Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 24th November 2017 - 18:18:28

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > European Creations - Watties Chicken Chasseur review

« Italian Creations - Watties Tomato and Basil Pesto reviewItalian Creations - Watties Tomato and Basil PestoStep Dave reviewStep Dave »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 7.2/10  [11 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5431 - European Creations - Watties Chicken Chasseur
Produced by Watties NZ

European Creations - Watties Chicken Chasseur
Price:
$3.99
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Watties

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

European Creations - Watties Chicken Chasseur product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsIn French, it's the 'Hunter's Sauce', but your hunt is over. This glossy rich savoury sauce, made with a splash of white wine, is the simple way to create a classic French dish. Partner it with chicken thigh meat, add mushrooms and voila, it's bon appetite!

Product Size: 375g

Check out Watties onlineClick here to see all the listings for Watties Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chicken   cooking   creations   easy   european   family   meals   nzmade   sauces
Other listings you may be interested in:
Edmonds Red Velvet CupcakesEdmonds Red Velvet Cupcakes
Rating: 7.5
Italian Creations: Creamy Three CheesesItalian Creations: Creamy Three Cheeses
Rating: 8.6
Indian Creations: Butter ChickenIndian Creations: Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.9
Indian Creations: Tikka MasalaIndian Creations: Tikka Masala
Rating: 8.7
Indian Creations: KormaIndian Creations: Korma
Rating: 9.2
Wok Creations: Thai Green Curry Sauce Wok Creations: Thai Green Curry Sauce 
Rating: 8.1
Strawberry Yoghurt DropsStrawberry Yoghurt Drops
Rating: 8.8
Oxford Sausage RollOxford Sausage Roll
Rating: 8.0
Italian Creations: Tomato & Roasted GarlicItalian Creations: Tomato & Roasted Garlic
Rating: 9.5
Apple sauceApple sauce
Rating: 10.0
Wok Creations: Pad ThaiWok Creations: Pad Thai
Rating: 9.0
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Vegetable Pilau Rice
Rating: 9.5
Italian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & BalsamicItalian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic
Rating: 9.4
Mexican Creations: NachosMexican Creations: Nachos
Rating: 9.1
Mexican Creations: Chilli Con CarneMexican Creations: Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.9
Trouble PizzaTrouble Pizza
Rating: 8.8
NutriPlanNutriPlan
Rating: 8.8
Italian Creations - Watties CarbonaraItalian Creations - Watties Carbonara
Rating: 7.7
European Creations: Beef BourguignonEuropean Creations: Beef Bourguignon
Rating: 8.4
Mrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - CinnamonMrs. Freshley's Honey Bun - Cinnamon
Rating: 9.0
Mrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Cajun SeasoningMrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Cajun Seasoning
Rating: 9.7
Italian Creations - Watties Tomato and Basil PestoItalian Creations - Watties Tomato and Basil Pesto
Rating: 8.9
Mexican Creations: BurritoMexican Creations: Burrito
Rating: 8.6
Cuisine Scene Smokey Stout ChutneyCuisine Scene Smokey Stout Chutney
Rating: 8.9
European Creations - Watties Beef StroganoffEuropean Creations - Watties Beef Stroganoff
Rating: 8.5
Pickapeppa SaucePickapeppa Sauce
Rating: 9.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of mumkat

Review by: mumkat (Kathaleen)
Dated: 19th of October, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

What's a chasseur anyway, other than a French word? After trying this dish, I still have no clue.

I found the sauce didn't go far enough and I was disappointed majorly in this fact. I believe that Wattie's may need to look into the serving size and with the reduced size, a reduced cost. It would have helped had I read the instructions and found I had cooking choices other than just the 1.5 hours in the oven. I think it may have been nicer in the slow cooker and to prevent the extra moisture would have stuck a tea towel under the lid (this is my plan the next time I cook it).

It had a very strong wine smell, which to me definitely doesn't go with chicken and is a lot better with beef. The flavour/smell ratio once cooked was a let down for me as the smell had me drooling and then just didn't match up. I with the fact we have 4 adults and 2 children in our house didn't get a lot (i also did roast chicken pieces as well) but found it went well with mashed potatoes.

The major question here is would I buy this again? I think I would but would wait for it to come on special.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 28th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

As a European Creation, I had a feeling this sauce would involve a dash of wine; but while the sauce had a strong fragrance while it simmered, the flavour once cooked, was far less pungent.

Ever since the Beef Bourguignon, I always check the recipes thoroughly, and as with the other recipe, this one recommends slow cooking (between 1 to 5 hours). This dish had to wait until the weekend, so that I would have the appropriate time to cook it properly. As is common with the Watties Creations range, the dish is very easy to prepare, with very few steps.

The sauce ended up a lot thinner than the other flavours have in the past, as I was forced to add water to ensure that there would be sufficient sauce for the number of servings that it stipulates. I tried it with rice, and found that the meal didn't feel right, but trying the second portion with mashed potatoes was much better as it absorbed the sauce, and effectively thickened it.

The flavours in themselves were rather bland, with the wine being the only real noticeable flavour. While not bad, it lacked the oomph and kick that I look for in my meals.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 3rd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have never tried chasseur before, and to be perfectly honest I actually had no idea what a chasseur is. Because I had not heard of it I did not know what to expect from this sauce in terms of taste or expected flavours either. The Watties creations sauces are fantastic sauces full of plenty of flavour and with enough sauce to get excellent meat or vege coverage.

If making this meal for dinner you need to allow at least an hour for preparation and cooking time. We have tried a few sauces from the creations range now and always find that they make enough for our family of 5 to get a decent serving for dinner, however we did not have the same result with this one. I do not knowvif maybe the chicken absorbs a lot of the sauce but when dished up there wasn not enough to go around everybody. if serving about 3 people it would have been ideal though.

When this was cooking I noticed that the sauce had a very very strong wine smell. However once cooked the chicken was extremely mild in flavour and not at all what was expected from the aromas while cooking. It was a nice enough meal just a very mild flavour. However my kids loved it... a lot! Not my favourite of the range butbecause my kids liked it I would buy it again.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 6 out of 10

Chicken Chasseur is something that we have regularly in the winter as a slow cooked meal so I was eager to try the Watties Simmer Sauce Version. Just add onion & mushroom, How easy can you get!

As we had a pretty busy day requiring me to be out of the house for the most part I put this on low in the morning and headed out. I think I had left it in a wee bit too long as the sauce had thinned and there was a lot of excess moisture. It did smell delicious though.

I chose to serve it with Garlic mashed potatoes, steamed carrots and a white sauce. The chicken was quite bland but I am unsure if this was the sauce itself or the fact that it had perhaps been in the Slow Cooker too long. Either way it was an okay meal and something I'd look to try again though this time perhaps on the stove top as I feel this would be the best method and wouldn't allow time for too much moisture to appear.

We all ate our entire meal so it was still a great meal and I do want to try this again. I just wouldn't recommend leaving it in the slow cooker on a day out maybe turning it on later in the day, great if you have a Slow Cooker with a timer.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 23rd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be given some of this to review and it seemed perfect to cook up tonight for a mid winter meal. Unfortunately I only had chicken breasts (they recommend thighs or drumsticks) but I just went with what I had. Lucky I had mushrooms and onions and that's all that is needed - very very simple.

There are 3 standard cooking options mentioned - stove top, oven, or slow cooker. I wasn't too keen to use the slow cooker as I end up with lots of extra liquid at the end and I didn't want to it to dilute the sauce and reduce flavour. Also I noticed it recommended 4 to 5 hours on low and this is not practical for a dish I can leave on while I'm at work. I'm usually happy to extend cooking time a bit further, but I'd have had to almost double the time.

I decided on oven - 1 to 1.5 hours, even though I very rarely bake in the oven. The directions said to put a lid on, and it turns out my casserole dish must have had a good seal as I seemed to end up with extra liquid at the end using this method too. This resulted in a weakened sauce which I personally felt lacked flavour. I wish now that I'd left the lid off for at least half the cooking time to help the sauce reduce, because I now don't know if the sauce lacks flavour anyway or if it were from extra moisture.

I served the meal with rice and vegetables and both my husband and I ate it, but didn't really enjoy it. In fact I removed the couple of bits of chicken left at the end of the meal and have kept it separately to serve with something else. I've reserved the left over sauce, freezing it to perhaps use later on - maybe some tomato paste and some seasoning might help resurrect it. It suggests using the sauce as a gravy on pork or chicken, so it might come in handy down the track for this.

My 5 year old didn't really enjoy this at all, which I'm surprised at, as I thought the weakened flavour would be right up her alley. Unfortunately I can't see myself buying this again, but if I did I would certainly cook it with a method that would help the sauce reduce and thicken, and I'd maybe add some more seasoning. It's a shame, as these Watties meals are so quick, convenient, and reasonably priced and I certainly give it points for that.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

My husband had gotten this to review and when we had it we hadn't enjoyed the flavour, however I opted to give this another try.

The suggestions on the back is that you could try this on mashed potato, pasta or rice, so I thought I would go for the one I usually wouldn't think of for a sauce like this and opted for rice. I decided to get some vegetarian chicken substitute that was low on flavour, so as to not take over the sauce too much, and threw it on to cook with some diced onion and a little bit of garlic. Once the garlic and onion were nice and soft I added the sauce and left it to simmer.

Once everything was ready I served the meal on rice with a sprinkling of sesame seeds and garlic and handed out the forks. Giving it the sniff test first, it smelled nice enough, the kids were already eating it up. Tasting it, I found it went really well with the rice and the flavour had soaked into the 'chicken' really well, with each complimenting the other. Sticking to the suggestion on the back worked far better than my husbands experimenting.

While I didn't love this, it was nice enough that I could buy it again.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 15th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I love the Wattie's creation range, it's all so quick, easy and tasty. I tend to keep a few of the sauces as back up meals in my cupboard. I thought I had tried the whole range but discovered I hadn't tried out the Chicken Chasseur yet so I had to change that!

As I have been unwell and it gave slow cooker instructions my husband decided to save me having to cook and he whipped it together for the slow cooker before heading to work so all I had to do was switch it on later in the day. It was simple to get ready he simply browned the onion and chicken sliced some mushrooms up and threw it all into the slow cooker.

When I went to turn it on I had to take a smell and peek a look. The first thing that stuck me was while the aroma was really nice the sauce seemed a lot thinner than sauces I usually use in the slow cooker. I was hoping it was going to thicken up slightly during cooking. If anything though the sauce was even thinner when it was completely cooked.

Once it was all done my husband served it up with mashed potatoes and a few steamed veges. While the sauce was a little thin it smelt delish and I couldn't wait to tuck in. I have to say though once I did try it I was a little disappointed, It wasn't so bad I couldn't eat it but it was jut a bit bland. I was expecting a rich hearty sauce such as other Chicken Chasseur I have tried but it lacked depth of flavour. While my husband enjoyed it more than me he had to admit it was his least favourite out of the creations range.

We only used the recommended amount of everything but the onion and mushroom seemed to over power the sauce. If I was to try it again I think I wouldn't cook it in the slow cooker and I think I would cook the mushrooms on their own so the flavour doesn't have time to go through the sauce.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 10th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

One of the best things about these Watties meals is you probably will have all of the ingredients already that you need. Chicken, mushrooms and onions - so simple. No need to run to the supermarket to get complex ingredients, as always sitting in the fridge. The recipe recommended drumsticks or thigh cutlets but as I had chicken breasts already defrosted used them for the meal.

Nice and simple brown the onions and chicken, add the mushrooms and that is it. You have the option of using slow cooker, cooking on oven top or what I did in the oven for 90minutes. It was less than 10minutes preparation and then I walked away. Got my daughter to peel the potatoes and then boiled them in the last 20minutes of the chicken cooking.

I remember cooking this when I was younger. It was the first meal I prepared for my parents and have loved this dish ever since. The sauce smelt divine and I was so eager to try it. I only added a little sauce to the girls dish as was concerned they might not like it but they both ate it without a problem. My husband enjoyed it. I myself enjoyed it but did find the sauce rather thin - I could of thickened it up but I thought it best to follow the instructions and it did not comment about thickening. The sauce was ok not as rich as I would of liked. As a whole it was a nice simple meal, but think would prefer to make from scratch.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 9th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had been looking forward to trying the Watties Creations chicken chasseur as I have fond memories of my mother making this when I was a child. I also love gnawing on a drumstick so this was sure to be a hit with me. My family aren't as keen on eating meat on the bone but love pasta so I decided to serve it on some penne pasta.

There were three suggestions for cooking this dish on the packet: oven, slow cooker or frying pan. I opted for the frying pan although I don't have a lid for my frying pan so had to cover it with a dinner plate. I used 7 big drumsticks and felt there was enough sauce for these. I had been concerning that it would burn in the frying pan but it wasn't an issue as I stirred it every 5 minutes to be safe. I found the chicken was falling off the bone after 45 minutes so it was at the quick end of the predicted cooking time.

As I predicted my daughters were keen on eating the pasta with the chasseur sauce but didn't touch the chicken. My husband tried the pasta and chicken and commented that the sauce was quite bland. I was the only one that had mushrooms with my meal (cooked separately and then served on top). I felt that the blend of chicken juices, mushrooms and the chasseur sauce was perfect. It was just as Mum used to make.

There was plenty left over for my lunch the next day and although the sauce has congealed the dish was great reheated. This makes it a practical meal to cook for those living alone or with smaller appetites. I would happily serve this at a dinner party but due to my fussy eaters it is not something I will be serving up for them unless I use boneless chicken.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 7th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was excited to try the chicken Chasseur the other night. Into the oven, I put 8 drumsticks and I baked these for approximately 45 minutes. Then once they were almost cooked through, I popped the Watties Creation sauce over the top of the drumsticks. I gave the chicken another 20 minutes in the oven, while I steamed some vegetables and mashed some potato with cheese.

Once the meal was cooked, I served this together to my family. My children were not 100% sold on the sauce or the meat, but ate a little of it before tucking into the mashed potato instead. However, my husband and I enjoyed the chicken. I used the sauce on my chicken as well as mixed into some of my mash potato. I liked the flavour. It has a onion flavour mainly, but fairly rich as I would have expected. Like a country French taste.

The only real taste complaint I have is that I really felt it needed more salt and pepper or seasoning in general. But it was okay, because I understand some people like to add that themselves anyway. So it wasn't overly seasoned and allowed us to do that ourselves. There was a good amount of sauce in the packet, but I think it would only do one meal unlike some of the other packs in the range where I could get more than one meal out of it.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.3/10
Taste:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 5 out of 10

I have never tried a chicken chasseur sauce before, so I was rather curious as to how this would taste once dinner was ready.

I decided to go with the suggestion on the back and decided to cook up some potatoes and mash them with a little sour cream, butter, milk and garlic. In the frying pan I fried some garlic and onion (can you tell I like my garlic?) and then threw in my "chicken" (a vegetarian protein substitute, that tastes similar enough to real chicken), adding the sauce in I was concerned about volume and so added in just over half a tin of chopped tomatoes.

The aroma coming off the dish was nice enough but nothing that had me drooling or licking my lips in anticipation. Serving dinner to the family and settling down, we all dug in. My six year old ended up avoiding the sauce and just eating his potatoes, declaring the sauce as "not my favourite". My four year old ate only the "chicken" and ended up eating her dads "chicken" as well but none of the rest of the sauce. My three year old declared it yuck and my wife and I got through about half before deciding we'd had enough.

I'm interested to see if it was the tomatoes that ruined the taste or it was simply not a sauce we would like either way.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 7278: gftreets - Delicious Mini Hotdogs -  Produced by gftreets

Product image for gftreets - Delicious Mini HotdogsWe've invested a lot of love and time into making sure our Gluten Free Hotdogs taste just as delicious as their wheat cousins. But the most important thing about this product is that it is manufactured in a controlled environment so it is safe for those with food allergies and sensitivies.

NB - this product is processed on the same production line as some fish products.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Making duplicate copies and computer printouts of things no one wanted even one of in the first place is giving America a new sense of purpose."
Andy Rooney (1919 - )

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream