is a bonus that they are individually wrapped for when you need to take food with you. I think I preferred the original variety of Oaty Bakes more but it hasn't stopped me eating more than my share of these. I will be buying the Almond, Poppyseed and Lemon to try too.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 7.5
Product reviews for listing 6483: Whittakers Kaitaia Fire Chili Dark Chocolate  -  Manufactured by Whittakers

Product image for Whittakers Kaitaia Fire Chili Dark Chocolate
Batch No.5 Kaitaia Fire Chili Pepper Spice - in Dark Chocolate 50% Cocoa

For Generations, Whittakers have had a passion to create world class chocolate, and now they have launched the New Zealand Artisan Collection. Combining the world's finest cocoa with the most delicious ingredients sourced directly from New Zealand's finest artisan producers.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Politics is not a bad profession. If you succeed there are many rewards, if you disgrace yourself you can always write a book."
Ronald Reagan (1911 - 2004)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream