Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Friday 15th November 2019 - 15:00:42

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > My Daddy Ate an Apple review

« Octopuppy reviewOctopuppyGrand Designs Revisits: By Request reviewGrand Designs Revisits: By Request »

Score: 9.4/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4812 - My Daddy Ate an Apple
Author: Craig Smith and Scott Tulloch

My Daddy Ate an Apple
Price:
$21.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
October 2013

My Daddy Ate an Apple product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsSo what happens if you eat an apple with a green worm inside?

Not just any worm, of course, but a fuzzy one, a buzzy one, a great big fat juicy one!

Children will love this story about Daddy Zebra's trip to hospital - and the surprise ending!

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
craig smith   nzmade   scholastic   scott tulloch   wonky donkey
Other listings you may be interested in:
Evergence : 1 : The Prodigal SunEvergence : 1 : The Prodigal Sun
Rating: 7.3
Night's Dawn : 1 : The Reality DysfunctionNight's Dawn : 1 : The Reality Dysfunction
Rating: 9.6
Singing For FreedomSinging For Freedom
Rating: 10.0
The Wonky DonkeyThe Wonky Donkey
Rating: 9.6
The 3 a.m. Epiphany: Uncommon Writing Exercises That Transform Your FictionThe 3 a.m. Epiphany: Uncommon Writing Exercises That Transform Your Fiction
Rating: 9.5
Shalador's LadyShalador's Lady
Rating: 9.5
The Weirdstone of Brisingamen - 50th Anniversary EditionThe Weirdstone of Brisingamen - 50th Anniversary Edition
Rating: 8.8
Pale DemonPale Demon
Rating: 9.8
Mummy's Little MonsterMummy's Little Monster
Rating: 8.6
The Amazing Spider-Man vs The LizardThe Amazing Spider-Man vs The Lizard
Rating: 9.5
Jack Russell: Dog Detective Books 1 - 3 Jack Russell: Dog Detective Books 1 - 3 
Rating: 9.6
Thea Stilton and The Journey to the Lions DenThea Stilton and The Journey to the Lions Den
Rating: 9.6
Epic Fail Tales 2: Attack of the Giant Robot Zombie MermaidEpic Fail Tales 2: Attack of the Giant Robot Zombie Mermaid
Rating: 9.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of haykay

Review by: haykay (Haley)
Dated: 29th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This book will leave a fuzzy buzzy feeling to all that read it.

Craig Smith has taken a very simple context and turned it into a fun and exciting story attached to a very catchy tune. I love the way that at every page you cannot guess what is going to happen next. His clever use of words makes it very easy for even my 3 year old to sing along to the repetitive parts. They funny jokes were also understood by my 3 years old.

Scott Tulloch has been very clever in the use of characters illustrations. His Zebra (main character) illustrations are very well drawn and having a black and white character lets the other illustrations stand out. The pictures themselves tell a pretty fun story of their own.

Having a CD attached to this book allows any child to read along with the book. It also adds feelings and sound effects that make it slightly more exciting than just reading the book, like the slurping of a juicy apple.

I think that this book is one that will be loved over and over again by both children and adults. There is a message however it is a very simple message - 'don't eat apples with green worms inside'

Click here to read the profile of shellcruise

Review by: shellcruise (Shelley)
Dated: 29th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

At the end of music class the children run around screaming while a story is put on. Mummys sit around talking. It so happened, while in the middle of a sentence I looked up and saw the picture of a 'fuzzy, buzzy and a great big fat juicy green worm' holding on to the zebras tonsils and I let out a scream - I felt physically ill. Not being able to hear the words the mummy I was talking to explained the story and said wait till the end.... which all I could do was say yuck!!

I was telling my husband about it and my five year old daughter took over explaining what happens in great detail especially the end. So when the opportunity came up to review I knew I just had to......

The pictures are awesome. Love how vibrant they are and yes that picture of the bug still makes me feel ill. The story is very funny about a daddy who ate an apple which had a surprise bug on it. I read before school and my daughter was like quick turn to the back page to which both of my girls cracked up. I decided to take the CD in the car and listen on way to school and have mixed feelings on it. There is slurping and burping and other fantastic noises - it really is impressive. But still makes me ill......

After dropping my daughter at school my two year old and I returned home and she was like read it again so I did. Still not a fan of the picture of the worm on the tonsils but I can appreciate it for what it is. Really enjoyable for the children and if you can get past that one picture it is fun for adults too. Definitely going to be a family favourite book and don't think I will get tired of the tape either, although only the one song on it so have to replay once finished.

For the last two nights this has been the book of choice and tonight my husband was reading and the girls were saying the description of the worm - it does not take long for them to learn the rhyme. A really fun book.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 29th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

We have been happy reviewers for KIWIreviews for 4years next month and over that time we have been very lucky to have received many wonderful books for our 3 children (now aged 7, 12, and 13 years old). Generally when I put a request in for review stock, I do so based on things (or books) my children have previously mentioned or asked me to buy them from Scholastic book club. This time was much the same. I requested some books I already knew about and a couple I had not heard of or knew little about.

My daddy ate an apple was one of the books I knew little about. I requested it not only because my 7 year old is addicted to reading and her daddy is addictes to apples, but also because it sounded like it would be a fun book to own. I was right. My girl loves it. She thinks it is so funny and has made her daddy sing it with her several times over. It is so cute hearing her and her daddy, giggling and singing and making slurping noises together. But I must confess, as cute as the book is, and as much as they live it, the compact disc it comes with (with the song on it) has very fast begun to grate on my nerves :(

The song is cute, quirky, fun, and worth a giggle but the singer on the compact disc seems to be bored with the song lol I am guessing it is obviously intended to be sung the way it is, but it just lacks in joy and excitement and when played several times in a row it is really irritating. However this is my opinion only and my daughter does not agree :)

Please note you will find yourself singing this one even after you have finished reading it and if you dont, you will find yourself singing 'hail to the bus driver, bus driver man :)

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 29th of May, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I've heard 'My Daddy Ate an Apple' a couple of times when picking up my daughters from kindy, so when I saw a copy of this up for review I simply had to ask.

The cover is a lovely shade of green, really catches my eyes and my three children were instantly drawn to it.I love it when there is a fun book that you can sing to and it comes with a CD. I didn't know the tune at first, but my wife did and so she covered the first round, I covered the second and then Granny covered the third version. I think Granny needs to listen to the CD though, before she performs it again as she got the tune wrong. LOL Icon

The illustrations are nice and uncluttered when it is just the child, mother and father and wonderfully chaotic when daddy is on his way to and at the hospital. The illustrations are fun, and my three children really enjoyed it, even I had to have a chuckle a couple of times at what was going on. My four year old and three year old have heard it before but my six year old hadn't, he ended up listening to it in bed and wanted it put on repeat.

A fun book, look forward to more from this author.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 10th of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

I was lucky enough to get this book for review, we have other titles of Craig Smiths, our favorite being The Wonky Donkey closely followed by Willbee The Bumblebee. I really love the cover of this book, the bright green is really appealing to the eye and because of this the children pick it up more often than others. It also helps us find it in the bookcase!

I was slightly disappointed with the content in the book, personally I hate books that talk about pooping, especially in a comical way. HOWEVER my boys (5 and 2) thought it was great! I do however like that it touches on how the digestion system works and I really love the hospital page with the nurses and the X-Ray machine. This has enable me to talk to the children about how this works and why hospitals have them.

The font is great, I love the coloured words and the change in font to which adds emphasis to individual words. This is a big thing I look for in books as it just engages me more in the story and I think its aesthetically nice to look at on the page. The pictures have great detail and there is a lot for children of all ages to look at.

The words are really catchy (and slightly irritating after a while!) but its great that my 5 year old can sit down and recognize words and 'read' along with the CD on. The boys love listening to the CD on its own in the car as well, which is great as they can recite it with the CD making car trips easy!

Overall I do not think I would purchase this book just because the story line isn't as good as the other ones that are along the same lines from Craig Smith (who my son has been able to meet a couple of time and adores!)

Click here to read the profile of antmcf

Review by: antmcf (Antoinette)
Dated: 2nd of November, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Another instant hit from the talented Craig Smith with this book! In true Craig Smith style the story is funny and entertaining for children of all ages. A fun catchy tune that makes you want to sing along. We loved the fact a CD comes with this book meaning we don't always have to read the story over and over again, we can pop the CD in and let the children enjoy it! It has proved to be great entertainment on a couple of long car trips!

Both my 10 year old and 2 year old know the words backwards and laugh along with the story. the ending is a particular hit with both of them! Scott Tulloch has provided some delightful pictures to help bring the story to life! My youngest daughter enjoys looking at the pictures and finding all the little 'humor' parts in them. This is a must add book/cd to add to any well loved book collection....both young and old will enjoy!

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 31st of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I don't often give a perfect score, but this book/CD deserves it. If you are like me, you see Craig Smith as having some great hits, but it's pretty hard to live up to the expectations of 'Wonky Donkey, and you might be undecided on whether to purchase some of his later books. However 'My Daddy ate an Apple' is as good as his best.

The song is sung to a familiar and catchy tune that is easy to pick up and catch on to straight away. The book is full of fantastic illustrations - both myself and my 5 year old keep discovering new things each time we read it. And the story is superb - and in typical Craig Smith style there's just a little bit of rudeness - enough to captivate children's interest without going overboard, and to have both adults and children laugh out loud.

As a Childcare Teacher, as well as sharing the book with my own 5 year old, I also took it into work to share with a group of 2, 3 and 4 year olds. I had the children in hysterics and begging me to read it again, including those children who are not normally so captivated by books. A few days later I had a couple of the older boys excitedly telling me they had seen my book in the shop. These are children who would not typically get so excited over books, so I give a huge thumbs up for helping capture the wonder of reading for these children.

As a book and CD set, it's great value for money. And the great thing about the CD is that it's not me that has to read it over and over again - the CD does all the work!

I only have one criticism of this book - it's so catchy that I can't get the tune out of my head! If you can handle that, I highly recommend you purchase this book.

Click here to read the profile of vettechic

Review by: vettechic (Tash)
Dated: 15th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Craig Smith has done it again, another fantastic book and CD, My Daddy ate an Apple is a story/song that captivates readers young and old with its enchanting, catchy, fun words. Craig Smith has a rare talent in telling a exciting, adventurous story that draws us in through song. We are taken on a journey along with a young zebra, his mummy and daddy, and some other very adorable animals. Daddy runs in to a bit of trouble with a apple he ate.

Craig Smiths reading of his story/song is very well done using changes in his voice to catch his listeners attention right from the start, his emphasis on some words adds to the delight of the storyline. The CD that goes with the story/song has been enjoyed by the children as it is at a slower pace than his others CDs and easier for the preschoolers to join in with, which they have successfully managed to do from only the second time they heard it.

Scott Tulloch has drawn bright,eye catching, vibrant, humorous pictures that take us on visual journey throughout this delightful story. The pictures have also had some great discussions come from them.

My Daddy ate an Apple has only been in my household a fortnight and has to be read/ listened to multiple times a day. This would be a perfect present for the story/song loving littlie in your life.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 8th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I recently took my niece to see Craig Smith as part of the kiwi fun tour and as well as singing all the songs we all know and love he introduced us to his new book My Daddy Ate An Apple. By the time the song was finished I knew that we wouldn't be leaving without a copy of the book.

Craig Smith has once again used fun and exciting words and music to create an instant hit with children. His sense of humour flows through the book as he describes what happens when Daddy eats an apple with a green worm inside. In true Craig Smith style there is a bottom moment thrown in too!

The illustrations match the story wonderfully and provoke a lot of conversations with children. I'm sure every time the book is read another little detail in the pictures is spotted.

My niece loves the book and is an instant fan at 2 and a half she is driving her parents mad with wanting to listen to it all the time, she can't get enough of it. I have listened to it with a number of different children under 5 and they all love it and it hasn't taken any of them long to remember the words and start singing along.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 4th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Craig Smith is one of our favourite New Zealand authors. We already have the Wonky Donkey, Willbee the Bumble Bee, and Kaha the Kea. What is a staple when it comes to Smith, is clever lyrics, musical books and toilet humour. There is always a bottom or a fart.

In My Daddy Ate an Apple, Daddy Zebra eats what looks like a delicious apple. Except that it has a worm in it. A real rocker of a worm! This book follows Daddy and the worm as they try to become separated again.

Scott Tulloch has bought something pretty special to the illustrations in this book. The animals are realistic, and are drawn with such a depth of detail. Yet, each character has so much they are conveying. Tulloch's pictures really do Smith's words a lot of justice. There are moments in the book, as well, where you think the words actually have left things very open for Tulloch to play, and play he does.

My daughter's favourite moments were the ambulance ride, and the MRI image. My favourite moment had to be the bottom moment. The look on the monkey's face was classic. The words are simplistic, but easy to follow and sing along to. This had us giggling a lot with lots of "oh nos" as well. It would suit any child, who enjoys a song and a story.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 7603: Putangitangi Walks
Author: Stephanie Thatcher

Product image for Putangitangi WalksCheeky Putangitangi the paradise shelduck is looking for her friend. What will she do when she finds him? A fun rhyming story about two playful little ducks - and a frog!

This is a lovely story about the simple pleasures of life. The cute and colourful illustrations by the author include a little frog that children will enjoy pointing out on each page spread.

The short sentences and rhyming text will make this a favourite book for pre-schoolers and beginner readers.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to say, 'See that chicken there... I'm gonna eat the next thing that comes outta it's bum.'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream