Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Sunday 22nd October 2017 - 02:46:57

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Carbonated Drinks > Pete's Natural - Currant Crush review

« Pete's Natural - Lemonade reviewPete's Natural - LemonadePete's Natural - Orange Berry Fusion reviewPete's Natural - Orange Berry Fusion »

Advertising...

epluribus.nz
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.0/10  [10 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4788 - Pete's Natural - Currant Crush
Brewed/Bottled by Pete's Natural

Pete's Natural - Currant Crush
Price:
$14 per 4 pack
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pete

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

Pete's Natural - Currant Crush product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsPete's Natural Currant crush is made in New Zealand from lightly carbonated water, freshly squeezed New Zealand black currants, freshly squeezed New Zealand lemon juice, fair trade organic raw sugar, white vinegar, New Zealand grown hops.

Check out Pete's Natural onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pete's Natural Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
currant   lemonade   locally produced   natural ingredients   nz made   nzmade   sparkling
Other listings you may be interested in:
Lemon and Barley Fruit Syrup 710mlLemon and Barley Fruit Syrup 710ml
Rating: 9.8
Addmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ AppleAddmore Elderflower Cordial - NZ Apple
Rating: 9.8
Pete's Natural - Orange Berry FusionPete's Natural - Orange Berry Fusion
Rating: 9.5
Lothlorien Feijoa Wine - DryLothlorien Feijoa Wine - Dry
Rating: 8.9
Pete's Natural - KolaPete's Natural - Kola
Rating: 9.5
Pete's Natural - LemonadePete's Natural - Lemonade
Rating: 9.3
Madame's Special BlendMadame's Special Blend
Rating: 7.5
Pete's Natural - Lime-o-nadePete's Natural - Lime-o-nade
Rating: 8.4
Pete's Natural - Ginger BeerPete's Natural - Ginger Beer
Rating: 7.6
Pete's Natural - Feijoa LemonadePete's Natural - Feijoa Lemonade
Rating: 9.8
Pete's Natural - Lemon ChilliPete's Natural - Lemon Chilli
Rating: 8.8
Red Seal Black Tea with Peach & MangoRed Seal Black Tea with Peach & Mango
Rating: 8.1
Avalanche Kids Sugar-Free - Banana BonanzaAvalanche Kids Sugar-Free - Banana Bonanza
Rating: 9.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of ktcat

Review by: ktcat (Kate)
Dated: 1st of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Blackcurrants bring back fond memories of childhood, that is why I had to try this drink. I guess a lot of people have similar memories (although I not only enjoyed Ribena type drinks, we also grew our own blackcurrants). The smell, oh the smell!!

My husband thought that it was a bit bland, rather like soda water with colouring. I, on the other hand, really enjoyed it. I found it was a nice light drink and I think that it would be a good option for me to take to an event where I was going to have several drinks in one night. It isn't as sickly sweet as most fizzy drinks and therefore I think I could cope with a few over the course of an evening. The fact that the Pete's drink is lightly carbonated is rather nice as it didn't make me all gassy after drinking it.

After tasting the drink straight from the bottle, I had to come up with an idea of how to use the drink in a different way. I thought that it would be apt to bring back another memory from childhood - ice-cream sodas. Luckily I had just enough vanilla ice-cream to put into a glass and then slowly poured some of the Pete's drink in. I tasted the fluff that it had created and it was rather like marshmallow. I drank some of the ice-cream soda and found that it had created a lovely drink that didn't taste too sweet. In fact it was REALLY nice.

I compared this drink to some other fizzy drink I had in the cupboard. Pete's Natural Blackcurrant had much less sugar, less energy and none of the colours and numbers that appeared in the other drink. Looking at the ingredients at the back of the Pete's bottle, I could recognise all the items in there and therefore could replicate it in my own kitchen if I had access to the ingredients. I think this is a sign of a good product. Real food and drink has to win hands down.

I had a look online to see what the website was like. I was able to see where this drink is sold and what markets, events etc it would be available at in the upcoming months. I liked the personal touch of the story about how the drinks came about. A bit of humour makes customers feel like they important and have a link to the person who has created the drink for them. I also liked the fact that the nutritional information for each version of the drinks is available online, it means that people who like to know about what they are eating and drinking can find out really easily.

I really liked my first experience of Pete's range of drinks. I am positive that I will be having more of it. It will be a perfect summer drink (if I haven't got into it before then).

Click here to read the profile of dragonborn

Review by: dragonborn (Phillip)
Dated: 29th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I remember my wife getting one of these drinks to review a little while back and I rather liked it, so when I got this one to review I was rather excited.

Reading the ingredients on the back of the bottle I have to say that I really liked what I saw, everything is natural and as fresh as you can get something that has been stored in a bottle on the store floor. The design is nice and simple and it is so easy to see what you are getting. I gave the bottle a gentle shake and then popped it open. Even just slightly carbonated, I had a momentary freak out when it fizzed up to the top of the bottle but all was well, I'll just be more gentle next time.

Splitting this between my wife and I, and a tiny bit for my youngest daughter, we used small plastic cups and this bottle filled up two with a little bit left over for my daughter. I really liked the taste, it wasn't too sweet, a good amount of flavour without being overpowering and didn't take long to get finished at all. My only problem with this drink it the price (if you can only buy it in a pack of four), it works out to be about $2.50 per bottle so as a one bottle, now and then, it works out well.

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 28th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

I love Blackcurrant everything - juice, sweets, jam, you name it - so I was very excited to try this product. I love that it contains no chemicals, additives or preservatives - a really big selling point when it comes to making healthy choices for my family.

It's the second product that I have tried from the Pete's Natural range and what can I say - it was delicious! Very flavoursome, not too sweet and lightly carbonated which suits my tastes perfectly since I don't like really fizzy drinks. My partner even thought it tasted nice and he's not a big fan of blackcurrant.

I decided to experiment with this product and I just couldn't get the thought of jelly out of my head. Turns out I'm glad that I went with my instincts on this one because the jelly was a huge hit. It got my partners seal of approval and my son keeps asking me when we can make it again - definitely a win.

The glass bottle makes it feel a bit special and the labelling is clean and simple. I particularly love the addition of the caution label that reads: Beware: Extraordinary amounts of vitamin C are lurking in this bottle - that's good to know, especially at this time of year when all sorts of nasty winter bugs are going around.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 6th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

This was the second of the drinks I tried I love black currant drinks and they always remind me of when I was younger and my Nan would buy me blackcurrant cordial when I was sick and I needed the Vitamin C. I think it is nice having something that lets you relive your childhood and this certainly did just that.

I do like a sparkling ribena from time to time and half expected this to be a bit like that but it was quite a bit different. For a start the sparkling ribena seems to be a lot more concentrated so it has a more syrupy texture, and it is also a lot sweeter. This had a lot more mild and light flavour and texture and with just the light carbonation it made it very easy to drink. I would of liked a bit more sweetness but I think the milder taste shows it is made from natural products with no added extras which I love.

I decide to mix this with my vodka with a slice of lime and some ice. We have had a couple of hot days and it was the perfect refreshing alcoholic drink to unwind with in the evening. I would certainly use this as a mixer again as it makes it a much lighter drink than if you were to add orange juice or coke. I was again quite sad when the bottle was empty as I could of happily had another it was so easy to drink and made my drink look a lot prettier too.

I'm not sure where these are stocked yet but would love to see them start coming into the supermarkets as I would happily buy them to have in the fridge over summer all in all a fabulous drink which is healthy enough for the whole family.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 2nd of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Okay, first of all, this drink is currently my favourite, second of all, pun is fully intended! LOL Icon The drink had a good amount of flavour, but it wasn't as sweet as most most fizzy drinks! I am glad that this drink is made with natural ingredients, because it means that it is better for the body, and doesn't have any of the unnatural additives that drinks like Coke and Sprite have.

The flavour was mild, not as sweet and pronounced as most drinks, but the taste was still pleasant, and there still was a good fizz. I think that if you were to buy a bottle of this stuff, I think you would find conclusive proof that this stuff is natural, because you will notice a pile of sediment at the bottom of the bottle. As the label states, this is because the creators decided not to use any chemicals or additives in order to keep this stuff natural and healthy, so the ingredients separate out while in storage.

The price of these drinks is awesome, I calculated the price for each bottle, and $3.50 is not at all a bad price! If I ever found these drinks again, I would be very keen to have them, as this Blackcurrant drink felt very healthy, very refreshing, had a slight fizz, and was rather tasty!

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 1st of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

The bottle immediately appealed to me with those juicy looking black currents on the label. This Current Crush contains lightly carbonated water, freshly squeezed blackcurrants, lemon juice, fairtrade organic sugar and white vinegar as well as natural flavours. As always I am interested to know what the "natural flavours" are. The label also has a CAUTION sign stating "Blackcurrants ahead! Beware: Extrodinary amounts of vitiman C are lurking in this bottle." I am not sure if the spelling mistakes are intentional in extraordinary and vitamin? I am surprised also that although there is this caution, the vitamin C content is not on the nutritional label. I am of course interested to know the Vit C content after reading the warning!

So labels aside onto the contents. I really liked the taste of this drink. I love blackcurrants and my immediate reaction to this was that it tastes like Ribena with bubbles but better. You can definitely taste the blackcurrant and the lemon and I didn't find this overly sweet.

I would consider buying these again if I saw them on special or in a cafe as it is a refreshing summer drink.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 29th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

This flavour was probably my second favourite of the range. I found it quite sweet and to be honest, I am not a huge berry fan really. Still, for a berry-based drink it was quite pleasant, certainly refreshing, and something I could easily see a lot of people enjoying.

I had a few sips of this, enough to discover that I wasn't likely to finish the bottle myself, so I passed it over to my wife to finish off. She was a lot more impressed than I was because she is very much a berry fan. Her impressions were that it was quite like a subtle version of ribena - sweet but not overly so and a softer, less tangy flavour.

After talking with her and bouncing some ideas around, I could see that it would be a lovely mixer for a summer cocktail, maybe with something a little tart like Cointreau, some ice, a little apple juice and a squeeze of lemon, then blended into a smooth slush, then sipped slowly through a straw. I may just have to try that when Summer is in full swing. Wink Icon

Overall, a really nice drink for those that like berries. Not my kettle of fish personally, but it's easy to see it has great potential and appeal to many others.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 28th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

I love current drinks its one of my favs so I was super excited to give this a go being natural and all. Opening it up gave the nice little fizz sound and the really strong yummy smell of currents flowing out of the bottle. It has a lovely red colour to it aswell. I do like that the label tells you what the drink it without having to read it, the kids guessed berries as my daughter saw blueberries on the label

Once tasting it I felt something was missing but remembered reading on the label might have to give it a tip upside down as it settles at the bottom so the lid went back on and tipped it up to mix it together. On the second tasting it didn't really change my opinion much. I have found it is a weak flavour and really not for me, the husband said it was weak but he drink it, sadly I wont drink it.

On the other hand the kids have enjoyed it a lot, my daughter drunk it so fast and then said mummy its so yum and my son is happy dipping his popcorn into it and enjoying it as a drink aswell. I would be happy to buy these for my kids for family BBQ's instead of fizzy drinks as this has less sugar in it and they love it.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 28th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

I love black currant drinks since I was given the occasional Ribena drink as a child. The currant crush from Pete's Natural really appealed to me. The colour is very bright and out of the three varieties we were given to review it was the one that my kids demanded I opened first. Since I wanted to use most of it for cooking we only had a couple of sips each but it was a big hit with Miss 3.5 and Miss 5. I found it had a very subtle flavour but it worked well at soothing my tickly throat.

I decided to use the currant crush in cupcakes. Last week a colleague had made us cupcakes using only cake mix and fizzy drink and they tasted great and were incredibly moist so I had to try making them myself. It was the simplest cake I had ever made with only two ingredients and was very popular with the whole family. They were incredibly moist even after a couple of days. I suspect they would go mouldy before they went stale but I doubt I'll ever have a chance to find out. The drink gave the cupcakes a bluey-purplish colour. My husband thought I had mad blueberry muffins. The batter in the muffin cases expanded as they were waiting to go into the oven thanks to the fizz.

I would be happy to share a currant crush with my girls again knowing that they were drinking an all natural treat.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 27th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.8/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 7 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

I am a fan of Black Currant. My usual juice choice is Apple and Black Currant, so I was pretty sure I would enjoy this drink. I thought for sure it would be my favourite. But I have to say, this was not top of my list in the range.

Cracking the bottle open, the smell of currants was overpowering. It was a delicious smell. After a few swigs, I found this drink a bit too sweet for me. What was a good thing about the lemonade, was not so good about this drink.

I decided to experiment a little bit with this drink. I had heard of lemonade scones. So I decided to mix my scone mix with chopped up dates and then replaced the liquid with this Currant Crush. This made my scone batter a berry pretty blue (see what I did there?)

The scones cooked beautifully. I served these with butter straight from the oven. My toddler loved her scone and ate quite a bit of it. I found mine a little too sweet. I probably should have skipped the dates on that one!

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 7.6
Product reviews for listing 7141: Pete's Natural - Ginger Beer -  Brewed/Bottled by Pete's Natural

Product image for Pete's Natural - Ginger BeerPete's Natural Ginger Beer is made in New Zealand from lightly carbonated water, New Zealand honey, fresh ginger, freshly squeezed New Zealand lemon juice, white vinegar, vanilla, liquorice, star anise and New Zealand grown hops.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit."
Harry S Truman (1884 - 1972)

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream