Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 23rd October 2017 - 17:27:34

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Carbonated Drinks > Pete's Natural - Lemonade review

« Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park reviewMangawhai Heads Holiday ParkPete's Natural - Currant Crush reviewPete's Natural - Currant Crush »

Advertising...

The best power prices are at PowerShop
Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.3/10  [11 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4787 - Pete's Natural - Lemonade
Brewed/Bottled by Pete's Natural

Pete's Natural - Lemonade
Price:
$14 per 4 pack
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Pete

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
via Online Store and selected quality retailers

Pete's Natural - Lemonade product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsPete's Natural Lemonade is made in New Zealand from lightly carbonated water, freshly squeezed New Zealand lemon juice, organic fair trade raw sugar, white vinegar, and New Zealand grown hops.

Check out Pete's Natural onlineClick here to see all the listings for Pete's Natural Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
lemonade   locally produced   natural   natural ingredients   nzmade   sparkling
Other listings you may be interested in:
Pete's Natural - Orange Berry FusionPete's Natural - Orange Berry Fusion
Rating: 9.5
Pete's Natural - Lime-o-nadePete's Natural - Lime-o-nade
Rating: 8.4
Robert Timms Italian Espresso Coffee BagsRobert Timms Italian Espresso Coffee Bags
Rating: 10.0
SodaStream Classics - Crafted ColaSodaStream Classics - Crafted Cola
Rating: 9.5
Pete's Natural - Feijoa LemonadePete's Natural - Feijoa Lemonade
Rating: 9.8
Pete's Natural - KolaPete's Natural - Kola
Rating: 9.5
Sodastream - BlackcurrantSodastream - Blackcurrant
Rating: 9.4
Peach - Still MediumPeach - Still Medium
Rating: 8.8
Pete's Natural - Ginger BeerPete's Natural - Ginger Beer
Rating: 7.6
Pete's Natural - Lemon ChilliPete's Natural - Lemon Chilli
Rating: 8.8
Lothlorien Feijoa Wine - MediumLothlorien Feijoa Wine - Medium
Rating: 9.3
Pete's Natural - Currant CrushPete's Natural - Currant Crush
Rating: 9.0
e2 Energy : Citrus Kicke2 Energy : Citrus Kick
Rating: 6.1

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kelly21

Review by: kelly21 (Kelly)
Dated: 15th of June, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

I came across the Pete's Natural stand at the Christchurch Women's Expo last year. I was a stall holder and the person at the stall next to me went away to get lunch and came back with one of these lemonade drinks. Always keen on new non-alcoholic drinks to try I went to have a look at the Pete's Natural stall later in the day when customer numbers had decreased. I was met by two wonderful people who were full of knowledge about the product. They explained to me that the drinks are made in New Zealand of all natural ingredients and they have no added sugar. I was handed some samples to try and then the hard decision came - just what flavour would I buy? I settled on this lemonade as it was my favourite.

I made my way back to my stall and opened my bottle. It was amazing! Sweet but not too sweet, tangy and very lemon-y - just the way a lemonade should be! The drink itself was very refreshing and it didn't take long for me to polish it off. In fact I enjoyed it so much I had to go back and buy more - I'm pretty sure I left Christchurch that weekend with three packs of four bottles!

Being a natural drink it does attract a higher price than standard carbonated drinks in the supermarkets and shops. This is pretty standard with anything and I guess it comes down to the debate of spending more to invest in my health against spending less on something not so good for me. I definitely will be buying the Pete's Natural lemonade again - if only I could find where to get it!

Click here to read the profile of devilprincess

Review by: devilprincess (Lauren)
Dated: 2nd of July, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

I was pretty happy I'd gotten the opportunity to review this drink and when it arrived I put it in the fridge to cool it a bit. When my husband got home from work he immediately claimed it as his own. Luckily I managed to grab it for a quick gulp so I could try it too.

I quite liked the taste. It had a resemblance to homemade lemonade and I love the fact that it's all natural. I think the main thing that puts it a step above others is that it wasn't sickly sweet like other lemonade drinks. This also really appealed to my husband. He downed it quite quickly and then wanted more. He actually added it straight to the shopping list for next week so I hope I can find some.

Based on the packaging and the amount of liquid in it, it feels like a bottle that I'd grab from a cafe or something while out but it doesn't seem like something I'd buy just to have at home in the fridge. Usually our drinks at home are in bigger quantities so the dollar goes further and for the price of this drink it'd certainly be a once-in-a-while treat for us.

I absolutely loved the little caution note on the back of the bottle "These bottles contain more freshly squeezed lemon juice than sugar." It's a great little reminder that these drinks are natural.

Click here to read the profile of rekebum

Review by: rekebum (Shani)
Dated: 30th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

After trying the Lime-o-Nade I was eager to taste Pete's Natural Lemonade. Again I really love that it is all natural and made right here in New Zealand. I love the fact that there is no added sugar!!

So I didn't know whether to expect a sour lemon taste or more of a Sprite flavour but was pleasantly surprised by the taste. It wasn't to sour nor was it overly sweet. It tasted like Lemonade you could make at home but with a wee fizz. I found it delicious, I added it to my Cider and it was even more delicious, much better than standard lemonade that I usually use and tastes nothing like lemons.

It is refreshing and light, It doesn't leave you feeling bloated. I let my two year old have a taste he was not to fussed I think it may have been a bit on the bitter side for his young taste buds. I like that this comes in glass bottles that makes it feel like a real treat. They are the perfect size to mix with the Cider and I will grab these if we are going out for drinks.

If you like good old fashioned Lemonade you will love this.

Click here to read the profile of fayth

Review by: fayth (Fay)
Dated: 26th of June, 2014

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 9 out of 10

This is the first time that I've tried any of the Pete's Natural range. I was really drawn to this product by the fact that it contains no artificial flavours, colours or preservatives and it's made in New Zealand - I am all for supporting local businesses.

I wasn't quite sure what to expect flavour wise and I was pleasantly surprised - it wasn't overly sweet and it was bursting with real lemon flavour (the way lemons are supposed to taste). I found it to be very morish and the more I drank the better it tasted. It's lightly carbonated which is perfect for me as I don't like really fizzy drinks and my son (age 6.5 yrs), who is extremely against all things fizzy, even gave it a try and didn't immediately turn his nose up at it.

My favourite drink mix is Malibu and lemonade so of course I had to try this product with Malibu. It was amazing - the perfect flavour combination and so much better than regular lemonade.

The glass bottle makes it feel like a special drink - perfect for taking to any get togethers and I love the added extra on the label that reads 'beware: these bottles contain more freshly squeezed lemon juice than sugar' - that's a win in my book.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 21st of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10

It's natural, it's not artificially sweetened, and it's made here in NZ... what a great combo. I had to try this in one of our cheesecakes... and it was brilliant, though due to the low carbonation the cheesecake wasn't quite as light and airy as it should have been. No problem, a quick blast through the SodaStream machine and the next one turned out really well... in fact I have to say it was one of the best cheesecakes I made in a long while.

What made this so good, I think, was the lack of added sugar in the lemonade. Sometimes, when I make these, they come out so sickly sweet that I can't enjoy more than a few spoonfuls before it gets just too much... but in this case since the drink has no added sugar, and is mostly just the good, natural ingredients one hopes for, the cheesecake sweetness was perfectly balanced.

I also tried this on it's own, and found it to be mild - as I said, not too sweet but also not too tart - and had just enough of the lemon flavour to give it a refreshing, mouth-cleansing taste. Had I not used most of the bottle in the cheesecakes I think this would have gone down wonderfully as a mixer with a moderate sweet spirit, such as Southern Comfort.

Overall, this is another example of a wonderful Kiwi creation showing how it should be done!

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 6th of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

I have to say I am a huge fan of natural lemonade I grew up on the home made variety of lemonade aswell as home made drinks like elderberry cordial and berry drinks so I much prefer the natural taste to some of the highly artificial drinks on the market today. We have several lemon trees as well as a couple of lemonade trees on our property so making home made lemonade is a favourite activity of my daughters even more so now we have the soda stream and she can actually give it some fizz.

I had the best intentions to make some scones with this lemonade but after spending a couple of hours gardening on a hot saturday morning I came in gagging for something cold and refreshing. I grabbed the bottle of this and downed about half a bottle in one sip. Because it is only lightly carbonated you can drink it easily and it doesn't sit heavily on your chest or make you gassy which I absolutely loved. In terms of fizziness it has enough to create that tingle on your tongue but not so much that your left belching for the rest of the day.

The flavour is amazing it tastes just like what Nana used to make, I am a big fan of lemon and eat them straight from the tree so to me this had the perfect level of sweetness. You could taste the bitterness from the lemon but it has enough sugar added that even young children or those not used to sourness to be able to drink. Although I wasn't keen to share it with my kids as it was just too good.

I had some left over lemon liquer so I mixed the other half of the bottle with a splash of the liquer to wind down in the afternoon and it really complimented a lemon liquer quite nicely. I would definitely buy this lemonade again and I think the price at $3.50ish per bottle is very reasonable for a natural great tasting lemonade, and I love the fact the lemons are spray free!

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 2nd of October, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Pete's Natural is one of the most natural lemonade-brewing companies I know of, and yet the most basic flavour of the lot is my least favourite. The taste was a bit bitter, but it was still nice, just because it's my least favourite does not necessarily mean that it's not that nice. I think that while this drink might be a bit to mild and bitter for average drinking, but after looking at other people's reviews, I realized that this drink can be used as an additive-free ingredient in baking.

To go into a bit more detail on my thoughts on the flavour, I thought that it was nice, slightly acidic, but not as sour as pure lemon juice. A way to make this drink a bit more flavorsome would be too add some sugar or something to it, just to add some sweetness to counter the bitterness. I could tell that this drink was natural because the drink had separated out, with more diluted drink near the top, and a pile of sediment on the bottom, a sure sign that there aren't that many, if not none, of the additives that you would find in regular soft drinks.

The price is good, a pack of four bottles is equal to about $3.50 a bottle, so it is a very affordable drink, and worth every cent as far as I'm concerned. I think that, overall, this is an okay drink, not the best, but not at all the worst, so I would have to say that this drink deserved a good score, with only a slight decline in the aspect of taste. Enjoy!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 30th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Pete's Natural Lemonade was the only one from the range that I got a chance to drink the whole bottle of. The others I had used in baking after having a couple of sips and allowing my daughters to have a sip each too. I love a good lemonade so I selfishly waited until they were in bed before opening it.

When I think natural lemonade I remember the times as a child we would pick lemons from our tree, squeeze them and add sugar and water. Pete's Natural's version was the same but was lightly carbonated too. I wasn't disappointed with their version. It had the right balance of sugar and lemon. Not too sweet and not too sour. The carbonation was very light but was well suited to the flavour. It made it seem more natural than it would have as a fizzier drink.

This is my favourite from the range. I am pleased it was the one I decided to keep to myself. It was like the bottled my childhood memories without me having to do all the hard work of making it myself. I will be buying this again as a refreshing treat. The price prevents it from being a regular indulgence.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 27th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10


I was lucky enough to be selected to try Pete's Natural soft drink range. The lemonade was one of the first ones I tried. So far this is my favourite in the range. When I cracked the bottle open, there was the fizz of the carbonation. The smell of lemon wafted out.

Now I'm not hugely into the sourness of lemon, and I wasn't too sure what to expect. But this drink didn't taste sour to me. If anything it tasted a little like a lemon lolly, but not in a sickly way. I enjoyed the drink very much and could have easily drank another bottle of it. I'm also not a big fan of heavily carbonated drinks so the level of carbonation was perfect for me.

It surprised me that there was white vinegar in the drink. I couldn't taste it and yet I could imagine it hiding in there. Great use of a natural preservative there. I liked that the whole ingredient list was so short and easy to read. I would have no problem sharing this drink with an older child. Unfortunately, my 6 year old refused to drink anything other than water, juice or milk so I couldn't convince her to drink it.

I could, however, convince her and her sister to eat this drink. I found and converted a lemon sugar cookie recipe online. I made cookie dough with two tablespoons of this lemonade in it. The cookies came out perfectly, crispy on the outside, chewy in the middle and really big. I think the lemonade did amazing things to the baking soda an baking powder. The mix was so fluffy, almost like a cake mix cookie. Both girls enjoyed their cookie.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 27th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 8 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Well I'm all for trying natural drinks and getting the chance to review the lemonade has been great. Nice glass bottles that you can see right though. The drink looked good looked freshly squeezed. The bottle has a simple label showing what the drink actually it, before telling my kids I asked them what they thought the drink was and they both said lemons cause it has a picture of lemons.

When trying this drink, opening up giving a fizzy sound tells me its a great drink, sadly when I was drinking it I felt it tasted like watered down lemons and I wasn't a fan of it. My husband enjoyed it and said it tasted prefect, our children had a taste aswell and wanted more but there isnt much to share around 4 people from one bottle. I am happy with this drink for it being natural and good for the kids.

Being $14 for 4 bottles is a good price that puts each drink at $3.50 for a natural drink that is good for you and the kids enjoy, we don't buy fizzy drinks cause I don't like the amount of sugar in them. With this drink I feel they will get more fruit than sugar by having a bottle, so this would be a great choice for the kids when out and about. I would but this for the kids and of course hubby who seemed to like it aswell

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 27th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Buy it Again:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10

Pete's Natural Lemonade was my second flavour to trying this range and I loved it. I immediately pressed hubby to have a taste and we both agreed that it tastes just like real home-made lemonade. I instantly was taken back to the lemonade my mum would make when I was young with the heavy lemon syrup that we would then add to cold water or to carbonated water.

Just delicious!! The level of light carbonation was just perfect for me and the fact that this contains just water, sugar, lemon juice from spray free lemons, white vinegar and natural flavours is winner for me. The flavour profile is just perfect and I would definitely buy this again. I can even ignore the almost 25g of sugar in the bottle as it tastes so good.

If you like home made lemonades then this is a must to try. At $14 for four I probably wouldn't buy this in my weekly shop but I would look out for it on special and it will be a great tipple with summer coming up.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 8.1
Product reviews for listing 404: Aqua Shot active water : Mandarin -  Produced by Coca-Cola

Product image for Aqua Shot active water : MandarinIf you want to grab life's opportunities, you need to be on your game.

Aquashot is active water with a refreshing burst of fruit flavour and the boost of 5 essential vitamins, making it the tastiest way to keep hydrated, so you'll never miss a shot.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"How is it that we put man on the moon before we figured out it would be a good idea to put wheels on luggage?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream