Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 19th September 2019 - 02:16:29

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Arts and Crafts > Craft Supplies and Tools > Du-kit Polymer Clay review

« Russell Brand - Messiah Complex reviewRussell Brand - Messiah ComplexGranpa BBs Premium Toasted Muesli reviewGranpa BBs Premium Toasted Muesli »

Score: 9.5/10  [12 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 5513 - Du-kit Polymer Clay
Brand / Manufacturer Craft Polymers

Du-kit Polymer Clay
Price:
from $3.00 / 50g
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Craft Polymers

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality craft supply stores

Du-kit Polymer Clay product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsDu-kit is the easy to use oven bake modelling clay. The ideal material for making your own art works, craft items, decorations, jewellery, models, ornaments, toys etc.

24 colours in a range of vibrant, pastel, fluorescent and iridescent tones are available in 50g and 250g block sizes.

Manufactured from high quality materials which makes it durable and strong once baked. All the ingredients are non toxic and approved for food contact applications.

Du-kit gives scope to the creative mind in all age groups. It rewards the skill of the accomplished expert yet also the aspirations of the budding artist with its user-friendly properties. Non crumbly straight from the pack, it requires very little kneading and conditioning before commencing modelling. It is preferred for its vibrant colours and amazing shape retention during modelling, and loved by animators, home crafters and fashion jewellery manufacturers for its after-bake strength and durability.

Check out Craft Polymers onlineClick here to see all the listings for Craft Polymers Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
clay   crafting   jewellery   model   nzmade   polymer
Other listings you may be interested in:
Twistables - No Caps MarkersTwistables - No Caps Markers
Rating: 9.4
Growing Pet Duck EggGrowing Pet Duck Egg
Rating: 10.0
Klutz Star Wars Thumb DoodlesKlutz Star Wars Thumb Doodles
Rating: 9.5
Seedling - Snow GlobeSeedling - Snow Globe
Rating: 10.0
Pip-squeaks Mix 'Ems - Colour Mixing Markers - 16 packPip-squeaks Mix 'Ems - Colour Mixing Markers - 16 pack
Rating: 7.3
Twisted Critters.  The pipe cleaner bookTwisted Critters.  The pipe cleaner book
Rating: 9.4
Air Blast Cannon kitAir Blast Cannon kit
Rating: 9.8
Taylor Jensen Fine Arts GalleryTaylor Jensen Fine Arts Gallery
Rating: 7.0
Jake and the Neverland Pirates Coloring & Activity PadJake and the Neverland Pirates Coloring & Activity Pad
Rating: 9.2
Refined Yellow Beeswax PelletsRefined Yellow Beeswax Pellets
Rating: 9.5
Crayola Marker MakerCrayola Marker Maker
Rating: 9.8
Scrapbooking Memories 5000 Piece KitScrapbooking Memories 5000 Piece Kit
Rating: 6.5
TMNT Coloring & Activity PadTMNT Coloring & Activity Pad
Rating: 7.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 13th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I received this parcel just before I went back to Club Medical for a short holiday from the real world. I was very happy it arrived before I went in, because it meant I could bring it along with me and use it to keep some of the younger whanau entertained while they were visiting their old Koro in the hospital. This proved to be a sanity-saver for me, and for the tamariki and mokopuna who came to see me.

Maybe because of the weather, the clay was really firm at the start, but warming it up in the hands and giving it a good kneading for a while softened it up really well. So did sitting it under a hot-water bottle for 10 minutes too, though not as well as the kneading it. So it may need some adult intervention to get the younger ones started, but once it was at the soft pliable stage it was a dream for the wee ones to play with. They treated it much like playdough or plasticine, but loved the fact that after they had finished creating their masterpiece it could be baked in the over and would harden up and stay that way forever.

We loved the range of colours available, even though this was less than half the total range I think. No matter, it was stunning what could be done, and everyone was really amazed by how well the 'gold' turned out. It wasn't that metallic gold, but it was still shiny and golden, with little shimmers in it that really gave it a special result. It was almosty magical, seeing hos this dirty-orange putty blob turned into a stunning piece of kids' jewelery after a short stay in the little bench-top oven the nurses had in their lunchroom. The mokopuna were all agog when their creations were returned to them, still slightly warm. One of my youngest mokopuna was especially impressed. "Look Koro, it's beautiful! It's my magical princess bracelet!" - she was almost in tears with pleasure.

Having the nurses volunteering to bake the models in their lunchroom oven meant the youngest visitors stayed happily quiet, and didn't get bored and run around annoying other patients, which made me a lot more relaxed and I swear helped me to heal faster after the surgery. For a change, my little room was a haven of peace, happiness and laughter, and not a moody hole of edginess and awkward silences. Thank you Du-Kit and KIWIreviews, you really made my most recent hospital stay one of the most relaxing and pleasant ones ever!

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 6th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Once I saw this up for review I knew I had to have some to play with. As a teen I remember making things with something very similar for miniatures with my nana. These looked like they would be fun and my creative juices were flowing for my children to play with. Once I got my box of goodies my children 5 and 4 would sit by the box picking up the little packets asking when can they play with them, they would line them across the carpet picking which colours they wanted, which ones were THEIR ones. I had to tell them we will all share them and will do it on a day where we arent busy so we really get a good go at playing around with it

The colours were nice and bright and there were colours I didn't really expect to be as bright like the purple and pink. The gold I thought would be more like brown but they all surprised me and I love them all. We sat down at the table with a knife and while picking colours we started off. Of course I started playing first and they had to watch to see how to do it, I found the clay to be very hard and took a while to get it right to mould and shape then I clicked that small amounts at a time work best and just work it up. We used a marble rolling pin as I didn't want to use my pasta machine as that is for pasta. The kids chose their colours and off they went to creating what they wanted to. My daughter (5) wanted to make a car which she did very well, and my son (4) made a hot air balloon with arms, and then once it was cooked he didn't like the arms to took them off.

Even though it says 8+ my children enjoyed it and want to make more things. I really enjoyed it once I worked out how to make it soft enough to roll around and shape how I wanted to. I kinda used a mould for the ships, I made the shape I wanted and pushed it into the mould to get the lines and edges I wanted then I rolled out more clay to make the poles on the ship pushing them into the mould to get the same width for each one. I made a cake and bowl of fruit for my daughters dolls house and will make more food as I play more.

Baking it says 130 for 10-20 mins I did the whole 20mins and was happy with that, once it was out of the oven I found they were still soft but left them and they harden up well, my children wanted to play with their items right away but they had to wait first. I would buy this again as $3 for each little packet is good and using the transparent one was great to give bulk to the colours, it was easy to put a couple of colours together and that to make my grey, using transparent to bulk it up so I didn't have to use a lot of the black and white keeping those for more projects.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 4th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I first found out I was getting some Du-kit to review I was quite excited. The number of different colours we got was awesome! I immediately started googling different ideas of things I could make and since my daughter has just started in preschool class at her daycare and I thought this might be a great product for the kids to trial so I took some in to see how easily they could use it.

I did notice on the back of the pack that the recommended age was 8yrs + and I can understand why. The clay was quite solid and a bit hard to start with but after some persistence the kids warmed up the clay and it was much easier to mold once warm. With not much help at all, they made some cute little creations and they had fun doing it which is the important thing. So even though these kids were 3 and 4 year olds, they were still able to make some cute little pendants for necklaces.

I also kept some aside for myself to have a good play and decided I'd make a little dump truck and a construction cone in preparation for my son's birthday and also a little penguin just because... It was so much fun, I felt like a kid again and the best bit was that my creation looked great and after heating it in the oven it makes a long lasting little toy.

I had a quick read of the pamphlet that came with the Du-kit before I started my project and noticed that it said I should use a cheese slicer to break off usable pieces and I found that was really good advice, smaller pieces are much easier to work with. I kept a packet of baby wipes nearby so I could quickly wipe my hands clean when I switched colours because I found the colour rubbed off on my hands a bit. I even managed to mix black and white together to make a grey colour and red and yellow to make an orange colour and it didn't take long at all by hand, just lots of rolling to get the colour just right.

I would definitely recommend this product, it's so much fun to play with and the fact that you can harden it in the oven to make a cute gift is awesome!

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was pretty excited about the Du Kit Polymer Clay and was planning on using it to entertain the kids over the school holidays. I did however have a few hours with only Miss Seven and her friend on a cold and wet Saturday so decided to bring out the clay.

Miss Seven's friend was immediately very excited and when I asked her what she wanted to make she immediately said "a necklace for mum, a superman for my little brother and an IPhone5 with an owl case so I can ring my friends. But just pretend because it won't actually work."! I was very impressed as she set about choosing her colours and telling me how she envisioned making the IPhone 5. My own Miss Seven was a little different and just wanted to make heart shaped cookies for her Sylvanian picnics and a bracelet.

I said I wanted to make a Mobile with a sun, clouds, birds etc. so we all picked out our colours and set to work. The girls were finding it a bit hard to mould as the clay is quite hard so we got out our cheese slice and a grater and my Pasta maker. Once Miss Seven had read the instructions that came with our clay she was pretty focussed on how to blend the different colours to make different shades and the girls had a great time working out how many grates of each colour to work together to get the colours they wanted.

I was really interested in how they worked together with the pasta maker to blend the colours and get the right thickness. Of course this did require my constant oversight and after making my sun I decided to leave making anything else for me until another session. Miss Seven had great time layering her heart shapes and they actually looked really effective as she had different shades layered upon each other. She was really pleased with her colours.

Miss Sevens IPhone came out pretty amazing. She wanted her Owl case on the back to be Aqua marine, so once she got the colour she wanted she made a very nice owl and put it onto a transparent backing, then put her black Iphone on top of that with her apps made out of White. I was really impressed at how well it came out once it was baked. The translucent really is and she was very pleased with it.

The product baked well in the oven and all the items came out hard and still with the original colour. Overall I think this is a fantastic product and am looking forward to sitting down and finishing my mobile and making specific objects. The clay is really easy to work with and the range of colours is fantastic. I really like that they blend together well so different shades can be created.

With this product you really are only limited by your creativity, imagination and time as the possibilities are endless in how this clay can be used. Definitely a top mark product and I can definitely recommend this Du Kit Polymer Clay as a brilliant product.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

It's been a while since I have worked with any clay and so I was keen to give the Du-Kit a try.

There's a nice range of colours, something there for anything that you could think of making. When I saw the blue though, my first thought was to make a TARDIS (from Doctor Who, for those who don't know) and my six year old readily agreed that that was what I must make. I found it quite a bit of hard work to get my piece to flatten out as I wanted it to, but once there it was easy enough to carve lines into and the lines held well. My five year old then demanded I make a bow tie (again, Doctor Who) and so she and I gave it a go, we ended up wetting a finger slightly to smooth down the middle of it, and again, it took a lot of work, but we got a nice result in the end.

I then decided to make a small owls head for our resident owl lover, my mother, and so started by flattening the green clay and then cutting a circle out of it. This one came out a little disappointing as when I gently folded it in half it began to crack and no matter what I did I was stuck with some cracks in my owl face, but I went with the flow, scratched some lines on it, and it seems to have turned out nice and I'm sure my mum will still like it.

I asked the kids what they wanted to make, and they said a necklace, so I gave them a chunk each to flatten down. My kids really struggle with this and I ended up giving them something flat to put onto and sit on to help, which did work, they then cut out a circle and set about their little design, my five year old wanting a heard and my six year old wanting a number seven badge for his upcoming birthday (still 3 months away!!!!). The smaller the piece the easy it is to soften and get to the shape you want and so that part went very quickly.

We popped it all in the oven, mine was set to about 130 degrees Celsius and left in the oven for about twenty minutes, we placed them on baking paper. Coming out of the oven the only damage that occurred was that the light on top of my TARDIS broke off but that was more a flaw in my design than anything. The smaller the piece the easy to manipulate, so I will keep that in mind as I know we will be using it again, there's tonnes left and the kids are already dreaming up what to make with it (a lego woman, a horse and a crown).

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 1st of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was on the search for a product to allow me to make chess pieces for a class that I am teaching next term. After considering a number of options, I came across Du-kit and decided that it was perfect the the job.

I have only recently developed an interest in using Du-Kit and I have found that I have become very excited about what I can make with it. I have spent quite a bit of time on Pinterest to gather ideas for future projects. I like to gather ideas to build a knowledge base in my head and then come up with my own so I develop original designs and projects.

When I was making the chess set, I found that the blocks were easy to cut into the correct size for the pieces. A nice sharp knife and a little cutting board became important tools to the process. I also found it useful to have items such as a tooth pick, chopstick and bamboo meat skewer available to me as I made the pieces. I found that I needed to work the clay a bit in my hands on order to warm it up for use. It was important that my hands and work surface were clean so I didn't pick up unnecessary marks or colour on the Du-Kit. I found it great the I could work on a piece on one day and then rework the same piece another day if required.

I kept the pieces I was working on in a plastic click clack container and it seems to be fine in there. In my reading about polymer clay, I found that it sometimes reacts to plastics. Plain zip lock bags are apparently fine and it appears that so are Sistema Klip It containers as I haven't experienced any negative effect. I was quite nervous when I put my pieces in the oven. I put then on some baking paper as I thought that my prevent them from being marked. I saw that the grease from the paper (or Du-kit?) started to come out. I quickly took the pieces off the paper and left them on the silicone mat I had under the paper. They seemed to cook fine. Again, in my reading, I have found that you have to be very careful about how you cook the pieces as they can easily be burned. I am glad that I didn't experience that. I did a drop test of the pieces and one of the pieces bounced and one broke cleanly in two. A bit of superglue fixed that problem!

It is great that Du-Kit is made in New Zealand and readily available here. I like the fact that we can get it in two sizes so that we can go for the smaller pack for small project and the larger pack to get the best value for money. The colour range is significant and I think is suitable for most people's needs. The mixing guide is very helpful to get the exact colour that you want. At this stage, I will just use the straight colours from the packs for my class next term as it will be the easiest way to divide up the clay in even amounts to the children. We will be on be a strict budget for quantity of clay for each child and will need to make sure that I don't over allocate the product to the children.

As with all polymer clays, the cost is high but the quality of the product is worth it if it is something that you want to last, look good and be great to work with. From what I have seen, Du-Kit is a cheaper option that other polymer clay options that I have seen on the shelves in New Zealand shops. I know that I will be experimenting further with what I can do with Du-Kit. I think that more jewellery, suitcase tags and decorations will be on my list to test the Du-Kit out on.

After making my chess set, I just had to play some more. I got into creating some name tags and jewellery. I found that I had to be careful with the light colours, in particular, to have a clean working surface and clean hands. White doesn't look so white when you have streaks of other colours through it! I found a class cheese board was good to work on for rolling out etc as it has clean and didn't have any texture to mark the Du-Kit. I even had a little go at mixing colours (according to my own quantities) and I was successful.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 30th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I grew up on Du-kit. I use to go along to Girl's Brigade every Monday night, and sometimes our craft evenings would involve modelling in Du-kit. As a junior, these creations were simple, but as I got older the projects got more and more elaborate. When the opportunity to play with this product came up again, I had to put my hand up.

The selection of Du-kit that we got was amazing. I was really blown away. Some of the colours in the mix were ones I could have only dreamed of as a kid. Gold and pearl were ones I use to want desperately, so I got those open quick to have a go. I decided that I wanted to make special beads for some bracelets. I wanted them to look like flowers and watermelons.

So using the clay, I rolled some very thin black and red strings. I made a slightly wider roll of red and attached the thin pieces to the wider one. Then I rolled flat a piece of red, a piece of pearl and a piece of green. I then layered those and rolled the flower roll into the middle. When I rolled all of the pieces together, I found that some of the clay had cooled too much and it did split a little. I had to just re-warm it slightly to get it to sit together nicely with no air pockets.

Then I could cut the rounds off, and using a kebab stick I made a hole for each bead. Some of the beads did split a little in the middle where the rolls had met, so I had to do a bit of repair work as well. When I made the flower beads, I did a wide gold roll, surrounded by small pearl rolls and red ones. Then I surrounded that with a flat piece of green to roll it all together. I encountered similar issues with the splitting, but in both cases the beads still looked fine and my daughters were very pleased with them.

In baking these, I didn't manage the full 130 degrees, as I have a gas oven and it's a bit iffy. My thermometer said 100 so I just did an hour in there and I had very little change in the way the dough was made. All the holes were fine.

The next thing I made was a selection of cloud wall hangings. I was inspired by another member's wonderful wall hanging. I love chevron at the moment, so I made three clouds with a different chevron look each, and then rain drops. These were easy to make. I just designed a template cloud shape, rolled the clay flat and then cut it out. I used the transparent Du-kit with white and then with pearl too. This gave a really nice finish to my cloud and extended the white colour easily.

When I finished my clouds, my toddler was keen to select a gold one and got very upset with me because I wouldn't allow her to play with it. My eldest selected the pink one for her room and was so pleased with it. She said that she will be able to look at it and know there are rainbows and that I love her. So we had a little moment together.

I have been really pleased with this product. It does take a bit of hard work to get a good look, for more complicated projects. It can be a bit complicated if the clay goes cold. But in general I found this just so much fun, really bought back my childhood memories right down to the smell of it baking. Thanks so much KIWIreviews and Craft Polymers.

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 29th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I love all things crafty so I was very excited to be given some Du-kit to review. I spent a lot of time browsing tutorials and figuring out what I wanted to make. My imagination is often bigger then my ability so for my first time using this product I decided to stick to some simple charms and jewellery pieces.

I found the product really hard to work with - I think I spent more time kneading/softening it than actually creating. Because it was so stiff it also meant that my son couldn't work with it very well but that didn't stop his imagination and while his creations may not look like what they're supposed too, they have meaning and purpose to him.

I liked the colours but found that they rubbed off on my hands quite a bit which made working with several different colours difficult, for example: I went from using bright pink to white and the white ended up pink just from whatever residue was still on my hands after vigorous hand washing - the same thing happened with yellow and black.

The finished products baked up really well with a nice gloss to them so I don't need to worry about glazing but of course you can if you want to.

Even though I found the product hard to work with, I still have heaps of ideas and can see myself making lots more things. I think it's a product that's better suited to making smaller items as it's much easier to work with in small amounts and a little goes a long way.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 29th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

This stuff is so much fun!

At first I started off with something easy to get a feel for what it was like to work with and found it very hard to soften and mould but with a bit of perseverance I got there in the end. The colours of the clay tends to rub off on your hands so I'd suggest if you are planning to use more that one colour to use gloves or similar. I had so much fun with this and can not wait to create some more, I made me son a name plaque, my daughter an owl tile and my baby a wall hanging for his bedroom.

The possibilities are really endless and the results are great looking, hand made creations which would be perfect for gifts. After making a bead and a heart in the colours of our Wedding I used a Cheese Slice to slice the clay as suggested in the pamphlet that came with the Du-Kit, this certainly made the clay easier to work with so is definitely worth trying.

I would buy this again for myself but not as something to use for the kids because of how hard it was to knead and mould. Other than that is a great product with many colours to choose from and endless options of items to create!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 28th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I spend my days working with preschoolers so my hands are always in play dough. I was excited when I was offered Du-kit polymer clay to review. It was like play dough just for me. My daughters (4 and 5.5 years) were both really curious about it too although it is recommended for children eight years plus I gave them some bits to play with too.

I found the clay was very hard to work with initially so I would use a craft knife to slice a thin slither off the block. This thin piece would soften easily in my hands and I could mould it into any shape I wanted. It was easy to mix the colours you wanted using the helpful chart we were given. I could create a marbled effect or continue mixing until it was one solid shade. This chart also had helpful hints and the full Du-kit range which would be handy for planning the colours you needed to purchase for a specific product.

Since my girls are both fans of Disney's Frozen I had to build a snowman. He was very easy and I even made a fringe for his scarf. I also made initial badges for the girls and they thought that they were fabulous. What they liked best was the bracelet I created from marbled Du-kit beads.

I found that the baking changed the Du-kit. The rings I made fattened a bit in the oven. the holes in the beads became smaller with baking. It also made the colours slightly glossier. These are things I need to take into consideration next time I create with Du-kit.

As I expected my girls were a bit young to manipulate the clay and didn't have the patience to soften and mix. This didn't stop their enthusiasm so it is definitely something that we will be buying more of as they get older. I could also see a group of children really enjoying creating their favourite characters and making them into jewellery, ornaments, bag tags or whatever they dream up. The only limit is imagination.

We had lots of fun with the Du-kit and it is now safely stored away for a rainy day when I need to get the kids away from the TV. It is fantastic value for money as a little block goes a long way.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 28th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I saw Du-kit polymer clay come up for review I was very excited and I was so pleased to be offered the chance to review it. I love being creative and trying new things so I couldn't wait for it to arrive. Before it arrived I started planning what I wanted to make and went and got a few bits so I would be able to rip into it straight away.

The first item on my must try list was minion earrings and pendent set. I love minions but then again who doesn't! I brought some necklace and earring fixtures from spotlight and got to work. Getting started I noticed it was very hard but nothing that a bit of kneading didn't take care of. I sliced off a little bit at a time and worked it until it was the perfect texture to start shaping. Once it was the right texture it was so easy to mould and shape into anything. As my minions took shape I got very excited even working on small details was easy to do. Once I had gotten my desired result I slipped an earring fixture through the shape and then put it in to bake. 20 minutes later out they came and once it had all cooled down it was simple to attach the earring hook and the necklace. I must say I was super stoked with the results and couldn't wait to start my next project.

Up next was an Olaf pendent for my "Frozen"-mad niece. As I needed colours other than those I had it was a good chance to practice mixing colours. Again this was super easy to do, once the clay was warm it was just a matter of kneading until the colours combined. Once they were all mixed the clay was also at the perfect texture to work with. When I found I had bits to cut a sharp craft knife worked well and gave good clean lines.

I can officially say I am in love with this product! A few projects down and I still have lots of clay left to work with and I'm already planning to get more to replace my most used colours. I have Christmas decorations planned next - I want to create something personalised for all my loved ones. I also plan to buy my 11 year old niece a set of clay for her birthday as I know she will love it. If I can bare to share my supply I may even come and let her try out my stuff.

With being so easy to use and bright and colourful (the colours come out so glossy when baked) the possibilities with this clay are endless, you are only limited by your imagination.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 26th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This polymer clay is really very cool and lots of fun. My 12 year old daughter and I have had a tonne of fun creating bits and pieces and it is definitely something I would buy again as it is easy to get hooked on as a craft. In the past we have made clay models but with cheaper quality clay or non oven bake varieties so you can definitely tell the difference between those and this - the quality is fantastic. Good value for money too, it is definitely an affordable hobby that my daughter could sink her teeth into.

The first thing I noticed is this modelling clay is a lot firmer than other modelling clays I had used in the past. It took a lot of warming up in my hands and kneading to be able to really work the clay into a usable form. This worked in my favour when modelling though as it kept its shape so well, while other modelling clays have been known to go a bit too soft and pliable which means it is hard to get them to keep their shape, but this stays where you want it to.

The colour range is amazing and a very handy colour mixing chart is provided which I found really cool as you can make so many different colours from the basic colours provided. Mixing colours is a lot more difficult than I expected - most of my attempts ended up being a marble effect as I couldn't mix it completely in. To soften the clay you can use a small amount of baby oil so I suspect that this may make it easier to combine the colours together. I actually quite liked the marble effect so went with it.

We got some very cool colours to review, my favourite being the gold which bakes so shiny and with almost a glittery sheen too, and a really fluorescent pink which really stands out. Also included was a translucent clay which we used to mix with other colours to make them stretch a bit further as we didn't want to run out of our favourite colours. This translucent clay is pretty special as it makes the other colours more shiny looking when combined, which was an effect I really liked.

I made a couple of mobile wall hangings for my children's rooms which were really easy. I was impressed with how easy it was to draw a template and cut around it using a knife to cut out shapes, as with a softer clay this would be quite hard because it would move and go out of shape. Placing the clay on a piece of baking paper helped to stop it from sticking to the bench which made it easy to pick up and move my pieces without any problems.

My daughter made some charms for necklaces using both flat forms and three dimensional shapes which turned out really cool. The clay baked really hard around the metal clasps meaning they didn't come loose and there was no cracking around the fragile joining points. The charms themselves also baked to a high quality, they were really solid and no sign of cracking or weakness so they will last and last.

One thing I was impressed about was how shiny these colours come out after being baked. With cheaper alternatives we have used the colours tended to go a bit milky and dull after being baked so needed a glaze coating, but with these there was really no need to glaze unless you wanted a really wet shiny look as the colours are so vibrant and glossy looking just left natural. I was so impressed with the quality and like I said would definitely buy more once our colours are run out.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Arts and Crafts'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 1455: Twistables - No Caps Markers -  Brand: Crayola

Product image for Twistables - No Caps MarkersCrayola Twistables Markers put a new spin on creativity!

There are no caps to lose. Just twist the ends of the barrel and you are ready to draw.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do banks charge a fee on 'insufficient funds' when they know there is not enough?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream