Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd October 2017 - 17:26:36

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Carbonated Drinks > Pete's Natural - Lime-o-nade review

« I, Robot: To Obey reviewI, Robot: To ObeyAlien reviewAlien »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 8.4/10  [12 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 5178 - Pete's Natural - Lime-o-nade
Brewed/Bottled by Pete's Natural

Pete's Natural - Lime-o-nade
Price:
$14 per 4-pack
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pete

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

Pete's Natural - Lime-o-nade product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsPete's Natural Lime-O-nade is made in New Zealand from lightly carbonated water, freshly squeezed New Zealand lime juice, freshly squeezed New Zealand lemon juice, organic fair trade raw sugar, white vinegar, and fresh grown New Zealand mint.

Check out Pete's Natural onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pete's Natural Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
beverage   lemon   lime   local   locally produced   mint   natural   natural ingredients   nzmade   petes   sparkling
Other listings you may be interested in:
Body Right Peach & PineappleBody Right Peach & Pineapple
Rating: 9.1
Nectarine White TeaNectarine White Tea
Rating: 8.5
Pete's Natural - Ginger BeerPete's Natural - Ginger Beer
Rating: 7.6
McCashins 2007 Central Otago Pinot NoirMcCashins 2007 Central Otago Pinot Noir
Rating: 8.0
Woodstock - Bourbon and ColaWoodstock - Bourbon and Cola
Rating: 8.7
Pete's Natural - Currant CrushPete's Natural - Currant Crush
Rating: 9.0
Pete's Natural - Orange Berry FusionPete's Natural - Orange Berry Fusion
Rating: 9.5
Pete's Natural - Feijoa LemonadePete's Natural - Feijoa Lemonade
Rating: 9.8
Pete's Natural - Lemon ChilliPete's Natural - Lemon Chilli
Rating: 8.8
Passionfruit Sparkling DrinkPassionfruit Sparkling Drink
Rating: 10.0
Anchor Triple Layer Lightproof Blue TopAnchor Triple Layer Lightproof Blue Top
Rating: 7.8
Pete's Natural - KolaPete's Natural - Kola
Rating: 9.5
Pete's Natural - LemonadePete's Natural - Lemonade
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 15th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.3/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 5 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I first came across the Pete's Natural drinks range at the Women's Lifestyle Expo in Christchurch last year. After trying a bottle of the lemonade I was hooked and one bottle wasn't enough! I purchased three 4-packs before I left the expo, one of those packs being the lime-o-nade.

Once returning home to Dunedin I popped my drinks in the fridge and waited for them to chill. I decided to try the lime-o-nade next as I am always a big fan of lime flavour items. I opened the bottle and the smell was amazing - a bit of lime, a bit of lemon followed up by a bit of mint. It was the mint that was a bit of a let down for me. I love citrus, but I don't love mint. I have never enjoyed mint and have usually steered away from products that contain mint (except funnily enough for mint sauces - but they are usually quite sweet and this drowns out the overly minty taste). With every mouthful I took I enjoyed the lime and the lemon but not the mint that followed at the end.

Upon looking at the beverage you can easily see all the lumpy bits inside. This might put some people off, but to me it shows that this product is made from real fruit and natural ingredients. With many of us weary of the products we are consuming these days it is great to see a product that is clearly labelled and uses only natural ingredients.

I would definitely recommend Pete's Natural products to anyone, but I definitely prefer the lemonade over the lime-o-nade. I would love to find somewhere local to be able to purchase these products because as much as I enjoyed them, I haven't been able to find them locally. I understand you can order online but I am always skeptical when it comes to shipping glass bottles with carbonated liquids!

Click here to read the profile of jojodover

Review by: jojodover (Joanne)
Dated: 26th of January, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

I first tried Pete's Lime-o-nade at a food show ( just a small sample) and decided that I liked the refreshing taste, but struggled to find it in my local stores, I really would have liked to be able to get it at our local garage or supermarket . But never fear....my local cafe stocks it and I have now been able to tap a supply. I am aware that it can be purchased online , but this is an option I don't normally do, as I do not have PayPal.

We have found that , on a hot summers night , as a family we can all sit down and have a refreshing after dinner drink , the mint cleanses the palate, and makes you feel cool on a hot summers night . I like that there is a clear list of ingredients and (as we are all watching our weight) nutrition too. There just seems to be the right balance between tart and sweet , so as not to overpower you , and unlike a lot of carbonated drinks , you don't feel thirsty after drinking it.

If I had the choice of drinks for my children at a cafe , I would chose this over soft drinks , The only issue I have is that not all cafes stock it.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I love lemon and lime or bitter type drinks so was really excited about this but unfortunately this one just did not do it for me. I had already used another of the Petes range in toffee so decided I would treat myself to this one as its intended for: a drink. I thought it would be great over ice.

Pete's naturals range are made from all natural ingredients and have much less sugar than any other fizzys on the market. They come in simple clean natural looking bottles, with easy to pour and easy to open twist off caps. Like the other bottle I opened, when opened you hear the fizz quite clearly which is cool. This had a nice lemony smell to it to I noticed, and when giving a good ole sniff you could also smell the lime and hint of mint.

The other noticeable quality worth mentioning is that when you look at the contents before opening you can see that it is jam packed full of what I assume is the natural ingredients (the lemon, the lime etc) floating around in the bottle. I find this to be very impressive and nice to see.

These are all great qualities so it is sad that the flavour of the drink did not gel with me. I can not pin point exactly what it was that I didn't really like, just that it was not my cup of lime-o-nade :) I do think though that it would possibly make a very nice ice-block or jelly or perhaps even a sauce for cheesecake.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

When Pete's Natural Lime-o-nade arrived on my doorstep I was very excited because I love lime drinks so I knew I had to try it. This was the first ever drink I had tried from Pete's products and I was not disappointed.

It's well presented in a glass bottle with a picture of a lemon, lime and mint on it so right away I could see that those three ingredients were in it. I always like to know what is in what I'm drinking so I had a look at the ingredients list on the back and at the end of the list I found "Nothing More, Nothing Less, Only the Best" which I thought was quite a nice little saying for a natural product.

My initial thought after having a sip was that you could really taste the mint, I thought that it would have been a more mild taste of mint but it was actually quite strong. The mint taste definitely grew on me by the time I'd drunk half the bottle and I actually quite enjoyed the taste, there was the perfect mix of all ingredients to make a satisfying, thirst quenching drink.

The all natural ingredients really does make it a winner in my books because with all the other drinks on the market you can never tell what extras have been added but with Pete's Natural Lime-o-nade you can see exactly what it is and understand the ingredients list.

All it needs is a splash of white rum or vodka and it'd make an awesome cocktail!

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 27th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

This is the first product I have tried from the "Pete's Natural" range and it wont be the last. Pete's Natural Lime-O-Nade is to die for!

Lemon, Lime and Mint sounded like a nice combination that I was keen to try, it did not let me down, I thought the mint taste would be a little less subtle but it was lovely the way it is.

The settlement at the bottom did put me off a wee bit but there is a note on the label saying to tip the bottle to the side to mix which worked well and I didn't notice any "bits" in the drink. I love that the drink is all natural a great alternative to other drinks on the market and a great treat for yourself or the kids without wondering just what is in the drink. It is so delicious ice cold and easy to drink.

I put about half of the bottle into the slushie maker and tried it that way too, it was just as good! It would be a delicious drink on a hot summers day. I think it is the mint flavour that makes it a winner! I can not wait to try other drinks from the range!

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 9th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

Well I love lime anything so when I got hold of a petes natural lime-o-ade I was over the moon. Reading it is lemon, lime and mint all rolled into one this got my brain thinking about what it would taste like, smell like and more. First off the picture on the front is simple and pretty much tells you what it is even if you can't read you will work it out.

Opening it up at first was at room temp and it gave a slight fizz while opening. I gave it a smell and it was a mixed feeling on it, then tasted it I screwed up my face and wow wasnt too sure on it. So put it in the fridge for when a hot day arrived. Two days later a nice hot day and I felt like a refreshing drink. Opening up the bottle again gave out its fizz and bubbles once again.

This time I gave it a good sniff test and could def smell out lime and lemon but I couldn't make out the mint, think its a hidden flavour. While tasting it again the sour hit me again but once you get though that its good, I still can't taste mint though so not sure if its there or not. This is def a nice drink to have in the fridge for a hot day but sadly it doesnt fit in my budget so will look out for it in cafe's or when we are going out somewhere special kinda thing. It has a nice tangy taste, but not something I can just skull back.

It took me a while to drink the whole thing which would be good for a hot day, just relaxing and having a small drink with you. Its very nice and I would love to have it again but sadly out of my price range.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 28th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 6.3/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 4 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 6 out of 10

Lemon lime and mint, a delish sounding combo and I couldn't wait to give my bottle a try.

The first good thing about this, for me, is that this doesn't make me feel like gulping it down, so I was able to take my time with it, this would make it perfect for a hot day when you need to take a nice rest. I get a bit of dryness to the back of my throat after taking a sip but I am used to lemons having this effect on me. My husband shared this with me, he wouldn't buy this to drink, and I wouldn't (unless I had a lot of money to spare) but it is still a nice drink.

I will say that I can tell that this would be a great drink for a mixer, I know it would go great with vodka, and this is what I would use it for if I bought it again. I did save just 50mls of this as I wasn't sure what to do with it other than drink it of course, and I ended up mixing it with some icing sugar for icing on an apple and jam muffin for the kids lunch boxes and the kids really really liked it, gobbled up the whole thing. I also really like that this is natural and New Zealand made.

A nice drink, might be a while before I buy it but I would try it again in the future.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 22nd of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

I was excited to try this lime-o-nade as the last set of Pete's Natural drinks we had were tasty. Lime would be a flavour I tend to enjoy, but I also knew that this would not be a hugely sweet lime. Because Pete's Natural takes pride in being natural, the flavour was going to be tart and real as well.

When I got the bottle, I read on it Lemon, Lime and Mint. This is an excellent flavour combo. Opening it up, immediately made me think of Mojitos. I wanted to use this as a mixer, but I didn't have any tequila. So hat ruled that out. Still, it made a brilliant virgin mojito instead. The carbonation in this drink is light, which I enjoyed. I am not one for lots of bubbles as I find they hurt.

Ice cold in the bottle is definitely a great way to enjoy this drink, but I allowed myself 100ml of the bottle to have a play in the kitchen. Into a carrot cake mixture I replaced 100 ml of the water called for, with lime-o-nade. I found the cake fluffy and with a hint of mint to the flavour. The lime and lemon taste was mainly masked. However, I then made a quick buttercream with lime-o-nade as the flavouring to that. This was perfect, citrusy and minty. My children ate their icing very happily, but left the cake behind.

This would make a brilliant drink for a party where you aren't planning on drinking, but still want something a bit special. You could easily use this as a mixer as well of course. I would definitely purchase this one if I saw it in the shop on a hot day.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 21st of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Today is probably the hottest this summer. I have been sitting with a water bottle next to me but really I want to treat myself. Thankfully I have Pete's Natural's latest drink sitting in the fridge Lime-O-Ade. The name suggests lemon and lime but it also has a twist of mint added too. For a non-drinker like me it sounds like the perfect way to relax on a hot summer's day.

As I opened the bottle (which was a challenge with a chilled bottle and sweaty hands) there was a slight fizz sound but I could see the bubbles rise up the neck. The first sip was just what I needed, the tangy taste of lemon and lime with a little mint. The mint was probably more a smell than a taste. Although I am not sharing this drink with anyone I could safely say it is more to my taste than my kid's or husbands. Hopefully that means I there will be a bottle in the fridge for me next time.

I have tasted the other flavours of the Pete's Natural range and although I honestly enjoyed them this has to be my favourite. It reminds me of the drinks my mum or grandma would make for us as a treat in the heat. I love food and drinks that bring back great memories especially when I don't have to prepare them. All I had to do was open the bottle.

The price means that it is a treat rather than an everyday drink but compared to what you pay for a drink in a bar is much more affordable. Yes it is much more expensive than a can of Sprite or 7Up but you can taste the real fruit juice I this. It is the quality you are paying for. It is a drink I would just need one bottle of and would be great served with ice, in a sugar rimmed glass as I lay in a deck chair poolside. That is the sort of image this drink gives me but unfortunately I am sitting in hot lounge typing this on the computer. I can but dream.

I will be looking out for this drink in cafes as my sweet refreshing treat.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 15th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

As with all the Pete's Natural drinks I have tried this drink sure hits the spot! I loved the caution label on the bottle advising that extreme refreshment will occur as it is so true, I drunk this bottle and was left wishing I had more! We have about 5 big lime trees around the place and the same again in lemon's but I couldn't myself achieve such a great flavour drink as this and it's pre made so even better I can just open the fridge and grab it no effort required ;)

We don't really drink a lot of sweet or fizzy drinks in our house so it is always a treat when we do and it is nice to know with a drink like this that you are getting something relatively good for you, I mean all you have to do is read the label to realise there is not much to it at all, rather than a whole list of unknown ingredients. So yes there is a but of added sugar but imagine drinking a lemon lime drink with no sugar you'd probably end up with a pretty screwed up face lol. I can handle my kids getting a little bit of added sugar in the grand scheme of things if they are instead not getting added colours, flavours, and preservatives!

The best thing about this drink for me is that although it has a great flavour it is not too intense it does remind you of something perhaps your nana would of made when you were little and I do remember my nana stirring up big concentrated lemon cordials at the stove when I was young! You get all the sweetness and flavour of the citrus without feeling like your teeth are going to rot and fall out. The fizz level is perfect too and is the same as what I would create too if making my own drink with the soda stream. There's nothing worse to me than the embarassing belching I get when I drink a drink with a high level of carbonation!

I'll be honest I didn't share this bottle usually with review products I share with the family get their opinions too but with this my mind was made up with one sip and I wasn't going to share with anyone. Will definitely be buying it again and would love to see it stocked more readily at convenient locations like supermarkets and dairies sure beats some of the crap you see in those chillers.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 15th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

When I tried the other 3 drinks from this brand, I didn't think they would make another flavour, and after trying this new addition, I have to say that's it's one of the best! The other flavours lacked quite a lot of fizz, so it took me surprise when I found that this drink was actually quite fizzy, which was great! The amount of citrus in this drink was good, but it was the mint which made things interesting. I can't really explain the exact way the mint made the taste different, all I can say is that the taste was a bit confusing, but actually really nice!

The portion size is good, this isn't the kind of drink I would expect to see in 1 litre bottles, but it was obviously good enough not to last, I just couldn't resist guzzling the bottle down! I think the price is a bit off, judging by how much a bottle of drink this size usually costs, and the fact that the price is referring to a 4-pack, the price is still a bit over, so I'm afraid I can't bring myself to put a 10/10 on that aspect. Even though this product is meant to be used as a drink, this stuff could still be used in baking as an ingredient.

For example, I could have used this drink as part of a cheesecake, by using this to replace the lemonade. Also, if I'm making muffins, this stuff could be a flavouring to be put in the mixture, who says you can't use a drink for something else! If I see this drink again, I will be tempted to buy it, both for baking and also for use as a drink. To sum everything up, I would recommend this to other people who love citrus and want to experience a new flavour. Enjoy!

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 15th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 7 out of 10

Though this is a really top quality drink, I found it just a little too "quiet" for my tastes. I like lime drinks to have a bit of zing and zest to them, and while the lemon added a little of that, the mint surprisingly toned this right down too far for my particular preferences.

However, I can easily see how this would appeal to a large sector of the Kiwi marketplace who prefer softer, subtler flavours than my chilli-seared taste buds do. I could easily see this as a quick and easy base for a range of cocktails, including - I think - a surprisingly simple Mojito or a nice 'bulker' to an iced fruit tea. I can also see this working well as an iceblock for the kids too, while Summer lasts.

Because of dietary changes I am making, I didn't experiment with this in a cheesecake, but I think it would need something more to make it shine above the creme fraiche. I did find it went quite well as a lemon juice replacement in a recent Asian dish I tried, helping to keep the tanginess of the dish under control so that my family could enjoy it more... so it's not a rubbish drink by any means!

Overall, not for me... but then I am a little picky with my drinks so there's nothing surprising there. I still love the story and passion behind the drink, and the inclusion of pulp and natural lemon/lime fibre makes this an authentic drink everyone can respect.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.9
Product reviews for listing 5770: Plump Pheasant Plum Port -  Brewed / Bottled by Ruahine Ports

Product image for Plump Pheasant Plum PortA distinctive Black Doris Plum Port, rich and full-bodied with honey and almond characteristics.

Distilled using our own fruit wines with a Portuguese Copper Still.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"In all affairs it's a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted."
Bertrand Russell (1872 - 1970)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream