Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 23rd July 2019 - 05:12:20

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > She'll Be Coming Round the Mountain review

« Aftershock reviewAftershockPohutukawa reviewPohutukawa »

Score: 9.2/10  [8 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4835 - She'll Be Coming Round the Mountain
Author: The Topp Twins and Jenny Cooper

She'll Be Coming Round the Mountain
Price:
$21.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
October 2013

She'll Be Coming Round the Mountain product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsThis favourite traditional children's song, which is sung in school's and preschool's around the country (and sometimes in car's on family vacations!), receives the Topp Twins/Jenny Cooper treatment, the the style of the Bestsellers; There's a Hole in my Bucket, and Do your Ears Hang Low?

Includes CD of the song recorded by Kiwi Icons The Topp Twins, which will bring a chuckle to adults and children alike.

Hilariously illustrated by popular children's book illustrator Jenny Cooper!

Bound to become a family favourite!

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cd   jenny cooper   mountain   nzmade   scholastic   sing along   the topp twins
Other listings you may be interested in:
My New Zealand Story - Harbour BridgeMy New Zealand Story - Harbour Bridge
Rating: 10.0
Superbot and the Terrible Toy DestroyerSuperbot and the Terrible Toy DestroyerThe King of SpaceThe King of Space
Rating: 9.6
Harry Potter : Time-Turner Sticker KitHarry Potter : Time-Turner Sticker Kit
Rating: 9.3
My Gentle Barn: The incredible true story of a place where animals heal and children learn to hopeMy Gentle Barn: The incredible true story of a place where animals heal and children learn to hope
Rating: 10.0
Jingle Bells, Rudolph SmellsJingle Bells, Rudolph Smells
Rating: 10.0
The Truth About the Drug CompaniesThe Truth About the Drug Companies
Rating: 9.5
Time to Smell the Roses - A New Life in OphirTime to Smell the Roses - A New Life in Ophir
Rating: 10.0
The Friendship Matchmaker Goes Undercover The Friendship Matchmaker Goes Undercover 
Rating: 8.1
SpoonSpoon
Rating: 8.0
Take Me HomeTake Me Home
Rating: 9.5
The Caves of SteelThe Caves of Steel
Rating: 9.5
Hover Car RacerHover Car Racer
Rating: 8.6

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 4th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This book is pure delight on all levels! As an avid reader myself as well as being an early childhood teacher I think its far to say that I love a good children's book and I have quite the collection. I will be brutally honest and say I had seen this book previously (in the shops) but didn't even open the cover as I noticed it was sung by the top twins. Nothing against the top twins but the last book I read that was sung by them (there's a hole in my bucket) no one really enjoyed at the time. However with a group of 40 plus 2-5year old children with a keen interest in music, books and consequently C.D books I jumped at the opportunity to review this book.

I literally had no idea what to expect with this book... Except for the fact that I knew the song as we used to sing it at primary school when I was younger. Straight away I was taken by the bright colours, wonderful illustrations and fun sounding lyrics song on the C.D. The children and the staff were all really excited about this book when I took it into our centre for the first time - in fact the first mat time we listened to this CD book 3 times! Children were even singing along while eating their morning tea some time later. Something I really didn't expect to such a high level was the excitement it caused amongst us staff for the day. Everyone knew the words, everyone sung along and it generally put us in a happy, carefree and relaxed mood.

A week later and we have listened to this CD and book every single day, several times, over and over again! The more we read the book, the more we notice in the pictures and the more enjoyment we get from the book as we become more familiar with it. All of the children love the book, from ages 1 through to 4 year olds. We also have one little girl who is 5 (she has special learning needs) and this has been a great hit with her as well. It is certainly a book that can be read over and over again without fail - but you have to listen to the CD and sing-a-long more than just read normally. It is also a book that has captured the audience so to speak - capturing the eyes, ears and heats of a group of 40 two to five year old children can be a very hard feat some days but this book does exactly that without fail.

Seriously, if I could rate this book more than a 10 out of 10 then I totally would. I will definitely be buying this again for presents in the future and I totally recommend this to everyone - whether it is for your own children or those you teach. Just be prepared to listen to it non-stop once you buy it! Smile Icon

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 29th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

She'll be coming round the mountain is a old time favourite from my childhood so was please to see that it appeared in a well illustrated children's book.

Jenny Cooper has used colourful, fun illustrations which tell the song in a clever and hilarious way with animals. Every animals that has been used in the illustrations has it's own personality. I like the way that there is no backgrounds in the illustration which makes the reader concentrate on the words of the song. Obviously the barnyard theme has come through and I love that different instruments have been used in the illustrations which is another talking point with my son (identifying instruments).

Having the Topp Twins sing the song on the attached CD is a perfect match. Their personalities are brought through in the song. This is also a great way to introduce kids to New Zealand Icons (Topp Twins).

I like how the written music is included at the end of the book so that if we choose can play this on an instrument of our own.

So this up beat and catchy song has been revitalised in a fun and exciting picture book to be enjoyed by both children and adults. Yee-haa!

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 4th of February, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

My 5 year old daughter was lucky enough to receive this book recently, and she loves it! She has access to a CD player, and really enjoys being able to play her own CD's. I particularly love it when she has CD book combos as it means she can enjoy the book on her own, and have the story 'read' to her... without me having to be the one to read it! (or in this case, sing it)

I love this song from my childhood and had been known to sing it to my daughter, so she knew the general tune and some of the words. She was a bit miffed that the girl wore striped pyjamas rather than pink ones as we knew it though! There are also way more verses than I know about - whether these are from the actual song, or added in by the Topp Twins, I have no idea, but they are fun!

The book is great too - lots of fun and humorous illustrations and we still keep finding little things in the book that we hadn't noticed at first.

The first time I read it, I noticed that the song starts pretty quickly without a lead-in, so you have to be ready on the first page when you put the CD in, but it's not really too much of an issue. The song is lively and catchy and easy to find yourself humming along to for a long time afterwards - that can be a good or a bad thing!

Overall, we both loved the book, as did the group of 2, 3, and 4 year olds that I've read the book to at preschool too. CD song/story books are very popular right now, and I'd happily recommend this one.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 17th of December, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

As soon as I took "She'll Be Coming Round the Mountain" out, my 4 year old son was very excited about it. He flicked through the pages and on the last page he recognised another book in the series "There's a Hole in My Bucket" This prior experience made him even more excited about hearing this new book.

The front of the book is a bright orange with a familiar layout for children who have experienced other books in the series. My son knew automatically that he would enjoy it. It comes with an audio CD with the song to go with the lyrics. The music and singing by the Topp Twins is fast paced and energetic. It helps to get children interested in the book and the lyrics. My son found that he could pick up some of the words as he looked at the book and listened to the song. He started to sing along a little on the first reading. At the back of the book there are musical notes and lyrics written so that the song can be enjoyed with live music if the reader is able to recreate it. This would be a great way of letting the children get to know the lyrics in a slower fashion than is on the CD as well as becoming used to singing with live music. This is not to say that I don't love the music on the CD!

Jenny Cooper's illustrations are quite comical and give children plenty to look at while they are listening to the CD. There is a lot of attention to detail given to each character's image. A second (or third or fourth) look at the book without the CD playing gave us a chance to really enjoy the illustrations. The teeth on the horse kept catching my eye, and my 22 month daughter old kept returning to point to the horse (she wasn't so interested in sitting and listening to the book yet but was entertained by the horse and listening to the CD). The animals doing 'human' activities such as dancing and playing instruments makes it a fun humorous read for children and the adults who read to them.

I give my son access to a CD player so he can choose his own books with CDs and put them on for himself. He is just starting to read and he will be able to follow along with the words in the book as he becomes more familiar with the lyrics on the CD. I am sure this one will become part of his precious collection.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

There are so many wonderful traditional stories re-released over the years and this is one of my favourites. I was so excited to be getting this book, and couldn't wait to be sharing it with my little book worm. The song is not quite how I remember it lol but it is pretty close. The great thing about these re-releases is the slight humour that comes with them and of course the kiwi twist.

She'll be coming round the mountain is brightly illustrated with lots of colour and plenty of quirky artwork through-out. Nice and bright, edgy and catchy, meaning it holds childrens attention from start to finish. Not hat it was not going to anyway, it is such a catchy and funny tune. Jenny Cooper has once again done a wonderful job with the illustrations...and then there is the added bonus of the included CD.

The Topp Twins...loved and known in almost every New Zealand household put their music genious together once again to delight us all in song singing She'll be coming round the mountain in the fun and quirky way they present all their music, and miss 7 loves it! But she is not alone because I do too!! The CD just returns me to my childhood of fun and laughter made more enjoyable by my children laughing, smiling, dancing and singing at the top of their lungs.

Such a fantastic book that we are pleased to have on our bookshelf :)

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 22nd of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I remember singing She'll Be Coming Round The Mountain when I was young. It brings back fond memories of family road trips and it's a song that I'd been wanting to share with my son.

He had the biggest smile on his face the whole time we were reading/singing it. I must admit it is a pretty funny song and I loved seeing him getting so much enjoyment out of it. The illustrations are bright and chaotic - a perfect match and if you look closely there are lots of funny little extra details.

After we finished reading the book we decided to listen to the CD. My son then proceeded to dance and sing along, he also thought it would be fun to do some actions. I was a bit concerned about replay ability and it grating on my nerves but I don't think it's a song that we'll ever get tired of - it's just too silly.

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 17th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

One of my fondest memories of my nana was going to her Probus meeting and she performed 'She'll be coming around the mountain' wearing a pink nightie and dancing around the stage. When I heard this was coming out, could not wait to get this. My husband and I have both told the girls about that night and the way he talks about it you would of thought it was a horror movie. So I was a little disappointed that this version 'she is wearing striped pyjamas' instead of the pink nightie.

As soon as the book arrived I sat down with my youngest and sang away to her. We also discussed all the animals on each page. She loved it! We made all the animal sounds and she was singing 'yee-haa' after each page - very catchy and easy to read. Pictures are very colourful and love how the animals always have big smiles on there faces. My daughters favourite would have to be the mouse using a toothbrush to brush his hair and the page where all the animals are eating ice cream.

We took the cd to the car and played it on the way to pick up my daughter from preschool and have to say I was expecting more from it. I had imagined 'whistles, yum yum and some major yodelling' but it was rather reserved. Don't get me wrong, it is a great cd and have heard it way to many times and I still don't want to throw out the window yet, but just thought it would be more. I remember at school we would sing the first line of the verse and we would have a special word we could say and thought this would be the case but they just repeated yee- haa.

Picking up my husband from work and the four of us sang it 4 times before we decided to turn it off but the next day we were all singing away to it. It is great for the kids and the added bonus is my daughter is learning to read so the repetitiveness is a great help. Think it is suited to all age groups and everyone will get something out of it.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 15th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have always loved the song She'll be coming round the mountain so I was excited to see what the Topp Twins had done with the song. I wasn't disappointed and it's become an instant hit with everyone I have shared it with.

The first impressions when I flicked through the book were the bright, colourful, funny pictures that greet you on every page. There are so many little details that every time you look through the book you notice something else. I work with children and they have spent ages looking through the pages discussing each picture. Jenny Cooper was the perfect person to illustrate the book as the pictures match the Topp Twins sense of humour perfectly.

The cd is so easy to listen to and sing along with, it's not one that grates on your nerves. It can be on repeat several times and you still find yourself singing along and tapping your toes to it. I've been playing it for the children I work with for the past week and already they have started running around singing the song. When it comes to story time "mountain" is quickly becoming the most requested book.

I recommend the book for anyone's library it will become an instant hit, I love books like this which bring a new twist to an old favourite. Its hard to find a cd that children love that don't drive adults insane but She'll be coming round the mountain covers that perfectly! I challenge anyone young and old to listen to it and not join in the song.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 1398: The Saga of Seven Suns : 2 : A Forest of Stars -  Written by Kevin J Anderson

Product image for The Saga of Seven Suns : 2 : A Forest of StarsFive years after attacking human-colonized worlds of the Spiral Arm, the enigmatic hydrogues maintain absolute control over the galaxy's gas giant planets. Jovian atmospheres are the only source of vitally needed stardrive fuel - and the embargo of whole worlds is strangling human civilization.

On Earth, the corrupt government is exploiting the crisis, tightening an iron grip on rebellious colonies while seeking to dominate the other ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"How is it that we put man on the moon before we figured out it would be a good idea to put wheels on luggage?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream