Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 23rd July 2019 - 04:05:38

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Movies > Family > Frozen review

« Mission Survival: Strike of the Shark reviewMission Survival: Strike of the SharkThe Hobbit : 2 : The Desolation of Smaug reviewThe Hobbit : 2 : The Desolation of Smaug »

Score: 9.5/10  [13 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 4951 - Frozen
Director: Chris Buck

Frozen
Price:
 
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Walt Disney Studios (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
December 2013

Frozen product reviews

A prophecy traps a kingdom in eternal winter, so Anna must team up with Kristoff, a daring mountain man, on the grandest of journeys to find the Snow Queen and put an end to the icy spell. Encountering Everest-like extremes, mystical creatures and magic at every turn, Anna and Kristoff battle the elements in a race to save the kingdom from destruction.

Check out Walt Disney Studios (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Walt Disney Studios (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
alan tudyk   chris buck   disney   idina menzel   jonathan groff   josh gad   kristen bell   magic   snow queen   snowman   winter
Other listings you may be interested in:
Ender's GameEnder's Game
Rating: 8.9
ManagementManagement
Rating: 6.8
Good Luck ChuckGood Luck Chuck
Rating: 6.3
JumperJumper
Rating: 8.6
Barney's VersionBarney's Version
Rating: 8.0
PleasantvillePleasantville
Rating: 8.8
Harry Potter: 2: The Chamber of SecretsHarry Potter: 2: The Chamber of Secrets
Rating: 8.3
The SnowmanThe Snowman
Rating: 7.0
The Emperor's New Groove 2 : Kronk's new GrooveThe Emperor's New Groove 2 : Kronk's new Groove
Rating: 9.3
The Jungle Bunch The Jungle Bunch 
Rating: 7.0
The GuvnorsThe Guvnors
Rating: 9.0
Last NightLast Night
Rating: 3.5
Escape From New YorkEscape From New York
Rating: 7.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of sassy121

Review by: sassy121 (Amelia)
Dated: 21st of February, 2017

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

"Let it go, let it go
Can't hold it back anymore
Let it go, let it go
Turn away and slam the door!"

I am sure most people with young children will know exactly which movie those song lyrics are from. This song "Let It Go" sung by Idina Menzel has become such a huge hit from the movie Frozen. With it's catchy tune and lyrics I can understand why.

My daughter was nearly 3 years old when Frozen was released and I was reluctant to watch it, and I managed to dodge watching the whole film for about a year. My daughter absolutely loved it and was constantly singing all the songs at the top of her lungs. One day while she was feeling unwell I sat on the couch with her and we watched it together. Much to my surprise I actually quite liked Frozen, not just the graphics and the songs, but the storyline was quite gripping. Needless to say we have since purchased the DVD and it is still getting played frequently.

I love the fact that this film has two strong female leads and I like the fact that it shows the bond between siblings (having 3 children under 6 years old this is important at the moment) My daughter is a huge Elsa fan. She is constantly wearing her Elsa costume with matching shoes, and I am constantly having to attempt an Elsa plait in her hair. Personally I am an Olaf the snowman fan.

Frozen has become such a huge hit this household can't wait for the next movie to come out. No doubt it will have some more catchy songs that will have children all round the world singing. Also with the release of another movie will mean more merchandise to add to the always expanding collection we have. Everything from stickers, costumes, clothing, books, stationery, magnets, manchester and much, much more.

Overall myself and my daughter highly recommend this movie to anyone looking for an exciting, heartwarming film that will make you feel happy.

Click here to read the profile of jojojojo

Review by: jojojojo (Jo)
Dated: 15th of April, 2015

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 5 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

The hype all started around this movie and I wasn't sure I wanted to see it or have my kids singing the songs so we didn't pay to see it at the movies.... until Mr (then 4) went to see it with grandma! He loved it, talked about it at home and sang the songs. Didn't mean much to the rest of us since we hadn't seen it but his enthusiasm didn't seem to be fading!!

So I saw it at a friend's place on a playdate and thought it was ok, just another kids movie, but then I had been juggling him and miss (almost) 2 and only half watching it. Fast forward and Aunty Rachel shows up with a present for the kids! She had seen the dvd for sale and thought we needed it. Thanks Aunty Rachel! We got to watch it many many times and I do actually like it now! I love that the day was saved by sisterly love instead of by a man and those songs, they are actually really catchy!

So these days we have almost every toy from the movie (or so it seems!), we watch it quite regularly, read the book usually at least twice a day and definitely sing the songs every day. Miss 2 has become quite the expert too! We have been converted to fans!! Great movie!

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 12th of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Its funny how other peoples perceptions can change your mind. We went to the movies and thought it was rather boring and did not really care for it. Yes it was an ok movie, and loved the songs especially 'Let it Go' but saw it and thought mahhhh was thankful didn't cost me anything as won the tickets.

When it came out on DVD my mum brought for the girls so we put it on and by the end of it no-one was left watching it. So it went onto the rack to be forgotten about. But then next minute the song 'Let It Go' was everywhere and everyone was talking about Frozen, and my girls were dancing to it and there various dance schools and friends were talking about it, and before I knew it, we were watching it pretty much every day.

The movie has definitly grown on us, more so on my two year old, she LOVES it. If she wants to watch TV its always Frozen and sings away to the songs and now when playing with her dolls she is calling them Anna and Elsa. Everyone loves the snowman Olaf and both girls want to go to the mountain now and build a snowman.

The movie itself is made really well and the voices are well suited. The songs are fantastic and very catchy. It might take a couple of goes watching it but once you are bitten by the Frozen bug you are hooked. Glad we gave it another chance.

Funny I read the other day how people are upset at the end when Anna punches Hans, that is one of my daughters and husbands favourite scene - glad she did it, he deserves so much more.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 16th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 9 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I heard a movie called Frozen was being released but that was about as far as I cared to look/learn further. My kids made passing comments about a movie called Frozen but they never asked to go to the cinema and see it. Then suddenly this Frozen movies song was all over the radio and the kids were playing variations of it they had found on you tube. Merchandise was starting to appear and the Frozen bug had hit.

With this happening around us and miss 7 often saying she was the only one in her class who had not seen it, that maybe it was time to check the video store. So one Friday night we were all packed in our sitting room about to discover what all this Frozen fuss was about. Hahaha what a fantastic movie.

The snowman Olaf is just absolutely amazingly brilliant. What a gorgeous and fun character. I can understand why kids everywhere are so taken with this little guy. And then add in the reindeer, another heart warming yet dopey character. Queen Elsa and her sister are beautiful characters whose worse nightmare will mend the sisters relationship destroyed when they were children and of course lets not forget ths love story side of it and the evil character too. All this fits together to make an absolutely splendid movie.

We are a family of 5: a 7 yr old girl, 12 yr old boy, 14 yr old boy, my husband and I. We ALL loved it! ... Do you wanna build a snowmaaaannnnn??? ;)

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 1st of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I heard all about Frozen long before I had a chance to see it. Between the children I work with and my 3 year old niece I pretty much learnt all the songs before I had seen it too. I often hear someone singing "do You want to build a snowman?" or "let it go". My 3 year old niece even dances around the room throwing her arms around just as Elsa does in the movie. With the movie having such a big impact on the children I couldn't wait to see it myself.

I wasn't disappointed and I have to say it has become one of my favourite Disney movies. All the characters are wonderful in their own way Elsa and Anna are such strong female characters who don't need help from anyone proving what we have known for ages girls can do anything! Kristoff and his reindeer Sven and Olaf the snowman just add so much to the movie. Who couldn't fall in love with them all!

There was enough funny moments thrown in between the sad/ serious moments that it can appeal to everyone. I think just about everyone I have talked to has gotten something different out of the movie. I just loved it all the story, the animation and the music. The soundtrack is on my must buy list.

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 23rd of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My wife, four year old and six year old had gone to see Frozen thanks to KIWIreviews, and all I could hear afterwards from my kids was how much they wanted to see it again.

We ended up going to see this as a family, with me and our three year old along for the movie as well, right from the opening scene my three year old was crying out 'oh wow! look! look!' she was utterly delighted. The snowflakes at the start are so gorgeous and it seemed like we were at a 3D showing, though we'd only gone to see it in 2D. The first song is a wonderful rousing song that gets you into the movie well and a good introduction to some of our main characters, baby Sven is so cute!

As a parent trying to teach my kids that girls don't need a man to make her world complete (and the same for my son) and give them all some strong female role-models, I couldn't be happier to see Disney is starting to move away from their tried and true. From two strong female leads, where the story revolves around THEIR relationship and such lines as "but you've only just met him!" (Elsa to Anna after Anna wants to marry her 'one true love' after knowing him for just a few hours) really makes me happy.

My three year old wants to hear nothing but 'Let It Go" and I'm happy with that, can't wait to own it.

Click here to read the profile of alexmoulton

Review by: alexmoulton (Alex)
Dated: 18th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Another example of Disney trying to break the stereotypes that it has spent years creating, we see a change to the typical role of the villain, the male dominated world, and a challenge to the usual "Ooh there's a man, let's marry him and have a happy ending".

A refreshing film, the Snow Queen who is portrayed as a villain, is shown to be nothing more than a fearful young woman, who is pushed by those around her, until she loses control and is demonized by her people.

The tale of two sisters, who are after an incident kept separated, and whilst Elsa keeps her distance for the safety of the younger, Anna wants nothing more than to be together with her older sister, Elsa, again.

The males in this film ultimately fall into minor roles. While still filling the roles of villain, travelling companion, and love interest, you are not as engaged with them as you are with Elsa and Anna. With a large number of musical numbers, and comedic interruptions from the likes of Olaf, the snowman, The film manages to remain light-hearted and cheerful, while maintaining a serious storyline.

A highly enjoyable film, with incredibly catchy music, that you will never be able to escape from.

Click here to read the profile of kiwiblondie

Review by: kiwiblondie (Michelle)
Dated: 27th of April, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I have seen this movie three times already, the first time was in 3D. I have never seen a movie in 3D before so wasn't sure what to be expecting but I loved it, the effects were great and that I had the feeling I was right there on the snow, it was simply amazing. I had to take the glasses off a few times and the special effects were so good that you can't really tell the difference.

My six year old saw the movie with me all three times, he loved it in 3D and asked if all the movies we go and see in the future can be in 3D. He tried copying some of the dance moves he saw in the movie and he asked could we go and see the snow as it looks so pretty.

I got the chance to see the movie again on the big screen but it would be in normal 2D. The effects were so good that in the beginning it was hard to believe that it wasn't a 3D movie. There were some great parts to the movie, the story was a bit unexpected in places and in some it was so obvious that would happen.

It is so easy to believe in happy ever after and make believe when you see such great movies from Disney.

Click here to read the profile of bamberla

Review by: bamberla (Amber)
Dated: 21st of March, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I took my almost 3 year old to see this and as a HUGE Disney fanatic I was NOT disappointed. I dragged my mother, her husband, my sister and brother in law along with us and even the males didn't have too many harsh words to say about it. In fact the only things they would have changed was the amount of singing that was involved.

My daughter 3 months later is still obsessed with the movie and continuously asks me to find snippets of the movie for her on YouTube just so she can get her daily dose of frozen until the movie is officially released. The characters are charming and easy to like... I will be honest the idea of a talking snowman did originally make me cringe... but I will be the first to admit he was awesome and the movie would not have been the same without him. The humour was dry at times and I loved it!

This is definitely a movie that you could watch time and time again (and when you have young children, repeatedly watching the same movies over and over is a given). My daughter loves it, I love it and so far everyone else I know that has seen it has loved it.

Big thumbs up from our family!

Click here to read the profile of chrissyblue

Review by: chrissyblue (Beth)
Dated: 15th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I went to see Frozen with my 15 year old female cousin, my 9 year old boy and my three and a half year old boy, despite our different ages and stages, we ALL loved it! The story was really well done, it was uplifting, sweet, funny and beautifully imaginative, the scary parts/baddies weren't long drawn-out and traumatic like some of the older Disney movies but it wasn't cheesy and managed to have depth and a refreshing twist at the end.

The music was emotive, catchy and at times funny ( my boys are still singing them weeks later) the characters are endearing, interesting, funny, cringe inducing...just fabulous really. The animation is fantastic, quite magical - we saw it in 2D and the whole time I was watching it I thought 'this would be great in 3D', so because the boys had enjoyed it so much my husband and I took them to see it again in 3D and I am so glad we did, my 3 year old was reaching out trying to touch the snow fakes, the ice crystals and blizzards were very cool. Oh and my husband enjoyed it too. :)

It is the first time I have EVER been to the same movie twice at the movies and it was so worth it to see the enthralled happy looks on my kids faces. Well done Disney!

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 23rd of January, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I won free tickets to go and see this movie, although even if I hadn't seeing as it was awarded best animation at the golden globes I probably would have taken my 5 year old son. Turns out the free tickets could not be used on a Tuesday, so I will be using them and going again!

I really loved this film, I wasn't too sure what to expect but it had me hooked right from the start. We went to the 3D session and the animation was just outstanding. There were times that my son was reaching out to touch the snow, and he asked why he couldn't feel it! It was just breathtakingly magical!

There is a bit of a twist in the love triangle, and that actually took me a little by surprise which was great as most of the movie was predictable by an adults mind. Its a really nice wee story about true love, and I'm sure everyone learns a little about sisterly love and the dynamics of family's.

My favourite part was the snowman, he was just hilarious - I laughed out loud more than a couple of times at his comical antics! There is lots of awesome and funny side-line characters with great traits that keep the movie really fresh and fun for all ages.

I am looking forward to going again and taking my younger son this time, and there is no doubt in my mind it will be even greater the second time and I will pick up some more of the great side line jokes the writers have included to keep their adult audience entertained!

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 10th of January, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 8 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 9 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Frozen was the first 3D movie that my 5 year old daughter has seen, and as we actually don't watch many movies at all (or certainly not all in one go), so I wasn't sure what to expect going to see this at the movies, but I was pleasantly surprised. I think it might only be the second Disney Princess movie my daughter has seen... but certainly right up her alley.

The excitement was high, as I finally let her open her 3D glasses once we'd reached our seats. Although my daughter has been to the movies twice before, I haven't been the one to take her, so I was pleased to find she managed to stay interested for the whole movie. And certainly the story captivated her, although I did find myself answering endless questions throughout the movie (as quietly as I could!) and in particular having to remind her which was the goodie and the baddie as she got a little confused... I won't say more without giving too much of the story away.

Being a bit of a Disney Princess movie novice myself, I found myself really enjoying the movie too and definitely understanding and appreciating some parts that would have gone way over my daughter's head. If I had to take a guess at a target age for children, I'd say 7 upwards, as I'm not sure themes about true love etc etc are on my 5 year old's radar quite yet! However she certainly enjoyed it...

The 3d aspect was certainly a great one, and my daughter was totally enthralled with the concept of 'magic' glasses. I don't think we'd always splash out on seeing movies in 3d, but I'm glad she had the chance to experience it. She was a bit freaked out at first as she thought things were going to hit her during the previews and opening sequence, and she'd only just relaxed when the movie started with a metal saw going through the ice and seemingly straight for us... even I jumped! During the movie, she'd take her glasses on and off just to see the effects - luckily the movie looked OK without the glasses on too.

I won't go into a summary of the movie, as it's already been done, but just to say in finishing that I do recommend seeing this movie - the concept of magic and princesses and snow and a hilarious snowman, makes for a very enjoyable and captivating couple of hours. My daughter is already asking to see it again... we'll certainly be hiring it as soon as it comes out on DVD.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 8th of December, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Pay to see it again:
Score 10 out of 10
Attention Span:
Score 10 out of 10
Believeability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

To be perfectly honest, I'm still waiting for more movies like Brave, where the female protagonist is not interested in love and romance and males as anything more than friends. Frozen breaks the mould a little bit, enough to have me fist punching the air going 'Thank God!' but we're still getting there.

Anna and Elsa are sisters, Elsa has a secret power, she can freeze things, make it snow, manipulate the weather to freezing etc. One day she accidentally injures her sister leading their parents to shut them away in the castle. When Elsa is coronated Queen she loses control plunging their town into winter and runs away. Anna sets off to convince her sister to return things the way they are and along the way is joined by Kristoff and his reindeer Sven and Olaf (a snowman brought to life by Elsa).

When Anna gets out of the castle for the first time in three years it was such fun seeing her excitement, but to be honest I did get annoyed when she fell in love instantly to what appears to be her prince charming (to say more than that would be spoilers). The character that I most liked was Elsa. She has an amazing ability but out of fear has hidden it away, now it threatens to consume her and turn her evil and her inner battle against this was touching and had me really rooting for her, more than anyone else. Olaf, Sven and Kristoff are fun characters but Elsa and Anna manage to stand out as the main characters which is good and the plot is more about their relationship than anything else which is great.

My six year old was riveted to the screen, we were lucky enough that it was in 3D, so a new experience for him and he loved it, didn't hear a peep out of him. My four year old hopped out of her chair a couple of times and took her glasses off more than once but there were a few giggles out of her and she jumped in her seat once or twice. The 3D was superb in that instead of ghosting it just looked a little blurry without the glasses so I wasn't to concerned that she was missing out.

As with any animated Disney movie there are musical numbers a plenty, ranging from Anna out of her home for the first time in years, Elsa feeling free, Olaf the snowman who wants to laze about in the warm sun and my personal favourite comes from the trolls, I wanted to listen to it again as soon as it was over, it was that much fun.

This has everything that you would expect from a Disney movie, laughs for the adults, laughs for the kids, scary monsters, beautiful princesses and dashing young men. I really did enjoy this movie, the kids loved it and can't wait to see it again. For me, as a mother, I'd love more normal looking females, more female leads and less emphasis on 'True Love'. Telling you as best I can, without spoiling the end of this movie, you get to the end fully expecting how it will turn out and then..... On the outside I was grinning away like a loon, on the inside this mama was screaming 'FINALLY!!!!!' LOL Icon

This is a fun film for the whole family and it looks like Disney is slowly, and at long last, heading in a new, better direction. I think it's fully worth watching. Smile Icon

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Movies'...

Score: 8.0
Product reviews for listing 1584: Hannibal Rising
Directed by Peter Webber

Product image for Hannibal RisingIn 'Red Dragon' we learned who he was, in 'Hannibal' we learnt how he got caught, in 'Silence of the Lambs' we learned how he did it. Now comes the most chilling chapter in the life of Hannibal Lecter - The one that answers the most elusive question of all - why?

Special Features:
    •  Closed Captioned for the hearing impaired.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why is it that people say they 'slept like a baby' when babies wake up every two hours?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream