Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 24th March 2019 - 18:32:22

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Harvest Apple Cider review

« Harvest Scrumpy Cider with Raspberry reviewHarvest Scrumpy Cider with RaspberryZano Bow + Target reviewZano Bow + Target »

Score: 8.6/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5806 - Harvest Apple Cider
Brewed by: The Harvest Cidery

Harvest Apple Cider
Price:
$3.50 / 330ml bottle
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Harvest Cidery

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Harvest Apple Cider product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsLaunched in 1991, Harvest Premium Cider is a NZ style cider made entirely from NZ apples giving it a light, fruity, crisp and refreshing taste.

Produced in the heart of the sun-drenched Gisborne landscape, this refreshing cider is perfect in the company of good friends and fine food.

Check out Harvest Cidery onlineClick here to see all the listings for Harvest Cidery They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
alcohol   apple   cider   harvest   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Old Mout Feijoa & CiderOld Mout Feijoa & Cider
Rating: 8.6
Harvest Scrumpy Cider with RaspberryHarvest Scrumpy Cider with Raspberry
Rating: 9.2
Fanta - PineappleFanta - Pineapple
Rating: 10.0
Organic Apple & Guava JuiceOrganic Apple & Guava Juice
Rating: 9.3
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Latte MacchiatoNescafe Dolce Gusto Latte Macchiato
Rating: 8.8
Harvest Scrumpy Apple CiderHarvest Scrumpy Apple Cider
Rating: 8.6
Green, Jasmine and PearGreen, Jasmine and Pear
Rating: 7.9
Plum - Still MediumPlum - Still Medium
Rating: 8.8
Strawberry - Sparkling MediumStrawberry - Sparkling Medium
Rating: 8.3
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Blood OrangeSodaStream Waters Fruits - Blood OrangeAvalanche Sugar-Free Premium Drinking ChocolateAvalanche Sugar-Free Premium Drinking Chocolate
Rating: 7.4
Coca Cola - Cherry ZeroCoca Cola - Cherry Zero
Rating: 10.0
Aroha Sparkling RhubarbAroha Sparkling Rhubarb
Rating: 8.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of beanie

Review by: beanie (Serena)
Dated: 25th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was very excited to be able to try out the Harvest Premium Apple Cider! I am not a big alcohol drinker as I really dislike the taste and smell of both wine and beer but after looking after two young children at home all day I definitely get to the end of the day and just feel like a need a little bit of something that is light and refreshing and that helps you to relax and unwind at the end of a big day!
I really liked the label and packaging of this Harvest Premium Apple Cider. I thought that it stood out and was clean and fresh just like the drink that it was in it. Personally I would prefer it if the lid was easier to take off and didn't require something else to help lift it off but I do realize that this style of lid is similar to most other beers and ciders.
I took this cider out of the fridge at the end of a long and tiring day and I popped the lid off and sat down to have my first taste of the apple cider. I have to say that I really enjoyed this drink! It was refreshing and not to sweet but just sweet enough. I definitely really enjoyed this drink and would love to have it again!

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 19th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am a huge cider fan, due to an egg allergy drinking wines is not an option (as most are fined with egg white), and so I have tried a wide range of ciders instead. I must admit the Harvest Apple Cider was one I hadn't tried as it had a manly type bottle. I had a bad experience with the more 'male' type ciders in the south island. They were dry and more like an apple beer combination not to my palate. I really enjoy the sweeter more textured ciders, and as there is such a wide variety available out there, I had steered clear of this brand, simply due to my bias based on the bottle!

The cider was chilled to the right ice cold temperature when I tried it, I added a little ice to the glass as well, as that keeps the cider as cold as possible, which really enhances the flavour of any cider. The cider was poured and I had a sip, it was refreshing, crisp, I could taste the apple and I enjoyed it. It was not terribly sweet, but it wasn't the dry boarding on beer type flavour I was expecting either.

I found it very thirst quenching, it had a lovely flavour, not sweet but not dry, a good go to cider that would appeal to those who find the rekorderlig's etc. too sweet. It would be great for a bar-b-que or on a hot day to really 'hit the spot'. I think in terms of presentation, it is striking, it would be easy to find and that's important with such a wide range of ciders available today.

In terms of value for money, this cider is right on the mark, and I would definitely drink it / buy it again. I would encourage those of you who like me have been put off by the 'manly' beer type image of the bottle to give it a try and you will be pleasantly surprised, but don't expect it to be a sweet cider.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 19th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I am new to the world of cider, but thanks to KIWIreviews and their suppliers, I am thoroughly enjoying trying different brand ciders and different flavours too. It has been a fun experience and I always look forward to another cider to try. Harvest Apple cider was sent to me to review recently and upon unpacking it went straight in the fridge to chill.

The green and style of the bottle did however mean that everytime I opened my fridge I though someone had snuck Heinekin or Steinies in there lol but nope it was the Harvest Apple Cider. I am a fan of apple drinks. I love the crispness and how they are always really refreshing. I had planned to use this cider in an apple crumble but nope, weve been getting some seriously hot days down here, and one particularly hot afternoon this one got cracked open :)

The first thing I noticed upon opening was the fizz. So much fizziness and bubbles. Nothing at all wrong with that, I was just honestly surprised at how bubbly it was lol And it may sounx kinda strange but the bubbles possibly outweighed the apple flavour as this was really quite subtle. I actually found it to be more citrus than I expected. Very crisp and quite enjoyable. Although I did not manage to save any of it lol I do believe if I had of, it would have been beautiful in the apple crumble :)

Click here to read the profile of nighthawknz

Review by: nighthawknz (Marc)
Dated: 9th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

After getting my Harvest Apple Cider It stayed in the cupboard for a few days. Once I wanted to clear my cupboard I decided to move it to the fridge which was then thought that I would open it on my day off. Well a couple of weeks passed by before finally opening it.

As I opened it I heard the hiss of the fizz trying to escape with my mind acting out saying "Drink Me". To be honest I had only had a Cider once before and that was the Sunday before I opened the bottle and that was at the Hobbiton Set in the Green Dragon Inn (Another review I feel coming). So only having one other cider to compare against I wasn't really sure how it would taste.

So the first mouthful I had was full of the fizzy bubbles which I found overpowering, at the same time I could taste the faint taste of apples and the hint of the 4.7% alcohol. Each mouthful I took I still found it a little too fizzy for my liking, at which it still wouldn't stop me from having it other times too and even going out to buy something like this for those times I would feel like it.

I have to admit I feel like it's something a little better than a standard Fizzy drink like Sprite especially if you have a sore throat as well being quite bubbly, Over all I it has a nice taste and has potential as an addition to a cocktail or something chilled for a hot day.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 6th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I worked up a mighty sweat this afternoon with cleaning out our garage and moving around lots of heavy boxes and things. Once I got our daughter home from daycare, it was time to relax before dinner. I went to the fridge and found this bottle of apple Harvest cider.

It was chilled down beautifully, as it had been in the fridge for a few days. The bottle itself is green with a striking red lid. The typography used in the label is interesting enough, maybe a wee bit busy. But I did like the green, it made me think of apples and student days drinking at the University bars.

The first taste of the cider was okay. The cider was super fizzy and I'm not hugely into too much fizz. I just find the bubbles compact too much if there are heaps and they hurt when I swallow them down. This drink didn't hurt going down though, so that was good. The taste was sour almost lemony with a subtle apple taste.

Once I had about half the bottle, I then decided to mix a wee cocktail for fun. After all, I'm still on leave! I added some Cointreau, vodka and some Hypnotiq. It made for a pretty drink, with the pale blue on the bottom and the cider fizzing at the top. It layered really well. The taste of the cocktail was not as sweet as I thought. Enjoying the cider straight was the better option. I would drink this again, if it was on tap when I was visiting a pub, or if it was the cider available for the evening. It's a good middle of the road cider.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 5th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Apple cider would be my favourite flavour of cider. I drink the flavoured ones occasionally but Apple always wins hands down when I am comparing flavours. Drinking the entire bottle would be the obvious option for me and it wouldn't be a struggle at all to sit through drinking Harvest cider! In fact, I couldn't resist pouring a little glass for myself before I started the experimenting phase of my review!. This version of apple cider has a very soft, refreshing taste. It has a nice flavour and isn't too sweet. I poured the glass, had a sip to check what it was like straight from the bottle and then proceeded to get distracted. It was certainly more bubbly straight after I opened the bottle.

Harvest Apple Cider has only got 4.7% alcohol, which is much less than a lot of other cider options. Another cider that I have had recently had 8% alcohol. The lower alcohol makes the Harvest version a good drink for the summer when you are likely to be thirsty and drink faster. The 330ml glass bottle is nice to hold in your hand and is equal to 1.2 standard drinks.

I have been wanting to have a play with making homemade jelly (the dessert type) and I thought this could be a good opportunity to do so. I mixed up about 3 teaspoons of gelatine and 50ml boiling water until the gelatine had melted. I let it cool a little and then added in about 200ml of Harvest Apple Cider. It bubbled up quite a bit. I poured it into individual jelly moulds and had to wait of the bubbles to go down a little in order to fill the containers up. I tasted a little of the mix prior to putting it in the fridge and it tasted good - although gelatine has quite a strong flavour, it didn't seen to take over the flavour of the Harvest Apple Cider. I checked the fridge after about an hour and found that I had made a bit of a mistake by putting the jelly in Tupperware moulds with the lids on. Of course, the cider is carbonated and that made the lid pop up and some of the contents went through my fridge. I found that the jelly was basically set after the hour in the fridge. Upon tasting the jelly, I thought that it was just like drinking the cider but in a jelly version. It had a definite tingle effect on my tongue (probably more so than the drink itself). I decided to serve the jelly with some whipped cream and berries - I thought it was quite tasty and a nice light dessert. My husband wasn't sold on the idea of cider jelly at all! I did have to make kid friendly versions of my jelly as they were very keen to try my new creation and help me review it...I think not!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 15th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This brought back so many memories for me. My student days in Palmerston North, sitting in The Celtic and yakking with the older chaps, drinking Harvest Cider with a splash of blackcurrant syrup... The old blokes always had a quiet smile and snigger at "the young pup and his ribena" while they sat and slurped down their syrupy Guinness which always made me think of a pint of molasses with whipped cream on top.

Yes, this was indeed much like a glass of alcoholic ribena, but that was fine with me as long as the bartender didn't get confused and stick raspberry syrup in it, or add beer and make it a "snakebite" - a drink I thought should be outlawed as offensive to any sense of good taste. LOL Icon I was a bit of a snob back then. Still can't stand the taste of it today, but age brought tolerance if not wisdom, so it's a case of "to each their own" now.

The crisp taste of the cider is something I find quite unique - there is a near-perfect balance between the sharpness from the cider's acidity and the sweetness remaining from the apple juice. It is tart enough that the sweetness doesn't become too much, but sweet enough that the acidity doesn't make it aggravate my stomach. I found this a perfect drink to have with a steak dinner, and if I was going to cook with it, I know from past experience that it makes a wonderful base for a pork marinade.

Overall, a great drink for the approaching Summer, and a bring of fond memories for me personally. I have already bought some more. Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 10th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Not my favorite apple cider, from the various ones that I have tried, but certainly not the worst either.

I started drinking cider's almost a year ago when I discovered that they could be a rather nice drink to wind down the evening without actually feeling like I was drinking anything too heavy (though when I am over, over, over tired, it can make me a bit light headed after one drink) and when several companies offer up the same flavor, in this case apple, it can be hard to know which one is going to taste best.

Having a look at the bottle, this could easily be one serving to do one person over the course of an evening, much like a bottle of beer, but in this case I split it between three people and it gave us just over half a wine glass of cider each, so a decent serving size for sharing with friends which bumps up its value for money up a bit. It fizzed out a bit upon first opening, and it did take me two times to get it open, and once poured I could see that it was very fizzy.

Drinking this cold I found it to be a bit tart for me, slightly on the sour apple side of things and so not 100% to my liking. Drinking it at room temperature I found it to be a bit nicer flavor wise but both times I did find it a bit too fizzy to begin with, well, either too fizzy or not quite enough flavor for the amount of fizz there was. But leaving it for a bit, letting it simmer down, made it a nicer drink, in fact, having let it simmer down to almost no bubbles at all I am finding it a much nicer drink, so for me it is one that needs to breathe to be more enjoyable.

I think I would get this again as it is great for one person over an evening or perfect for sharing.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 10th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

In the past year I've come to really like cider and have enjoyed trying a range of drinks, cider related, so was very happy to get given a bottle of this Harvest Apple Cider to review.

Looking at it, it looks like a perfect size to have the whole drink to oneself, drinking it over an evening of good fellowship, friendship and a decent meal, but I was nice and shared the drink with a friend and my wife. Drinking it cold I didn't like it that much, it was too carbonated and the taste was a bit too close to being a tart and sour drink, so after having half of my drink I left it to warm up a bit.

I was able to share this one bottle out between myself, my wife and our friend, which means this one little bottle can go a long way to make this a nice drink to enjoy with friends whilst eating dinner. Once this had de-fizzed a bit I found it to taste so much better, in fact my last little bit has been sitting there fir half an hour whilst I had a shower and it has that perfect balance of fizz and flavor.

Given how well this shared around I could buy this again.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 9th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Light and crisp is a very good description of this beverage. It is in fact so light because it is highly carbonated. I left this guy in the fridge to cool for an hour while I cooked some dinner, and after that I popped the cap and took a sip. Nothing but bubbles. Incredibly carbonated.

It was very difficult to drink for this reason, so I ended up leaving it to warm up a bit, to lose some of the gases. Once only slightly chilled, it became much easier to drink, and the flavour became more apparent. A very slight apple tang came through the intense fizziness. This is similar in flavour to 'Scrumpy' and 'Bulmers' ciders, as opposed to the smoother, higher in sugar flavour of the 'Macs', 'Isaacs' and 'Rekorderlig' cider families.

Unlike the smoother ciders, this is a much more energetic drink that fizzes in the mouth, and is very much a summer/ BBQ/ outdoors sort of beverage. Packaged in the 'typical' beer bottles, it is a drink that is easy to transport, and doesn't look out of place. Easy to hold and consume straight out of (compared to the large litre plastic bottles), at is a great alternative to beer, with a similar strength of alcohol.

I prefer my drinks super cold, which is not ideal for this beverage, but it is still enjoyable at warmer temperatures, which makes it even better for outside events. A must-have for the summer.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 9th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given a bottle of this cider to taste test and my husband and I tried it out tonight. I like cider, but don't drink it regularly and my husband pretty much doesn't drink at all ... although cider is the one alcoholic beverage he seems to like. I had this nicely chilled and ready to enjoy and opened it to find a very carbonated beverage - just the thought of thing I'd enjoy on a summers day.

The description of a light refreshing taste perfectly describes this... it had a great smell to it, but the actual flavour was very mild and it seemed this was more about being refreshing, than having a strong apple taste. We both felt that a stronger fruity taste would have enhanced it, but for a refreshing drink, it was perfectly adequate.

I found it very drinkable - you'd almost be forgiven for thinking it wasn't alcoholic! Hubby however noticed the alcohol taste and although enjoyed it, wouldn't rave over it. But remember it has to be pretty damn good for him to enjoy alcohol!

Overall it's packaged nicely and I'd happily turn up to a summer BBQ or picnic with a few of these in hand and recommend it for someone who wants something refreshing and easy to drink.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 9th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I really do like apple cider and it is funny how the different brands have different tastes although they are basically the same product. This particular cider was pleasant and not over sweet so still easy to drink apart from the excess of bubbles but that was best left to let the excess gas escape and the drink was much nicer.

I usually prefer sweeter drinks but this was in perfect balance. The bottle is a good size to be sharing with friends while relaxing after a busy day or enjoying over dinner or possibly while having a BBQ.

There isn't much information on the bottle but the important information alcohol volume is on the bottle but I did have a look for the ingredients but there were none but there was a website so I suppose that the information is included there but would be nice to have on the bottle as you don't always have time to go online.

I will be buying this product again as it was nice, not too sweet and not too bitter (sometimes I find that drinks have a bitter taste when people try and mess with a good recipe by trying some really strange combinations) although it will not be my first choice.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 4787: Pete's Natural - Lemonade -  Brewed/Bottled by Pete's Natural

Product image for Pete's Natural - LemonadePete's Natural Lemonade is made in New Zealand from lightly carbonated water, freshly squeezed New Zealand lemon juice, organic fair trade raw sugar, white vinegar, and New Zealand grown hops.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"I really have a secret satisfaction in being considered rather mad."
W. Heath Robinson (1872 - 1944)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream