Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 20th February 2020 - 01:57:30

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Thomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider review

« Donovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint Delight reviewDonovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint DelightThomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry Cider reviewThomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry Cider »

Score: 9.1/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5767 - Thomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider
Brewed by: The Harvest Cidery

Thomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider
Price:
$4.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Harvest Cidery

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Thomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThe zing of ginger blended with crisp East Coast apples makes this the perfect choice for refreshing on those hot stuffy days or warming you up on a cool balmy evening. Best enjoyed chilled over ice.

Check out Harvest Cidery onlineClick here to see all the listings for Harvest Cidery They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
apple   cider   ginger   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Thomas and Rose #4 - Watermelon and Cucumber CiderThomas and Rose #4 - Watermelon and Cucumber Cider
Rating: 9.3
Thomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry CiderThomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry Cider
Rating: 9.5
Thomas and Rose #1 - Strawberry and LimeThomas and Rose #1 - Strawberry and Lime
Rating: 9.6
Thomas and Rose #5 - Nashi Pear and PassionfruitThomas and Rose #5 - Nashi Pear and Passionfruit
Rating: 9.6
Kiwifruit - Still MediumKiwifruit - Still Medium
Rating: 8.1
Apricot - Still MediumApricot - Still Medium
Rating: 7.9
26000 Vodka - Crystaline26000 Vodka - Crystaline
Rating: 8.8
Madame's Special BlendMadame's Special Blend
Rating: 7.5
Nekta Liquid Kiwifruit with Aloe VeraNekta Liquid Kiwifruit with Aloe Vera
Rating: 9.0
Duff Energy DrinkDuff Energy Drink
Rating: 8.2
Avalanche Premium Cafe Style - Flat WhiteAvalanche Premium Cafe Style - Flat White
Rating: 8.7
Addmore Elderflower Cordial - OriginalAddmore Elderflower Cordial - Original
Rating: 9.2
Basilur Vintage Style Tea - Christmas TreeBasilur Vintage Style Tea - Christmas Tree
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 4th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am very new to the cider world, having been introduced to the vast range and flavours of cider via KIWIreviews. I have enjoyed receiving different brands to try and love that there is a multiple of flavours to choose from. Since receiving my first bottle of cider I have also discovered a vast number of my friends are cider drinkers. Something I never knew before because I myself am not a big drinker. Its been great having others to discuss 'ciders' with.

Usually when I receive drinks to review I get my bake on. I have discovered that cider goes very nice in cheesecakes, truffles, and muffins BUT this time there was no baking to be done. Nope, instead the ciders were all about a nice refreshing drink on a seriously hot day. Ciders a perfect refreshment on a 27 degree summers afternoon.

Thomas Rose Ciders are my new favourite ciders. The flavours are awesome and the size of the bottle is excellent. I personally think the price for the size of bottle is fantastic too. This one, Apple & Ginger, is great. It is not my favourite but its still good. When you remove the lid you get a nice strong apple smell but when you drink it, its all ginger with a light apple aftertaste. I really enjoyed this one. Id hoped to save some to add to an apple crumble later but nope I admit I consumed it all whilst relaxing in the sun and enjoyed every drop of it :)

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 29th of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We were lucky enough to be selected for this Thomas and Rose cider. The bottle is a good decent size and we were about to split the bottle between two. We sat and drank a glass of chilled cider together on evening. My husband commented that it tasted quite a bit like alcoholic ginger beer. I didn't detect too much apple in flavour, but I agreed that it tasted a lot like ginger beer.

This week, I bought a further bottle of the cider to do a few experiments with. I made up a ginger beer cake first off. This had about 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger in it, and then a cup of the cider in the batter. It made the mixture very smoothy and frothy. The cakes caked beautifully and they smelt excellent.

I had some warm from the oven for dessert. My toddler and I demolished the cakes and I was really impressed with the flavour and the texture of the cake. Usually when I add alcohol to a cake, it becomes very moist and often you can taste that it's alcoholic or it was before the baking. Once they cooled, I frosted them with a vanilla icing and then drizzled some toffee sauce over the top. My husband was pretty impressed with the cakes as well. So that was a win.

I also tried drinking this cider hot like a winter drink. It made the taste ultra fizzy and very warming with the ginger flavour. I don't know that hot was a winner, but it was worth a shot. I think as a summer drink this cider works. It would definitely hit the spot on a hot day. As a cake it was delicious! Another great cider from Thomas and Rose.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This is by far my favourite variant from the 'Thomas and Rose' range. I'd myself call it 'Ginger & Apple', rather than 'Apple & Ginger', as the Ginger is the major constituent of the flavour in this cider. I am a big fan of ginger beer and ginger ale, so I am pleased to announce that this cider does not taste watery, and that alone speaks highly of this cider.

The apple provides more of a base to the cider, reducing any harshness from the ginger flavour, but it still singes the throat nicely. It gives this drink a strength that is nice to find combined with low alcohol. Upon consumption, I found this cider warmed my stomach greatly on a cool summer evening.

As with the rest of the range, I enjoy the size of the beverage, as it allows me to share it with people that insist that they "have to try it", while still leaving me with a generous portion to myself. The only issue with a bottle this size and area, means that it takes a while to cool down in the fridge. You definitely need to cool it for several hours AND add in some ice to fully appreciate this variant.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 21st of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

My wife introduced me to good ginger beer and ever since I've been more than happy to drink a glass or two with her, so I was happy to get a bottle of this Apple and Ginger cider from Thomas and Rose to review.

I let this sit in the fridge for a couple of hours so I could enjoy it as a nice, cool drink on this relatively warm day, I will admit to forgetting about it, so it was a bit cooler when I finally grabbed it out of the fridge but I got there in the end. You look at the bottle size and might be fooled into thinking you're not getting much for $4.99 but it worked out to filling four wine glasses, a decent serving size for four people, so it's worth its money in that regards.

When I first tried it the ginger was rather strong and the apple just an afterthought in the grand scheme of things, but letting it sit and simmer the apple ends up taking the lead. I think this adds to the value as you then end up with either a ginger dominant or apple dominant drink, depending on what you would prefer. Overall I really enjoyed this and I would drink it again.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 21st of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a Bundeberg fan, have been since a child, great memories of playing card games with my mum and grandparents whilst lucky enough to get half a glass of the favoured ginger beer so I simply had to give this a try.

Upon first opening you can smell the ginger in it without a doubt, I mean this smelled like a bottle of Bundeberg through and through so I was already keen to give this a try. The one thing I couldn't smell with this was the apple, since it says apple and ginger, I expected at least a hint in the aroma but no such luck with this.

Giving it a sip this most assuredly tasted like ginger beer but there was a slight hint of apple to it, just a faint taste of it, which gave this ginger drink a slight sweetness, cutting out the usual sharpness to the drink, which was suitably nice. There wasn't too much in the way of bubbles and this tastes just as nice both cold and room temperature, and just like regular ginger beer I have to be careful not to breathe in when taking a sip or I choke on the bubbles. LOL Icon

This is a yummy drink and I will be buying it again for sure.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 27th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Have you ever had that experience when you taste something and life flashes before your eyes?? I remember as a child drinking ginger beer, thinking that I was the coolest kid in town and over the years forgot all about it. I was taken back to that point and couldn't help but smile. Most ginger drinks have put me off but this one, WOW. If you like ginger then this is the drink for you (this also works really well if you have a cold). It is even worth trying if you don't like ginger all that much. Maybe i'm just obsessed.

I am seriously thinking about gifting this for Christmas for the legal aged drinkers in my family and would be more than happy with a half dozen. I don't know if Thomas and Rose is sold in any other form than singles and if not this would be the only negative thing I could say about them. I would like to try this on those cold winter nights and believe it would warm you nicely, which is a let down with a lot of drinks.

Not a lot of alcohol in our house makes it into the cooking but I am willing and wanting to try a piece of lamb marinated in this.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 19th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Witnessing my husband's face after he had his first sip of the Apple and Ginger Cider was awesome, this cheeky little grin spread across his face and he just kept saying 'this is brilliant, brilliant wow this is brilliant'. He very seldom expresses his excitement over food or drink so when he was carrying on this way I had to have a little sip. I do not drink and have never tried cider and so was not sure what to expect. First off it smelled like wine but with a tinge of ginger and personally did not do a lot for me. Mind you, I'm on medication where I am not suppose to touch alcohol so was not really wanting to have a lot. He had a grin on his face and was clearly enjoying it.

His review:
If you are expecting Apple cider with a hint of ginger (like I was) when I took my first sip then you will be in for a surprise. If however you are a fan of Ginger beer that surprise will be one of joy. There is no subtle stroke of ginger on the tongue more a brick to the face. To be honest if I were to describe this drink likening it to cider would not be what immediately came to mind, this is more an alcoholic ginger beverage with just the faintest hint of apple.

Definitly a drink I will keep on reserves as at $4.99 this price is fantastic. One for the summer.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 18th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love cider and as soon as I saw the apple and ginger one advertised I wanted to give it a try. My mind went straight to one of my favourite meals pulled pork and how amazing it would be cooked in apple and ginger cider. When I was lucky enough to be given a bottle to review I rushed straight out to buy some pork.

I got my pork ready to go in the slow cooker and after pouring myself half a glass to taste by it's self I tipped the rest of it on top of the pork. When it was nearly cooked I removed some of the juices and reduced it down to add into the pork once I had pulled it. The results- an amazing tender,moist pork with a lovely hint of apple and ginger. I had plans to get photos but it was demolished before I had a chance!

Tasting the glass I had set aside the first thing I got was a big hit of ginger. It had a much stronger ginger taste than I expected and to me it out powered the apple. It was tasty but just a little too much ginger for me, my husband had a taste though and he loved it.

While I'm not likely to buy it for myself just to drink I will be buying it again to go with my pork as it was amazing and well loved by everyone.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 13th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given some of this cider to review and it seemed the perfect flavour for me to try as I love ginger. Hubby doesn't normally like alcohol but it was him who was keen to crack into the bottle first and he seemed to actually like it - high praise for anything alcohol! Probably because he didn't notice the alcohol flavour and I must admit, I too found it very easy to drink without realising there is alcohol in it - dangerous! ... but perfect for summer afternoons and the like. And I loved the flavour - with the smell definitely stronger than the taste but the taste was definitely there too.

I did however manage to hold some aside to try out some in cooking. I've not cooked with cider before and was keen to give it a go so googled some recipes. I found a great cider cake here www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2012/oct/19/cooking-with-cider-recipesClick out to an external site and decided it would work well with the ginger and apple flavour of the cider, but not really expecting the flavours to come through. Well I was wrong there - I could definitely taste the cider and even the hint of ginger - a really delicious cake which I plan to make again! I did find I had to add a bit more cider to make the batter moist enough, but it worked perfectly.

By now the bottle was getting down a bit so decided just to drink the rest as it's delicious just as it is! However I'm keen to buy some more and try a warm spiced cider drink that I remember seeing the recipe for somewhere... but that might have to wait until winter. So with that in mind, I feel it's a great drink for any time of the year and I highly recommend it... if you like ginger of course!

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 10th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I love ginger in my baking and food, gingerbread, ginger nuts and anything ginger I love but for some strange reason hate gingerbeer so when I noticed this cider for review I thought I would be adventurous and go outside my comfort zone and give it a go.

First thing that was noticable without trying was the incredibly strong smell of ginger, I got a noseful and was almost put off trying it but after a few sips I realised that it wasn't too bad, I would drink it again although it wouldn't be my first choice of drinks.

I had a look at the label and notice that although a full ingredient list is not given there is a website to go to for full details and the other good thing is that the drinkwise web address is also given if you feel the need to get help for your drinking. The label also clearly shows how many standard drinks is in a bottle so you are fully informed before drinking and it shows by a picture that this drink is not suitable for pregnant women.

It also has a number on the label which is different and kind of makes me think about that Earl Grey Taste Off. This different label makes the product stand out a bit more.

I would drink this again if a friend offered it to me but I wouldn't buy it as I'm not a big ginger drinks kind of girl.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 5452: Avalanche Duo - Dark Roast -  Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Product image for Avalanche Duo - Dark RoastDuo is our innovative new product.

We've combined 15% finely milled fresh coffee into our super premium freeze dried instant coffee, giving you the intense flavour of a plunger coffee and the convenience of an instant coffee - wow!

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Did you ever notice that when you blow in a dog's face, he gets mad at you, but when you take him on a car ride, he sticks his head out the window?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream