Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 16th August 2018 - 15:51:25

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Hot Brewed > Avalanche Cafe Range - Caramel Latte review

« Avalanche Cafe Range - Cappuccino reviewAvalanche Cafe Range - CappuccinoAvalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte reviewAvalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.4/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5461 - Avalanche Cafe Range - Caramel Latte
Brand / Manufactured by: Avalanche Coffee

Avalanche Cafe Range - Caramel Latte
Price:
$7.49 / box of 10 sachets
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Avalanche Coffee

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Avalanche Cafe Range - Caramel Latte product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsFeaturing sweet caramel undertones, this latte is sure to satisfy right down to the last sip.

Each box contains 10 individual serving sachets. Perfect for popping a couple in the glovebox for those emergency caffeine boosts on long drives.

Check out Avalanche Coffee onlineClick here to see all the listings for Avalanche Coffee Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
caramel   coffee   instant coffee   lattes   nzmade
Other listings you may be interested in:
Avalanche Cafe Range - Flat WhiteAvalanche Cafe Range - Flat White
Rating: 8.6
Avalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla LatteAvalanche Cafe Range - Vanilla Latte
Rating: 8.4
Nectarine White TeaNectarine White Tea
Rating: 8.5
Four Hawk Day RoseFour Hawk Day Rose
Rating: 9.8
Avalanche Cafe Range - CappuccinoAvalanche Cafe Range - Cappuccino
Rating: 8.9
SodaStream Waters Fruits - Blood OrangeSodaStream Waters Fruits - Blood OrangeGranite - Blackcurrant BlastGranite - Blackcurrant Blast
Rating: 7.3
Avalanche Cafe Range - MochaccinoAvalanche Cafe Range - Mochaccino
Rating: 6.8
Anchor CalciYum PoptopsAnchor CalciYum Poptops
Rating: 9.7
H2 Coco Pure Coconut Water - Pineapple H2 Coco Pure Coconut Water - Pineapple 
Rating: 7.8
Diet Snapple - Peach TeaDiet Snapple - Peach Tea
Rating: 9.5
Organic Apple, Mango and PassionOrganic Apple, Mango and Passion
Rating: 9.1
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Latte MacchiatoNescafe Dolce Gusto Latte Macchiato
Rating: 8.8

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of noisybabe007

Review by: noisybabe007 (Angela)
Dated: 1st of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I am definitely a coffee lover - and was very excited to have been chosen to receive and review these, as special coffees are not usually in our budget, so it is super nice to have a treat that is just for me! I have previously tried and liked the Vanilla and so thought and hoped these would be the same, and I was not disappointed. These are not only a nice thing to enjoy at home, but also convenient to take to take to work as a treat, to have ready for a friend to drop around, to take away on holiday and the like. They fit into a bag easily and (even when squished at the bottom like mine get) have not opened and spilled, which is GREAT!!

The sachets come prepackaged in a box of 10 sachets, each of which is 18g. This is bigger than some of the other ones I have, and have purchased, which are usually around the 12-13g. Opening the box was simple enough - tear and open - and likewise for the sachets - which is great - no problem with the "tear here" serration - always a plus!! At a cost of $7.49 ( average ) they are pricey - but then, that is the cost of 1.5 coffees in a cafe, so not too bad. I will keep an eye out for them on special for sure!

Taking a look at the ingredients list - Whilst the biggest ingredient is sugar - as an occasional treat, I am not too worried. It would have been nice to have coffee as the major ingredient, but it is one of the bigger, so that is good to see. These are also gluten free - which is a BIG plus - with many gluten free friends it means I can confidently give them a nice treat coffee.

This sachet has a great flavour, but the coffee is not as strong as I prefer, but, that is not a bad thing! I do tend to like me caffeine strong and dark Wink Icon The drink is suggested to be made with 150ml, however, I made all of mine with more, so that could be why it is not as strong. This however, did not take away from the nice-ness of the drink. I liked that they dissolved and mixed nicely too - leaving no "blobs" in the cup and no icky after taste. Furthermore to the flavour - the caramel has a good amount of strength - nice and sweet, whilst not being overpowering. I like only a small amount of froth , and these were great. I added a sprinkling of chocolate topping to a couple that I tried, and that was "magnifique"!!

Well done Avalanche - great product! I have no problem recommending them.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 21st of September, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Caramel latte's are my sweet treat since I'm trying not to consume so much chocolate or caffeine and this one has smashed my expectations. On receiving my box of caramel latte's, I made up an avalanche one and my normal brand that I have been drinking for about 7 years now. Avalanche have a more caramel flavour and have left other brands tasting watery and disappointing. I like the fact that while the caramel smells sweet, it is not over powering and sickly.

I most mornings have two cups of coffee for breakfast and with this have managed to limit that to one, which is not that easy.Anyone who knows me well knows I like my coffee strong and that's what is running through my veins.

Avalanche have great packaging, as I stated in another review so I wont go on about that any more except to give them the thumbs up. I still don't think much of low caffeine content personally, however I feel safer giving it to my teenage daughter than most other brands. I think it would take away from the great taste if they increased it too much more though.

This is defiantly one product that I struggle to share and find is great in the handbag for those emergency dashes to the hospital.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 27th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Well anyone that knows me, knows I am a coffee addict whether it is hot or cold, black or white I will be there drinking it. I can't even think of beginning the day without a coffee to get me going! When I seen Avalanche were joining KIWIreviews I was indeed excited and after reviewing Avalanche Coffee Melt I was well and truly impressed with the quality of the coffee so happily put my hand up to try these Caramel Latte Sachets. I have had the cafe style coffee sachets from other brands before but had never tried any of Avalanche's range so was eager to give them a go.

Well only 4 days before receiving my box of coffee to review I cut out sugar from my diet in a bid to lose weight and gain some better health. The thing with this is I can't stand coffee without sugar it just tastes so bad so had also cut right down on coffee. So when these arrived my coffee cravings told me I needed one straight away. I knew as it was caramel flavoured I would not need to add any sugar with the sweetness of the caramel so I had a way I could enjoy coffee without any added sugar. Boy was it yummy, such a sweet treat with the perfect balance between sweet caramel and bitter coffee, I loved every sip!!

The thing was I read the box and the main ingredient in these is sugar, in fact quite an astonishing amount of sugar at that, obviously the reason they taste so good to me, but for that reason they would not be something I could drink regularly. I would quite happily have these in my cupboard as a once a week or every few days treat but I couldn't drink them every day as the sugar content would make me feel a bit guilty.

I wouldn't however change the taste to adjust the sugar content as they really are divine and even a non coffee drinker can enjoy them. My partner who has never liked coffee had one of these and commented on how nice it was. They are a bit different to your average make at home coffee so definitely a cafe style treat!

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 26th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was lucky enough to try the caramel latte by Avalanche. I put the toddler to bed and had peace and quiet, so it was time to boil the jug and make up my hard earned coffee. The sachet ripped open easily, which for me is a HUGE win as there is nothing worse then it ripping half way or getting stuck which results in you spilling it everywhere!

I poured it into my cup and it had quite a sweet aroma. I thought to myself "hmmm is this going to be sickly sweet?". I was proved very wrong. I added in my boiling water and a dash of milk so it was perfect temperature to get stuck into straight away. The smell was sweet but not too overpowering. The taster however was perfect! It wasn't sweet at all, it had a hint of caramel (which is what I like) and you could actually taste the coffee. Normally, other caramel latte brands are very sweet with no taste of coffee whatsoever so I was pleasantly surprised.

Well done Avalanche another amazing coffee flavour in your range. I am totally addicted and my coffee addiction thanks you for such amazing coffee. Next, to taste the vanilla one which I bet is just as amazing!

Click here to read the profile of danlish

Review by: danlish (Alesha)
Dated: 24th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Avalanche Caramel Latte is delicious! It tastes about as close to a cafe made Caramel Latte that you could get without being at a cafe. My husband and I love this brand and now buy it regularly at the supermarket. It's the best value for money and is more often than not the cheapest on the shelf. I've found it's also the best value for money too, in terms of taste and price.

The caramel is not at all overpowering and sugary and there is a stronger taste of coffee than most of these sachet brands. It's super easy to make, simply open the box, tear open the sachet (easier than most others!) and pour it in the cup. Boil some water and mix well. I like to add in a teaspoon of sugar and a bit of milk. I think it gives a smoother taste.

The packaging itself, albeit plain, is modern and pleasant to look at. The box itself is the easiest to open as it tends to tear and becomes harder to seal again. There are ten sachet's inside and as mentioned earlier it is a lot easier to open than most. It doesn't spill all over the bench when half of the packet rips off with it!

These are definitely in our trolley every week now!

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 23rd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Yum! Avalanche Caramel Latte was my breakfast this morning and it was very satisfying! I love that it Is packaged in sachets so I can stick one or two in my bag for while I'm out and about, or waiting for my partner at work. As soon as you open the sachet you catch the smell and it is delicious it does not smell like "instant coffee"

The Caramel Latte was simple and easy to make, Open sachet, Pour in Cup, add boiling water & enjoy! I usually take two sugar in my coffee but only used one teaspoon and that was sweet enough for me. I also usually take lots of milk but the Caramel Latte was still delicious and creamy without milk. Some instant coffee's don't dissolve properly and leave lumps in the cup but this was not a problem. The finished result looked and smelt wonderful, then for the taste test! I am in love!! The caramel flavour was just delicious and was not over the top or too sickly sweet. There seemed to be a little bit of a coconut taste, there's nothing listed in the ingredients to suggest it contains coconut which I found odd but it was not unpleasant.

This is delicious and something I will purchase again, if you like coffee and caramel you will love this!

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 23rd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have been drinking this flavour for a week now and although it is not my favourite flavour in the range it is still a very nice drink. I love the packaging, the ease of opening the sachet, the feel of the sachet. Everything is really appealing. The price point is excellent also. The mix is fine by itself with only hot water. There is no need to add milk but I find that the milk helps to keep the temperature slightly down rather that being really scolding straight out of the kettle.
Flavour wise it is a nice creamy caramel taste. The smell is nice also and not too overpowering or strong. The after taste is good also. It is not like a strong taste that stays with you an hour after enjoying the coffee.
At 12% coffee and overall 7% carbs this product is great for the diet. You wont have to worry about having a skim milk at the barista when right in your own kitchen this flavour ticks all the boxes as being well under the 5% threshold for fat and sugars. It is not marketed as gluten free, but in the Nutritional Information, gluten is not detected. I definitely recommend this product. Buy a box and hide them in your desk drawer at work!

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 20th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 3 out of 10

We love coffee in our house, and in particular we buy similar cafe style sachets. I was really excited to try another brand. When I received the parcel, I was really impressed at the packaging. It was fresh, innovate and in the shop I believe it would stand out being a white box rather than coloured. The price is pretty standard. I always try to buy them on special for $5.00 for 10, however the full price compares well to other brands.

We boiled the jug and made a coffee each. The instructions are straight forward and easy to follow and the mix, dissolves well. Unfortunately after a couple of mouthfuls I found the flavour of either coffee or caramel to be lacking, it was more of a sweet nothing-ness. I couldn't finish mine, but my partner finished his. Since then my partner has drunk a couple more of them and I tried again to make sure of my feelings on this product. The sugar content is a little less than the other brands, but the taste and flavour is not distinct enough for us.

For us, this isn't a product we would purchase again, however I don't think this would put me off trying a hot chocolate version or their freeze dried coffee. If you have not tried a cafe style sachet coffee before, or are not a strong coffee fan, this maybe a great product to start off with. The brand and company seem to be innovative and taking a competitive market on head first.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 19th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had already tried a few of the flavours in the Avalanche cafe flavoured coffees when I tried the Caramel Latte. I took this to work with me and shared the box around. Needless to say there was not a lot left when I took it home and it's all gone now that my husband and friends have gotten into it. However, as a result I have lots of feedback for the Avalanche and all of it is good.

At work lots of people commented on the delicious caramel flavour of this coffee. One person mentioned that she could taste coconut in it. I couldn't see anywhere that coconut had been used. But when I tried mine I had to agree, it's got a slight toasty coconut taste to the caramel. As a coconut fan, that was no problem for me or her and no one else commented on it.

My husband found this caramel latte to be very nice as did visiting friends. They felt that it was not as sweet as others on the market but was definitely a high quality coffee. Good strong coffee, good flavour and they raved about it being a local brand. In fact one of my visitors was blown away that a kiwi company is making such good quality coffee and at a pretty good price too.

This product is very versatile. You can serve it hot, or cold. You could even float some ice cream in it for an affogato or make a creamy caramel latte smoothie. Yum!

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 17th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Old people have issues. Uninvited kids playing on our lawn, neighbourhood dogs pooping in our rose gardens, family turning up "unexpectedly" just after couriers drop off parcels, and limited dexterity in cold weather. When I found out I had been picked to review some of these coffees I was very pleased.

I am not at all creative in the kitchen any more. Too old and my joints hurt if I stand too long so it is quick meals if I am the cook and it also means instant coffee is about all I can make most days in Winter. This was such a wonderful tasting drink and so very easy to make. So easy, I could even get the mokopuna to make my second cup for me. (Well, if they are going to sponge some off me, the least they can do is make one for their old Koro.)

The box is a little tricky to open without tearing the top flaps to bits and making the box impossible to reseal again, especially if your hands aren't so young but I found after the first big tear that using the handle of a teaspoon helped me to get it open with minimal damage. Inside are 10 single-serving packets. Tearing one of those open was easy enough and after tipping it in the cup and pouring in hot water, a quick stir gave me a really nice tasting hot drink.

It didn't taste like a usual coffee. The caramel flavour was rich and full-on, covering up the bitterness of coffee. I only needed to add a half-teaspoon of sugar and it was perfect for me. Normally I have 2 teaspoons of sugar and milk in my coffee. So easy.

I wouldn't pay $7.49 for this, but I have been told it is in Pak'n Save for under $5 a box on special, which is most weeks down here, so it could be affordable. It won't go as far as $5 wortth of just coffee but if you add in the cost of the extra sugar and milk I would normally have it is a close enough match, and tastes so much better. I think this might just be getting snuck onto my "Koro's Secret Treats" shopping list. Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 17th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.8/10
Price:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Taste:
Score 1 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I drink coffee but am having heaps of trouble finding one that I can make that doesn't involve a strong coffee taste, I do drink instant and put about a quarter teaspoon of powder in and that is how I like it. I had been told that the caramel one tastes rather nice.

I opened it and found that I liked the smell and thought that at last I might have one that I can take with me and enjoy a coffee when out but after just one sip I had to add sugar as I found that it tasted rather horrible. The sugar did help quite a lot and I happily drank the rest of the cup but found that the caramel taste was completely missing and the coffee taste was still too strong for my liking.

I will finish the rest of the box as I don't like to waste but will not be buying this brand again as it seems that this particular brand has a very strong coffee taste. I'm not sure if there is something I could be doing differently or if I should just buy another brand all together but I'm not enjoying this brand of coffee at all.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 20th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love coffee and probably drink far too much of it! Caramel latte is amongst my favourite and I usually make my own at home with my coffee machine. I can't take that to work with me though so I'm always on the look out for nice sachets for work. After hearing so much about avalanche coffee through KIWIreviews when I spied the caramel latte at the shops I had to try it.

the first thing that struck me was how easy it was to open usually with sachet coffees I have to cut them open. This one ripped open with ease and without me losing half of it on the bench! The next thing that hit me was it smelt like real coffee it had the aroma of real coffee and you just knew it was going to be good.

I made it up as directed with hot (not quite boiling water) and once again it ticked all the boxes and it was easy to mix. At times I find some sachets end up lumpy. Next was the all important taste test and I can say I wasn't disappointed it was a lovely coffee just the right strength and with the perfect hint of caramel. There was no nasty after taste and no hint of bitterness at all meaning unlike some instant coffees it didn't need sugar added to off set the bitterness. Its safe to say I have found a new at work coffee. I will be slowly giving the other flavours a try for sure!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 7.6
Product reviews for listing 7141: Pete's Natural - Ginger Beer -  Brewed/Bottled by Pete's Natural

Product image for Pete's Natural - Ginger BeerPete's Natural Ginger Beer is made in New Zealand from lightly carbonated water, New Zealand honey, fresh ginger, freshly squeezed New Zealand lemon juice, white vinegar, vanilla, liquorice, star anise and New Zealand grown hops.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do toasters always have a setting so high that could burn the toast to a horrible crisp, which no decent human being would eat?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream