Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 16th October 2019 - 17:33:37

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Toilet Cleaners > Duck Active Liquid review

« Australian Export Degreaser reviewAustralian Export DegreaserAmbi Pur Flush : Green Forest reviewAmbi Pur Flush : Green Forest »

Score: 6.0/10  [6 reviews]
2 out of 5
ProdID: 534 - Duck Active Liquid
Manufactured by SC Johnson

Duck Active Liquid
Price:
 
Available:
at Supermarkets

Duck Active Liquid product reviews

Duck Active Liquid with Stain Repellex cleans, freshens and helps repel stains with every flush.



Tags:
cleaner   liquid   refill   toilet
Other listings you may be interested in:
Dirty Man Skincare ScrubDirty Man Skincare Scrub
Rating: 9.1
Soused Soapery - SplendiferousSoused Soapery - Splendiferous
Rating: 9.2
The Scented Soap Deli - Green Tea and Hemp Seed OilThe Scented Soap Deli - Green Tea and Hemp Seed Oil
Rating: 10.0
Shark Navigator Lift AwayShark Navigator Lift Away
Rating: 7.2
Schick QuattroSchick Quattro
Rating: 8.0
Window and Glass Cleaner LemonWindow and Glass Cleaner Lemon
Rating: 9.7
Cyber CleanCyber Clean
Rating: 7.6
Earthwise Nourish - Lily & White Ginger Hand WashEarthwise Nourish - Lily & White Ginger Hand Wash
Rating: 9.6
RoboCan 2 Automatic DispenserRoboCan 2 Automatic Dispenser
Rating: 10.0
Fabric Stain Remover - Eucalyptus & LavenderFabric Stain Remover - Eucalyptus & Lavender
Rating: 8.9
Soused Soapery - Loaded CoconutSoused Soapery - Loaded Coconut
Rating: 9.2
4-In-1 USB Rechargeable Facial Hair Trimmer4-In-1 USB Rechargeable Facial Hair Trimmer
Rating: 6.6
Primal Earth Refresh Shave GelPrimal Earth Refresh Shave Gel
Rating: 9.0

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 18th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Lifespan:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I hate cleaning the toilet so thought to give this a try as I have 2 boys who love to stink the place out and then just walk away (they are only 3 and 5) so thought that this would be a good thing to try. I liked that there are different fragrances but couldn't smell any of them but that could be due to my almost permanently blocked sinus.

It is easy to use, just put on the rim of the toilet and make sure that it is under the water when it gets flushed. There were heaps of bubbles so I can assume that everything was working fine but I found it didn't last long and I was always having to buy some more, a good thing is you can buy refills and not the whole system. I found that it always seemed to run out in the middle of the night when I don't particularly want to be changing little things in the toilet and in the mornings I would sometimes forget, busy with kids to kindy and school.

Not a bad idea but I found it to be just a little bit fiddly, so much easier to use the toilet gel every few days instead. What really made me decide that this is not a good idea is that someone mentioned that in an emergency you can drink the water from the toilet if it is clean and you don't use any of the in bowl or cistern toilet cleaning systems.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 21st of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 2.5/10
Ease of Use:
Score 3 out of 10
Lifespan:
Score 3 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 1 out of 10

I remember growing up with the brand name Duck for anything toilet related ... As a teenager cleaning the bathroom was on my 'chore list' and now days it still is LOL Icon! Normally a great brand and one that I trust and always buy ~ this product is a definate dud on their list of products!

Firstly, personal choice is I find it really gross having to touch things that have been in the toilet with toilet water passing over them ~ gross all those germs are now on my hands! I also noticed that there is water somehow sitting in the dispenser bit and was looking awfully slimy!

Secondly is that these last a really short amount of time but during that time they totally stink the toilet out to the point where you dont want to go in there! And lastly is that these stained my toilet (while we were away on holiday for a week so the toilet hadnt been flushed)... it meant I had a colouful run down the side of our toilet ~ so not impressed with that one!

Sorry but I wont be recommending these to others, its a shame as I truly thought being from Duck it would be an awesome product!

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 4th of January, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Lifespan:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I remember growing up with the old school caged toilet deodoriser from the trusted brand 'Duck'....and even to this day I continue to buy this brand of toilet deodoriser...Duck Active Liquid with Stain Repellex has improved over the years and seems to last a lot longer these days than it did back in the day. Yes it does all depend on how many times the toilet is flushed but when I have a house full of females the toilet is flushed a lot and Duck Active Liquid with Stain Repellex seems to keep pace and stay around for much longer.

I like the fresh smell that Duck Active Liquid with Stain Repellex offers, and with the many scents on offer there is a scent to suit almost everyone!! I like the strong scent that permeates from the Duck as I would rather smell that than the other smell that sometimes comes from the smallest room in the house!!

I like using Duck Active Liquid with Stain Repellex as it does just that it helps to repel the stains that seem to build up if the toilet isn't cleaned on a daily basis! and who has the time nor the energy to scrub the toilet each and every day. Yes the toilet still needs to be cleaned but with the help of Duck Active Liquid with Stain Repellex it only needs doing once a week which is more than manageable!!

One thing I don't like is having to replace the cage, but I only have to do that every few months as water does seem to stay logged in there and create mould, but again that is no biggie!! I love the fact that replacement refills can be purchased separately, which mean I don't need to buy the whole pack saving me money which I LOVE!! and replacing the Active Liquid is as simple as....pull out the empty cartridge and pop in the new one, and walk away...yup simple as simple can be.

I will continue to trust and purchase Duck Active Liquid with Stain Repellex as I think it is a fabulous product that has lasted the test of time and only seems to get better and improve as the years go on.

Click here to read the profile of mgslegaspi

Review by: mgslegaspi (Grace)
Dated: 22nd of September, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Ease of Use:
Score 10 out of 10
Lifespan:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The first time I get to use this product I love it right away, I like the scent of it every time I flushes the toilet, you can see the gradual release of the liquid as the water bubbles a bit, so budget wise; it's really good. It also comes on different scent, so you can choose what smell do you want for your toilet, we particularly buy lavender and aqua burst scent.

This little ingenious saves you from cleaning your toilet from time to time, as it helps repel the stains, while it cleans up your toilet and at the same time you enjoy the fresh scent it burst up in the air.

It's very easy to use, in fact no need to read the instructions at the back of the packet, just push the refill to the base firmly and away you go, pull the hook over the toilet rim and it's ready. Plus the more convenient part is you don't need to buy the whole set as it offers refill packs. But of course I would not recommend that you don't really change the base. You'll know when you need to, but still very cheap.

Overall I am happy about this product and will buy this every time we need to.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 2nd of August, 2012

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Ease of Use:
Score 8 out of 10
Lifespan:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I'm the only person in my household who bothers to clean the toilet. It's one of those jobs I actually don't mind doing either. But like all housework, I can't be bothered doing it every few days. So a product like Duck Active Liquid is one I'm very interested in.

I buy this product every month or so. Usually buying the cage and liquid fill one month, then refils two months in a row. After 3 months I buy a new cage, as they usually need to be replaced occasionally. I find black mould does build up on the cage and where it has been sitting in the toilet if left too long.

Replacing the liquid fill is easy enough. You just unclip the old empty container from the housing and then clip the new one in. Its good to go immediately. The only thing I hate is that you are touching the old toilet water and the inside of the bowl to do it. However, its easy enough to clean your hands afterwards!

The liquid lasts about a fortnight, or less if you have heavy flush action going on. We usually place one if we are having a party or something so they don't always last a long time. The fragrance is pretty strong, and overpowering depending on the smell you pick. But its better than the alternative, and at least it smells clean!

I like that I don't have to buy the whole system every time I want to change the fragrance too. This product may not last very long, but it does make me feel better about our toilet and having visitors around. I'll continue to purchase these.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 6th of March, 2005

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.0/10
Ease of Use:
Score 9 out of 10
Lifespan:
Score 2 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 2 out of 10

This is another of the bowl-rim clip-on style dispensers, with replaceable fluid catridges. Very easy to assemble, place, and later replace.

I was curious about the sliding panel at the deployment area. It appeared to regulate the rate of fluid flow, however, no matter what I set it at, the fluid ran freely and rapidly, reducing it's lifespan to a mere 12 days. Perhaps if you just ignore it, it won't be a problem... one has to hope, at least, or there are serious design issues needing attention.

On the topic of it's short and powerful lifespan, the bathroom REEKED of it, it was often too much to bear, especially on hot muggy days. The cloying scent hanging around in a hot moist fog of still air... it's not a good thing.

Overall, quite let down about this. I feel is was an inferior result from a reputable brand, and further investigations are underway.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 5.5
Product reviews for listing 3178: Kinexium Shaving Oil -  Brand: King of Shaves

Product image for Kinexium Shaving OilAward winning King of Shaves Kinexium Shave Oil employs SSE, v4.0 of our unique Skin Surface Enhancing technology, to deliver our best shave ever. It protects, moisturises and lubricates your skin throughout the shave giving superlative razor performance and glide. Your face will be left smooth, supple and moisturised.

Up to 100 shaves from one bottle. Use instead of gel / foam or to prepare your skin before an electric shave. Ideal ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Computer games don't affect kids. I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."
Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream