Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 24th April 2019 - 14:43:15

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Meat and Poultry > Gourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Spicy Hungarian review

« Just Water - Bottled Water Delivery reviewJust Water - Bottled Water DeliveryWater-to-Go Single Bottle reviewWater-to-Go Single Bottle »

Score: 9.6/10  [6 reviews]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 4819 - Gourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Spicy Hungarian
Brand: Delbos

Gourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Spicy Hungarian
Price:
tbc
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Delbos Meat Products

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Gourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Spicy Hungarian product reviews

Proud to promote NZ products95% NZ Pork meat with paprika, chilli, garlic and black pepper.

Gluten & Preservative-free.

Check out Delbos Meat Products onlineClick here to see all the listings for Delbos Meat Products Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
chilli   garlic   gluten free   meat   nzmade   paprika   pepper   pork   sausages
Other listings you may be interested in:
Scone Toast: Apricot and HoneyScone Toast: Apricot and Honey
Rating: 8.2
Nosh RestaurantNosh Restaurant
Rating: 4.0
Pods - BountyPods - Bounty
Rating: 8.8
Roshen AngazheRoshen Angazhe
Rating: 9.1
Healthy Choice : Chicken ChasseurHealthy Choice : Chicken Chasseur
Rating: 5.4
Top Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' SaltyTop Notch Macadamias - Sweet 'n' Salty
Rating: 9.3
Pop Tarts - Frosted S'MoresPop Tarts - Frosted S'Mores
Rating: 8.0
Nuttz Thai Sweet Chilli CashewsNuttz Thai Sweet Chilli Cashews
Rating: 8.3
Sure to Rise Chocolate Chip MuffinsSure to Rise Chocolate Chip Muffins
Rating: 9.2
Vertigo RestaurantVertigo Restaurant
Rating: 7.8
Chocolates Are Us - Ginger BrittleChocolates Are Us - Ginger Brittle
Rating: 9.4
Black Raspberry VinaigretteBlack Raspberry Vinaigrette
Rating: 9.1
Pitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary SoupPitango Organic Spring Lamb, Red Wine and Rosemary Soup
Rating: 9.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 19th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After a really depressing stint in the hospital because I suffered a mild stroke a short time ago, the therapist says that I need to work on my fine motor skills to get them back as much as possible. I can think of no better way than to get typing on the reviews I am overdue on. So please, dear reader, forgive this old Koro his spelling errors and possible hilarious mistakes. Wink Icon

Some of the whanau from the Waikato were coming down recently, to join the uhunga for a close friend of mine who was like another tupuna wahine to many of them. They offered to bring these down for me, since they would not have survived the trip via courier at a price I could afford. And I really wanted to try them. Badly. I love spicy sausages but the mokopuna won't buy them for me because they worry about my health too damned much. I'm an old man and I don't want my last meal to be something that looks like cat sick or baby food.

So these arrives frozen, and one of the tamariki decided they would make awesome hotdogs. The BBQ was unpacked, dusted off, and a new gas bottle fitted, so we had some reall Summer kai for a change. Unlike my own tamariki, these young warriors understood that as the oldest, and the host, I should have the choicest bits, so made sure I got first shot at these. If I could have eaten them all, I would have. But as I said, I am a bit of an old fart now and I could only handle two before I was full, so the cook got one, and his mate who did the drinks duty got to snap up the other one.

The three of us sat there in companionable bliss as our tongue got beaten nearly senseless by the full-on flavour and spicy bite of these amazing sausages. And I tell you boy, these are real sausages. Full of meat and flavour and none of that breadcrumb and fat rubbish. The only oil that leaked out of these was chilli oil and I am all good with that shizzle. LOL Icon

I would happily eat these again, and pay good money when the budget allowed for it. As long as the price tag for a pack of four was under $10 I would think myself getting a good deal, but I would not recommend these to people who don't like really full-on spicy meats eh.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 19th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

Spicy Hungarian sausages is what is written on the packet and spicy Hungarian sausages is what you get from Delbos. They sure are a nice sausage, and I think it is correct in calling them gourmet, it's not something you would usually find at a normal BBQ that's for sure.

Now they are spicy, more spicy then what I imagined they would be but it was good. The key to them is not to undercook or over cook them apparently so it is a product you will need to watch as you cook, which you should do with any food you never know when your house will burst into flames.

The value for money score comes down to what you perceive as value, you probably could get more sausages for your money but would they be as good as these ones? I highly doubt it. I did a pasta type carbonara dish, left out the bacon and used this, it worked really well and the cheesiness of the dish offset the spiciness of the sausage, was very nice. Hope to see these sausages around the usual places.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 16th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

The old saying that you get what you pay for is very true with Delbos' Spicy Hungarian Gourmet BBQ Pork Sausages. They are definitely a premium sausage. The list of ingredients told me that: 95% pork and the rest herbs, spices and casing. There is no rubbish in these. I compared that to some cheap sausages I had sitting in my freezer which was only 70% meat and had the second and third ingredients listed as water and wheat. Since there was none of the rubbish fillers in Delbos' sausages it was also gluten free which is important for an increasing amount of households.

When I picked up my review pack I had been warned not to precook them or use them in the oven as they can become very dry. My husband and I were both very keen to try them so he cooked them in the frying pan with little oil. We were both very impressed that very little juice (water and fat) came out of the sausages. There was a fantastic smell from the pan.

He dished us up 1 1/2 sausages each and gave our girls (3.5 and 5) half a sausage each along with hot chips and vegetables for dinner. Unfortunately for them the girls heard the word spicy and refused to try them. My husband and I decided to both sample our sausages without any sauces. When I first took a bite I wondered where all the heat was. It tasted delicious but I wasn't what I would have classed as spicy. By the time I had finished that mouthful I had discovered the heat. My husband is one of these people the loves to put hot sauce on his food but he wasn't complaining that this was bland. I am more of a mild to medium person and this was just right for me. I think the flavour was there more than the kick. After eating a sausage each we were satisfied.

The next day I decided to try the cold sausages on some crackers with cheese. I think I preferred it this way as it was almost like a salami or chorizo. I found I needed my sharpest knife to slice it neatly. The bland cheese and crackers really allowed the flavour of the sausage to come through.

Both of us are keen to have these again and next time we won't offer any to the kids. We will be savouring them for ourselves.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 15th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

At this time of year, there's nothing better than snagglers for the BBQ, other than a nice hunk of steak that is. But for so long I have made do with precooked rubbish sausages, packed with fillers and water designed to trick you into thinking you've eaten meat. The "good" sausages have always been kept for special occasions or for particular dishes that simply aren't going to cope with the budget snags.

These are sausages I would consider only suitable for the best of the special occasions, as they are packed with real meat, no fillers or rubbish, and enough flavour to nail even the most jaded taste buds to the roof of your mouth in delight. OK, they are spicy... that's hot-spicy of course... and this means that for those who like the "quieter" foods then these may not be your best choice... like my family, who are not great fans of spicy.

I first cooked these up on the BBQ and had one "straight" - I loved it, but no-one else was all that keen. However... I do a mean Mac'n'Cheese packed with Vitamin Bacon, so I decided to leave out the bacon (yes, heresy, I know) and replace it with these, chopped into cubes about 5mm to a side. Simply done, since they were already cooked and now cool, I cut them lengthwise, and again to quarter it, then chopped them into small cube'ish chunks. These went into the dish with a medium onion and about 5 cloves of garlic, chopped to a medium coarseness and fried until the onion was tender and translucent.

A few generous handfuls of dry pasta, boiled in slightly salty water with a dash of cooking oil to help keep the foam under control and stop the pasta sticking to itself or the pot... mixed well, into a casserole dish and covered with grated cheddar, then into the oven until it had a crispy golden crust.

The results... surprisingly tasty as far as all were concerned. The heat was there, but I was told that the taste was so good, they were willing to put up with it... as long as there was a big glass of milk to glug on when the spice snuck through the cheese. LOL Icon

Overall, these are amazing sausages, and I am glad I got a chance to try them. I would dearly love to try some of the other sausages in this range, because the small taste I had of them at the Waikato Home & Garden Show this year was such a teaser!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 14th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was recently selected to receive a four pack of these gourmet sausages to review. When I saw the package, I was amazed at the length of the sausages, which are a very decent size. There are only four in the packet, but this was plenty for our family. In fact, this pack of four sausages will easily do several meals.

I defrosted two of the sausages overnight, in order to make pizza this evening. Into a pot of boiling water I placed the two sausages. I boiled them for about 10 minutes and then removed them to cut them up. They were not easy to cut into clean discs of meat, but that didn't matter. The casing came off very easily as well, which was a plus for me as I don't really enjoy casings anyway. I got a lot of sausage meat for my pizza toppings and I managed to get two whole wrap pizzas topped with only one of the sausages.

The flavour of this sausage is really spicy and hot. I used about 2/3 of the sausage on my husband's pizza and 1/3 of the sausage on mine. My husband really likes peppery hot sausages and he found this to be a great amount for his pizza, but he was glad I didn't have as much. I'm not a wimp by any means, but 1/3 of the sausage was plenty on my pizza. The heat was good, but overpowering at times.

The sausage meat itself is top quality. When they say 95% pork meat, it really is like eating minced pork with spices rather than your stock-standard soft squishy sausage. I think the fact that it is mostly meat rather than filler helped me feel fuller for longer, even though I had only effectively had two wraps and some topping. Next on my experiment list is a paella, replacing the chorizo sausage with these Delbos sausages. At this rate I will manage to feed my family four meals using a sausage each time. Now that's value for money!

Click here to read the profile of slashman

Review by: slashman (Aaron)
Dated: 10th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Freshness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Delbos Gourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Hungarian Spicy, will not disappoint.

There are 4 sausages in a packet which are generously long sausages. There was minimal shrinkage whilst cooking which says a few things about this product. They are not injected with water to artificially increase their size, they are low fat and did not leech fat out during cooking. They are made with 100% New Zealand meat and are preservative and gluten free.

There was a beautiful spicy oil almost like a choritzo would leave behind left in the pan after cooking them, but it was minimal and did not remove any of the full flavours that these sausages pack. I had mine with scrambled eggs and fried onion on toast with a little bit of sweet chilli sauce on the eggs only. I did not sully the sausages with any sauces whatsoever and after my first bite I wished I could have all four.

The first mouthful is going to be a kicker. You might get a watery eye or a tickle cough in one side of your throat, but that is simply your senses realizing you are eating something of quality. The flavours are strong but not overpowering and last nicely throughout the meal. I only had two sausages out of the four and the flavours did not mount up and become unbearable in spice or heat. It stayed at a nice smouldering 3.5 out of 5.

I was not needing to chase them down with drinks or anything and the heat only lingered 5-10 minutes after the last bite. These would be an awesome beer snack cold and equally sit well in a fresh crusty roll with lettuce, tomato, red onion and mayo straight off the barbie.

Summer is coming, and I would recommend adding these to your trolley the next time you are at your favourite small-goods store.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.4
Product reviews for listing 7222: Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala Vanilla -  Brand / Manufacturer Raglan Coconut Yoghurt

Product image for Raglan Coconut Yoghurt - Blackcurrant and Heilala VanillaPure coconut goodness, handmade with love in Raglan!

Paleo and dairy-free friendly, with lots of probiotics for happy, healthy tummies.

    •  Dairy-free
    •  Lactose-free
    •  ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life."
Andrew Brown

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream