Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Saturday 23rd November 2019 - 11:41:02

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Pastries > Sunday Best - Bacon, Egg and Pesto review

« Sunday Best - Prime Beef & Blue Cheese Pie reviewSunday Best - Prime Beef & Blue Cheese PieMaketu Chilli Beef Roll reviewMaketu Chilli Beef Roll »

Score: 9.1/10  [9 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5829 - Sunday Best - Bacon, Egg and Pesto
Manufactured by Maketu Pies Ltd

Sunday Best - Bacon, Egg and Pesto
Price:
$4.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Maketu Pies

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Sunday Best - Bacon, Egg and Pesto product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsSliced bacon, onions and fresh eggs together with our tangy sundried tomato pesto, encased in our handmade, flakey, golden pastry.

Check out Maketu Pies onlineClick here to see all the listings for Maketu Pies Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
bacon   egg   maketu   nzmade   pesto   pie   sundried   tomato
Other listings you may be interested in:
Maketu Steak & Cheese pieMaketu Steak & Cheese pie
Rating: 9.1
Maketu Vegetable pieMaketu Vegetable pie
Rating: 9.0
Maketu Bacon & Egg - Single ServeMaketu Bacon & Egg - Single Serve
Rating: 9.3
Maketu Smoked Fish PieMaketu Smoked Fish Pie
Rating: 9.0
Maketu Chicken PieMaketu Chicken Pie
Rating: 9.3
Maketu Steak Pie - Single ServeMaketu Steak Pie - Single Serve
Rating: 8.3
Maketu Mince & Cheese pieMaketu Mince & Cheese pie
Rating: 6.8
Maketu Whoppa Roll - Single ServeMaketu Whoppa Roll - Single Serve
Rating: 8.1
Maketu Mince Pie - Single ServeMaketu Mince Pie - Single Serve
Rating: 9.1
Maketu Sausage Roll - Single ServeMaketu Sausage Roll - Single Serve
Rating: 9.0
Maketu Steak & Mushroom - Single ServeMaketu Steak & Mushroom - Single Serve
Rating: 9.0
Maketu Butter Chicken PieMaketu Butter Chicken Pie
Rating: 9.1
Maketu Lamb & Mint PieMaketu Lamb & Mint Pie
Rating: 7.5
Maketu Mussel PieMaketu Mussel Pie
Rating: 7.5
Maketu Steak & Kidney PieMaketu Steak & Kidney Pie
Rating: 8.3
Maketu Curry Mince PieMaketu Curry Mince Pie
Rating: 8.5
Maketu Chilli Beef and Cheese pieMaketu Chilli Beef and Cheese pie
Rating: 7.8
Maketu Steak & Onion pieMaketu Steak & Onion pie
Rating: 9.3
Maketu Pepper Steak pieMaketu Pepper Steak pie
Rating: 9.0
Maketu Steak & Vegetable pieMaketu Steak & Vegetable pie
Rating: 8.8
Maketu Apple pieMaketu Apple pie
Rating: 9.5
Maketu Traditional Mince pieMaketu Traditional Mince pie
Rating: 8.5
Maketu Potato Top pieMaketu Potato Top pie
Rating: 7.3
Sunday Best - Prime Beef & Blue Cheese PieSunday Best - Prime Beef & Blue Cheese Pie
Rating: 9.4
Maketu Chilli Beef RollMaketu Chilli Beef Roll
Rating: 8.4
Molasses Unrefined Cane SugarMolasses Unrefined Cane Sugar
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 27th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

Bacon and Egg pie is something I wouldn't usually consider if I was going to indulge in a pie. My husband thawed the pie and cooked it in the oven with the chilli roll and the Prime Beef & Blue Cheese pie. He found that the pies required a lot longer to cook and heat than indicated on the packet. The chilli roll cooked and heated through in the time specified on the packet. We found this to be rather interesting.

The pastry had a nice texture and tasted really good. It wasn't dry and I think it was perfect. I had to cut the pie up to share it with my family in order to review it. I found that the pie held together beautifully and was easy to share out. I found that there was a whole egg yolk inside (it seemed like just the yolk but maybe the white had dispersed with other ingredients in the middle of the pie. There was some white sauce in there (possibly with cheese in it). I am not overly into big chunks of yolk and neither is Mr Four. My husband and Miss Two are happy to eat an egg in any form. We tried it and found that the yolk was rather rubbery. A very interesting texture.

There were several layers of bacon in the pie, as well as some tomato pesto at the top. The pie was what it stated! There was no searching for ingredients that we expected to be in there. The fact that the main ingredients were recognisable, rather than a mix of all sorts, I would rate this as a pie of higher than usual quality.

We served the pie with some crunchy salad and green veges. I did enjoy it but I think my heart is still with a good steak pie!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 23rd of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10

When I initially saw this pie, my mouth watered at the thought of a bacon and egg pie with pesto. I did however, picture a basil pesto. I admit to not reading the packet too closely when I went to heat it either. To heat the pie from frozen, I put the pie in the middle of the oven for about 45 minutes. My silly gas oven didn't do a fabulous job though, and so I did need to give it a little microwave afterwards just to warm the middle through.

I had planned to share this pie with my husband but when I cut the pie in half we noticed that there was tomato in it and he doesn't eat cooked tomato so he gave it a miss. It was then that I realised I could hardly see green, apart from a little through the egg. The pesto was tomato and it was clearly on the packet. Despite the confusion my first tastes of this pie were very positive.

The bacon flavour was really good and bold. The tomato pesto did balance that salty bacon flavour. The only thing that let it down a little was the egg. It was just a bit bland, against the bacon. I did like the creamy texture of the egg though. As always the Maketu pastry was crispy and buttery and awesome.

This was a close second between this pie and the Beef and Blue Cheese one. I just felt that the egg let the overall pie down a little on the taste. A little of that creamy egg would have been enough, but with the volume of egg it needed a bit more seasoning. Aside from that, it was a good pie. The pastry was excellent and it was chocka with filling.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 22nd of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

Ohhh by crikey this is a fine bit of kai. I was lucky enough to be up in the beautiful Waikato visiting whanau and so I could drop past and collect these, since they were frozen and could not be shipped down to me. The best bit was, I know my ever-observant mokopuna would not be coming with me, so wouldn't be swiping it while I wasn't looking and then telling me it was a shame I am so old and slow because I missed out on some "awesome grub, eh Koro."

They would have been right though, this was a 'very awesome' bit of grub for sure. There were big pieces of bacon that had lots of wonderful flavour and were really easy and satisfying to eat, even for people with dentures like I have. The egg was clearly a real egg and not some blend of egg and who-knows-what like some pies I have bought over recent years.

I was not sure what to expect when it said it had pesto in it. My experiences of pesto are more green than red, more herbs and things like that, but this was really nice and brought a lot of flavour to the pie party. I think that it made a big difference, better than any tomato sauce you could drown the pie in. This is a pie I will be looking for when I am in the mood for a one-person snack next time I am down by the river watching the paddleboat go past.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 16th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

My all-new favourite pie! It even pushes "Steak 'n' Cheese" out of the top spot - a spot held by that flavour for well over 3 decades!

With the way the NZ economy is going, and the trickle-down effect it has on my own budgets, I find myself reluctant to waste power heating up the oven just to bring a single pie up to eating temperature. Thankfully, I have had many years learning how to tinker with things and create work-arounds, so I can heat a pie in a microwave and come out with something tolerably edible. Thus, this pie underwent my not-really-secret process and was ready for taste-testing 4 minutes later.

Cutting the pie open was the first "What the..." moment for me. With most B&E pies I have come across, I would be expecting to see either a mass of egg with a few wandering and wayward bacon bits lost in the mess, or a watery slurry that may have been waved past a chicken and a pig swapping jokes as flavouring. Instead, I was greated with about a third of the pie's cavity packed with good sized chunks of bacon - real bacon with lots of flavour - and an egg cracked on top. Some redish stuff - the pesto, obviously, smattered around in a random but quite generous manner, and one of the smallest air-gaps I have seen in a pie.

Taste-wise, I was astounded. Full flavour of all ingredients, wrapped up in a buttery pastry that, for as long as it held heat, was soft and easy to bite through. Mere words can not cover my feelings of awe and delight at discovering such a remarkable pie... and I thought the Beef & Blue Cheese was something special!

Overall... I almost don't care what it costs, I plan to get more of this pie!

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 8th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

Whenever I see a pie that says it has egg in it I'm never too sure about trying it out as a majority of the time it is a hard boiled egg that has been chopped up and added to the pie, not the case with this pie.

I opted to share this with a friend and my husband, and so cut it into half and then one half into quarters so they could each have a small piece to try each. I was surprised to see a large chunk of tomato fall out, but was even more surprised to see just how much bacon was in the pie, I mean we are talking almost the entire pie full of bacon with some tomato pesto layered between and the egg mixed through.

Due to my cutting it, some of my bacon fell out, so that was the first thing that I ate and the bacon was delicious, great taste, not too salty and it wasn't too tough to chew on. The egg was wonderful and moist and made me think of a really really soft and delicious quiche, just the right cheesyness to it, and it was overall, a rather delicious pie that I really wish that I hadn't shared with the others.

I can't really comment on the price as I don't know the cost, but, so long as it wasn't too expensive (and I got a whole pie to myself), I would buy this again for sure.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 8th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 9 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10

I have tried a few different bacon and egg pies in the past and find that it can be a bit boring but this time I was pleasantly surprised that the pie was incredibly tasty. I did find that the pie was a good size when I put it into the oven.

The instructions were easy to follow but as a busy mum I would prefer to have microwave instructions instead of just a bit saying "the pastry wouldn't taste good in the microwave" or something to those words as it does take a while for the oven to warm up and then cook it and most pies have the same wording about how it would taste best in the oven and when microwaved it tastes good.

The egg was done in a good way not just plonked into the pie and the bacon pieces were a decent size, I wasn't expecting to find such big pieces of bacon but glad that at last someone is listening when people are saying that they need to have more meat in the pies

It would be interesting to see how much the pie does cost and where it will be available as this is a pice I would gladly buy again.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 8th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 8 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10

I got a quarter of this pie (since I was already getting half of the steak and blue cheese and almost all of the beef mince and chilli) so that was my limit for this, but I couldn't say no to bacon.

When my wife cut this it was easy to see just how much food was in the pie, I mean, she cut it open and bacon starts spilling out of the darn pie and a big chunk of tomato spilled out of the middle of the pie, so there is no doubt at all that there is bacon and tomatoes in the pie. Even just a quarter of the pie is a couple of mouthfuls so I knew that I could get a decent taste from the pie and see if it was as nice as it sounded.

Over all I thought that this was a really well balanced meal taste wise, my quarter did fall apart on me a bit but that wasn't too bad, though I did find it to be a little bit greasy, I think that was the egg. There is a great amount of everything in the pie, for once a bacon pie that is full to the brim with bacon. I would happily buy this again, just to get to have a full pie on my own.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 7th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 7 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10

I have never been a huge fan of cooked tomato in my foods, so I was a bit shocked when I cut open this product, and saw a layer of red. But it was good! Amongst the other ingredients, the tomato was neither a watery mess nor a solid lump; it was a nice herby flavoured paste, that moistened up the pie amazingly.

As with the previous Maketu products that I have reviewed, this item also provided directions for oven baking, and refused to provide directions for any other method, which impressed me.

The pastry was light to eat, and not heavy at all. and the filling was soft, which almost gave the product the consistency of a moist quiche. The egg actually looked like an egg, and the bacon provided the salty hint that is expected (And we actually had a good amount of bacon). So the quality of the ingredients was impressive.

My only real issue with the pie was the portion size. I am a large man, so I had to have the pie with a rather large portion of rice in order to fill me up. And unfortunately, unlike the prime beef and blue cheese pie, this product had quite a bit of air in the pie. It needed to either have more filling, or just be a larger pie in general, as it did little to fill me without extra carbs.

The casing was flaky, and not just a giant "clump" of pastry, and the ingredients moved about inside the pie, so this was very enjoyable to eat. I just needed more of it.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 5th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Fillings:
Score 10 out of 10
Pastry:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10

Bacon and egg pie always been my favourite type of pie, as well as mince/steak and cheese. But, this pie is something different, and is by far more delicious. The extent of most bacon and egg pies I have eaten has been some slightly under-cooked substance that should be bacon but is more like ham, and some very watery scrambled egg. However, this egg was more than that, the bacon was actually more flavourful, it was slightly salty, but not too much, just enough to add a bit of flare to the taste. The egg was done in a way I think is unique, the egg was not scrambled, it was cracked into the pie then partly cooked along with the pastry.

This cooking process is then completed by you at home, and the resulting mix was really quite nice. The egg was creamy, it didn't have any of the watery substance that standard pies and badly done scrambled eggs do, also the addition of the herbs in the egg mix was a nice touch. The pastry was also very nice, it was savoury, with a hint of sweetness, which meant that finishing the crust of the pie was a grand finale of sorts. The pastry was also quite soft, a lot of pie crusts are rock hard, but this was quite the contrary. The lid of the pie appeared to be flaky pastry, but it still held together quite well and didn't make a big mess.

I did notice something rather different, these pies did not have any microwave instructions, and are apparently supposed to be best served when cooked in an oven. However, despite this preference, the pie was still quite delicious even when cooked in the microwave.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 4340: Pita Pit
Located : Nationwide

Product image for Pita PitWith strong roots in Canada since 1995 and the US since 2000, the Pita Pit brand was launched worldwide by Pita Pit International in 2005. Pita Pit International aims to become the industry leader worldwide among pita bread quick service restaurant franchises.

The Pita Pit restaurant is founded on the premise that people prefer a place that is healthy and offers fast service and a varied and flavourful menu in an informal atmosphere. ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Quantum mechanics: the dreams stuff is made of."
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream