Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Wednesday 17th July 2019 - 17:06:14

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Books > Kids - General > Pip Street - A Whiskery Mystery review

« Baby by Earthwise Detangler Jungle Fruits reviewBaby by Earthwise Detangler Jungle FruitsTOMeTTe - Leek and Potato Soup reviewTOMeTTe - Leek and Potato Soup »

Score: 10.0/10  [1 review]
5 out of 5
ProdID: 4646 - Pip Street - A Whiskery Mystery
Author: Jo Simmons

Pip Street - A Whiskery Mystery
Price:
$10.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Scholastic (NZ)

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
July 2013

Pip Street - A Whiskery Mystery product reviews

A hilarious new series, perfect for fans of MR GUM.Quirky black-and-white line illustrations throughout as well as fun activity sheets at the back. Bobby Cobbler's family have only just moved to Pip Street when his beloved cat Conkers goes missing. As a mammoth-sized search begins, Bobby makes friends with the tiny and fizzy Imelda who lives next door.

The friends soon discover that a lot of cats from Pip Street are missing. In fact so are the ones from Chip Street and Dip Street too! What on earth is going on? Something mysterious that's for sure! Bobby is determined to solve this whiskery mystery and see the safe return of his pet, but little does he realize that the culprit won't rest until Pip Street is completely catless!

Check out Scholastic (NZ) onlineClick here to see all the listings for Scholastic (NZ) Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cat   detective   jo simmons   junior chapter book   moving house   mystery   scholastic   sleuth
Other listings you may be interested in:
Grasshopper's DanceGrasshopper's Dance
Rating: 9.8
Name Dropping? A No-Nonsense Guide to the Use of NamesName Dropping? A No-Nonsense Guide to the Use of Names
Rating: 9.8
Aroha's Grand AdventureAroha's Grand Adventure
Rating: 7.8
Scream #1: The Human FlytrapScream #1: The Human Flytrap
Rating: 9.8
Behind the SunBehind the Sun
Rating: 10.0
Angel MessagesAngel Messages
Rating: 6.8
Spike & CoSpike & Co
Rating: 9.8
The Girl's Book of FriendshipThe Girl's Book of Friendship
Rating: 8.8
The ExplorerThe Explorer
Rating: 6.8
Ordinary HeroesOrdinary Heroes
Rating: 9.0
Daisy the Doughnut FairyDaisy the Doughnut Fairy
Rating: 9.5
Daughters of the Sea - 2 - MayDaughters of the Sea - 2 - May
Rating: 8.8
Alice in Wonderland: Down the Rabbit HoleAlice in Wonderland: Down the Rabbit Hole
Rating: 9.4

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 21st of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
ReReadability:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

If I could guess the target audience for Pip Street - A Whiskery Mystery I would say an eight year old boy which is the same as the lead character. As an adult that has never been a fast reader I read the whole book in an hour. The story is 134 pages long but the half of this is illustrations.

As the title suggests the cats in the street are going missing and the children play detective to find out who is responsible. I am pleased to say I was able to solve it earlier than the lead characters did. The story is written in a children's voice and I found myself reading it (silently) in a childish voice with a British accent. There is loads of childish humour and I chuckled a few times myself. I'm sure it will be popular with the kids I know in this age group.

There are several bonuses in the back of the book. Firstly there is a five question multi-choice quiz about the book which I am pleased to say I got all correct. There is a word-find and a couple of other activities too. The one that had me stumped was finding the 10 hidden cats. I found nine very quickly but haven't managed to find the last one. I am wondering if there are only nine and it is an error or a trick. Included is also the beginning chapter of another Pip Street book. This looks to be as funny and engaging as A Whiskery Mystery.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Books'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 5985: Heartside Bay #9 - Playing the Game -  Written by: Cathy Cole

Product image for Heartside Bay #9 - Playing the GameLove, life and everything in between. Midnight kisses and summer crushes, first dates and heartbreak - there's never a dull moment in Heartside Bay. This is the next not-to-be-missed instalment in the lives of Lila, Polly, Eve and Rhi.

Lila has no idea what she wants to do with her future.

The one thing she is certain about is her boyfriend Josh. He's caring and dependable and she loves him. Their relationship ... more...

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Are there specially reserved parking spaces for 'fully-abled' people at the Special Olympics?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream