Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 10th December 2019 - 02:50:54

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Harvest Scrumpy Apple Cider review

« Twistick Kiss Me Naked - Lip Balm reviewTwistick Kiss Me Naked - Lip BalmHarvest Scrumpy Cider with Raspberry reviewHarvest Scrumpy Cider with Raspberry »

Score: 8.6/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5804 - Harvest Scrumpy Apple Cider
Brewed by: The Harvest Cidery

Harvest Scrumpy Apple Cider
Price:
$9.99 / 1.25L bottle
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Harvest Cidery

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Harvest Scrumpy Apple Cider product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsBack in the day a few thirst Englishmen got into the habit of raiding orchards for fruit to brew their cider. The sneaky buggers called their missions "Scrumping" and the resulting drop "Scrumpy".

Today we don't nick the fruit, but the spirit and passion of scrumping still lives on.

Check out Harvest Cidery onlineClick here to see all the listings for Harvest Cidery They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
alcohol   apple   cider   harvest   nzmade   scrumpy
Other listings you may be interested in:
Harvest Scrumpy Cider with RaspberryHarvest Scrumpy Cider with Raspberry
Rating: 9.2
Harvest Apple CiderHarvest Apple Cider
Rating: 8.6
Raspberry CokeRaspberry Coke
Rating: 2.6
Organic ColaOrganic Cola
Rating: 8.2
Sodastream Sampler PackSodastream Sampler Pack
Rating: 8.7
Robert Timms Italian Espresso Coffee BagsRobert Timms Italian Espresso Coffee Bags
Rating: 10.0
Fruit Juice Pineapple With Fruit BitsFruit Juice Pineapple With Fruit Bits
Rating: 8.5
Benjer Nectarine JuiceBenjer Nectarine Juice
Rating: 9.4
Aroha Ginger and Honey Cordial with LemonAroha Ginger and Honey Cordial with Lemon
Rating: 9.6
Fanta - GrapeFanta - Grape
Rating: 10.0
Granite - Blackcurrant BlastGranite - Blackcurrant Blast
Rating: 7.3
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Flat WhiteAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Flat White
Rating: 8.7
Premium Chocolate Powder - sugar freePremium Chocolate Powder - sugar free
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of preciouslives

Review by: preciouslives (Nicole)
Dated: 26th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

A great refreshing cider. Good value for money and in a good bottle easy to close and save for another day if you just want a glass. Perfect drink for a hot day. Some people don't like the strong one-flavor fruity cider however this one most of my friends enjoy as its just the perfect not-too-sweet flavor. Good value for money around $10 and can get it from local supermarkets to hand. You to just put in your supermarket shop and there you have a nice refreshing drink for a hot Summer day. We have also tried having this cider in ice and it went down a real treat and didn't go flat if you just put 2 - 3 pieces of ice per glass.

This brand is not a new brand to it has been around on the shelves for awhile now so I am sure they will bring out more flavors in time to come as they already have done. So why not have a BBQ and a cold glass of this cider I am sure it will go down a real treat for you and your friends and family we love it and buy it often.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 25th of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We were lucky enough to be given some of this cider to review and as it was such a big bottle, I was keen to try some recipes with it too.

First off I gave it a taste, straight from the bottle, cold from the fridge. It certainly had a good apple taste to it, and was a bit on the tart side, which I kind of liked but wouldn't rave over. Next it was time to do some experimenting, as I sure wasn't going to manage to drink the whole bottle myself!

A quick google brought up some good recipes to use cider with and I decided to make someapple muffins with a cider glaze as per the recipe here: [web    • http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/10/loaded-apple-cider-oatmeal-muffins/-^web] I particularly loved the cider glaze, and would definitely make the muffins again, but perhaps use white flour this time so as not to overpower the flavour of the cider in the muffin.

Still there was cider left in the bottle, so I decided to try warming some up and serving it with icecream as per another idea I found online. After warming it, it still had some fizz to it which pleasantly surprised me, but I can't say this was my favourite way to use the cider. After heating it, the tartness seemed a bit overpowering, and I was hoping the icecream might tone it down, but it seemed to curdle a bit. I think it would have been better serving it cold with icecream and that would have really helped sweeten it up. I can also see the cider being great mixed with lemonade to sweeten it too. This would also be a great way to help fizz it up again if it hasn't all been drunk in a day or two.

Overall, I'd definitely buy this cider again, especially if I wanted a decent sized bottle to serve a number of guests as it makes it quite cost effective. Bring on refreshing summer afternoon drinks!

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

The appealing factor of Scrumpy for me is the value for money, the size of the bottle and if you are out for a good night the alcohol level. The bottle states Apple, Fresh with a bite and it is not wrong. I found it to have quite a sour flavour but it was still nice to drink. One 1.25 litre bottle is 8.1 standard drinks.

For me I could not drink the entire bottle alone as the flavour was a little sickly after a while. I think if I was to mix it with lemonade or orange juice this would improve the flavour and make the bottle last a longer period of time. The bottles are eye catching and the labels are informative. I like there messages are made in a fun, joking, light hearted way. Being a plastic bottle they too are recyclable.

I find with plastic bottles Cider looses it "fizz" a lot faster. In saying that the Scrumpy apple cider did not seem as fizzy as other Cider's and certainly nothing like Scrumpys Raspberry flavoured cider which has a decent amount of fizz to it. I do not feel that this affected the taste at all.

While this is not my favourite flavour it is still a nice refreshing drink that is great value for money!

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 27th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I'm not a huge cider or beer drinker but thought I would give this a try after hearing it is the number one cider that kiwi's in Aussie miss and seek out, thus making it the highest shipped cider abiding by all customs laws.

I love the colour of the bottle and the colour of the product but when it came to tasting it, I couldn't do more than half a glass. They say that a picture paints a thousand words and I'm glad that my photo wasn't taken at the time. This is not to say there is anything wrong with the cider, other than the fact I am fussy. I do question if this would be better in the heat/heart of summer as I have tried a couple of drinks that seem to be better with the hotter weather. Roll on summer I say, the fridge will be a sea of green.

My husband and flatmate buy numerous bottles a week and this is largely due to the fact that you are getting really good value for money and the fact that it is resealable and lasts a few days in the fridge. The label is rather plain but easily identifiable in all good supermarkets and bottle shops.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 18th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having never drunk cider before I was rather curious to give it a go. I do not drink alcohol of any kind so was still rather hesitant. To be honest, the request was more for my husband and, me just a little bit. But having been in and out of hospital this week and on medication I decided to take a step back and let my husband write the review. I have had a sip and found it to be like a fizzy wine.

Harvest Scrumpy is a great summer drink, you can almost taste the golden Gisborne sun rays that ripened those rosy apples. With hints of a dry white wine it is not as fruity as other ciders and at 8.2% this cider means business. The one and a half litre bottle is great as it contains more than eight standard drinks so ideal to share with mates. It does store well in the fridge, for a couple of days with the resealable lid.

I particularly enjoy this drink on a hot sunny day out on the deck with some friends. You just don't want to stand up too fast as Harvest Scrumpy is such an easy drink that all that kick (approximately twice that of beer) sneak up on you and leave you light headed in the sun. A definite must for every fridge.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 18th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My husband and I really enjoy cider and Scrumpy Cider is generally our brand of choice. When I got chosen to review our favourite cider, I was very happy.

We were lucky enough to pick it up on our way to the beach during the school holidays. When we arrived at the beach, the cider wasn't chilled. I like my cider really cold, so we put it in the freezer for about half an hour. This made all the difference and made the cider perfect to drink. We enjoyed a glass of cider as we prepared dinner that evening. It was perfect - a view of the ocean and islands while sipping cider.

I would recommend drinking the cider either on the day of opening or the day after. I kept some in the bottle to double check it while I was writing this review and found that although the cider looked bubbly, it had, in fact lost a lot of the carbonation. This seemed to make it taste sweeter as well. To be fair, I think that this pretty typical of any carbonated drink. Although it is best consumed on the day it is opened, it is still quite drinkable in the following days. I find that a bottle of bubbly wine would not be quite so forgiving.

The bottle is 1.25 litres and contains 8.1 standard drinks. This makes it similar alcohol consumption to 750ml bottle of wine. My husband and I don't tend to drink a full bottle of wine or cider in a sitting and as a result, are usually in the situation of having the other half of the bottle the following day.

We enjoyed the crisp, flavour of Scrumpy Apple Cider. We found it worked very well for a drink in the lead-up to dinner. Our preference is definitely toward apple cider rather than the wide variety of ciders on the market. Scrumpy Apple Cider looks similar to many bubbly wines and therefore could easily be served in a champagne glass and it would look like you were drinking bubbles.

Once my husband and I had consumed the first bottle, I felt that it was only fair to buy another bottle and try a few things out with it (rather than simply drinking it straight from the bottle). Of course, it wasn't too much of a chore for me to buy another one as we really do like it! I recalled, with fond memories, the ice-cream sodas (or spiders) that we had growing up and wondered what it would be like to have one with cider rather than fizzy drinks. When I added the vanilla ice-cream to the glass of Scrumpy Apple Cider, I saw it froth up and knew that it had to be good. Good was an understatement. It was amazing. It is a must do again for us over the summer. I also tried strawberries cut up in a glass of Scrumpy Apple Cider. Again, a must to be done again. The strawberries became a little fizzy, just like they do when added to bubbly wine.

This, of course, will be found in our shopping basket again and again. The upcoming summer months will be a great time to enjoy the odd glass over a BBQ with friends.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 12th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This cider has a good taste, not too sweet which can sometimes happen but not too tart. I had noticed that the fizz wasn't as noticable as the Raspberry cider although I can guess that the label has the same information on it. There are a lot of other brands and flavours of cider and this is probably one of my preferred choices.

The bottle is big enough to share with friends over a few nights or to have a few drinks over the course of one night (depending on how much stress the kids have caused that day) and that is probably one of the bigger draws of this brand as I normally prefer sweet drinks. I have had my kids ask a few times if they are allowed some and I must admit that the colour and fizz makes it seem like a kids drink but after a few sips I can be assured that it is not for kids, they seem to think it is just an apple drink.

I would recommend this drink to anyone wanting a nice tasting cider but nothing too adventurous as apple is a safe choice and who wants to share a few drinks and a lot of laughs with friends.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.6
Product reviews for listing 7536: Pete's Natural - Kola -  Brewed/Bottled by Pete's Natural

Product image for Pete's Natural - KolaPete's low sugar kola is made with freshly squeezed New Zealand lemons and limes, as well as NZ Heilala vanilla, which fits in with our Fair Trade at home Philosophy. Now chill, open and enjoy the best kola in the world.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"The difference between 'involvement' and 'commitment' is like an bacon-and-eggs breakfast: the chicken was 'involved' but the pig was 'committed'"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream