Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 19th August 2019 - 15:42:00

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Ciders > Thomas and Rose #4 - Watermelon and Cucumber Cider review

« Mission Survival: Claws of the Crocodile reviewMission Survival:  Claws of the CrocodileThe Hobbit: The Desolution of Smaug - Cloaks & Daggers reviewThe Hobbit: The Desolution of Smaug - Cloaks & Daggers »

Score: 9.3/10  [13 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5545 - Thomas and Rose #4 - Watermelon and Cucumber Cider
Brewed by: The Harvest Cidery

Thomas and Rose #4 - Watermelon and Cucumber Cider
Price:
$4.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Harvest Cidery

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Thomas and Rose #4 - Watermelon and Cucumber Cider product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThe blend of Cucumber and Watermelon is truly sensational. Fresh, crisp and mouth watering good, this blend will leave you wanting more. Best enjoyed chilled over ice.

Check out Harvest Cidery onlineClick here to see all the listings for Harvest Cidery They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cider   cucumber   nzmade   watermelon
Other listings you may be interested in:
Thomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger CiderThomas and Rose #3 - Apple and Ginger Cider
Rating: 9.1
Natural Wine Co Organic Gewurztraminer 2014Natural Wine Co Organic Gewurztraminer 2014
Rating: 9.5
Thomas and Rose #1 - Strawberry and LimeThomas and Rose #1 - Strawberry and Lime
Rating: 9.6
Sparkling Cranberry and LimeSparkling Cranberry and Lime
Rating: 7.8
Thomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry CiderThomas and Rose #2 - Raspberry and Blueberry Cider
Rating: 9.5
Gisborne 2002 ChardonnayGisborne 2002 Chardonnay
Rating: 7.5
Diet Snapple - Peach TeaDiet Snapple - Peach Tea
Rating: 9.5
Harvest Apple Cider with BoysenberryHarvest Apple Cider with Boysenberry
Rating: 9.5
SodaStream Classics - Cream SodaSodaStream Classics - Cream Soda
Rating: 10.0
Cider House - Strawberry and LimeCider House - Strawberry and Lime
Rating: 10.0
VerveVerve
Rating: 7.1
Thomas and Rose #5 - Nashi Pear and PassionfruitThomas and Rose #5 - Nashi Pear and Passionfruit
Rating: 9.6
Premium Chocolate Powder - sugar freePremium Chocolate Powder - sugar free
Rating: 10.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of astroscott

Review by: astroscott (Phil)
Dated: 21st of September, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was introduced to Thomas & Rose Fine Fruit Cider after my partner received a couple of the other flavours to review recently. I must admit, initially I thought some of the flavour combinations sounded a bit odd but after trying some I was pleasantly surprised. So when I saw the Thomas & Rose Apple Cider with Watermelon and Cucumber I was intrigued.

The flavours once again seem unusual but having enjoyed the other flavours in the past I decided to give it a try. Well, I am glad I did. It is a truly enjoyable drink, with a great balance of fruity and fresh. The light almost bland flavour of the cucumber by itself wouldn't be that great but in this drink it seems to bring out the best of the sweet and fruity flavour of the watermelon. I found the price of the Thomas & Rose Fine Fruit Cider range to be very reasonable though I suspect that it may have been on special when I bought it. Still even at the same price as some of the other brands it's well worth it.

The bottle is quite pleasant in that it has a certain almost rustic feel about it and it seems they have gone for a kind of recycled feel to the label. All in all it is a most enjoyable drink and I will not hesitate to recommend it to my friends and family.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 7th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

When I first saw that cider had arrived at KIWIreviews HQ I was rapt - and requested to trial ( and review ) it - with so many flavours it was hard to decide which but I figured, being a cider lover, that I would probably enjoy any of them!

The flavour of Watermelon and Cucumber intrigued me, and I hoped it would be sweetish and refreshing. I was not disappointed and really enjoyed every drop. Definitely one that I will purchase again. My husband also gave it his stamp of approval.

As soon as I received it, it went straight into the fridge to chill - along with a glass. This is the best way to serve cider. Upon opening it there was a nice light smell - tempting me with what was to come. The bottle is a twist top glass bottle ad easy to open. Pouring it out into a chilled glass filled with ice ( the only way to drink cider, right! ) I noticed a slight pink tinge to it - maybe it was my imagination with the watermelon.

The taste is just right - not too sweet, not too strong, but tickles the taste buds. It is the perfect summer cider - light and refreshing and reminds you of beach and bbqs.

Definitely recommend this cider - and will be trying other flavours. It is a large 500ml serving size, so is a good size to share. Another plus is that it is readily available at supermarkets - gotta love that!!

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 29th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When this first came up for review I overlooked it at first opting to try the berry flavours. There was something about the sound of a watermelon and cucumber drink that seemed quite foreign and I wasn't sure I could enjoy such a combination. Over the passing days I kept looking at it again and again thinking and thinking what it could taste like and as curiosity got the better of me I decided to apply to review it.

I love fruit ciders which is rather strange as I have never enjoyed your standard apple cider but the fruit varities that have been coming out in recent years are very enjoyable and refreshing as an alternative to the normal beer and wine I would normally drink. I have tried a number of different brands and flavours with my favourite definitely being the Thomas and Rose Strawberry and Lime. But after trying this it definitely comes in very close as a new favourite.

I wasn't sure what to expect when I poured it into my glass and had the first sip, you could definitely smell the watermelon quite strongly but I couldn't really make out the cucumber until I had my first sip. When you drink this cider you get the enjoyable sweetness of the watermelon with an almost cooling effect from the cucumber that hits you as an after taste. I found this extremely pleasant on the hot summer day when I drank the bottle. I had it served over ice so it was very cold and very refreshing.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 27th of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This was a pleasant surprise when I opened my review box to find! I'm not sure what inspired me to request it, or if I read the flavour wrong as I'm not a huge watermelon fan. But hey - I'm always keen to try new things. The bottle is eye catching and the pink and green colourings are eye catching and modern.

It has been in the fridge chilling for the past few days, as per the instructions - chill well! I poured over some ice and there was a bit of a foamy top (much like beer when you don't pour on an angle), It didn't take long to subside and I was able to fit half the bottle in my glass - not bad going!!

When I took the first sip I was most surprised, I really enjoyed it! It has been extremely muggy down in the deep south today (almost unheard of!) and this was really refreshing and cooling. The taste of watermelon is subtle and blends nicely with the cucumber - and together they are a taste sensation!

I drank this with some smoked salmon and salad and the refreshing sweetness of the cider matched the food exceptionally. It would also be a perfect drink to take out to a friends for an evening BBQ, or house function. The size is fantastic at 500ml, as most of the time a bottle of wine is too much to take - unless you are catching a taxi home! The resealable lid is also wonderful if you do choose just to have the one glass. It really is bang for buck! (Cheaper than a nice wine anyhow!!)

I'm not sure this would be my choice of drink all night long, it is quite sweet and I would imagine the 'freshness' of that would wear off after a whole bottle. However it is a fantastic option to start your evening off with. I definitely will be hunting out the other flavours of Thomas and Rose this summer. This was delish!!

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 2nd of December, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am loving the Thomas and Rose range of ciders and I'm disappointed I haven't discovered them earlier. As soon as I saw the watermelon and cucumber flavour I was keen to give it a try. The flavour sounded something completely different and refreshing.

I served it as recommended, well chilled and over ice. From the first sip I wasn't disappointed the flavour was sweet, refreshing but subtle. Just what I like with my cider it really did appeal to my taste buds, so much so that it went down very quickly! My husband managed to sneak a taste before I finished the glass. While he enjoyed it he found the flavour a little too subtle for his tastes, he prefers his sweeter.

I like the serving size in the Thomas and Rose range as it's big enough to share if you just want a quiet drink on a hot summers day. Being 4% alcohol it's not too strong so you can enjoy a few glasses without feeling the effects. The watermelon and cucumber cider is one that will make it's way in the fridge for a mid summers drink. In fact I have already brought another couple of bottles all ready to take to a bbq with me in the weekend.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 22nd of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Now this was unique. Very unique. I still can't put my finger on whether I enjoyed it or not. This was truly a new flavour that I have never come across, and I don't know what I think of it. I find that this is the most confusing thing of all for me.

This variant was an incredibly subtle flavour which is not entirely appealing. Watermelon in itself 91% water, but even this cider tastes watered down. The cucumber adds very little to the flavour beyond a slightly musky aftertaste. The overall flavour is not bad, but isn't a flavour that I would actively seek out to purchase. A couple of friends gave it a try, and yet they all had the same look on their face as I had when I first tried it. An interesting experiment in flavour mixes, but not something that I am a fan of.

In an attempt to experiment myself, I found that this drink was very much improved with a dash of Angostura bitters, and made the drink far more palatable. I would honestly not purchase this variant unless we were planning on having a tasting session, where we would be trying all of the various mixes. This is a flavour where I personally would need a chaser.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 21st of November, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The Thomas and Rose Watermelon and Cucumber flavour really appealed to me! It sounded not only delicious but like it would be a refreshing drink over summer. I love that the bottles are a reasonable size and have an pretty low alcohol reading, in my opinion. I am not a huge drinker so one or two of these would be perfect to take with me to drinks or a BBQ and would not blow the budget.

The Watermelon & Cucumber cider was very sweet, this doesn't bother me, in fact I would much prefer a sweeter tipple. I found the watermelon had a stronger flavour than the subtle hints of cucumber. I added some freshly cut and sliced cucumber to my glass which made it quite delicious! I love cucumber!

I think that the Watermelon & Cucumber flavoured cider would be the perfect partner for BBQ's and also as a drink to accompany desserts. The bottles themselves are eye catching and contain all the information you require. I like that the label makes the information easy to read and is clear. The bottles are glass which makes them recyclable or you could get creative and Upcycle them which is always a bonus, not only for the environment but for yourself!

I love the price, an affordable luxury to suit all budgets!

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 27th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love the Thomas and rose labels, the pretty colours and easy to read numbers. I also like the fact the lids are a silver colour rather than the fake gold that a lot of company's seem to be going for. I didn't get a chance to see if this could be resealed and left in the fridge for another day so will have to buy more to test this.

We split this bottle so and it was a pretty hot day that resulted in a heated debate as I could definitely taste the cucumber but everyone else could just taste the watermelon (I'm not a huge fan of watermelon and the good thing about this is that it isn't that artificial taste). I would happily take this to a BBQ and sit on just the one or share it with another sober driver.

While I'm not jumping up and down in excitement about this, I am pushing and urging my friends and family to try this. Being the oldest of 6 siblings has it's advantages and I know 2 of them have tried it just because I told them too. I believe it is also the perfect base for a cocktail, I'm just not sure what you would add with it other than ice and something fizzy like lemonade.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 18th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I picked up a bottle of this cider to review recently. I was excited because I have never seen anything like this flavour available before. I thought it was really innovative as far as flavour combinations but thought t would definitely work. Cucumber and watermelon seem to have some similar features to their flavour after all.

The bottles are in a decent size, and will do well as summer comes around. I can easily see myself nursing something like this at a BBQ or family picnic. The label is so pretty too. I love that water colour look, the font is really crisp and I love the numbering system too.

But as with all beverages, the main thing has to be taste. I was able to pour too pretty generous drinks out of the one bottle. I shared this one with my husband one evening. The colour of the liquid inside is so pretty. I love that watermelon pink. I didn't give the husband any clues on the flavour.

His first comments were that it was very sweet and he felt that it was sweeter than it needed to be. I thought the flavour was sweet as well, but I thought it was nicely balanced with a light bitter flavour in the end notes. Both watermelon and cucumber have that bitterness to them, as they are in a similar family. Husband tried for ages to pick the flavour, but he couldn't at all. When I told him, he could taste it but he said that the flavours were subtle. I agree that they were, both key flavours are usually pretty light and subtle in flavour anyway. So I still think it they did a good job of capturing those in a cider.

I liked this one, and I have bought it again since but not for sharing. If anything that makes it even better, because I get the whole bottle to myself. I can't wait to try the rest of the range.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 18th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was very much intrigued with the flavour combination for this cider. My husband and I love cider and are generally drawn to the plain apple versions. I was lucky enough to pick this up on the way to the beach and we enjoyed it while looking over the ocean and islands from the deck of the family bach. Cider is our choice of drink in the early evening, particularly in summer. We enjoy it really cold from the fridge (or even chilled in the freezer).

I would imagine that this version of cider, like other flavoured ones, would particularly appeal to younger people. It is sweeter than the more traditional apple cider (although the Watermelon & Cucumber version isn't as sweet as many of the other flavoured versions). The alcohol content is similar to that of a beer and at 4% is a much safer option for younger people than the Apple Ciders I have experienced (around 8%). I have to say that I am still hooked on apple cider, but I do enjoy tasting the variety of flavours out there. The flavour combination in this version of cider appealed to me as it was quite different to any cider I have previously tasted. Variety is the spice of life and I do like to get out of my comfort zone and try new things.

The subtle flavours of the watermelon and cucumber in this drink made it something that I am likely to try again. I also liked the fact that the bottle is 500ml and 1.6 standard drinks. It is a good amount for me to take to a BBQ or gathering and allow me to have a drink or two without taking an excessive amount of alcohol with me.

The glass bottle feels nicely weighted and gives the impression of quality. I also liked the look of the labels. Attention to detail, such as the serrated edge of the labels, adds to the look of the product. I liked the water colour image on the front of the bottle which symbolises the blending of watermelon and cucumber. It looks rather arty.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 16th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

This cider is a great price for the serving size. It is 500ml which I really like. Half a litre of enjoyment. For those that want to dabble in the cider world but have in the past been scared away by the staples such as woodpecker or strongbow which are real ciders because they are such a definitive strong taste, this Thomas and Rose Watermelon and Cucumber cider is going to be the perfect introduction into the world of flavoured cider.
I found it to be beautifully fresh and light, I enjoyed it ice cold, it had me drinking it in more and more mouthfuls to get that watermelon and cucumber flavour back. On a hot day after working outside this is the perfect refreshment.
I enjoyed that it was also in a glass bottle. Sometimes the plastic can really change a beverage, like when you get something in a can vs a bottle. The glass also helps keep the drink cold to the last drop. After trying this flavour I will be getting the other flavours in the range also as I am so impressed by this cider. Some other brands are doing the same thing with flavoured cider, but their flavours fall flat when stood next to Harvest Cidery.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 15th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I enjoy cider and so had to put my hand up to try this, I like a good watermelon and I have always loved cucumbers (seriously used to eat a whole one for morning tea in primary school).

Opening this up, there wasn't a strong smell of either, just this subtle sweetness to it, which had me rather curious about the drink. I wasn't 100% sure as to how the two flavors would go together so took a tentative sip of the drink and have to say that it was rather nice, and the color is a lovely pale pink so suits the watermelon vibe going on.

Giving it a taste the watermelon flavor is there, just not an overpowering taste which is perfect, especially for people like my mum who don't like watermelon nor cucumber very much and so it was a perfect drink for her to have a try. This is a light and refreshing drink, I think this would be the perfect drink for a hot summers evening, resting at home after a busy day. The bottle is nice and suits it all very well.

I enjoyed this drink and I would be buying this again for sure in the future,

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 23rd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Portion Size:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I do like a good cider and was in the supermarket and noticed the strange combination of watermelon and cucumber and thought that it sounded just strange enough to be nice so I bought a bottle.

I poured myself some and sat down to enjoy it, still not 100% convinced that it was going to be tasty but curious enough to give it a go. I had a small sip and loved it, the watermelon is not overpowering or sweet and is refreshing. I did offer some to my other half but he wasn't too sure so he said no... well his mistake as that means more for me. My boys asked if they were allowed some but I said no as they are a bit young, I think they heard watermelon and thought that it sounded nice.

The bottle is interesting with the numbers on the labels, it is like it is a tasting competition and this is number 4, I don't like the sound of some of the combinations so not sure I would be adventurous enough to give it a go. I know I will definitely be buying some more of this one.

I don't drink very often so find that the bottle will last me a few nights so a good size and a good price, very affordable.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 7590: Addmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ Pear -  Brand / Manufactured by: Addmore Foods

Product image for Addmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ PearElderflower beverages, created with care and unsurpassed integrity, provide a uniquely refreshing non-alcoholic drink. These products are diverse, great for all the family and all occasions. Summer in a bottle, perfected.

Addmore Elderflower Cordial is the flag ship of our beverages range. Creamy, aromatic flowers of the Elder tree, full of sweet exotic flavour, are packed into every bottle.The cordial can be diluted with cold or ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"A torn jacket is soon mended; but hard words bruise the heart of a child."
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1807 - 1882)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream