Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 24th February 2019 - 14:30:54

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Heat and Eat > Pitango Organic Chicken and Garlic Risotto review

« Pitango Organic Pumpkin, Leek and Spinach Risotto reviewPitango Organic Pumpkin, Leek and Spinach RisottoThe Time Travelling Tourist reviewThe Time Travelling Tourist »

Score: 9.1/10  [6 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4911 - Pitango Organic Chicken and Garlic Risotto
Brand : Pitango

Pitango Organic Chicken and Garlic Risotto
Price:
$6.39
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pitango

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality supermarkets

Pitango Organic Chicken and Garlic Risotto product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsA creamy risotto made with pieces of chicken, spinach and garlic.

    •  96% Fat Free
    •  Dairy Free
    •  No Added Preservatives

Check out Pitango onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pitango Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook Check them out on YouTube They do not have a Pinterest board Check them out on Instagram



Tags:
chicken   garlic   gluten free   heat and eat   low fat   microwavable   nzmade   rice
Other listings you may be interested in:
The Crown CreperieThe Crown Creperie
Rating: 9.6
Pitango Meal for 1 - Free Range Butter Chicken & Brown RicePitango Meal for 1 - Free Range Butter Chicken & Brown Rice
Rating: 9.1
Smoked Chicken FoldoverSmoked Chicken Foldover
Rating: 7.5
St Andrews Limes - Just a DressingSt Andrews Limes - Just a Dressing
Rating: 9.2
Pitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea CurryPitango Meal for 1 - Coconut, Vege & Split Pea Curry
Rating: 8.6
Pitango  Organic Chicken Noodle SoupPitango  Organic Chicken Noodle Soup
Rating: 8.9
Pitango Breakfast Pots - Golden Honey PorridgePitango Breakfast Pots - Golden Honey Porridge
Rating: 8.7
Pitango Breakfast Pots - Apple & Sultana PorridgePitango Breakfast Pots - Apple & Sultana Porridge
Rating: 9.1
Pitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary SoupPitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary Soup
Rating: 9.7
Pitango Organic Pumpkin, Leek and Spinach RisottoPitango Organic Pumpkin, Leek and Spinach Risotto
Rating: 9.0
Double Manuka Smoked BaconDouble Manuka Smoked Bacon
Rating: 10.0
Pitango Meal for 1 - Mexican Bean & Pulled Pork ChilliPitango Meal for 1 - Mexican Bean & Pulled Pork Chilli
Rating: 9.3
Taste of India Vindaloo SauceTaste of India Vindaloo Sauce
Rating: 8.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 29th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

About the only issue I had with this, was the thickness. Deciding to avoid nuking it and instead heat it in a saucepan, I found it was a little thicker than I would have liked. Still, nothing the addition of a small amount of milk and chicken stock didn't solve, and suddenly I had a very yummy meal for two.

Not usually a fan of spinach, this gave me no issues at all. The spinach added a really nice element of colour, and a subtle flavour, to a surprisingly tasty and affordable meal. Serving half a pack of this each to two adults, with some toast points and garlic crostini (both made using fresh crushed garlic and some of the amazing Simon Gault Italian Rub) was the perfect early-lunch needed because we were heading out and wouldn't be around food at lunchtime. it was filling enough to see us through, yet not so heavy that we felt bloated or starchy.

I was keen to try using this as an ingredient in something else, but to be honest after trying one small forkful, I just couldn't stop myself from dishing it up and having it as just a meal. It seemed such a waste not to enjoy the full body of flavours without risking losing them under anything else.

Overall, I really enjoyed this, a lot more than I thought I would. I would have liked to seen a resealable pouch, for those who may want to do single-serve portions, but that is only a minor, cosmetic issue that has no real bearing on the product itself, but is more of a 'consumer wishlist feedback' thing.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 29th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The kidlets were having leftover macaroni and cheese for dinner so I decided to share this with hubby. I had had a big workout and was pretty hungry so cooked up some prawns in a lemon infused olive oil as an extra protein accompaniment for me. I heated the risotto up in a microwave dish although it does state on the pouch that the contents can be heated in the pouch. The risotto was very thick but clearly full of rice, vegetables and chicken.

I had cooked up some carrots, broadbeans, beetroot and broccoli also so the risotto actually split really well between the two of us as we both had a lot of extras on our plate. Without that though the risotto definitely wouldn't have been a sole meal for two. The risotto has a lot of vegetables and I would have been happy having the whole packet to myself without feeling the need to cook up extra veges etc. As it was I was glad I had the prawns also as the sauce from them went really nicely with the risotto.

I loved the creaminess of the risotto and thought it tasted really nice. It wasn't my favourite of the four types of Pitango meals I have tried but I still rate it and would buy it again. I liked that it is gluten free so is a meal that I can serve up to hubby if I need a meal in a hurry. At $6 this is a cost effective meal in a hurry without compromising on quality. This was far tastier and enjoyable than some takeaway meals I have had and in comparison to take out meals this is incredibly good value for money.

I would definitely recommend this and will definitely be looking out for this range when I next go shopping.

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 25th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This risotto flavour reminds me so much of my mums Chicken Frickasee. That dish is chicken shredded in a gloop of peas garlic and white wine sauce. I had this for dinner and it was very filling and a very generous serving size. I had it all myself and did not share haha. I am a real fan of this consistency meal so the only negative for me was the price compared to other same sized options. When you get into the $6-7 region your dinner options open up considerably.

I loved the wild rice and peas, the flavour balance was perfect it had me scraping the bowl. Being 96% fat free is a hard task getting a good flavour because this usually means sacrificing on those great flavours that come inherently from things you should have in moderation. I would not have known any different if you told me it was full fat because it was rich in sustenance and flavour. Now that I have tried this I would not think twice about having it in that $6-7 price range but if I had not had a chance to try it through KIWIreviews, I probably never would have.

I personally recommend you try this meal.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 15th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

Pitango's Chicken and Garlic risotto is a balanced meal in a bag. It has the rice, the meat, and vegetables all in a pouch you just pop into the microwave and a couple minutes later dinner for two is ready. It is perfect for those nights you get home late or aren't feeling up to cooking but still have to eat. At $3.20 a serve it works out much cheaper than takeaways too. It is a healthy option being low in fat and gluten free too.

When heating the risotto it had a very pleasant garlic aroma but it didn't taste very garlicky. Sorry no protection from vampires with this dish.There was a nice variety of vegetables although I did find there were some tough bits of green vegetable that I couldn't chew and ended up spitting them out. This was a shame as apart from this the risotto was very enjoyable.

Unfortunately the pouch isn't resealable but a Magic Lock Sliding Bag Sealer was the perfect solution. Good thing I was at home and could grab on from the pantry. The serving didn't look big especially for a big eater like me but it filled me up and it was several hours before I wanted anything else to eat.

The next day all I had to do for my lunch was remove the bag sealer and pop the pouch in the microwave for 90 seconds. I found the pouch was very hot to handle especially when I tried to squeeze the contents into a bowl yet the food was the right temperature to eat.

I had expected the chicken and garlic riscotto to be my favourite out of the four Pitango products I was given to review but I was disappointed by its blandness but as the saying goes you don't know what something is like until you try it.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 14th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I cooked this up for dinner tonight, since it was just me and my two girls. I had frozen the packet, and it hadn't quite de-frosted by the time I was ready to cook. So I poured it out into a bowl and microwaved it. It did take a bit longer than what the packet suggested, but it wasn't suggesting from frozen! Once the risotto was cooked through, I plated this with some plain rice on the side because I do have one fussy kid.

As predicted my eldest ate all her plain rice and poked at the risotto once or twice. She said that although it smelt good, she didn't like the texture or how sticky it was on her fork. I managed to get her to eat some, but she wasn't enthused and so I stopped fighting that battle. Funnily enough, my toddler had yummed up her risotto portion and had left the plain rice behind. Everyone has different ideals in taste and texture, after all.

I found the texture to be nice. The smell of this dish was a really nice, savoury chicken. It's full of great quality ingredients and for me the taste was better than the chicken soup in the range. I liked this one, I found it filling too, which is important as I don't like having to raid the cupboards after 8pm.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 12th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Portions:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have to say, this food give off a lot of yummy smells after being cooked, but in terms of taste, this stuff is rather bland! I tend to burn things more easily when cooking food in a pot, so I cooked this in the microwave, and it smelled delicious! When I sat down to eat, I took a bite, and was taken by surprise when I found that I could hardly taste anything.

The packet said that this was enough to feed two people, so I divvied up the bag into halves and ate one half first and had the rest another day. When I had my second lot, more of the taste was there, so I think that refrigerating this stuff first brings out the flavour a bit more. The risotto looked appealing, and it had a good consistency as well.

I love the price, this meal is well worth that amount of money, so it gets a full 10/10. In terms of portion sizes, while the bag said this stuff serves 2, I think that it is more suitable for 1 person, that is, unless the person eating it doesn't have a big appetite, or is having the risotto with something else. I found that, like soup, this stuff tastes good when served with bread, so that might be a good serving suggestion. I think that I would like to try this again, and see if large amounts of refrigeration will help bring out more flavour with the other heat-and-eat meals we got from Pitango.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 4267: Disco's Cheesy Cheese -  Brand / Manufactured by: Bluebird

Product image for Disco's Cheesy CheeseWhether you're just hanging loose, or ready to boogie till dawn, shake that party into action with Bluebird Disco's.

One bite and you'll be glad all over! Dig that far out crunchy flavour and share the satisfaction! Disco's - a hit day or night, outta sight!

Get your tastebuds spinning!

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream