Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 12th November 2019 - 13:28:04

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sauces and Condiments > Italian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic review

« Italian Creations: Tomato & Roasted Garlic reviewItalian Creations: Tomato & Roasted GarlicItalian Creations: Creamy Three Cheeses reviewItalian Creations: Creamy Three Cheeses »

Score: 9.4/10  [12 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 5098 - Italian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic
Produced by Watties

Italian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic
Price:
$3.99
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Watties

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
supermarkets nationwide

Italian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic product reviews

Creating your own Italian style rustic dish is simple. It's all here, with rich crushed tomatoes and herbs with a good splash of red wine and Balsamic for bite. Add it to any Bolognese, meatball & pasta dish and turn it into a Tuscan classic. Bellisimo!

Check out Watties onlineClick here to see all the listings for Watties Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
balsamic   creations   dinner   dish   meal solution   pasta   sauce   watties   wine
Other listings you may be interested in:
Anathoth Farm Traditional Fruit MinceAnathoth Farm Traditional Fruit MinceIAM Super Food - Souper: Pulled Pork and JalapenosIAM Super Food - Souper: Pulled Pork and Jalapenos
Rating: 8.9
Mexican Creations: Chilli Con CarneMexican Creations: Chilli Con Carne
Rating: 8.9
Wok Creations: Pad ThaiWok Creations: Pad Thai
Rating: 9.0
Italian Creations: Tomato & Roasted GarlicItalian Creations: Tomato & Roasted Garlic
Rating: 9.5
Indian Creations: Butter ChickenIndian Creations: Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.9
Indian Creations: KormaIndian Creations: Korma
Rating: 9.2
European Creations - Watties Beef StroganoffEuropean Creations - Watties Beef Stroganoff
Rating: 8.5
Italian Creations - Watties CarbonaraItalian Creations - Watties Carbonara
Rating: 7.7
Italian Creations: Creamy Three CheesesItalian Creations: Creamy Three Cheeses
Rating: 8.6
Italian Creations - Watties Tomato and Basil PestoItalian Creations - Watties Tomato and Basil Pesto
Rating: 8.9
Pretzel Crisps - Honey Mustard and OnionPretzel Crisps - Honey Mustard and Onion
Rating: 9.3
Indian Creations: Tikka MasalaIndian Creations: Tikka Masala
Rating: 8.7
Pasta mia Gluten-free Fresh FettuccinePasta mia Gluten-free Fresh Fettuccine
Rating: 9.0
Verkerks Traditional Aged SalamiVerkerks Traditional Aged Salami
Rating: 10.0
Wok Creations: Thai Green Curry Sauce Wok Creations: Thai Green Curry Sauce 
Rating: 8.1
Cream Wafer Sandwich BiscuitsCream Wafer Sandwich Biscuits
Rating: 7.9
Pascall Pineapple LumpsPascall Pineapple Lumps
Rating: 10.0
European Creations - Watties Chicken ChasseurEuropean Creations - Watties Chicken Chasseur
Rating: 7.2
Great Day Mallow - Mint & ChocolateGreat Day Mallow - Mint & Chocolate
Rating: 9.6
Mexican Creations: NachosMexican Creations: Nachos
Rating: 9.1
European Creations: Beef BourguignonEuropean Creations: Beef Bourguignon
Rating: 8.4
Mexican Creations: BurritoMexican Creations: Burrito
Rating: 8.6
SP Herb Massaman Curry PasteSP Herb Massaman Curry Paste
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - WholemealFarrah's Wraps - Wholemeal
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 1st of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I needed a quick meal tonight so it was time to try out another Watties Creation meal - I've had hits and misses with these, but I'm a huge balsamic fan so was keen to try this one.

The picture on the front shows it served as pasta and meatballs, but this is only one of the suggestions on the back. I went with a simple mince mixture served on pasta (well actually it turned out that I didn't have enough spaghetti, so I stirred spiral pasta though before serving).

The way I served it of course, meant stretching the sauce a lot further than intended, but I think it worked well with the 300g of pasta I used, and after serving 2 adults and a 5 year old, we still have enough for a second night so I'm happy with that for an economic meal!

The sauce has 4.5 servings of vegetables but I added some mixed veges too. You could easily grate carrots or courgettes into the mixture to pump up the vegetable content without being too obvious too. Taste - yum! I liked the taste and my 5 year old didn't object to the kick you got from the balsamic vinegar. She normally hates balsamic vinegar too, but it is fairly mild, especially diluted with pasta.

I'd happily buy and use this again and would try some of the other options such as meatballs or using it in lasagne, especially if I noticed it on sale which would make it even more economical. It's just that little bit different than the regular pasta sauces out there. Great for an easy, quick meal.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 1st of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I absolutely love the new Watties creations range, they are my new favorite. I love the bargain price, the easy to open packets, the simple easy to read instructions with hints and tips. These are simple easy to use sauces that do not require a great deal of thought, energy, or extra ingredients if you are using the sauces for their intended purpose. With this in mind, these sauces are also perfect for uses not what the packets suggest. In fact they are only limited to your imagination.

Intalian Creations: Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic is a thick tomato based sauce. The packet is jam packed with the sauce so you definitely get a great amount. I have been impressed with just how much sauce is in these packets. This one has a good strong aroma to it and is one of the quicker from packet to table ones available. We just used it in a simple pasta dish and as we are a family of 5 we often need to use more than the recommended amount of everything to ensure everyone actually gets fed lol There was more than enough of this sauce to make sure our dish was nicely covered.

Once served I admit I was really impressed that all of my family loved this sauce. Well all of them except for me. This would be my least favorite of all the Watties sauces I have tried. This one had to strong of a flavor forme, the red wine came through much to strong. My review score is based on my families opinions with the personal choice being my own personal opinion.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 26th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Having tried the Tomato and Basil Pesto last night I was really looking forward to trying this tomato, red wine and balsamic tonight. I decided to follow the suggestion on the packet of meatballs so quickly made up my meat ball mix and browned the meatballs before adding the sauce and simmering for 20 minutes. As we had eaten with pasta last night tonight we had rice so I didn't add cheese to the topping when I served it up to the family.

I think the balsamic gives this sauce a flavour that wasn't to the kids liking. Miss Seven managed one meatball and some sauce but the other two declared it to spicy and refused to eat anything the sauce had touched! Hubby and I didn't enjoy this sauce as much as the Tomato and Basil Pesto (which we loved) and hubby didn't think we should buy this again. I would probably buy it one more time to try with a Moussaka or aubergine parmigiana and see if that changes the taste but really as a straight sauce I did prefer the tomato and basil pesto flavour. This sauce is one that would probably be a great base when making lasagne or other dishes that have more ingredients to give a depth to the dish as just as a straight sauce on meatballs I think it was a little to overpowering.

I do like that this is gluten free and that is a huge plus for it as a cooking sauce in our house and that it is natural so I don't need to worry about nasty little additives. I would buy this again to try in different dishes and I would definitely recommend trying this sauce to see how it works in your household.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 25th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I like experimenting with various sauces and ways to use it and serve it, I liked the sound of this sauce. We have all had a grumpy day (just the kind when everything goes wrong) so wasn't really in the mood for cooking. Browned the mince and put the sauce with it while the pasta was cooking and it filled my kitchen with a very delicious smell. I was thinking that it smelt nice and hoping the taste would live up to what I was expecting. It was really yum, even my kids liked it and two can be very fussy eaters.

I served it with pasta topped with the mince and cheese for those who wanted. It is the first meal in a while that nothing was left over and there were some muttered comments about there should have been a bit more so I guess this is going to be a regular purchase in my shopping.

I can't really find fault, it was tasty without adding too many spices, I find if I add too many spices then the kids tend to eat a few mouthfuls and tell me that they have had enough, in fact I never added any spices at all and the taste was really good and so easy to use.

I will be trying some of the rest of the range for days when I just can't be bothered cooking but would like the food to taste like I have spent hours in the kitchen.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 5th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After last nights Watties Italian Creations "Tomato and Basil Pesto" I was really concerned that this was not going to be enjoyable. Exactly the same preparation and ingredients. Cooked the pasta, while that was happening fried some onions and mince and added the mushrooms and then the sauce, while everything is cooking the girls grated some cheese and in less than half an hour had the meal prepared. It looked like last nights meal so I was not that excited, but I was so completely wrong - this was fantastic.

It had a real nice homely taste to it and could imagine using this sauce as a base to a pie or even a really nice savoury mince with mashed potatoes. I think the ingredients are perfectly combined together and it really was yummy. I had cooked spaghetti and meatballs couple weeks back and this sauce would of been perfect for that dish. Actually, there really are numerous uses you can do with this.

Both of my girls loved it and asked for a second helping, and even I had a bit more mince. Definitely one that I will keep in the pantry for those nights where I want a quick meal or even to add some extra flavouring to something. Really great price, especially considering its so versatile.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 3rd of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Yum, yum, yum! This is by far the best premade pasta sauce I have ever tasted! Usually when it comes to pasta sauce I like to make my own or use a premade as a base and throw lots of extras in it to get the perfect sauce. With the Wattie's Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic sauce nothing needs added to it.

I got home from work late tonight and was ready just to sit down and relax but needed to cook dinner first. within 20 minutes start to finish we were sitting down to the most delish spag-bol ever! It was so simple and easy to do cook some pasta and while that is doing brown some mince and onion throw in the sauce and simmer, when it's all done throw it on a plate!

The flavour of the finished dish was just amazing when I first opened the packet I could smell the vinegar and I was worried it would be over powering but I'm pleased to say it wasn't. The balsamic was a very slight flavour the rich tomato and the red wine were the more punchy flavours in the sauce.

The sauce will be making it on to my shopping list for sure it will be one of the easy to grab and throw together at the last moment back ups in the pantry.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 17th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Top marks from me for this awesome sauce, I absolutely love the red wine taste. I cook a lot of mince stuff and this sauce was by far the best taste I have ever been able to add to a mince concoction. Usually I go with the sauces in a can or in a jar or occasionally I will make it from scratch with tomatoes, thyme, rosemary, pepper, oil, garlic etc. BUT I have never had a pre made sauce taste so good. This is my next best go to sauce and my current number one favourite.

I used it for our meal as a bolognaise base with just some pasta and a little bit of pepper to taste. I didn't really need to do anything else to the meal though. There are a few other flavours in this range but being a huge "red wine in food" fan but not a "red wine to drink" fan, I was so pleased to taste the red wine essence in this sauce. To be honest it is the amazing part about this sauce. It adds a different edge to the otherwise potentially boring sauce. I would highly recommend this is the sauce that you buy if you are going to buy a sauce from this range. Excellent price, excellent value for money - easily covering 1kg of mince. You won't go wrong.

Click here to read the profile of jay7889

Review by: jay7889 (Jaimee)
Dated: 14th of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I occasionally like to use premade sauces for meals, generally I do this when extra busy or tired, or on Saturdays for lunch after church to make a quick and easy lunch to share with friends.On one of the occasions that I used the Wattie's Creations Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic sauce, I made bean nachos. I do home-based childcare and for my Job I occasionally do cooking and baking with the children. On one of these times we made pizza, using the Wattie's Creations Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic sauce for the base.

When I used this sauce for nachos, I found that it added a new element that blended nicely with the beans, adding an Italian flavour to the mix . My friends enjoyed the combination, and it disappeared quickly. Even my sister who normally won't eat it because she doesn't like the beans ate it, and had seconds.

This sauce is also amazing on pizza. One of the kids that I made pizza with decided that they didn't want anything on their pizza but cheese. Even on that pizza the sauce added a lot more flavour to the pizza other than cheese. My pizza had more than just cheese and even then it went well with everything.

I would use this sauce again, and maybe next time actually use it with pasta. My family like it so it would make things easier for those times I don't really have the time or energy for cooking. I would however still prefer to make my own sauces. I would also normally buy the cheaper pasta sauces, but if this one was on sale I would buy it.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 14th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

"Oh dear lord, you have blessed my tastebuds with magic, flavour and delight!" OK, maybe I said something more like "Er mrfkngwd, ymmm ohgwdyss!" or something like that... I can't recall exactly, because I was too busy enjoying one of the best Spag-bols I have made in a long time. SO simple!

Set the spaghetti cooking in lightly salted water with about a teaspoon of rice bran oil to help prevent it clumping as it boils, then fry off some onions and capsicum, then about 400-500g of lean mince. When it's well browned and broken down well, empty the packet into the pan and let it simmer for about 7-8 minutes while the pasta finishes off... drain the pasta, toss with some chopped parsley and serve.

So easy! So delicious! So... all gone before I thought to grab a photo. Sad Icon

This is, so far, my favourite from the range, and though I get a lot of pleasure from making my own sauces from scratch, I will be keeping a couple of packets of this in the pantry at all times for those occasions when I am late home and dinner needs to be made in under 20 minutes. This could be my new go-to meal saviour!

Overall, an excellent member of the range and well worth trying out if you enjoy food with plenty of flavour, but not too much. I can easily see me using this to make many other favourite Italian dishes - lasagne, ravioli sauce, alla puttanesca - and even as a base for some Mexican dishes too, such as cannelloni, enchaladas, and probably in my next low-spice nachos - suitable for those who enjoy exotic flavours in small, milder doses.

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 14th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Yum! This is a quick, easy and very tasty pasta sauce which it makes a MEAN spaghetti bolognese!

We started by putting the spaghetti on to cook in a pot of boiling water and then putting some mince in a frypan and browning it. We had run out of onions otherwise we would have added them too. Once the mince was browned we added the pasta sauce and left it to simmer while the pasta finished cooking. Too easy, plenty of time to wipe down the benches and empty the dishwasher.

Once all was done and cooked we drained the pasta and served it up into our two dinner plates and two lunch containers (meals that provide lunch for the next day are a huge bonus and are more likely to be repeated in this house) and added some parmesan cheese to top it off.

Mmmmmmmm I can still taste the delicious tomato taste with a hint of vinegar. The flavour was definitely present but was, in now way, overpowering.

I can see this sauce packet being used in other pasta type dishes such as a pasta bake or lasagna as well as spaghetti bolognese which makes it a great packet to keep handy in the cupboard. Very easy to use and follow the directions, I would recommend this to anyone needing a quick, tasty meal.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 4th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Spaghetti Bolognese is a staple in our household. We have is about once a week. My husband is the one that cooks it and he is also the one the does the main grocery shopping so it is usually made with a cheap can of pasta sauce. Our kids (5 and 4 years old) usually eat the spaghetti and hardly touch the meat sauce. I eat the meat only because it is in front of me. It is hardly the most appealing meal.

When I was given Watties Italian Creations Tomato, Red Wine & Balsamic Pasta Sauce to review we were all pleasantly surprised. The recipe on the packet was for bolognese and said to add the sauce to browned onion and mince and add mushrooms if you wanted. It couldn't be easier. It was so fast I didn't even have time to put the dishes away while it was cooking. Since Miss 5 doesn't eat onion if she can see it, I cooked it separately to add to the adult's meals upon serving. I also cooked some mushroom for me with Miss 4 stealing a few.

The sauce had a slight vinegar smell but the flavour was very subtle. It was really a sauce that brings out the flavour of the meat. It had a smooth texture which really helped as the fussy eaters couldn't see the onion and it didn't have any chewy bits. We all really loved the taste and the girls ate all their meat and complemented me on the meal (a very rare event). For this reason alone I will be buying this again.

I am trying to lose the extra kilos that have snuck on over the years so I was very pleased to see that it was 85% vegetables with only a little salt and sugar. My waistline approved of that. It is such a versatile sauce too. The packet suggested using it for meatballs, lasagne or cannelloni but I also think it would make a great pizza sauce too as it is a good consistency to stay on the base.

This is the first of the Watties Creations range I have tried and I am keen to try the others I have for review. If they are as popular with my family as this one I will be tempted to try some that we normally wouldn't touch like curries. If they are are hit with my family then they will be popular in my other families too.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 2nd of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Number of Uses:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When we got the Watties Creation sauces, this is the first one I decided to cook with. Now my challenge was that my husband is very picky and he especially hates the taste of cooked tomatoes. This Italian pasta sauce can not hide the tomato, that is for sure! I decided to make a macaroni pasta bake.

I boiled my macaroni elbows and then made a simple white sauce, with added cheese to top my pasta bake with. In a frying pan, I browned some mince and then added this sauce. The smell was strong, and acidic but not unpleasant to me. A guest arrived for our weekly games night. As he walked in, he asked if I was cooking with some kind of vinegar and when I confirmed it he was relieved. He thought it was either dinner or someone had been sick. It's not that bad!

Into a baking dish, I poured the macaroni, and the meat sauce. I mixed this together so the pasta was covered. Then I topped with the cheese sauce and grated cheese. I baked this for about 20 minutes and then served it up. This as very popular and even my husband commented that it was nice.

My eldest daughter was happily eating her dinner. My youngest finished her whole bowlful. Then when she was let out of the highchair, she went and sat with her sister and proceeded to try and have her dinner too! We had to rescue the eldest, because she couldn't keep her sister out of her bowl. So the toddler had a second helping. Our guests sneaked a few mouthfuls out of the dish as well while I wasn't looking and then declared it delicious (they had brought their own dinner with them). And the toddler ended up having three helpings of dinner altogether. So I think we can call this one a success. We would definitely get this again.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.8
Product reviews for listing 1939: Zoe's Restaurant and Bar -  Located: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North

Product image for ZoeLocated in the Kingsgate Hotel.
110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North.
ph: (06) 356-8059.

Indigenous flavours of New Zealand using the finest ingredients and fresh local market produce married with international flavours.

Open 7 nights and fully licenced. Before having dinner, Zoe's Bar is the ideal place for ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"A man who is 'of sound mind' is one who keeps the inner madman under lock and key."
Paul Valery (1871 - 1945)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream