Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 25th June 2019 - 08:20:03

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Cereal/Muesli products > Cec's Traditional Muesli review

« Spirit Animals #1: Wild Born reviewSpirit Animals #1: Wild BornCecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & Quinoa reviewCecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & Quinoa »

Score: 8.9/10  [6 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4707 - Cec's Traditional Muesli
Produced by Cecile's Creative Kitchen

Cec's Traditional Muesli
Price:
$13.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Cecile

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
order online from suppliers website and for a list of stockists

Cec's Traditional Muesli product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsA traditional styled muesli with an oats & fruit base, sweetened only with honey giving a healthy fresh taste... a secret recipe with farming origins filled with quality ingredients and lovingly hand made in small batches. A finer texture to be enjoyed for easy eating.

cecsmuesli.co.nz/Click out to an external site

Check out Cecile's Creative Kitchen onlineClick here to see all the listings for Cecile's Creative Kitchen Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cereal   fruit pieces   honey   muesli   nzmade   oats   traditional
Other listings you may be interested in:
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Strawberries and Cashews with Seeds and Fine OatsCecile's Creative Kitchen Strawberries and Cashews with Seeds and Fine Oats
Rating: 9.5
Guacahummus DipGuacahummus Dip
Rating: 9.5
Gourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Spicy HungarianGourmet BBQ Pork Sausages - Spicy Hungarian
Rating: 9.6
Maketu Bacon & Egg - Single ServeMaketu Bacon & Egg - Single Serve
Rating: 9.3
In-Salt - Coco-locoIn-Salt - Coco-loco
Rating: 8.4
Cec's Smart Bar (no fruit)Cec's Smart Bar (no fruit)
Rating: 9.8
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Banana and Hazelnut with Vanilla and CoconutCecile's Creative Kitchen Banana and Hazelnut with Vanilla and Coconut
Rating: 9.3
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine OatsCecile's Creative Kitchen Fruit & Nuts with Seeds & Fine Oats
Rating: 9.3
Congestion ReliefCongestion Relief
Rating: 9.3
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Almonds And Brazil Nuts with Seeds & HoneyCecile's Creative Kitchen Almonds And Brazil Nuts with Seeds & Honey
Rating: 9.1
Caramel Cashew Nut BarCaramel Cashew Nut Bar
Rating: 8.4
Cecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & QuinoaCecile's Creative Kitchen Seeds & Nuts with Honey & Quinoa
Rating: 9.0
Avocado SpreadAvocado Spread
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 14th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

When I first received this to review, I was really impressed with the packaging. It's unique, looks really fresh and local and stands out with its bright green. I was pleased to be able to see into the packet to see what it looked like, which I think is really important when you are paying premium price for a quality product. They have mastered the look of the product!

I opened it and tasted it as it was on its own. It was amazingly fresh and crunchy. It was so nice to see so many tasty seeds and nuts in it - I can understand why the price is so high. This is the kind of muesli you expect to get at a cafe for around $15.00 with yogurt and fresh fruit. First of all I tried the muesli in this way, and I was not disappointed! It was so wholesome and fresh, a really nice breakfast. I think I may use this for a special occasion breakfast, perhaps on Christmas with all the family.

I decided to make a muesli slice with this as I have been taking my lunches from home, and so has my son since starting school. I melted butter and golden syrup and added it to 3 cups of muesli and some vanilla essence and baked it in the oven. Then it went into the fridge to set after it was baked. The result was a really lovely filling slice.

I am not a big breakfast eater and prefer to eat once I've been up for a couple of hours. This has been the perfect mid-morning snack which has kept me full in till lunch. (And much cheaper than buying seed slice from the local cafe!!)

I do think this is a little expensive for everyday use, but as far as price goes in accordance to quality I think it is about right. It's not something I would probably keep in the cupboard, but definitely would consider buying for special occasions such as Christmas when there are family around.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 12th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 8 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 9 out of 10

My first impression of the Cec's Traditional Muesli is that it looks good, appears to be tasty and that the package is appealing.

This muesli has some nice ingredients such as Currants, Almonds, Cashew Nuts and Cranberries, yum. The cranberries and currants are a delicious treat in each bite, everything in this worked really well together and made quite a lovely breakfast.

At $13.50 per bag though, I wouldn't buy this. With the hearty serving size that my husband has this would be finished far too quickly and not last us even a week. In an effort to spread this out a bit more I sprinkled some on top of yoghurt, which it went with very well.

As a regular food I wouldn't buy this at all but as a treat for with yoghurt every now and again I would buy this.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 11th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

Cec's traditional muesli seems to live up to it's name, it has real fruit pieces comprised of currants and cranberries, NZ rolled oats, honey, nuts comprising of almonds and cashews, seeds made up of pumpkin, sunflower and sesame.

It is good to have a muesli that doesn't have apricot in it, and it is a nice change to have the currants and cranberries over say raisins or sultanas which do make things a tad too sweet in my opinion. Taste wise this is a nice tasting muesli but doesn't seem to have much to set it apart from other potentially less expensive options.

I'm not sure where they got their serving size from as the 30 grams mentioned on the back made me want to actually weigh out that amount, and once I had done that it made me laugh a little. I just kept pouring more in the bowl. It fills you up and gives you energy until your next meal. The seeds however seemed a bit full on and could have been cut back a little.

So in the end a pretty good muesli that I liked eating, apart from chewing the copious amount of seeds, maybe i'm just not used to this many in my muesli. For the price I don't think it is the best value for money, but if you are after something a bit different, check it out.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 11th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I am absolutely in love with this muesli and am now to the stage where I am wanting to mark the bag to make sure no one else eats it as I just don't want to share. The problem is my partner loves it as much as I do so the packet is just getting lower and lower. We have not been limiting it to breakfast either and have been finding it to be a delicious desert with yoghurt after dinner.

I had thought the serving size suggestion sounded small, but thought I would measure it out to see how much it would be. Having stuck with the serving suggestion I did still find I was full after I finished the bowl but I would usually eat more than that at a serving. My partner probably has a triple serving so the bag wouldn't last long in our house without me carefully rationing it out to everyone. I think it would be something I buy over Christmas for our breakfasts as I splash out at that time of the year and buy foods we love.

The muesli is very full of different flavours, with cranberries, currants, almond, cashew, and pumpkin seeds and they have not been at all skimpy with any of it so you get the tastes in every spoonful which I was very impressed by. I thought it was a good mix of flavours as cheaper supermarket muesli's you generally get cheaper dried fruit like raisins and apricots and cheaper nuts like peanuts. I do like apricot in my muesli but it was nice to have rich red fruit for a change.

It has a mild honey taste which is enough to sweeten it but not overpower the other flavours. Like with the gluten free muesli this is delicious served at breakfast with some yoghurt, but tasty enough that it is fine with just milk also. I made some muesli bars with this muesli by mixing with some honey rolling them into logs and then coating in melted chocolate. I popped them into the fridge to set and we had some delicious muesli bars to snack on throughout the day.

The muesli bars were a real treat and unlike shop bought muesli bars. They didn't look the prettiest but they tasted amazing and gave us a nice snack food to have between meals. The great thing with this muesli is when you are peckish between meals this is so good you can just grab out a small handfull and eat it dry, delicious!!

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 8th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 10 out of 10

I was recently selected to try Cec's Muesli. I am a lover of fine muesli. To me a muesli must have that toasted taste. It should be a good mix of dried fruit, seeds and nuts with some cereal mixed in for good measure. This muesli in terms of ingredients, ticked all of the boxes for me. It had all my favourite seeds - pumpkin, sunflower and sesame. All good sources of zinc.

The dried fruit is currants and cranberries or craisins. This was good, with tastes I enjoy and there was no apricot which is really the only dried fruit I don't like. There is also coconut, honey and cashews which to be fair was the taste combination that I got immediately on first bite into this delicious muesli.

On the first morning, I measured out a serving (30 grams) and looked at it. Then I added a further 60 grams and saw a normal breakfast size for me. Maybe I eat too much, but 30 grams was not going to cut it. 90 grams saw me easily through to 11:00am when a coffee took me through to lunchtime. The price would be a factor for me, compared to my normal cereal this is 3 times the price.

One thing I did try with this was to make Florentines. I mixed some muesli, condensed milk and flour together and baked the mixture for 12 minutes. Then I melted chocolate and spread this on the bottom. These made a delicious cookie! The plus being that only my toddler cared for the taste (my husband and eldest are both anti-seeds and nuts).

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 31st of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Taste:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 7 out of 10
Visual Appeal:
Score 10 out of 10
Nutrition:
Score 8 out of 10

I am very fussy with my muesli mainly because there are a lot of dried fruits I don't like. When I was given Cec's Traditional Muesli to review I was pleased to see it wasn't full of fruit (just currants and cranberries). I would normally pick these out but they actually appealed to me so I ate them along with all the other ingredients.

Each morning this week I have started the day with a bowl of muesli with yogurt. At first I looked at the small bag and read that it was supposed to be 16 servings and laughed as I dished up about 3 serves into my bowl. Although I loved the taste I struggled to get through it. I learned that about 2 serves was right for me. It does make it an expensive breakfast choice if I am going through a packet a week (and that is keeping it hidden from the rest of the family).

I love the packaging. Firstly you can see all the grains and nuts so you know what you are getting. I also like that it is a resealable bag that stands up. This makes it easy to store and find in the pantry as well as being compact for traveling. This would be great for tramping and much cheaper than a hotel breakfast.

The taste was great. It wasn't too sweet for me. There was an audible crunch and didn't go soggy when I had to leave my breakfast to attend to the kids. There was a great mix of flavours but I really appreciated the amount of nuts. The ingredients are quality ones, for example there are no peanuts which would be a cheap way to fill out nutty flavour, almonds and cashews were used instead.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 8.9
Product reviews for listing 7682: Lots of... Cranberry White Choc Cookies Jar -  Brand / Manufacturer Lots of

Product image for Lots of... Cranberry White Choc Cookies JarAdd butter, an egg and some vanilla essence to these dry ingredients, then bake! One of these cookies is never enough.

Makes ~24 cookies.

Ingredients:
Flour, baking soda, salt, rolled oats, brown sugar, white sugar, cranberries, white chocolate.

Allergen Info:
Contains Gluten (flour) and egg (user added)

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do we press harder on a remote control when we know the batteries are flat?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream