Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd October 2017 - 17:27:20

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Tasti Oaty Bakes - Original Recipe review

« The Last Thirteen #09 - 5 reviewThe Last Thirteen #09 - 5Tasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc reviewTasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.4/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5848 - Tasti Oaty Bakes - Original Recipe
Produced by Tasti Products Ltd

Tasti Oaty Bakes - Original Recipe
Price:
$4.49 / box of 6 bars
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Tasti (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Tasti Oaty Bakes - Original Recipe product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWholesome, delicious treat to remind you of Mum's home baking. Wholegrain oats have been baked with dark cane sugar and drizzled with chocolate to create Tasti Oaty Bakes for you.

Go on, take a well-earned break and indulge in one of our new favourite recipes!

Check out Tasti (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Tasti (NZ) Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cane sugar   chocolate   cocoa   cornflakes   golden syrup   nzmade   oatie   oats   rice   sunflower oil
Other listings you may be interested in:
Wilton Dab N Hold Edible AdhesiveWilton Dab N Hold Edible Adhesive
Rating: 10.0
Tasti Oaty Bakes - Almond, Poppyseed and LemonTasti Oaty Bakes - Almond, Poppyseed and Lemon
Rating: 9.7
Turkish Calzone - Feta and SpinachTurkish Calzone - Feta and Spinach
Rating: 7.6
Sweet Pepper SauceSweet Pepper Sauce
Rating: 8.6
Tasti Oaty Bakes - Triple ChocTasti Oaty Bakes - Triple Choc
Rating: 8.6
Mac Bar - Dark & MilkMac Bar - Dark & Milk
Rating: 7.6
Maketu Potato Top pieMaketu Potato Top pie
Rating: 7.3
Dannys Pita Bread - Long-Life OriginalDannys Pita Bread - Long-Life Original
Rating: 9.4
Mini Gingerbread Men Mini Gingerbread Men 
Rating: 8.5
Sids Raspberry VinegarSids Raspberry Vinegar
Rating: 9.5
Sport BeansSport Beans
Rating: 8.3
Pickapeppa Spicy Mango SaucePickapeppa Spicy Mango Sauce
Rating: 9.5
Anathoth Farm Lemon CurdAnathoth Farm Lemon Curd
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 26th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

When my husband found these in the cupboard he screwed up his nose and muttered 'healthy....' And a few other words. The kids too looked in the cupboard and promptly told me there was 'no food' in the house, even though they were staring at a box of Tasti Oaty Bakes, I guess the word oaty ruled them out as too healthy for food. So I did what any good wife / mum did, I unwrapped them, chopped them in half and put them out on a plate for an afternoon snack one day. I got choruses of this is so good Mum, I didn't know you had baked, can we have more?
I confessed my 'sin' and the kids asked to have them in their lunch boxes tomorrow! It was a little funny how quickly they turned around in their thinking. I went to grab some for the lunches the next day and the box was gone, after questioning hubby sheepishly told me he had brought a box to work as they were so good!
These bars look like they do on the box, very much like someone's home baking, drizzled with chocolate on top. The key to their popularity is they seem more biscuit like than muesli bar like, and so they are very popular in our house! The price for Tasti Oaty Bakes - Original Recipe is very reasonable, and being packaged means they are easy to pop into lunches and to have in your handbag for a treaty snack.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 5th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

We were sent two different flavours of Oaty bakes to review. These original flavoured ones and lemon, almond and poppyseed ones *so lucky*. I love the boxes and the photo on the front. They just look so jam packed full of flavour, a decent size and thickness. Not some tiny little skiny bar. And true to the picture, they are a good chunk of yumminess. That alone impressed me.

I always expect that anything that comes after an original is going to be improved and so much better, esp with food. Not in this case. The original are amazing. I do not know exactly what flavour these are, cane sugar maybe, but what ever it is, its really full and really yum. They more I ate this little bar the more I wanted. Since receiving these to review, ive had to go and buy more.

I used these in the base of a cheesecake. They were perfect. Beautiful flavour. I combined them with the lemon almond and poppyseed one and they just gave the base a really good texture. Its great thwt they are not dry and crumbly and have the added bonus of a lil chocolate too. I have since used them in both truffles and fudge slice and will continue to do so from now on. They combine amazingly and the texture is perfect.

These oaty bakes are slightly more expensive than your standard muesli bar but size and flavour wise they are definitely worth every cent.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 3rd of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Original tasty oat bakes are simply divine! My first bite and indeed first taste of these had my taste buds bringing back memories of home baking and a yummy golden syrup like flavour. The flavours within this bar are well balanced and while they are definitely a sweet treat they aren't overpowering in sweetness which is really nice. I have to say Tasti got things a little bit wrong by calling these the "original" flavour as they are anything but plain and boring which I think is what so many of us associate with food when its labelled as being original flavoured.

A sturdy box with packaging which straight away catches your eye and lets you know that these goodies are like a little present - something more than just a bar! Six individually wrapped squares of goodness wait for you inside the box and goodness they really are, especially with no added nasty's (artificial flavours or colours). I really liked the way that the individual bars are so clearly labelled and have all the info you need on them. Sometimes something like this can hang round in my handbag for awhile and its so nice to know its still in date and exactly what you are opening before you eat it too.

My husband also liked these bars but preferred the lemon version which suited me just fine, my daughter (15months) loved these as much as me. In fact if she ever noticed me sit down with one she would run over all excited and point to the bar, nodding her head (yes) frantically when I asked if she would like some. I loved that these were nice and soft, not at all hard and not dry either - the perfect texture. All in all these are a nice treat or lunch box filler that suited all of our family and one that I will definitely be buying again that's for sure.

Aside from eating up these yummy morsels just as they are, I also tried them out in our pudding. Fresh strawberries from the garden and custard was on the menu for our treat of the week, however I felt it just needed something else (though I wasn't sure what). As I was searching, I saw the bars sitting there and my mind went click - I crumbled a bar on top of our pudding, hoping for the best as I wasn't 100% sure. After the first mouthful of pudding I knew I would be doing that again! So yummy, the bars added the extra special bit the pudding needed and you could taste the golden syrup like flavours of the bar which mixed nicely with the other flavours.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 29th of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Muesli or snack bars are quite popular in our house as they are just so convenient to pop in your bag when you are going out for the day as a little snack. We generally buy a couple of boxes of bars are week so we do eat quite a lot. I have seen these before but usually buy what is on the cheapest special for the week so had never tried these before. Having previously tried oaty bake style bars I was a little excited to try these as with my clicky jaw oaty bakes with their softer texture really appeal to me.

The box contains 6 individually wrapped bars. I liked that they weren't your traditional elongated shape rather being a nice square shape instead. This made them appear smaller when in fact they are the same size just in a different shape. The shape makes them more appealing in my opinion as once unwrapped they almost look like a cafe style muesli slice yum!! The packaging is great they look like a good quality product for adults and children if you are willing to share ;)

On opening you get a nice oaty slice with a chocolate drizzle on the top making you want to bite in straight away who can resist a bit of chocolate. The bars are very delicious with a great texture given from the soft oats and the slightly crunchy cornflakes mixed through. We all really enjoyed them and have since bought more as I spotted them on special on my weekly grocery shop. I have been trying to keep these ones to myself as I can eat them without my jaw becoming sore.

They have a rich almost golden syrup taste which I imagine is from the cane sugar. I really liked this almost reminded me of a flap jack from when I was little. The ingredients used are really great quality ingredients so these appeal to the adults a bit more than some of the other snack bars on the market. I will definitely be buying them again but I am not sure I am willing to share them with my kids.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 28th of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I was given some of these to review, and I particularly requested this flavour as the oaty nature of them appealed to me, and I don't eat nuts, so it was a nice treat to find a nice snack bar without nuts or nutty flavours (traces of nuts are OK for me though).

I absolutely loved these from the first bite! I could taste the dark cane sugar straight away and they felt kind of sweet to me (but not in an unpleasant way) so I wondered immediately how the calorie count compared. I checked against another muesli bar I had in my pantry and these ones had slightly less calories so I was happy about that - although I have to say these are definitely not a diet food.

These were not dry at all, and I loved the little crunchy crispy bits in them. Unfortunately I only got to eat 2 as hubby discovered them and went mad over them too! Our 6 year old didn't get much of a look in at all, but I did give her a small amount to taste. It turns out they weren't really her thing though, but this suits me fine as I see these more of an adult range based on the price and packaging of them.

I had my first bar on a morning I was feeling quite peckish and it satisfied my hunger and kept my hunger away for a few hours. This is great, as it makes the price worthwhile and I'd definitely buy these again on this basis. In fact I'm off to put them on my shopping list now!

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

This is the first one I have tried in this range. When I opened the box, I found that the oaty bakes were in individual packs. There were 6 bars in the box. I always like to see that there are no artificial flavours or colours in treats that I offer to my family. I find that they are unnecessary and often harmful.

The box that I received has a best before date of September 2015. This means that they have a good shelf life if they are accidentally left to the back of the pantry for a while. I liked the fact that the individual packs also had the date and a lot of the other necessary labelling to assist people to know about the bar if it is taken out of the original box.

My initial taste of the Tasti Original Recipe Oaty Bake made me think of something that I might find in a biscuit tin at home. It tasted like there was something in there which was wholesome and filling. It wasn't overly sweet, which I liked.

The bar is a nice size and shape and looks a bit more fancy than your standard bar. I would consider these as a treat and would be a good option to offer my family instead of a muesli bar.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 29th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Oh my gosh!!! These are amazing. I was given a packet of these to try and thought that out of the flavours the Triple Chocolate would be my favourite, but I could not of been so wrong.

With a picture of little bars bundled up like a gift proved to me that these were going to be more of a treat than an everyday lunchbox item. In this box was 6 individually wrapped bars that were cleverly labelled with the flavour (this is always something I like in a bar as I quite often open boxes and tip into the treat draw).

The little square bar reminded me of a slice that I might buy from a cafe. It had a golden colour and was drizzled in chocolate. You could smell the sweet smell of caramel. On taking the first bite you could taste the golden syrup that made this bar one of my favourites. Although the bar mixture was quite smooth it also had crunchy cornflakes and rice bubbles throughout. I did not find these bars dry at all.

Although they are a bit more expensive than a muesli bar I would definitely have one of these in my bag each day as a pick me up treat. By having one in my bag would definitely stopped me over spending at a cafe on a slice.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 17th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 7 out of 10

When I was offered the Tasti Oaty Bakes to review I responded with "Yes please." I was given both the Original Recipe and the Triple Choc varieties. I expected the original variety to be boring but it certainly wasn't. There was chocolate drizzled across the top which appealed to Miss 4.5 and Miss 6 (and yes, I admit me too). The mix of rolled oats, rice bubbles and cornflakes give it a lovely texture and crunch within the soft biscuit. My girls don't usually eat muesli bars because of the rolled oats, but were eager to eat these as the oats were fine enough they didn't see them and didn't have to chew too much. The flavour that dominated for me was golden syrup. It was just right, not too sweet.

Although it doesn't state it on the box, each bar is individually wrapped which is very convenient. This is more like a biscuit than a muesli bar. Perfect for adults to pop in their lunchbox and have with a coffee for morning tea. It is slightly dry so make sure you have a drink with it. It costs more than the muesli bars so I would waste them in the kids' lunchboxes. It is still cheaper and easier than anything that you would get in a vending machine or cafe. I preferred the original recipe to the Triple Choc but I am keen to try the Almond, Poppyseed and Lemon too.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.1
Product reviews for listing 159: Maketu Mince Pie - Single Serve -  Manufactured by Maketu Pies Ltd

Product image for Maketu Mince Pie - Single ServeMaketu Pies, made in the Bay of Plenty, and distributed to fine food outlets, for you to enjoy.

Available in a wide variety of flavours, there's a pie for everyone.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"The difference between 'involvement' and 'commitment' is like an bacon-and-eggs breakfast: the chicken was 'involved' but the pig was 'committed'"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream