Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 26th June 2019 - 11:55:35

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Mexican Creations: Nachos review

« Wok Creations: Thai Green Curry Sauce reviewWok Creations: Thai Green Curry Sauce Curse of the Puppet Master reviewCurse of the Puppet Master »

Score: 9.1/10  [14 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5102 - Mexican Creations: Nachos
Produced by Watties

Mexican Creations: Nachos
Price:
$3.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Watties

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
supermarkets nationwide

Mexican Creations: Nachos product reviews

Create Nachos with real zing. Made from a base of juicy tomatoes, onions, spicy jalapeño peppers, and infused with Mexican inspired herbs & spices. Just add to cooked mince and beans to create the perfect spicy Mexicali topping for crunchy nachos or tacos.

Check out Watties onlineClick here to see all the listings for Watties Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
creations   herbs   juicy   meal solution   mexican   sauce   spicy
Other listings you may be interested in:
European Creations - Watties Chicken ChasseurEuropean Creations - Watties Chicken Chasseur
Rating: 7.2
Indian Creations: Tikka MasalaIndian Creations: Tikka Masala
Rating: 8.7
Wok Creations: Pad ThaiWok Creations: Pad Thai
Rating: 9.0
Loaf Mini-Bites - Explosive Ginger BitesLoaf Mini-Bites - Explosive Ginger Bites
Rating: 9.2
Italian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & BalsamicItalian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic
Rating: 9.4
Whisk Fudge SaucesWhisk Fudge Sauces
Rating: 9.3
Mexican Creations: BurritoMexican Creations: Burrito
Rating: 8.6
Pitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary SoupPitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary Soup
Rating: 9.7
European Creations - Watties Beef StroganoffEuropean Creations - Watties Beef Stroganoff
Rating: 8.5
The Best Balsamic Mint SauceThe Best Balsamic Mint Sauce
Rating: 9.5
Pork and Cabbage DumplingsPork and Cabbage Dumplings
Rating: 6.0
Italian Creations: Creamy Three CheesesItalian Creations: Creamy Three Cheeses
Rating: 8.6
Wok Creations: Thai Green Curry Sauce Wok Creations: Thai Green Curry Sauce 
Rating: 8.1
Kaweka - Vegetable KormaKaweka - Vegetable Korma
Rating: 8.6
Simon Gault Home Cuisine - Kiwi SeasoningSimon Gault Home Cuisine - Kiwi Seasoning
Rating: 8.1
Jukebox DinerJukebox Diner
Rating: 9.5
Italian Creations - Watties CarbonaraItalian Creations - Watties Carbonara
Rating: 7.7
Indian Creations: Butter ChickenIndian Creations: Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.9
European Creations: Beef BourguignonEuropean Creations: Beef Bourguignon
Rating: 8.4
Chunky Salsa Tomato and Capsicum SauceChunky Salsa Tomato and Capsicum Sauce
Rating: 9.8
Funky Chicken PizzaFunky Chicken Pizza
Rating: 8.5
Chicken Capri PizzaChicken Capri Pizza
Rating: 8.6
Mexican Creations: Chilli Con CarneMexican Creations: Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.9
Italian Creations: Tomato & Roasted GarlicItalian Creations: Tomato & Roasted Garlic
Rating: 9.5
Indian Creations: KormaIndian Creations: Korma
Rating: 9.2
Italian Creations - Watties Tomato and Basil PestoItalian Creations - Watties Tomato and Basil Pesto
Rating: 8.9

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of traciemaree

Review by: traciemaree (Tracie)
Dated: 12th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Yum yum yum another amazing watties product in the wok creations range. We are HUGE nacho lovers in our house so was really keen to give this simple nacho mix a try. What I liked about it was that everything was in one packet and all you needed to add was the main things, mince, onion and kidney beans. simple!

We opted not to put kidney beans in as we have one fussy toddler who doesn't like them. I chopped up the onions threw them in, browned the mince and threw through the nacho packet mix. As soon as I opened the packet the aroma of spices wafted out and made my mouth water. I left it to simmer and came back to it a short while later.

I served the mince with some corn chips, dollop of sour cream on the top, cut up avocado and sprinkle of cheese. I was blown away! This is the best nacho mix I have found in the supermarket. It was spicy but not blow your brains out spicy. The sour cream took a wee bit of spice out of it which was handy. I think next time I would probably add a table spoon of sour cream to the mix just to tone the spices down. But if you like hot and really spicy food it would be perfect without the addition of sour cream.

All in all another amazing simple, no fuss recipe. Well done Watties can't wait to try the rest of the range.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 1st of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was looking forward to trying this new Watties sauce. Nacho's is a regular meal in our house and I usually find my self preparing it in two parts as the kids do not like the chilli beans. The pack says you can add Kidney beans but I opted not to this time around. As soon as I opened the packet you could smell the spices which had a delicious aroma! This made me even more eager to taste it!

I served the nachos with Dorito's Salsa flavoured Corn Chips, grated cheese and sour cream. It was a great hit with myself, hubby and the kids. There wasn't one complaint. I was a bit concerned it may be a little spicy for my two year old but he finished his plate and had more of mine.

I liked that everything you needed was in one packet and therefore made it an even easier meal. This is something that (with supervision) Miss 8 who loves to cook for us could easily make and it would be hard for it to go wrong! The sauce is just the right thickness and was the perfect amount for the mince.

Next time I will try it with Kidney Beans. I think I will buy this in the future.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 28th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Nacho's are quite possibly my husbands favourite food so its fair to say I have eaten a fair amount of nacho's over the years. While I like the dish, I have to admit that I cannot make nacho's to save myself! Well at least I can't make it to my husbands high standards anyway. This dish has therefore become the a meal that my husband makes us for dinner, whenever he is on dinner duty. This is great, apart from time to time when I feel bad that I can't even cook my husband his favourite dinner! Cue Wattie's Mexican Creations and I admit to having my fingers crossed that it would turn out just the way he likes it. Having tried the other Wattie's creation meals I had high hopes and so kept the packet stashed away so I could prepare this dish as a surprise for my hubby after a busy week of work.

I was a bit nervous about making this meal for my husband so when I opened the packet and could smell the peppers this feeling only got worse. Something that comes down to individual tastes by all means but none the less I worried a little but carried on... Browning onion and mince before simmering, then serving with corn chips, grated cheese and sour cream. The standard and only acceptable way to eating nacho's in our house! I was glad that the directions on the packet didn't stray far from the "normal" nacho making ways. The sauce itself was thick and plenty of it to cover the mince but just the right amount so I wasn't left with watery over sauced meat which was great. Again, Wattie's didn't let me down and this was a very easy n simple meal to prepare, cook and serve.

When I served this up for dinner and we tried our first bite we were both impressed! I had not only made nachos for the first time in years but I had made a delicious nacho's comparable to my husbands own. If you knew my husband and his fussy nacho standards this speaks volumes in how great it tasted! The taste was very earthy, rich and full of flavour - tomato, peppers and the right blend of these. I kept saying to my husband I feel like I have eaten it before but couldn't quite put my finger on why it tasted so good. I now think its quite possible it tastes like the nacho's from our favourite cafe - Wattie's creations really is that good. Woohoo - this is definitely a win in my books and I felt rather proud of myself to have made my hubby his favourite dinner LOL Icon

I love the fact there is so much goodness included in this pack - 4 serves of vegetables per pack (and real vegetables you can actually SEE in the sauce) along with no added nasty extras (flavours, colours etc). This fact alone means I will reach for this sauce again in the future - trusting it has real ingredient's that I know is a healthier choice for me and my family. I have to say it, another great product from Wattie's! Fully recommend to others to try (even if you are an avid but picky on taste nacho eater like my husband) Wink Icon

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 24th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Now nachos is a normal dish in our house, we have it at least once a week cause its easy and yummy. I never use packets though. When I saw the watties creation for review I decided to try it. Even though its not Gluten Free I had to make another nacho for my daughter and we had the watties creations. The packet was easy to open but when I rip one side it didn't match to the other side which caused me to fight with the packet a little, not a major to be honest but I like my lids right off so they don't get in the way.

The instructions were easy enough to follow, mince, onion, kidney beans (optional), the watties sauce and then cheese and sour cream as optional as well. I changed out the kidney beans for baked beans cause that is what I have in the house, I added a little more mince than it asked for and 1.5 cans of the baked beans, and 1.5 onions. The smell was strong and smelt a little bit hot for my liking but I carried on cooking it.
Added the mince onto the corn chips and that still smelt good, added some sour cream and cheese and it tasted pretty good, I had some salsa corn chips with it. It was a good hot (spicy)taste and the flavour was good. My 4 year old son had two plate fulls (the same amount in the photo) my husband had a second helping aswell. I enjoyed it but could only do one helping actually couldn't even do that.

The price for this is good and it would be an awesome sauce to have handy if my daughter could have it aswell as making two meals isnt my cup of tea, but for a quick simple meal if the daughter goes away this would make it a lot easier, I would recommend this to friends and family looking for a nachos sauce as its packed with flavour.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 17th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I'm always bugging my wife to buy nacho chips so I can make nachos, but then I end up eating the chips before I even get around to making nachos, but when I got this sauce to review my wife made sure that nachos was for dinner on the same day that we bought the chips.

My first step was to fry some onion and garlic up, I then threw in a can of Sanitarium Casserole Mince (which is a vegetarian substitute and I have used it to great success for over seven years) and mixed well. I opted to stay close to the suggestion on the back as it is pretty close to how I usually prepare my nachos anyway. Adding in the sauce, I let it simmer, one plus about the vegetarian substitute was that I don't need to simmer for as long and so can stop as soon as it is as thick or thin as I like.

I dished up two large servings, two small servings and one itty bitty tiny serving, popped some sour cream on top (a must for us) and then some grated cheese on top as well. The kids needed more sour cream to minimise the heat but happily ate it all, my wife and I both enjoyed the overall taste and found there to be a nice touch of heat to the meal, I could easily buy this again.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 16th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After trying the Chilli Con Carne flavour of the Watties Creations range, I was left feeling less than impressed, but I gave the Nachos a go nevertheless. I disliked the quantity of tomatoes in the Chilli Con Carne mix, but it features less prominently in the Nachos.

The flavour mix is much more enjoyable, and the heat level is only mild, which makes it agreeable to all ages. My only issue with this meal was that I had trouble eating it, but that was purely my fault. I chose a cheap brand of corn chips. I would recommend getting the circular style of corn chips (Aztec would be best) otherwise you will be left with broken chips, that wont hold any of the delicious foods.

But I was very much impressed with dish, as the flavours of the mince, sauce, cheese, sour cream, and corn chips complemented each other, each addition improving the overall taste of the meal. Unfortunately it was too tasty for me and in the end, only made two servings; because I just kept on eating it.

My favourite dish of the Mexican Creations range, so far, and now I am excited to try the Burritos Creations flavour.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 27th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

After being sent some of the Watties Creations flavours to review a while ago I have been slowly making my way through tasting the other flavours. I haven't had the chance to try the nachos yet so was very excited to receive some to review. My husband is a big nachos fan so the second he saw the packet he requested them for dinner.

Like the other Watties creations the nachos are super quick and easy to whip together. its a matter of browning the meat and onion, add some kidney beans throw in the sauce and simmer. I'm not a fan of kidney beans so I threw a tin of baked beans in it instead. Within half and hour of getting home from work I have yummy fresh, tasty nachos ready to go. All with very little effort!

The flavour was amazing and unlike a lot of packet flavouring it wasn't full of additives. I personally found the sauce a little on the spicy side while my husband found it perfect. It was a problem that was easy solved though I simply took some out of the pot for me and stirred in a little sour cream which toned it down just enough to suit my taste buds. I can see the nacho sauce becoming a regular on my shopping list cos it went down well and there was even a little disagreement as to who was having the leftovers for lunch the next day.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 18th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Nachos usually have that milder taco flavour and I found this flavour to be quite earthy. Straight out of the packet onto fried mince and onions it was a generous covering for 1kg of meat. I was pleased to see it was not watery and so I did not have to boil it down and be left with more flavour less water. I made the meal with noodles and mince for the kids and both didn't like it but I can understand that because our kids are young and it is like I say, quite an earthy taste but they loved the noodles haha. I did also try the Italian Creations red wine flavour from this range and both kids loved that one though.
As for us adults it was a really nice taste and with some sour cream and guacamole and doritos it was very filling. Price wise it is in the sweet spot not in the $5 range and not in the $1 Wattie's tin range. It has more quality and depth of taste than the cheaper ones and packs a punch to reach up to the dearer ones.
Pro tip: Next day enjoyability is high up there also. The flavour comes through stronger and fuller. if you do have some leftover then enjoy it on toast the next day. We used to actually make this meal and deliberately leave it in the fridge to eat the next day.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 12th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Wattie's Mexican creations - Nachos is another awesome new product brought to you by the well known Wattie's brand. Just like it's burrito mix, the nacho one is also really tasty and is better then a lot of other competitors products, in my eyes that is.

Although it could be argued there isn't too much different between this one and the burrito mix as the flavours were similar in my mind, but not actually cooking both at the same time to compare flavours I could be a little bit wrong in that statement. But having them similar means you can use them for almost anything and that is a good selling point.

This one also comes in the new pouch type product that Wattie's seems to be bringing out a lot more these days instead of cans, and it is easy to open. As for taste, I think they managed to get this just right as the nachos I made were really tasty, nachos aren't a hard meal to make by any means but using this Wattie's product did really make it enjoyable.

I'd recommend it for anyone that likes Mexican flavoured meals and want to try something different to what is currently available. It would be easy to spice this up more if required and I think it will lend to a great base for meals.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 22nd of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Recently we were lucky enough to be selected to review a few Watties meal creations via KIWIreviews. I love when we get to review meal items, as it is often difficult finding time to create something tasty, exciting, and different, in today's busy society, and all to often, we resort to the tried and true easy meals of meat and three veg, or beans and eggs on toast. So when the box arrived from KIWIreviews, a quick family convo was had to decide on that evenings meal before dropping the kids at school...Nachos won.

So while the kids were at school, I read the Watties Mexicon Creations Nachos packet, to ensure we had everything we needed. The packet called for mince, beans, corn chips, cheese, onion and sour cream...all of which we already had *yay*. I do admit though, that we substituted the beans for baked beans. As much as my kids do love a good spicy feed, they are not huge lovers of many beans...but they do like baked beans. I also loved that the packet clearly states what is included in the sauce, so no real hidden surprises. If you did not have beans on hand I do not think it would matter. Sauces like these are fantastic added to whatever meat, without really worrying to much about adding anything extra if you do not like, or do not want to.

After school is always a very busy time for me, hubby has already headed off to work, the kids have homework, friends usually popping in, and after-school jobs, while I have exams or assignments to study for, and normal everyday responsibilities...it can be quite chaotic sometimes. This day was a day when the boys had to go do their after-school job, and on these days, I have to take them etc too, and we get home about 4.30pm. So meal times are often very chaotic too. But I was not feeling stressed about it, because I knew I had dinner sorted, and it was easy prep and not long to cook...I really love those moments.

So home we went, and instantly I set to it. I was really surprised at how thick the sauce was, and I do admit I was wondering if maybe it would end up being quite a dry meal once the meat and sauce had cooked for a time, but nope it seemed to be just fine. And its super easy; brown ya mince etc, add ya beans and sauce, simmer till cooked. Then line a baking dish with corn cheese, cover with mince, sprinkle with cheese then pop under grill for ten min, dollop some sour cream on and serve. Easy as pie!
I normally just cook some mince, add a pasta sauce (whatever is in the cupboard), then chuck it all together on a plate with some corn chips on the side, a sprinkle of cheese and a dollop sour cream. So I do admit I felt really fancy serving up my dish of Nachos to the table Smile Icon

Taste test: yup this one has a mild/med spice to it. Out of three children, two loved it, one was okay with it but thought it a bit spicy. I really enjoyed it, and was feeling pretty chuffed with myself about it too. Hubby (once home from work) re-heated his and said it was real good. So definitely a hit with our family, and not just for taste either, but for ease of preparation, a really good price and the fact that it tells you how to serve it up to make you look like a truly seasoned cook. Super impressed for sure.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 8th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

With our family of fussy eaters trying something new is always a risk. Nachos are always a favourite with us as the kids see it as eating chips for dinner. My husband is the one that usually cooks it and this involves browning mince adding whatever pasta sauce is in the house and serving it with corn chips.This means nachos is the same as bolognese but with chips instead of spaghetti. The kids tend to eat the corn chips and very little of the meat.

I was the one that cooked the nachos using the Wattie's creations simmer sauce. Due to the fussy eaters I didn't add onion or kidney beans (although if I had been making it just for me I would have). This meant it was just mince and the simmer sauce served on corn chips with grated cheese on top. This was so quick and easy especially as I chose not to put it under the grill. The speed was particularly useful for me as I was running late after chatting to my neighbour.

It is safe to say that the nachos were a big hit with us. My girls ate as much meat as they did corn chips. This surprised me especially given that the meat had a slight kick from the jalapeno peppers. Both my husband and I found the spice level great and the girls didn't comment about it (if one of them had complained about the heat they both would have refuse to eat any). There wasn't any left overs and my husband was hovering over the girls' plates waiting to eat whatever they left. He got very little from them and that was only because I gave them far too much.

It does cost a little more than a tin of pasta sauce but given the popularity in my household it is well worth it. Since it contains 90% vegetables and no added colours or preservatives I am happy for my family to eat it. After reading the list of ingredients I am happy to eat it myself with lean mince and only few corn chips and green vegetables as part of my diet.

I will be buying this sauce again and I think I have even convinced my penny pinching husband that it is well worth it (especially since he does the main grocery shop). Thank you Watties and KIWIreviews for introducing us to another great product.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 4th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As a family, we don't usually buy pre made sauces as we prefer to know exactly what is in our food. When the opportunity came up to review Watties Mexican Creations Nachos Simmer Sauce, I thought it was a good opportunity to see what it was like in comparison to our own version of nachos.

First I looked at the ingredients. I liked the fact that I could recognise nearly of the items in the list. Too often there are many different colours and numbers in the list of ingredients and things that I don't recognise as actual food. This sauce has no added colours and no preservatives. This made me happy and I also loved the fact that the vegetable content was 90%. A requirement for our family when preparing food is that we have a good supply of vegetables in the meal. Hidden ones are fantastic as they just add to the visible ones on the children's plates. I was a little worried about the fact that there were Jalapeño Peppers (3.3%) as I am not that keen on spicy food and my children are even less tolerant of spices than I am.

We prepared the mince with the sauce in accordance with the instructions on the back of the pack. I must also say that having the list of food that I need to add to the sauce was very handy as it was clear and easy to either check my pantry for the items we needed or to pop into the shops to pick up items such as the sour cream. We had the mince whipped up in record time and then it was time for the taste test to check that the children would eat it (otherwise Plan B of baked beans would have to kick in). I thought it was very tasty and enjoyed the flavour. I did note that there was a hint of spice evident. When our 23 month old daughter tried it, she responded with a big YUM. Excellent, it was looking good for none in the family resorting to baked beans. Our 4 year old was next and he loved it too. The spice was there but subtle enough for our delicate palates. The Mild/Med rating was a fair indication of what level of spice to expect.

The important addition of grated cheese completed the platter once it had been placed under the grill to melt away. The sour cream would have helped calm any spice for the children that did hit their tastebuds! The end product was a perfect meal that suited a range of tastes in our household. We decided that it was a good chance to have a shared platter rather than individual servings on our plates as it was easier to put under the grill. The children though that this was very novel. Not a sign of Plan B in sight.

In our family, we are not ones to follow a recipe and I couldn't see us following the exact instructions on a packet such as this for too long. I am sure, if we were to try it again, we would do our normal trick with adding lots of grated vegetables to such a meal.

For a quick meal, this is something that I would consider having in my pantry as it was very quick to prepare and perfect for those nights when we are caught short for time.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 3rd of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We were lucky enough to be offered some of these to review ... I say lucky because nachos is my 5 year old's all time favourite meal. And I like that you can hide lots of veges in nachos so it's all good with me too!

The packet provides most of what you need, and I did decide to put in the optional kidney beans. I also needed to put in 300-400g of mince (not much at all), and an onion. The list of what you need to get doesn't include the oil, but I needed this too. The list also mentions the cheese and chips for serving.

The packet states mild-medium as far as heat factor goes, so I had a can of baked beans on hand to help tone it down a bit as both my 5 year old and my husband are not big on spicy food - manly the hubby! I did end up adding the baked beans - as it also helped it go a bit further, so it will do the 3 of us for 2 meals which is always a bonus, especially for less than 400g of mince. (Note, the package suggests 4 servings, so as well as adding the extra ingredients, we will have to go much more sparingly on our second meal!)

Even with the spice factor toned down, my husband did note that it was bordering on too spicy for him - but like I say, he's not big on spicy food at all. He gave it the thumbs up though, so it can't have been too bad!

I like that the nacho mix is full of veges - 90% in fact, but of course most of this is tomatoes. It would be very easy to grate carrots or courgettes in if you wanted it to go even further.

You can cook this in the slow cooker, but to be honest it was so quick and easy to prepare after work, that I probably wouldn't use this option. You could also serve this in taco shells or wraps for variety.

Overall verdict - well my nacho loving 5 year old had 3 helpings, so that says a lot! It is quite a strong tomato taste (almost like tomato paste) without the extra baked beans added though. Price-wise it's probably not too far off the way we normally do nachos with mince, tomatoes, chillibeans and herbs and seasonings, so I might do it this way again, but it could go either way. I enjoyed the meal, but I wouldn't go out of my way to say I loved it more than other nachos I've had. However for ease of use, and simplicity, I'd certainly recommend this product.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 3rd of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Before I was even aware of the trial coming to KIWIreviews, I actually purchased this sauce myself. I'm a consumer at heart anyway, so when a new product appears in the supermarket I can not stop myself from adding it to my trolley. We were out of our normal taco spice pack so I thought "why not try this sauce!". It's not often you see something on the shelf in the Mexican range that is designed specifically for nachos either. We often go for taco or burrito spice or sauces.

I added this sauce to 500 grams of browned mince. When I opened the packet I was amazed by how much sauce there actually was. It seemed an awful lot for our frying pan and so I only added half the pack. I then cleaned up the bag, sealed it (with tape as this is not resealable) and refrigerated it. I have to say I'm glad I did as well! The flavour of this sauce has a powerful and very hot hit to it. I think if I had added the whole lot we might have burnt the little mouths in our house.

That said it was good and tomatoey as well. There were no complaints about the heat in dinner, though there was a lot of extra cheese and sour cream added to the top of our nachos meat mixture and nacho chips. This had great value for money because I was able to use it for another night of nachos. I even used if one night as a sauce to dip chicken nuggets into.

For our family, it's not a flavour we are likely to purchase again just because of the heat. That's the only reason I have marked it down there. But I know a lot of people who would absolutely love this because it's not mild. I can't wait to try the rest of the range.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.5
Product reviews for listing 1557: Americana pizza
Produced by Domino's Pizza

Product image for Americana pizzaSpecial tomato sauce, mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, capsicum, shredded cotto, fresh garlic, oregano.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Are there specially reserved parking spaces for 'fully-abled' people at the Special Olympics?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream