Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 31st March 2020 - 15:57:43

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Hot Brewed > Avalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte review

« Avalanche Cafe Range - Caramel Latte reviewAvalanche Cafe Range - Caramel LatteMaleficent reviewMaleficent »

Score: 8.4/10  [13 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5462 - Avalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte
Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Avalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte
Price:
$7.49 / box of 10 sachets
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Avalanche Coffee

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Avalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsWith delicate hints of vanilla, this smooth and creamy latte is irresistible!

Each box contains 10 individual serving sachets. Perfect for sharing with your friends... if you don't drink them all first.

Check out Avalanche Coffee onlineClick here to see all the listings for Avalanche Coffee Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
coffee   instant coffee   lattes   nzmade   vanilla
Other listings you may be interested in:
Avalanche Cafe Range - MochaccinoAvalanche Cafe Range - Mochaccino
Rating: 6.8
Avalanche Cafe Range - Flat WhiteAvalanche Cafe Range - Flat White
Rating: 8.6
Avalanche Cafe Range - CappuccinoAvalanche Cafe Range - Cappuccino
Rating: 8.9
Avalanche Cafe Range - Caramel LatteAvalanche Cafe Range - Caramel Latte
Rating: 8.4
Sipahh Straws : Toffee AppleSipahh Straws : Toffee Apple
Rating: 7.4
Frute Cider - Orange VanillaFrute Cider - Orange Vanilla
Rating: 8.8
Grey De LuxeGrey De Luxe
Rating: 7.4
Robert Timms Italian Espresso Coffee BagsRobert Timms Italian Espresso Coffee Bags
Rating: 10.0
Lothlorien Poor Man's OrangeLothlorien Poor Man's Orange
Rating: 9.0
Harvest Scrumpy Apple CiderHarvest Scrumpy Apple Cider
Rating: 8.5
Aroha Ginger and Honey Cordial with LemonAroha Ginger and Honey Cordial with Lemon
Rating: 9.6
Fanta - PineappleFanta - Pineapple
Rating: 10.0
Movenpick Intenso Espresso Coffee CapsulesMovenpick Intenso Espresso Coffee Capsules
Rating: 9.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 11th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I have been watching and at times applying for the selection of Avalanche coffees that KIWIreviews have been offering up for review, and finally, much to my excitement, I was recently selected to receive a box of the Avalanche vanilla latte sachets.

As soon as my parcel arrived from KIWIreviews, I could not wait to rip into the coffee. The box is simple, I like simple designs, that focus on the product and are not covered in lots of excess pictures or unnecessary information, that detract from what you are buying. It has the easy to open perforated strip at the top, much the same as most other brands of coffee sachets boxes, however unlike some of the other boxes that often don't tear open nicely, this one opens perfectly, which indeed made me happy. I hate having to struggle to open things.

The sachets themselves were also very easy to open and poured nicely into the mug, no mess, no fuss. The sniff test must happen when trying out any new product. WOW what a beautiful smell this stuff has. I know that it is coffee lol but it seriously smells like some sort of marshmallowy vanilla goodness! In fact it smelt so so yum, I just wanted to eat it as it was, but I knew that there was no way that powder was going to taste anything like it smelt haha

Next step...lets make coffee!! So ya just add water apparently, yes, it is that simple. So water added, coffee stirred, froth achieved Smile Icon BUT the beautiful enticing smell that first greeted me is gone, and the smell that is left, actually to be honest turned my stomach. I will not write on here what the smell reminded me of, but for me, it was something less than pleasant with a touch of vanilla. I was surprised to find a coffee that I did not like the smell of. I live on coffee...I drink way to much of it.

Thank fully it did not taste to bad. It is not my favourite. I will finish the box because I would be silly not to, however I admit I will not purchase it again. As much as it smells nice to start with, and it was drinkable. I did not like the flavour, and I just could not get past the smell once hot water was added to it Sad Icon I tried making it again with milk, but it did not change my impression, and that smell once made, was still there.

This is the first time I have had vanilla latte made it home. Perhaps its just not for me. I am a huge huge fan of caramel latte...I love it! I could live on that! But vanilla latte, its just not for me unfortunately. However if you are a fan of coffee, and a fan of vanilla, and like the idea of easy to make lattes at home, then most definitely try these out Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 24th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

I had asked for a cup of coffee as I am still on a quest to get a good cup of coffee that is not too strong but is not instant powder and has a good taste. Unfortunately I thought it was being made to the instructions of just adding water and when I tasted it I thought that it was really nice but when I mentioned that I rather enjoyed it I was told it had milk and sugar in as everyone else had already tasted it and found it lacking. I must admit that the taste was nice and I did enjoy it.

I came home one afternoon to find that some cheesecake had been made using the coffee and for some strange reason it didn't set properly, I don't think that is due to the coffee but due to the person making the cheesecake forgetting to adjust the liquid volume but the taste was nice, not too strong and not too sweet.

This would have to be one of the better coffees I have tried from Avalanche as I found the other variations a bit too strong in the coffee taste and I was a bit too chicken to put my hand up for this one to review as I didn't want to get it and say "I hated it".

I don't see me really wanting to buy it as I found the dark roast much nicer so I would probably be more inclined to just stick with one that was a much nicer taste.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 21st of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

What can I say, I'm not a fan. I would still encourage others to buy it but possibly wait until it's on special and decide for yourself. It is definatley not horrible, nor is it the worst coffee sachet drink I have had, it just simply for me lacks something. On first tasting I found it has a dry, artificial taste. I've tried these a number of ways, including following the directions on the box and personally found that with milk and sugar is the best.

I wouldn't even really consider it coffee with such a small percentage but I guess that's a good thing when I still drink coffee at 10pm at night.

The box opening is much like every other one in my cupboard but the box itself has clean lines and a lack of overwhelming colours and graphics that some other brands have. I do love the fact that each coffee type is a different colour so you can easily tell the difference between them and that same great colour coding has been taken right through to the sachet.

While the sachets are only 1gm heavier than my normal brand, they are slightly wider, easier to open and make a lot less mess. Any of the avalanche range or a sachet of each, teamed up with a cup makes a perfect gift for any occasion, should you be willing to part with them or share.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 15th of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

I'm always after a good cup of coffee so was eager to give this a try.

I first tried this just as the directions suggested which is to pour one sachet into a mug and simply add boiling water, stir and enjoy. Drinking it this was I didn't like it that much at all, I found that it didn't have much flavour, just the tiniest hint of vanilla and a weak coffee taste to it, so not something that I would just grab and enjoy. The next cuppa was with sugar and milk added and whilst I still didn't find it to have a strong coffee taste, adding the sugar and milk made it a tastier drink, even my mother in law preferred it with sugar and milk added into it.

Not really loving it as a drink I decided to make an easy cheesecake with the coffee. I poured two sachets into a container and added just enough liquid to make it a mush and then added it to the mixture. The result was a nice cheesecake with a hint of vanilla and coffee, it had a nice taste and though it hasn't set right (my adding too much liquid) it still came out nice and no major coffee hit to keep me awake.

I wouldn't buy this again as it isn't really any more convenient than just making coffee with instant coffee granules.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 29th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

A confessed coffee addict I am always up for trying any product with caffeine so I was excited to have a whole box of Avalanche's Cafe Vanilla Latte to review. This very nicely presented cardboard box contains 10 individual sachets of 18 grams to add to 150 ml of water for a New Zealand made treat.

The first thing I always look at with a new product is the ingredients list and I was very pleasantly surprised to note that this is gluten free, as most of Avalanches products seem to be. Many instant coffee "drinks" aren't so this automatically gets a tick as it is a product that hubby can drink also. Its worth noting that the first ingredient is sugar and that coffee makes up only 10% of the drink. So this isn't going to give you a massive caffeine kick but too many of these and the calories will start to mount.

I like my coffee quite strong so usually have these sachet type drinks in the afternoon and evening when I want my caffeine intake to be less. Firstly the box was very easy to open and the sachets peel very easily. They are quite wide so don't spill at all. I must say I don't really find the sugar to be as sweet as I expected so this is a really nice drink. The vanilla flavour is perfect and the drink doesn't leave a horrible artificial after-taste as some drinks can.

I do find these very drinkable and have to be strict with myself to limit myself to one a day as I think they are very, very easy to drink probably because they aren't overpoweringly coffee tasting.

I think these are brilliant to have in your handbag for an impromptu drop around to someone's house or for when you are out on a road trip or on holiday. So easy to prepare and a really yummy taste to boot. Because these are gluten free they are a product I can safely have in the pantry for hubby to drink also.

I can definitely recommend these.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 29th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As a coffee lover, I was very pleased to know that I had been chosen to (luckily) receive a WHOLE BOX of Avalanche Cafe Vanilla Latte sachets to review. These come in a box of 10 sachets, and at 18g each, I straight away noticed is larger than many other similar products that have 12-13 g.

Taking a look at the ingredients list - very pleased to see these are gluten free - love this as I have many gluten free friends and means I can give them a treat when they visit. Whilst the biggest ingredient is sugar - as an occasional treat, I am not too worried. It would have been nice to have coffee as the major ingredient, but it is one of the bigger, so that is good to see.

Opening the box was easy, moving on to the sachets - equally as easy - none of the problems with similar sachets to open. The sachets are nice and big, and came out easily and well mixed.

I tend to drink my coffee strongish, and also like my sachet coffees to have a decent "kick" to them too. Whilst these have a great flavour, they are not as strong as I prefer, but, that is not a bad thing! Furthermore to the flavour - the vanilla has a good amount of strength - not overpowering but also enough there to taste. I liked the small amount of froth - and these were great. I added a sprinkling of chocolate topping to a couple that I tried, and that was "magnifique"!!

The drink is suggested to be made with 150ml, however, I made all of mine with more - and it did not take away from the nice-ness of the drink. I liked that they dissolved and mixed nicely too - leaving no "blobs" in the cup and no icky after taste.

These as a great thing to take to work as a treat, to have ready for a friend to drop around, or you to take to a friends, to take away on holiday, for work etc. They are easy to make, and tasty.

Well done Avalanche - great product! I will definitely be purchasing these, and trying other flavours too.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 28th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Yum, Avalanche have got all good things sorted when it comes to these Vanilla Latte coffee sachets. So many positive points that I don't know quite what to start writing about first LOL Icon they really are that good! I guess first things first is that since having my baby girl late last year I have been rather addicted to my morning coffee since going back to work full time. In the act of convenience more than anything else I started drinking vanilla coffee sachets (another brand) at least once a day or every second day. They have been like my little treat, my little me moment! I can be quite fussy when it comes to coffee and having it made just right - so by having a sachet takes all the guess work out of it and I can have any of my work mates make me a coffee if its their round Smile Icon

When tearing the sachet open I immediately noticed how easily these opened - I didn't spill any of the contents and I didn't have to fight with the packet at all. The second thing I noticed was how much coffee seemed to be in the cup, it seemed more than the other brands I've had before but alas they weigh the same so my mind must have been playing tricks. Lastly and most importantly was the taste - totally divine!! A little piece of heaven in a cup... full of vanilla flavour but still tastes like coffee. These sachets are as good as a vanilla latte brought at the local cafe. When you mix in the hot water and stir - the coffee mixture lightly froths on the top which definitely helps make it feel like a cafe coffee. I also really appreciate the way the lumps all stir in with ease, not clumping and not annoyingly hard to get rid of either. I seriously cannot recommend these enough.

Probably the only down side to these morsels of goodies is the high sugar content - but in saying that every decent yummy treat these days is full of sugar so its just one of those things as far as I'm concerned Wink Icon Speaking of sugar content, I made things even sweeter and tried these coffee sachets out in my favourite chocolate self saucing pudding! The recipe calls for instant coffee if desired so I tried this out with one of the sachets - I was impressed with the result and the fact that I could still taste vanilla. A trial with great results that we will be doing again that's for sure. Price wise I would pay this and then some going to a cafe everyday for the same drink - so go on - save your pocket and grab a box in your weekly shopping. I know you wont be disappointed! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 26th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Another amazing avalanche product that I was lucky enough to test. So far this brand is number one in my books and sorts out my coffee addiction. I love finding a coffee that is easy to make and is simple to grab, throw in your handbag and drink while on the go. This one ticks all the boxes.

Again, like the caramel latte it has such an easy rip tear. One tear and its off, no stopping half way and having to fumble around for scissors only to drop the sachet and lose half of it on the bench. I boiled the jug and while waiting for it to boil, I poured the contents of the sachet into my cup. I was a little concerned at the amount of powder that was in the sachet as I thought it was going to be far to strong but I was proved wrong.

A slightly sweet aroma hit me whilst pouring it into my cup and I had all fingers crossed that this wasn't going to be sickly sweet. I added in my hot water and a dash of milk (this is how I always make my coffee) and gave it a stir. The coffee mixed in perfectly and didn't turn into clumps and float on the surface like other brands. I took a sip and to my amazement it was perfect. A hint of sweet vanilla BUT you could still taste the coffee, which for a coffee lover like me is a must have.

Well done Avalanche another amazing range of coffees that will now be on my shopping list.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 25th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

It would be fair to say I'm a little addicted to coffee and I probably drink far too much of it. I have a coffee machine at home but I'm always looking for decent coffee to take with me on the go. I have tried a few of the avalanche coffees and I often have a sachet or two in my handbag. I was really pleased to have the chance to review the vanilla latte and have quickly added it to my list of on the go coffees.

Like the other coffees in the avalanche range it's super easy to open, the tear here part actually tears easily. Unlike other coffees which you end up having to cut or you lose half of it trying to rip it open. Opening the packet the coffee smell hits you straight away. While tipping it into your cup it seems like a large amount of coffee, however it mixes easily into the water creating the perfect cup of coffee. There's not annoying bits left floating on the top.

To me a sign of a good cup of coffee is one that doesn't need any sugar added to it. The vanilla latte is one of those coffees! It is the perfect blend while it doesn't have a full on hit of vanilla it does have the perfect hint of it. It is such a pleasant coffee to drink and when in a hurry to get my coffee down adding a little milk to it works well to cool it, in fact it makes it an even creamier coffee.
I recommend Avalanche to anyone who enjoys a good coffee!

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 23rd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was really excited to try this flavour out. Everything these days seems to be vanilla infused from cakes to chocolate to icing to ice cream. I really like vanilla. I only drink "fluffy coffees". These can be best described as your mochaccino and your frappes and even hot chocolates. So imagine my excitement at being able to try the Vanilla Latte flavour from Avalanche.
The sachet is very generous. At 18g it is 4g heavier than other brands offerings. It also feels like a better deal. Better value for money. You are getting a giant drink in a great looking and feeling box. None of this small is better thinking. Cracking open the sachet I pour the contents into a mug and add hot water. I have tried with and without milk but I recommend with milk definitely. It is creamier and has a smoother taste.
The vanilla flavour is so clear and clean it cuts perfectly through the usual bitterness of coffee. I would not say that the flavour is overpowering, because remember vanilla is pretty slight anyway. It needs to have a voice and Avalanche have given it a voice in this great coffee offering. I will be disappointed when my supply runs out. I highly recommend you go and get this flavour or yourself.
A work colleague tried this also and commented that it is much smoother and nicer than the other brands she usually drinks and has now switched.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 23rd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Yum! Another delicious coffee from Avalanche. I love that these feel like I am treating myself to something special and are still completely affordable while tasting luxurious. The sachet serving sizes are generous and provide the perfect amount for a big coffee mug. The Coffee not requiring milk is great, I'm sure this will save my house hold money! That is always a great advantage.

I could never imagine having my coffee without milk and did worry about this but after tasting it, Avalanche Vanilla Latte really did not need any. It still tasted creamy and smooth. The vanilla strength was just right. It wasn't over powering and wasn't so subtle you could barely taste it. It smelt divine! My Nana came over for a visit and she loved it I gave her a couple of sachets to take home, that made her day.

This is the perfect coffee to have at home but feel like you are not missing out on a Cafe Quality coffee, the Avalanche Vanilla Latte is just as good if not better than a vanilla flavoured coffee you would purchase at a coffee shop. As someone who doesn't like strong coffee these are perfect and I love the stylish packaging as well.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 21st of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

I always have sachet coffee in my cupboard or handbag and enjoy a flavoured coffee for something a bit special so was keen to give this a go. I do not normally have sugar in my coffee but understand that when adding a flavour it will be sweeter than I am use to.

When making this coffee I loved the vanilla aroma it gave off - vanilla is definitely a favourite flavour of mine. It was really important to stir this properly in order to for it not to clump together. I actually found by just putting half a cup of water in first and mixing and then adding more water made sure that lumps were not left.

I was keen to share this with others that do not normally drink sachet drinks and they were surprised to also taste a vanilla coffee. There was however a common comment and one that I agree with - that the coffee flavour was not strong enough over the flavour of the vanilla.

I would like to see a stronger coffee flavour coming through and am going to see whether avalanche also does a double strength (if they don't it should be something they look in to). I also noticed that they do caramel flavour and am keen to try as do wonder whether the caramel flavour too hides the taste of the coffee.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 19th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I am a huge fan of vanilla flavour and scent things. Add to that my dependency on coffee and this product was always going to be something I would gravitate towards. I love buying coffee by the sachet because they always come out frothy and delicious, like a little bit of cafe luxury no matter where I am.

When I first tried this one, I added hot water and a touch of milk as well. I can't have my drinks too hot, so I always have a lot of milk no matter what. I didn't add any sugar. What I found was that the flavour of the coffee was really good and strong. It definitely felt like I was having a good decent coffee. The flavour of vanilla is there and has a slightly creamy taste to it. But it's not overly sweet.

I shared this coffee with one or two friends at work and they agreed that the flavour was good, but it was definitely not a sweet vanilla taste. I guess if you wanted a vanilla latte that was super sweet you would add further sugar to your cup. I didn't need any more sugar, but some of my taste testers did add some sugar. In either case they enjoyed their coffees.

Today I had a vanilla latte addict at my place so I made her one. She felt that it was a really good flavour and was surprised that it was a New Zealand company making this. She said she'd be looking out for it when she is next at the supermarket which is great feedback. This was probably my second favourite in the cafe range. The Caramel Latte was for me, a little tastier than this one. But I enjoyed the Vanilla more than the Mocha as well.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.5
Product reviews for listing 6784: SodaStream Classics - Crafted Cola -  Brand / Manufactured by: Sodastream

Product image for SodaStream Classics - Crafted ColaSodaStream makes water exciting! Transform regular water into sparkling water in seconds, add your favourite Sparkling Water Mix, and enjoy!

Naturally flavoured sparkling drink mix.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the Knock Out News Group. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, on the premise that they have been submitted as the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Horse sense is the thing a horse has which keeps it from betting on people."
W.C. Fields

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream