Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 14th December 2017 - 11:33:11

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Donovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint Delight review

« Swiss Deli Spanish Choritzo reviewSwiss Deli Spanish ChoritzoThomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider reviewThomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.2/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5766 - Donovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint Delight
Manufactured by Prolife Foods

Donovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint Delight
Price:
$4.99
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Prolife Foods

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
At selected New World and Pak n Save stores

Donovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint Delight product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsA soft and sensual block of delicious peppermint delight, generously coated in dark chocolate made with 60% cocoa.

Lovingly crafted in the Waikato by brothers and chocolatiers, Mark and Paul Donovan. Donovans Chocolate's uniqueness is achieved by combining the finest quality ingredients with European technology and Kiwi expertise to deliver the ultimate chocolate experience to your taste buds.

Check out Prolife Foods onlineClick here to see all the listings for Prolife Foods Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chocolate   delight   donovans   nzmade   peppermint
Other listings you may be interested in:
Easy Choc - MilkEasy Choc - MilkCecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine OatsCecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine Oats
Rating: 9.3
Meyer Tasty GoudaMeyer Tasty Gouda
Rating: 9.8
Alexandra's Quinoa - White Bean & CranberryAlexandra's Quinoa - White Bean & Cranberry
Rating: 8.9
Vogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and LinseedVogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and Linseed
Rating: 9.4
Russian PizzaRussian Pizza
Rating: 9.3
Choc Fudge Brownies Choc Fudge Brownies 
Rating: 8.8
Cobb & Co. Family RestaurantCobb & Co. Family Restaurant
Rating: 9.1
Soft Sugar Pearls RainbowSoft Sugar Pearls Rainbow
Rating: 9.6
Hot-Shots TLC Cookies - Chocolate MinionsHot-Shots TLC Cookies - Chocolate Minions
Rating: 8.6
Turkish DelightTurkish Delight
Rating: 9.3
Little Kids Fruit & Veg SHREDZ - Peach, Apple & VegLittle Kids Fruit & Veg SHREDZ - Peach, Apple & Veg
Rating: 9.7
Pitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea CurryPitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea Curry
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 20th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love chocolate mint anything so was really excited to be sent some Donovans dark chocolate peppermint delights to review. As soon as the bag arrived I couldn't help but rip it open and give one a taste. Opening the bag the smell of dark rich chocolate and peppermint hit me straight away.

Tucking into one I got a bit of a surprise, I was expecting the same normal creamy mixture in the middle as you get with every chocolate peppermint. Instead it was a Turkish delight like texture (the delight in the name should of made me click!). It sold me on the chocolates even more it combined my two favourite things Chocolate mint and Turkish delight!

Before I demolished the whole bag I made myself seal them up and put them away in the baking cupboard for the weekend. I have a wonderful after dinner mint cupcake recipe I really wanted to add them too. I whipped up my cupcakes and just before putting them in the oven I dropped a peppermint delight into each one. They smelt so good cooking that once they came out I just wanted to to slice one open to see if the delight had held up in the middle or just melted into a gooey mess! I made myself wait till they were cooled and iced and then for the moment of truth. I cut one in half and was so pleased to see that the chocolate had melted into the cupcake but the jelly part was so whole. The taste was amazing too they added the perfect finishing touch to my cupcakes.

I will be buying the peppermint delights again for sure, not only just as a treat but also for baking. I already have requests for some more cupcakes from those who tried the first batch.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 20th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I never use to enjoy peppermint chocolate (it's always been my hubby's favourite) but recently have started enjoying so got excited when I saw this up for review.

I resisted opening the packet so that I could share with others. Looking into the packet I could see some fully covered in dark chocolate and others with not much chocolate on them. I quickly took a bite of a fully covered one and to my surprise had jelly inside (yep - I hadn't really thought about a delight being jelly). I was not fussed by the initial taste, maybe it was that there was more jelly than chocolate, maybe it was a texture I didn't really associate with peppermint.

I shared with my family and all I heard was um's and ya's. They were all enjoying the taste and wanting more. I decided to take another one (this time with more chocolate) and they were growing on me. I ended up taking the remainder of the packet and slowly demolishing the rest (yeap they were a hit).

I think the initial surprise for being jelly threw me but thinking about the refreshing taste they left in my mouth made me wanting more. Since the review packet I have since bought 2 more packets one for me and one for my parents. Thanks KIWIreviews for introducing these to me.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 20th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well firstly I have to say its good this only costs $5 a bag because I found these so edible they only lasted two days! I usually can just have one or two pieces of chocolate a night but these were so moorishly good that I found myself constantly having "just one more"!

Dark peppermint chocolate is my favourite so I was really intrigued as to what these would be like. The packaging is very appealing and I liked that the bag is resealable. I had expected it to be like a fondant centre but instead once you get through the delicious 60% cocoa chocolate, which just melts perfectly, the centre is like a Turkish delight consistency and texture but tastes like peppermint. Really bizarre but it works really well.

This product has a lot of sugar (60.9gms per 100gms) but has minimal ingredients and no artificial colours or flavours. Whilst it doesn't contain gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, gluten, sesame seeds and sulphites may be present. It would be nice if this didn't have so much sugar but I guess it probably isn't the best to devour the whole packet in a short space of time - oops. Overall I can definitely recommend this if you like peppermint, chocolate or Turkish delight then this product is definitely worth trying. As long as you restrain yourself its a fairly okay sweet treat that really works with its texture and flavour.

I will definitely be buying again but because I like it so much probably not to often!

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 18th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was pretty excited to be able to review some amazing Donovan's Dark Chocolate Peppermint Delights. It is a classic combination and always a winner after a nice hearty winter meal.

I opened the packet and the dark chocolatey smell hit me instantly. Not too strong but enough to leave me wanting more. I was really pleased to see the bag was resealable. Some chocolates you can eat the whole bag where as others you only feel like a few and want to put them away. So this was perfect.

I took out a chocolate from the bag and was surprised to give it a wee squeeze and find no gooey centre oozing out everywhere. Decided to take a nibble and was pleasantly surprised. No gooey centre but instead a jelly centre (it reminded me of the same style as a Turkish delight). It wasn't overpowering in peppermint flavour it was really just perfect. The dark chocolate was great nice and easy to bite into, minimal mess, no sticky fingers and no horrible after taste. In my books that is perfect.

I would quite happily buy a bag of these again and have them in the pantry for when we have visitors or even on the table over Christmas time. Great product Donovan's I can't wait to taste the rest of the range!

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 13th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Peppermint and chocolate is such a classic combination and one that I love so I was very excited to give these a try.

Upon first opening the bag I got a big whiff of chocolate, yum! Let's just say that they weren't what I expected but I was pleasantly surprised. They have a gel like peppermint center (think Turkish Delight) with a thin outer layer of dark chocolate. I thought they were really well balanced - the peppermint flavour was subtle and allowed the flavour of the chocolate to come through as well, which suited me just fine since peppermint can be quite a strong and overpowering flavour. It was really hard not to scoff the whole bag in one sitting especially with the whining coming from my son - 'just one more, please' - but I really wanted to see how they would hold up in baking.

We decided to make some chocolate cupcakes and popped a chocolate in the center of each one - they were a little large so we cut them in half but because of the gel like center they still held their shape after cutting. They did sink to the bottom of the cupcakes but it was still a nice surprise to bite into and they infused a subtle peppermint flavour into each one.

This product is a delicious treat and I'll definitely be getting some for all my peppermint loving friends and family for Christmas.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 8th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I love the dark chocolate and peppermint combination - Snifter lollies, Arnott's mint slice - so I really wanted to give these a try. I will be honest and say that the texture provided one heck of a shock. I really couldn't figure out how the texture was explained by the title of the product. It wasn't until I saw the previous review, where they likened it to turkish delight.

Because what we have; it's a peppermint gel lolly, covered in a thin layer of rich dark chocolate. It is an interesting combination, where the chocolate doesn't fully attach to the gel lolly (its a bit like chocolate on top of ice cream). The peppermint flavouring is far more mild than I expected. The majority of the lollies in the bag were uniform cube shapes, but there was one larger cube that had an extremely strong (and slightly unpleasant) flavour to it. This lone jelly was not the best tasting, but it explained why the rest were only mild peppermint.

I like the resealable pack as it reduced the need to eat them all at once, but I wasn't really a fan of the texture. I'd have rathered a 'Snifter' (hard and chewy) or 'Cherry Ripe' (coconut-like) texture to the product, and I much preferred eating the chocolate off of the gel.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 7th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love Turkish delight, peppermint and dark chocolate so I knew Donovans Dark Chocolate Peppermint Delight would be a hit with me. What I didn't expect was the contents of the packet to disappear into my mouth in a matter of minutes. I was therefor unable to get anyone else to sample it. I had thought that it was very handy to be in a resealable bag but I never had the chance to use this feature.

Each cube was a uniform shape and size. There would be no fighting over who got the biggest piece. There was just the right balance of delight and chocolate. The peppermint was a more subtle flavour than I expected but still great. The texture was exactly like a Turkish delight from a Turkish restaurant without the messy icing sugar. The chocolate was fabulous. It was so smooth and melted in my mouth.

It is a quality product (no rubbishy cheap chocolate in this) and I enjoyed very bite. It is priced to be affordable as a treat for yourself or to place in a bowl to share with friends. I know this would be a huge hit with so many of my friends and family. I will be adding a packet to a few Christmas gifts.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 8th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Having tried many of the Donovan's range at various trade shows and expos, this was a new one on me. With a texture very similar to Turkish Delight - not surprising, given the name - but a much deeper, richer flavour, this is a chocolate treat that will polarise the market... you will either find it utterly more'ish, or you will find it is not to your tastes.

This has a rich, deep cocoa flavour which will appeal to any fan of dark chocolate and the peppermint gel centre is so soft and silky - it just melts in your mouth. The only *slight* downside to the richness was that after 4 pieces, I needed to stop. It was getting to be just too much.

If you want to do something "different" with these, I think they would be stunning baked inside some chocolate muffins, or hidden as special surprises in a chocolate cake. You could possibly do well to use them as part of a candy kebab perhaps.

Overall, these are something I will certainly be looking for in stores, and I plan to experiment with them mercilessly... but unfortunately, after the rest of my family found the bag open, there was little more than chocolate crumbs left within minutes. Grin Icon

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 7692: Anathoth Farm Lemon Curd -  Produced by Anathoth Farm

Product image for Anathoth Farm Lemon CurdIt all started over 26 years ago on the Anathoth Farm where the jams and pickles were made in simple pots and sold at the local weekend market. The locals loved the big, bold fruit flavours and kept coming back for more.

To make Lemon Curd (also known as Lemon Honey or Lemon Butter), lemon, butter and whole pasteurised egg are blended to make a delicious traditional topping for toast. Also great for baking and ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does someone believe you when you say there are four billion stars, but check when you say the paint is wet?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream