Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 25th June 2018 - 04:16:32

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Vogel's Cranberry & Blackcurrant Clusters review

« Vogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and Linseed reviewVogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and LinseedWOMAD 2014 reviewWOMAD 2014 »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.4/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5292 - Vogel's Cranberry & Blackcurrant Clusters
Produced by Vogel's

Vogel's Cranberry & Blackcurrant Clusters
Price:
$6.79
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Vogels

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
At supermarkets

Vogel's Cranberry & Blackcurrant Clusters product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsVOGEL'S Cranberry & Blackcurrant Clusters is a delicious blend of crunchy, bubbly clusters and crisp flakes of corn and rice infused with the juicy goodness of blackcurrants.

Tangy cranberries, multigrain flakes and oven toasted oats are added for a flavoursome and nutritious breakfast that will fill you full of life and energy, ready to take on the day.

Cereals (70%) (Wholegrain 54%) (Oats, Corn, Rice, Barley, Wheat), Sugar, Fruit (Dried Sweetened Cranberries (5%) (Cranberries, Sugar, Sunflower Oil), Coconut (Preservative (223))), Rice Bran Oil, Golden Syrup, Brown Sugar, Glucose (Preservative (223)), Fructose, Potato Starch, Natural Flavours, Blackcurrant Juice Concentrate (0.5%), Salt, Barley Malt Extract, Raising Agent (500), Emulsifier (471), Acid (Citric), Vitamins (Vitamin E, Niacin, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Folate), Minerals (Iron, Calcium Carbonate).

Check out Vogels onlineClick here to see all the listings for Vogels Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
blackcurrants   breakfast   cereal   corn   cranberry   energy   healthy   muesli   nutritious   nz made   nzmade   rice
Other listings you may be interested in:
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Indian Spice RubSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Indian Spice Rub
Rating: 9.3
Sport BeansSport Beans
Rating: 8.3
Vogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and LinseedVogel's All Good : Almond, Cashew and Linseed
Rating: 9.4
Original Muesli - Vanilla CashewOriginal Muesli - Vanilla Cashew
Rating: 9.1
Oxford Butter Chicken pieOxford Butter Chicken pie
Rating: 9.2
Eat Asian : Eat ItEat Asian : Eat It
Rating: 6.5
Harraways Oat Singles VarietyHarraways Oat Singles Variety
Rating: 8.9
Original Muesli - Natural ApricotOriginal Muesli - Natural Apricot
Rating: 8.8
Mexican Crispy Chicken Seasoning 35gMexican Crispy Chicken Seasoning 35g
Rating: 8.7
Chicken CarbonaraChicken Carbonara
Rating: 8.4
Kaweka - Vegetable TagineKaweka - Vegetable Tagine
Rating: 8.5
Sooshi Ice CreamSooshi Ice Cream
Rating: 7.4
Ass Kickin' Original Hot SauceAss Kickin' Original Hot Sauce
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 17th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

Now I love a cereal in the morning and I normally have something quick like oats or fruit for breakfast as that is quick and easy and I can have it at work. When this was put our for review I thought that would be good to try. Cranberry and Blackberry why not sounds like they mix sounds good so once it arrived I gave it a quick test, eating it dry I didn't like to be honest it tasted weird, I can't even write my taste in words.

The dry berries on the other hand were pretty good, once I added milk this was a good cereal to eat I actually enjoy the real fruit taste with the muesli and it goes really well with frozen fruits that have be defrosted with yoghurt which taste really good and is a great snack when in class while at uni, makes a healthy breakfast aswell.

Sadly the price would put me off actually buying it in the shops as that is the price I pay for my daughters Gluten Free cereal, so if it was on special about $4ish I would consider buying it for myself. And have it in the cupboard for my yoghurt snacks

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 4th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

I'm not usually a fan of muesli but thanks to KIWIreviews I get out of my comfort zone and sometimes find something worthwhile.

Now, when I see cereal stating that it has clusters in it my attention is grabbed right away, fond memories of being in America and having eaten really nice muesli clusters there I am always on the look out for something that has delicious clusters in it. Whilst there weren't as many as I had hoped for there were still some nice ones (and one burnt tasting one, yuck). I was making some mini muffins for the kids morning teas and thought that I would sprinkle some of the muesli on top. It did great in the oven and worked with the muffins perfectly, the kids didn't want to stop eating them.

Now, I really don't usually have muesli at home as I don't generally like it and have never found one that didn't go soggy almost instantly, these didn't. The bits of fruit in it were nice, the perfect amount and the pieces weren't horribly chewy, a great change from the ones I have eaten. Both my husband and I really enjoyed this and so much so in fact that there was nothing left to experiment with at all. The only thing that is stopping me from buying this right away is the cost as we would go through it too quickly.

Loved it, would buy it again, but will have to be on special.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 31st of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I jumped at the chance to review Vogel's cereal and am so glad I got the opportunity! Cranberry and Blackcurrant - although they are both flavours I like - I probably wouldn't have picked this off the shelf myself for a breakfast cereal. Probably more for the fact I would have chosen something along the lines of Vogel's other flavours like the vanilla and almond. I tell you what though after reviewing this flavour I will definitely be buying it again!! It really is just so yummy. I think it is quite possible that I am actually addicted to this cereal!

Trying to be healthier and manage my weight after having a baby late last year means I have turned to cereal for my lunch every day - usually mixed with fresh fruit and natural yoghurt. When I first saw inside the packet and noticed the colour of the clusters (Purple) I was a bit worried about what had been added to make it look that way. However after closer inspection of the ingredients and my husbands help (I'm not the greatest at reading labels) I felt assured it wasn't too bad for me.

Vogel's cranberry and blackcurrant clusters are totally delicious!! Yum, just writing this makes me want to go eat some more lol they are actually just that good. Full of flavour and you can actually taste the cranberry and the blackcurrant, this mixed perfectly with natural yoghurt and banana for my lunch! They have just the right amount of crunch in the clusters and are like a cornflake cereal but at the same time like a muesli - a mix of perfection. Both the flavours blend together perfectly and combine to create a overall great flavour but like I said earlier you can still taste each individual flavour too. A bit of a hard concept to explain - you might just have to try it to believe it! Smile Icon

I also made some biscuits with this cereal and just made it up from a basic biscuit recipe - they were nice but could have been nicer if I had used a better recipe. I also made an afghan slice and this was amazing! Chocolate and berries really do go together and this was no exception - in fact I would buy this cereal again just to make the slice! I loved that I knew what was in the slice rather than something I had brought from the supermarket and had no idea about. I also felt that it was a lot healthier, knowing I had used a cereal in the mix and it was so yummy I could even confidently leave the icing off too!

I really do love this cereal and would recommend to others as it scores a ten out of ten from me! My only down part (which is slightly reflected in my review score) is the price as it is definitely on the higher side and I hate paying this much for cereal! I'll be honest and say I will when its on special because the taste is worth it. Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 21st of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Oh my goodness me...I am in love!! I love cranberry, and have been a fan for a long time, due to it being a super food. So when I was given the opportunity to try out Vogel's cranberry and blackcurrant clusters, I was really excited. The package arrived in the afternoon, and I was unable to wait until the morning to try it as a cereal. I am so glad I did not wait, because what I found out was: Vogel's cranberry and blackcurrant clusters are absolutely delicious.

I did not first try them with milk, I just tried a small handful to see what it tasted like, and that small handful turned in to 2 or maybe it was 3 more handfuls. And this was when I realized that if I was to add some chocolate and (if desired) some peanuts, this would make a really great scroggin mix, or snake mix for the kids lunch boxes. And that is exactly what I did the next day in their lunches. We also used it to make our own muesli bars, as we have made our own muesli bars with Vogel's cereal before, and the bars are super delicious (I forgot to take a photo this time Sad Icon which was a bummer).

The following morning I tried the cereal for breakfast. If I must be completely honest, I actually prefer it straight from the box dry, as it is. It is nice as a cereal too, but I just really like it the way it is haha Smile Icon I love how the flavours all combine and interact with each other, giving the perfect blend, and best of all it is not to sweet. Which to be honest, being able to tip some into a bag and take it with me, is perfect for me, as I am often to busy in the mornings to actually complete breakfast (usually just having a coffee) before I am heading out the door.

I also love that the box has that little window in the front, that lets you see the cereal mix, and to see how full the box is. The price is a little more than I wold love to be paying, but it is a price I wold pay once in a while, because I do like it that much. The little window allows you to see that you are getting your moneys worth too. Apart from the cost, which made me score slightly lower than I really would have liked to, the cereal itself gets a 10/10 from me.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 19th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I'm very fussy when it comes to breakfast cereals so was pleased when I got the chance to review the Vogel's Cranberry and Blackcurrant clusters. It meant I could try it without wasting my money if I didn't like it. Often others end up with new cereals I buy.

My favourite way to have cereal is with plain yoghurt and fresh berries. I found the Vogel's cranberry and blackcurrant clusters worked well with it. the flavour combination and texture was just perfect their was the right mix of crunch in the mix.

I also tried the cereal just by itself and it's one I can eat and enjoy without any extras. The clusters give a nice punch of flavour. I also really enjoyed all the different textures in it with the oats, clusters, cranberries and multigrain flakes. Vogel's seem to have gotten the mix just right to create a yummy, nutrition breakfast.

Since trying it I have found myself thinking of lots of different uses for it cos hey who said cereal is just for breakfast! I tried it as part of an apple crumble topping instead of the just plain oats like I normally used. It added a nice extra hit of flavour to the crumble. My next plan is to try biscuits with it!

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 19th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

When this arrived, I had to be sneaky again. I knew that if the mokopuna saw it before I had a chance to try it at least, I wouldn't get more than the crumbs at the bottom of the bag. I called upon the neighbour to act as decoy delivery point for me, and he was happy to oblige. Once the parcel turned up, he sent me a text and handed it to me over the back fence. I swear if there was anyone watching it would have looked like something off Miami Vice. Wink Icon

Once I had the box inside, my biggest concern was whether I was going to suffer for it with small sharp grains getting under my dentures and causing pain when I bit down to chew. I was very concerned, so I let the muesli soak in milk for a while longer than good cereal should, and I was glad of that. Not so much because it softened everything up nicely, which it did, but more because the flavour of the berries soaked into the milk and made it so full of rich cranberry and blackcurrant taste, it made every bite a wonderful thing to experience.

As much as I would have liked to have done something flash and fancy with this in the kitchen, my age and general state of health make it unpleasant to be standing for long, and I'm not good in the kitchen anyway. I asked a friend to join me for a bowlful the next day and she agreed it was one of the nicest cereals she's tried in years, so asked if she could cut a panel off the box so she could remember to buy some at her next shopping trip. I was happy to do that for her, and in return she has purchased another box for me. Such a darling, a real shame she's not interested in remarrying. Grin Icon

As far as muesli goes, this is now one of my preferred. I think the price makes it reasonable, but it is still a little tough to find the money every week so it will become my special-treat breakfast. As long as I can keep it hidden from the mokopuna. I think I may save an empty box from my usual "old mans bran" as they call it, and hide the bag of this in that box. The youngsters never seem to want to eat that stuff - they say it tastes like shredded cardboard - so it may survive their predations. I hope so, because if I catch them eating it I'll take the turou to their cheeky nono!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.0
Product reviews for listing 4609: Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea Salt -  Brand / Manufactured by: Proper Crisps

Product image for Proper Crisps - Marlborough Sea SaltAre you tired of settling for over-processed, artificially-flavored potato chips, and believe that crisps can actually be "real food"? So do we.

Our crisps are made in the traditional way, using only natural ingredients... we're proud of that and want to keep it that way.

The classic basic ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why does your Obstetrician or Gynaecologist leave the room when you get undressed if they are going to look up there anyway?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream