Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 10th December 2019 - 08:09:38

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Confectionery > Peanut Marble review

« The Bantam and the Soldier reviewThe Bantam and the SoldierJake and the Neverland Pirates Mini Colouring Pages reviewJake and the Neverland Pirates Mini Colouring Pages »

Score: 9.4/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5300 - Peanut Marble
Manufactured by Peanut Marble (NZ)

Peanut Marble
Price:
See info panel for details
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Peanut Marble

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
See info panel for details

Peanut Marble product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsPeanut Marble is a hand-crafted artisan chocolate treat. Some of the finest peanut butter is carefully blended with milk or dark chocolate, then marbled with a creamy smooth white chocolate to create... something magical.

Melt-in-your-mouth more'ish, this is a treat good enough to share... but you won't want to. ;)

For availability, see the Facebook post here: is.gd/peanutmarble1Click out to an external site

For pricing, see the Facebook post here: is.gd/peanutmarble2Click out to an external site

Check out Peanut Marble onlineClick here to see all the listings for Peanut Marble They do not have a public website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
artisan   chocolate   hamilton   hand crafted   nzmade   peanut butter   peanuts   treat
Other listings you may be interested in:
Healthy Choice : Pepper SteakHealthy Choice : Pepper Steak
Rating: 8.9
Choc Fudge Brownies Choc Fudge Brownies 
Rating: 8.8
Meat Pie PizzaMeat Pie Pizza
Rating: 8.6
Big Bacon, Ham and Pineapple PizzaBig Bacon, Ham and Pineapple Pizza
Rating: 8.8
Chop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite MayoChop Chop! Chicken - Shredded with Lite Mayo
Rating: 7.3
M&Ms - CoconutM&Ms - Coconut
Rating: 7.0
GoBake FlavacolGoBake Flavacol
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - Premium WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Premium White
Rating: 9.6
Maketu Chilli Beef RollMaketu Chilli Beef Roll
Rating: 8.4
Much Moore Premium Awesome Limonata Cheesecake Ice CreamMuch Moore Premium Awesome Limonata Cheesecake Ice Cream
Rating: 8.5
ViBERi New Zealand Organic Blackcurrant PowderViBERi New Zealand Organic Blackcurrant Powder
Rating: 9.5
Innestyle Sauce - Double GarlicInnestyle Sauce - Double Garlic
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of bamberla

Review by: bamberla (Amber)
Dated: 14th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

So being pregnant and having cravings for not only chocolate but peanut butter as well.... these little delights just jumped out at me as being something worth trying! I was not disappointed! I have never been a dark chocolate fan, so the dark chocolate mix was put to one side once they arrived and the milk chocolate was opened straight away. Well within a few minutes I had consumed about 5 of of those little delights! It was the perfect blend of smooth, creamy, chocolate and peanuts!

I realised I still had the other packet to try so opened those with a little apprehension as like I said I'm not a big dark chocolate fan.... Well I couldn't have been more wrong! The dark chocolate actually seemed to complement the peanut butter even more then the milk chocolate. It gave it a new dimension.

I found that the dark chocolate gave the peanut butter a deeper richness that was enjoyable and yet seemed to satisfy the taste buds with only a couple of pieces. I was happy to eat one or two and then put them away again. Yet with the milk chocolate blend I wanted to eat 4-5 before I realised it was actually starting to make me feel a little sickly from the sweetness. Both very enjoyable in their own way.

A delicious treat that I have already shared among my friends, not that their was many left to share by the time they came around to visit.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 7th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As soon as I saw these goodies up for review I was interested to see what all the "magic" was about! I love chocolate (I'm quite possibly addicted) and was not let down by the amazing taste of these morsels of goodness. A treat the whole family enjoyed I would definitely buy these again!

When these arrived in the post I was intrigued by the presentation - cellophane bags meant you could see the contents straight away. I like this in any type of food I buy - it means you can actually see the goods you are buying. Each bag was tied with a different coloured ribbon and attached was a label with all the nutritional information needed. Simple but effective! It amazed me that every single square of chocolate was the same size - really impressive for a handmade product I thought.

I'm not new to chocolate mixed with peanut and its a flavour I quite enjoy so was excited that the taste of these was so creamy and in the right portion or ratio of peanut taste and chocolate taste if you get what I mean. The chocolate was really creamy and definitely a melt in your mouth sensation. Both my husband and I couldn't stop at just one little square each and tried quite a few of each the milk and dark chocolate. We both liked both the milk and dark peanut marble just about equally but in the end milk chocolate won (by a fraction) as it seemed to have a better balance.

I also tried out the peanut marble in baking - I made chocolate cupcakes with butter cream icing (flavoured with peanut butter). Quarter of the cupcakes had a dark chocolate piece of peanut marble in the middle, another quarter had milk chocolate peanut marble and the other half were plain inside but I put milk or dark chocolate on top with the icing. These were quite simply the best chocolate peanut butter cupcakes I have ever made! The chocolate really added to the cupcakes and I wish I had hidden more pieces inside each cupcake. I loved the way the chocolate square didn't just disappear/melt into the cupcake mixture and was still there when it came to eating them. So yummy!

It would be great to see this product in other cafe's around the country apart from just Hamilton but I would definitely buy if we are ever passing through! I would also ring to buy but feel I would need to order quite a few to make it worthwhile - maybe everyone will be getting hampers for Christmas this year with a bag of these chocolates included!! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 6th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I had actually read some of the reviews about this and my mouth was watering before it even got here. Opening the package up I was so tempted to rip it open and taste one right there and then but had 2 little watch dogs following me around so could not open without being caught.

We agreed that instead of having pudding, we would each trial one piece - to be honest I am not a peanut butter fan so was a little apprehensive but I need not have been, it was fantastic. I had left it on the bench so was rather soft, after each of us trialling one of each kind I put them in the fridge so would harden a bit.

My original plan was to make cupcakes as had seen another member do this but after tasting them I thought could not possibly use them like that so instead they are hidden in the fridge where little hands can not reach.

The best thing about these is the fact they are so rich you just could not eat more that one square at a time. Which is fantastic if you are trying to loose weight. Usually when there is chocolate in the house I can eat a whole row without even thinking about it and want more but I find with the Peanut Marble I eat the little square slowly and savour each nibble and I do not want to have any more. Partly also because I do not want it to end.

They look delicious and taste just as great. Highly recommend as a delicious treat.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was super excited to be contacted by KIWIreviews and be told I had been selected to try out the Peanut marble chocolate treats. I was even more excited when my package arrived and there was not one, but two different ones to try. I thought that if we were selected we were being sent one lot to try. From the moment I found out I was going to be receiving them, I had already decided that depending on the amount sent I would be making cookies and cupcakes, and was waiting in anticipation for their arrival.

Upon receiving my package and finding there was either milk or dark chocolate to play with, I just add to get my bake on right there and then. But before doing that, I had to taste test first. One can not properly review an item, without first tasting it as it sits! Unfortunately, this was going to be my down-fall. It was this review taste-testing that knocked my plans right out of whack. Was this a good thing? Who knows? Did I end up with anything to show my family at the end of the day...ummmm business cards Smile Icon

Ya see these two beautifully presented, gorgeously crafted, and simply tasty treats never made it near in cookie dough or cupcake mix. One little taste-test turned into one very massive, guilty, stuff my mouth with lots of yummy peanut chocolate goodness. I did not mean to do it, I honestly wanted to bake with this delightful chocolate. But seriously, I just tried one, a milk one, and then I tried another, a dark choc one...they are the perfect mouthful, and the perfect blend of chocolate and peanut ya know. So I decided I would make a coffee, and then get that bake on.

During the coffee making process, I 'accidentally' (if you will) ate several more little squares of heaven. Now at this point, I made myself feel better by reminding myself it was lunch time Smile Icon However by the time I had finished my cup of coffee, I had also consumed all but 5 of those cute and delightful little squares Sad Icon I am not sad that I consumed them though, I am sad that I never got to bake with them. However all guilty feelings aside - my family, at least did get to try them, and for me to sit and eat ALL of that without realizing, just goes to show...these little square of yum, have got it made!! What a wonderful gift idea, and a wonderful 'buy these for Tess' idea too....Well done on a fantastic product!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 6th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After getting a quick taste of these at the recent Waikato Italian Festival, I knew I had to get some for review. Spreading the word about this amazing confection was just... well, just something I felt I had to do. So... a few emails to and fro, and we had a stack of samples to go out to some lucky, lucky people. Myself included. Wink Icon

Eating these straight out of the delightful cello baggies is all to easy to contemplate, and even easier to do. But with a show of self-control that was a lot tougher than I thought it would be - this stuff is just so MORE'ISH! - I managed to eat no more than one little 'tile' of each variety per day. Even so, the idea of saving a handful to use in baking was almost more than I could bear. To my own amazement, I managed it, and chopped them up roughly to use in place of regular choc-chips in some feijoa muffins.

"Ummm... peanut butter in feijoa muffins?!" was the first reaction I got when I floated the idea past my test subjects - aka my family - but I pointed out that peanut butter and feijoa isn't actually all that silly a combination. After all, chocolate goes with both of those quite happily, making it a likely 'bridge' between the two. So, still with some doubts - internal and external - I went ahead. I want to point out though that my abilities in the "baked goods" department seems to have fallen off sharply in the last few years, so I was actually far more concerned by the muffins than the flavours.

The end result, while still not as good as I think they could have been, were still more than acceptable to everyone who got a taste. A little dry, but full of flavour. Fresh from the oven, cut in half with some French vanilla ice-cream, they were a lovely treat for dessert. (Especially when I drizzled a little of the Lothlorien Feijoa Liqueur I have had stashed away for "special foodie projects" over the muffin to enhance the feijoa flavour and moisten it up a bit.) We would be chewing away on a mouthful of feijoa goodness, and suddenly the Peanut Marble would leap to the fore, and the flavour was beyond describing. Words fail me in the light of such tastiness!

Overall, all I can say is that if you have not tried this amazing delectation, your collection of "amazing flavours" is not yet complete.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 5th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When I first saw this come up for review at KIWIreviews I didn't really jump at it at first cause well its not something I would of thought would actually work that well to taste good so I kinda passed on it. After reading people on facebook about Peanut Marble, I checked with KIWIreviews to see if they had some that needed a home and lucky for me there was some I could taste.

It arrived in good timing and in nice little cello bags with a ribbon wrapped around the top with a label on it so you knew which was dark or milk chocolate. The tag is very simple gives the simple things like what it is the nutrition information is on the back and the bonus for our family is its Gluten Free which makes a great little treat for my kiddies (mainly the 5 year old).

My 4 year says "its yummy", My 5 year old says "its good" which means its a good seal of approval from them. The husband I asked if he wanted some and he automatically said what is it, I told him its chocolate so try it, and he did. He didn't think it tasted like anything other than chocolate until I told him their was peanuts it in and then he goes oo yea I thought I tasted that. Yea okay.

Well I have tried the milk and dark and I have to say I like the milk better as I'm not a dark chocolate fan but will eat it. I can taste the nutty peanut butter flavor though the pieces of chocolate as well and whichever chocolate it is, milk or dark. The pieces are so cute and none look the same they are just crafted so perfect. As for the price though, we are on a budget so would be only for special times like a birthday or something.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 2nd of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

First, I must say, I am a huge chocolate fan so when I saw the Peanut Marble come up for allocation I was really hoping I'd get some to trial. When I found out I was getting some I was ecstatic!

It arrived in perfect condition packaged in a box thanks to KIWIreviews. The peanut marble was separated into two clear cello bags with different coloured ribbons, one for milk chocolate and one for dark chocolate. This presentation was very pleasing to the eye as you could see exactly what you were getting and the chocolate itself has such a pretty marble design that it should be shown off.

I just couldn't help myself, as soon as I opened it I HAD to get one piece out of each bag and try it... I had good intentions, I was only going to try one of each but I couldn't stop myself and ended up eating almost half a bag of each. I tried the milk chocolate flavour first, it was nice and sweet with a soft creamy texture, it had a faint trace of nuts but nothing overpowering. The dark chocolate had more of a bitter taste but still had the faint peanut texture to it.

When my husband got home I allowed him to try some and he immediately wanted more. I put it in it the fridge overnight to see how it would taste when cold and in my opinion I think it was better, the coldness enhanced all the flavours. I had to sneak it past my husband but I managed to bring some into work the next day for my colleagues to try, one in particular is known for his love of chocolate, his response was "Well that's a bit of alright isn't it". Everyone wanted more and was disappointed when it was all gone.

I think this chocolate is great and would make a great addition to a gift hamper. The only downside is that it is hard to get if you don't live in Hamilton. I live in Auckland and would love to see it in some shops up here.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 29th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I saw these goodies go up on the site for reviewers, I got my name in the hat really quickly. I love chocolate mixed with peanut butter. It is just something I adore. When I got the packs, I was really blown away by the presentation. They are so cute in their see-through cello-bags. Each flavour has a branded card and a coloured ribbon. The ribbon colours are jewel-toned and matched with these good looking and delicious morsels, I was impressed. These would definitely look great in a gift hamper.

I got home and got one child into bed, then opened the packs. I had one of each flavour. The dark chocolate was slightly bitter, but with that chocolate taste and the peanut butter that was all melty. The texture is smooth with a bit of crunch. The milk chocolate is much sweeter and there is no bitterness. I honestly wasn't sure which one I liked the most. Every time I switched up the flavour I was eating, I liked it. I gave some to my eldest, who took a bit of each and declared them yuck. She has recently decided that peanut butter is not her favourite.

In the morning I left for work with a handful of each flavour in a pack. As I was handing out samples at work and getting all sorts of positive comments, apparently my youngest found the half eaten morsels of her sister's and delighted in them. Even begging for more! My work mates loved this combo and asked for more details on where to purchase. For the most part people seemed to enjoy the dark more than the milk, but I think it's great to have the choice. I think the dark is probably a more grown up flavour. One guy was so delighted he said it was the best thing he had ever tasted all bittery and peanut buttery.

Recently I was making cookies and I wondered what it would be like with some of this Peanut Marble mixed in as chips. I had to fight my toddler because she was losing it over my withholding pieces of her new favourite treat. Eventually after bribing her with some of her own, I was able to bake these soft, chewy and delicious cookies. The Peanut Marble chunks were perfect as well. I handed the toddler a cookie and she went and hid with it. When I found her, she had all the pieces of cookie crumbled on the floor, and she had picked out all the best bits.

Well done Peanut Marble! A great product and one I will surely invest in again. Though I still don't know what flavour I like the best!

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 25th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I first tried this marble at a food show in the Hamilton Gardens, and it was divine, nutty and creamy at the same time. I found the marble to be even better when refrigerated, as it allowed the flavour to become more apparent. Out of the two flavours, I found the milk chocolate one to be the best, and ended up gobbling down the whole batch pretty quickly. The milk chocolate had a very interesting flavour, with proper refrigeration the subtle flavours became more pronounced, and once I got the full flavour, there was no going back and the bag was gone before you could say "Yum".

The dark chocolate flavour wasn't as good, I have always found dark chocolate to be a bit too bitter for my taste preferences. This is not to say, I didn't like it, I'm just sating that in relative terms the dark chocolate was less appealing. I think that this flavour would be best for baking and experimentation, as dark chocolate is used quite often in baking, I wouldn't know because I didn't leave myself any to experiment with. Oops. Smile Icon One idea I did have, though, was to grate the marble with a zesting grater and sprinkle it on top of cake and Ice-cream.

The peanut butter in the marble was delightful, it had plenty of flavour, but there is no conclusive evidence as to whether or not homemade or store-bought peanut butter was used. However, the ingredients on the tag would suggest that the peanut butter was homemade, but there is also no contrary evidence. Either way, it was very delectable. I think the pricing for each item, i.e milk chocolate 150g, dark chocolate 200g, dark chocolate slab etc, respectively hold good price-to-value ratios.

It's just a shame that there is no easy way to get these items, as they can only be ordered, or bought from several fancy-sounding cafes who have probably blown the prices out of proportion for increased profit, otherwise I would be heading over to the local Pak 'n Save to buy a few bags! Sad Icon To sum up my whole opinion, I believe that this is a product worthy of it's reputation, and hope to come across them again sometime!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 23rd of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love chocolate so when KIWIreviews offered some hand-crafted chocolate I put my hand up and knew that my diet would be on hold for a couple of days. As soon as I saw the Peanut Marble I had to try it. it was so appealing with it's creamy base layer and marbled swirls of chocolate on the top. The clear cellophane bag meant I could see the contents and it looked good. Each piece was exactly the same size square and not a single piece in either bag was broken thanks to all the bubble wrap that surrounded the bags. They were tied up with a simple ribbon and a tag which had all the nutritional information on one side and a simple label on the front. The ribbon was very handy as I was able to take a piece out for each of us and simply tie it up again.

The first time we (my husband, Miss 5.5 and Miss 4 along with myself) tried it we all loved it. As it had just arrived it was at room temperate and had the consistency of fudge. It was so creamy and was like chocolate peanut butter. There are little pieces of peanut in it which just added to the texture. I was content with the single piece. It really hit the spot. That is not to say I haven't eaten it buy the handful a few times over the last few days.

I can't say which variety I loved the best. Both were equally popular with our household. The dark had a slightly bitter taste which was to be expected and the milk chocolate was creamier but they were both irresistible.

I used both the dark and milk chocolate varieties in some mini cupcakes. The piece that was baked inside the cupcake maintained it's shape and was a lovely treat. I also added a piece on the top. They made the cupcakes look and taste divine. These cupcakes have been very popular with the kids this weekend. I found the pieces were quite easy to cut neatly with a sharp knife which made it great for garnishing.

I believe Peanut Marble is great value for money and would be great in a gift hamper or to share with friends after dinner with a coffee or hot chocolate. I am so pleased to have found a lovely locally made chocolate and will be buying some more of this delicious treat.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 2579: Oven Baked Sandwich: TSB -  Produced by Domino's Pizza

Product image for Oven Baked Sandwich: TSBThe TSB - aka Tomato, Spinach and bacon.

Shredded bacon rasher, baby spinach, fresh tomato slices and mozzarella cheese, oven-baked into fresh Ciabatta bread.

It's like no sandwish or burger you've ever tasted!

Available from 11:00am to 4:00pm daily

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"There's more to a person than the things they have done"
from 'Eastenders' TV show.

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream