Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 20th May 2019 - 02:33:55

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Syrups, Cordials and Concentrates > Sodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler pack review

« Sodastream - Root Beer syrup reviewSodastream - Root Beer syrupGuardians of the Galaxy reviewGuardians of the Galaxy »

Score: 8.6/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5674 - Sodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler pack
Brand / Manufactured by: Sodastream

Sodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler pack
Price:
$19.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by SodaStream (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Promotional Channel partners only at this stage

Sodastream Caps - Classic Variety sampler pack product reviews

Tired of not getting the right dose of syrup in your Sodastream drinks? Why not try the new Sodastream Caps!

Simple to use, these add a pre-measured dose of syrup to your bottle of carbonated water, making it to the ideal strength.

This Classic Variety Pack contains 2 caps each of:
    •  Cola
    •  Orange
    •  Lemon-Lime
    •  Pink Grapefruit

Check out SodaStream (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for SodaStream (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook Check them out on YouTube They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cola   fizzy   lemon   lime   orange   pink grapefruit   sodastream   syrup
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sodastream - BlackcurrantSodastream - Blackcurrant
Rating: 9.4
Sodastream - Root Beer syrupSodastream - Root Beer syrup
Rating: 9.3
Ruahine Port - Golden Trout Feijoa PortRuahine Port - Golden Trout Feijoa Port
Rating: 9.8
SodaStream T-Rex Energy Sugar-FreeSodaStream T-Rex Energy Sugar-Free
Rating: 7.4
Apricot - Still MediumApricot - Still Medium
Rating: 7.9
Sodastream - Ginger Beer Sugar FreeSodastream - Ginger Beer Sugar Free
Rating: 8.6
SodaStream - Sparkling Goodness - Lemon and LimeSodaStream - Sparkling Goodness - Lemon and Lime
Rating: 8.3
SodaStream T-Rex EnergySodaStream T-Rex Energy
Rating: 9.7
Frute Cider - Mango and LimeFrute Cider - Mango and Lime
Rating: 9.1
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink GrapefruitSodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink Grapefruit
Rating: 9.3
SodaStream Summer LemonSodaStream Summer Lemon
Rating: 10.0
SodaStream - Premium ColaSodaStream - Premium Cola
Rating: 8.9
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Red AppleSodaStream Waters Fruits - Red Apple
Rating: 8.7
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Homestyle LemonadeSodaStream Waters Fruits - Homestyle Lemonade
Rating: 9.8
Pete's Natural - Lemon ChilliPete's Natural - Lemon Chilli
Rating: 8.0
Fanta - PineappleFanta - Pineapple
Rating: 10.0
SodaStream Classics - Crafted ColaSodaStream Classics - Crafted Cola
Rating: 9.5
Sodastream Sampler PackSodastream Sampler Pack
Rating: 8.7
Stoke - AmberStoke - Amber
Rating: 9.4
Sodastream Play drinks makerSodastream Play drinks maker
Rating: 9.7
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Blood OrangeSodaStream Waters Fruits - Blood OrangeSodaStream Classics - Crafted Lemon LimeSodaStream Classics - Crafted Lemon Lime
Rating: 9.1
SodaStream G-100 Genesis drinks makerSodaStream G-100 Genesis drinks maker
Rating: 10.0
SodaStream - Xstream EnergySodaStream - Xstream Energy
Rating: 9.1
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink LemonadeSodaStream Waters Fruits - Pink Lemonade
Rating: 9.2

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of holden05

Review by: holden05 (Tracy)
Dated: 26th of February, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These sodastream caps are the coolest thing I have ever seen, the box that I got had two caps each of Cola, Orange, Lemon-Lime, and Pink Grapefruit. They are stacked together neatly in a square box, so they are easy to store in your cupboard, or better yet when you go to the Bach, you can pop the box into your chilly and you have a large variety of fizzy drinks packed in a minimal space.

The way they work are so easy, you simply pop them on top of your fizzed water and watch the flavouring trickle into your water. There is no measuring, no mess and truth be told it's quite fun popping them down on the top of the bottle! The flavours themselves are brilliant, they are not like soda stream flavours used to be, the cola, was a great cola flavour, the kids loved the orange Fanta flavour and I found the lemon lime went quite nicely with a splash of something a little alcoholic in the evenings.

The cap packs are probably a little on the costly size for everyday use, but I think to take a pile of drinks to the Bach - perfect, or if you wanted to try some new flavours then these are a really great idea. I think Sodastream has moved forward so much over the last few years, if you are like me a child of 20 or more years ago who has some not so great memories of the products I encourage you to move past that and give these a try.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 2nd of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As a parent we are often on the look out for products that make our lives easier and less stressful. Also anything that saves time and money. First off I'm not sure any money is being saved. I personally think some twenty dollars for these is pretty rediculous BUT the concept behind them is such a genious idea I needed to try them.

We were lucky to get to try them for free. Thanks KIWIreviews and SodaStream. So its as simple as fizzing your bottle of water, adding your cap, & much the same as making sodastream normally but with less mess and over-flowing and spillage. I love that! It means my kids can make them on their own :) Yay. And my kids did make on their own. 7, 12 & 14 year olds all accomplished it with no probs. As did hubby.

I love grapefruit so was excited to try this one. It was yum and probably one of my favs now. I'm not a fan of Cola or Orange and never have been but naturally my kids are and loved them. I do love lime and bitters type drinks and was pleasantly surprised with these. Sodastream never lets ya down when it comes to flavours and flavour choices. I love when theres a mix of flavours to choose from.

I have always been a fan of sodastream but am first to admit the price is just a bit to expensive for the syrup flavours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 26th of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I first saw these I thought that would be awesome to try. When they first arrived I had a peek inside and had to play with one of the caps I instantly worked out that they just needed to go on top of a bottle and go. We had to have one almost every night to test them, I found them very easy to use fizz your water put a cap on top and push down, holding onto the bottle of course. My 4 year old son can use them aswell but it was a bit of a mess the first time for him as he didn't hold the bottle at the same time to fizz water went everywhere and the cap stayed together, then he tried again with guidance and got it. The husband was so excited to try a cap and pushed in the cap and then clicked he forgot to fizz the water sadly that was one cap down the sink.

So we tried the pink grapefruit and that was one flavour I was dreading as I don't like grapefruit but it surprised me and its my new favorite it was just right, nice and sweet with a bit of bitterness to it. Next was the Lemon-lime and I love flavours like this and again not too tart it was very nice, the orange I didn't really like but then again I don't really like the orange to start with but the kids liked it, I would of liked it a little less of strength but the kids would say its great just as it is. Sadly I didn't get to try the cola cause that is the one that had a mishap with hubby and then he made the next while I was out and when I got home it was all gone so I'm guessing it was a hit.

What I like about the caps over the bottles is they are simple, less mess and they are easier to take camping, but it also feels like it defeats the purpose of soda stream being less rubbish. but I would def buy this if we were going camping or away, so I only need to take my machine, bottle and the caps instead of every flavour in the bottles. Nothing is left sticky and don't have to worry about finding room in the fridge for them. I would love to see a different mix of caps, or even a box of 8 different flavours thats 8 different flavour drinks for a camping trip away

Best idea yet

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 23rd of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was so excited to be given the chance to review the soda stream caps cos not only did they look really cool their was also a nice selection of flavours. I love my soda stream machine but I'm a little boring and tend to stick to just a couple of flavours. So the caps were a perfect way to try out new flavours. Out of the four different flavours the only one I had tried in the past is cola.

Straight off I was impressed with the caps reading the instructions they were so easy to use. Fizz your water, push the cap into the top and let the magic happen. I was impressed with how it flowed out slowly and there was no spillage like there often is when you add your flavouring. A quick mix and it's already for the all important taste test. I found all the flavours apart from the cola was the perfect mix for me. The cola I just found not quite right to my tastes.

What I loved about the caps is it's all premeasured there is no guess work needed it removes the trail and error to get the right amount of flavour in your drinks. They are also a perfect way to try the different flavours. a big bottle of the pink grapefruit has already found it's way into my cupboards. However there is a downside and that's the price while they are very easy to use and there's no wasted syrup at the end of the day it's $20 for 8 litres of fizz. I would buy these to try new flavours without buying a whole bottle but I don't think I would buy them for everyday use.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 19th of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was lucky to be given the chance to try and review these Sodastream caps. I was really excited to receive them as we don't tend to branch out and try different flavours as they are quite expensive to by per the bottle (in my opinion) if you find you don't like that flavour. So, for me these were perfect.

In the box there are 8 caps in total. Four different flavours: Cola, Orange, Pink grapefruit and lemon and lime. Decided to try the orange flavour first. I grabbed out the orange cap and read the box. Sounded simple enough, fizz the water, grab the cap, push, wait and serve - too easy!

I fizzed up the water in my soda stream bottle and grabbed the orange cap. it was like a hard plastic with little fins at the bottom of the base. I pushed it into the top of the sodastream bottle and the orange syrup began to pour out into the bottle. What I LOVED about this was that when you are pouring in the flavouring from the bottle it can make the fizz go crazy and cause it to spill out the top. But, with these caps it didn't happen. I waited for it to stop dripping and pulled out the cap and disposed of it.

After putting the lid back on the sodastream bottle I gave it a few twirls to mix the flavour around and poured into my glass. I was actually quite impressed, it wasn't over powering and sweet like I had imagined - it was almost bang on being the right amount.

Such an easy cap to use to create a quick and simple drink. I like the fact there are a mixture of flavours in the box so you can try a number of different ones instead of forking out for a bottle. I am unsure if I would buy another box at the price of $20 but to start with its a great way to find out what flavours you like, before purchasing a larger size bottle.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 11th of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a big fan of sodastream, although, who isn't, it's a machine that let's you make your own soft drinks at home for god's sake, but when I saw these caps I was impressed. I first saw these caps at the Auckland Food Show last year, and that was when I thought that this was probably the best new innovation Sodastream have made. After using a cap, we like to keep them afterwards for their still unknown but potential usefulness, we just take of the plastic cover, and then we take out the small plastic membrane inside, so when I do this, it gives me the opportunity to see how it works.

The concentrate is held inside the cap, contained by a plastic cover on the outside, and a thin, fragile plastic membrane inside. When you put the cap on the bottle and press down on the cap, it forces 3 small prongs to puncture the membrane and allow the concentrate, already measured, into the bottle. With using the standard bottles of concentrate, you have to measure the syrup yourself and the pour it into the bottle of carbonated water, but you have to tilt the bottle and that can be awkward.

If you don't tilt the bottle, the gas bubbles nucleate on the drops of syrup too fast, and it can foam up and gush out of the bottle. With the caps, however, the concentrate flows in at the sides of The bottle, and just like a bartender tilts the mug when he is piping in the beer to stop it foaming, the syrup coming in at the sides mean that the drink doesn't froth up.

I think that the caps are easy to use, they make creating sodastream drinks much fast and stress-free, but there is a catch. The caps contain a pre-measured amount of syrup, which was measured for a 1 litre bottle of drink. Try using it on a half-litre bottle (yes, sodastream do sell those, we have of a couple of them) and there isn't enough water to diluTe the syrup, so it comes out too strong. I think that what the innovators at Sodastream should do next is make caps designed for 500ml bottles, and the technology should be nearly flawless! I think that these caps are a wonderful thing to have, the price is reasonable, and the flavours we tried are all no different than their bottled counterparts. Happy sodastreaming people, set thos bubbles free!

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 4th of August, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Flavour:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given a box of these flavourings to review. I got excited by the choice of four flavours especially the pink grapefruit flavour. I loved the idea of having four flavours in one box (two of each). The all had their own flavour and different family members preferred different flavours.

I was intrigued by the way that they were individually packaged and didn't quite understand how they worked at first. No worries though as once my 3 year old son worked it out, I put a little extra pressure on it and the syrup flowed. I loved the way that the syrup dripped down the inside of the bottle - this stopped the chance of a fizzy overflow that sometimes happens when the syrup is poured in too quickly. With these capsules there is the right measured dose which for the cola was necessary, however I would have preferred a little less of the lemon-lime, pink grapefruit and orange flavourings. They were just too sweet for me.

So overall I liked the flavouring of these capsules and thought it very clever how they worked, however for the price I think I would prefer to buy flavourings in the bottle so that I could reduce the amount of sweetness (highly important with a 3 year old). I couldn't believe the amount of plastic waste each capsule is creating (and it is solid plastic). They do say that they are recyclable but would mean pulling them apart and hoping the recycling person knew they could be recycled.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 8.0
Product reviews for listing 2944: Soprano Limoncello
Brewed/Bottled by Soprano

Product image for Soprano LimoncelloSoprano's Limoncello - Authentic Italian Liqueur

Treat your taste buds, soothe your senses and transport yourself to the sun-drenched shores of Southern Italy. Limoncello is a unique Italian liqueur with a history as rich as the zesty nectar itself.

Some say limoncello has been enjoyed since Roman times. Others believe the recipe was born inside a monastic convent. Still others claim Italian wives prepared ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Forgive your enemies but never forget their names."
John F. Kennedy (1917-1963)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream