Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Monday 16th December 2019 - 23:30:31

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Beverages > Health Drinks > Good Night - Drink n Dream review

« Anchor Triple Layer Lightproof Blue Top reviewAnchor Triple Layer Lightproof Blue Top28 Black - Acai & Sugarfree review28 Black - Acai & Sugarfree »

Score: 7.5/10  [7 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4546 - Good Night - Drink n Dream
Brand Good Night

Good Night - Drink n Dream
Price:
$3.50
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Best Beverage Co

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

Good Night - Drink n Dream product reviews

Good Night is a new relaxation beverage, specifically developed to help relieve feelings of stress and support overall quality of sleep.

Its unique natural recipe combines the calming affects of valerian, lavender and rose hip extracts - natural herbs that have been used for centuries to ease sleep problems, anxiety and nervous restlessness.

A revolutionary new drink of choice for restless sleepers, Good Night is popular among busy professionals, shift workers, students, parents of young families, sports-people and frequent flyers.

Good Night contains no preservatives, artificial colours or sweeteners. Cactus fig has been added to make the lightly carbonated beverage taste naturally sweet and mellow.

Good Night helps to relax your body and mind. It assists you to fall asleep and stay asleep all night long, naturally.

Finally, a good night's sleep could be as close as your fridge!

For more details, click through to : www.bestbeverage.co.nz/drinks/good-nightClick out to an external site

Check out Best Beverage Co onlineClick here to see all the listings for Best Beverage Co Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cactus fig   carbonated   lavender   relaxation   rose hip   valerian
Other listings you may be interested in:
28 Black - Acai & Sugarfree28 Black - Acai & Sugarfree
Rating: 7.4
RheineckRheineck
Rating: 7.3
26000 Vodka - Crystaline26000 Vodka - Crystaline
Rating: 8.8
Green, Jasmine and PearGreen, Jasmine and Pear
Rating: 7.9
Sodastream Sampler PackSodastream Sampler Pack
Rating: 8.7
Cider House - Strawberry and LimeCider House - Strawberry and Lime
Rating: 10.0
Fruit Juice Orange With Fruit BitsFruit Juice Orange With Fruit Bits
Rating: 7.8
Soljans Fusion Sparkling Muscat NVSoljans Fusion Sparkling Muscat NV
Rating: 10.0
Avalanche Duo - Dark RoastAvalanche Duo - Dark Roast
Rating: 8.8
Aroha Ginger and Honey Cordial with LemonAroha Ginger and Honey Cordial with Lemon
Rating: 9.6
Diet Snapple - Lemonade Iced TeaDiet Snapple - Lemonade Iced Tea
Rating: 9.8
BBC - Bunker APABBC - Bunker APA
Rating: 8.2

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 25th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 5 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
The Taste Factor:
Score 6 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I always have a lot of trouble falling asleep at night my Husband is one to hit the pillow and snoring within seconds while I lie there awake trying to turn my brain off. When I first spotted the good night drink and dream in the shops I wasn't sure about trying it. Next week doing the shopping I notice it was on special so I had to try it.

My first impressions when I tasted it was it was odd, I couldn't decide if I liked it or not. After finishing the can I decided it was fruity and mild, drinkable but not really to my taste. As for the carbonation it was right for something to drink close to bed time but once again not to my taste, I either prefer things non-carbonated or with a lot of fizz to it.

Once I headed to bed I found I did fall asleep a lot quicker than normal but I still woke during the night a few times which is normal for me. I did however fall back to sleep quickly rather than being awake for a hour like most nights. I won't rush out and buy it again as it's not to my taste but I would recommend it to others to give it a go.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 19th of September, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 7 out of 10
The Taste Factor:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was really intrigued by the Good Night Drink n Dream drink and was actually unsure what to expect with it. I am not usually one to use or try products to aid in sleep, but more the kind of person who thinks that if my brain does not want to shut down for the night then obviously I am not tired or do not need sleep. This of courseis so far from the truth and as such I get very limited sleep and have not had a full nights sleep (at least 8 hours) in almost 13years.

First though I must say I really liked the taste of this, it was fruity and very pleasant. I was surprised the can was blue though and kind of expected it to be black (= night lol). Anyway, the cans are a nice size and easy to oprn. However I would not pay the suggested retail price for this.

So, did it work? in terms of sleep, I do not really know. But I can confirm I did feel quite at ease after consuming and was also more than happy to go to bed. I do not believe I went to sleep any quicker though. It was still the wee small hours when I did go to sleep. Although I did not get 8 hours, I did sleep restfully, without waking a few times through-out the night like I do most nights. So in terms of peaceful sleep I fo feel this was acheived. All in all a good product, but for the price not something I would purchase regularly.

Click here to read the profile of websam

Review by: websam (Sam)
Dated: 25th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
The Taste Factor:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

First off I must state that I am one of those people that can fall asleep within about 10 seconds of putting my head down on the pillow, much to the disgust of friends who have trouble getting to sleep, but I was interested to see how this drink would fair. I checked out the ingredients and it all seemed like good logical stuff that would help you sleep all in a can. For best effectiveness you should drink it half an hour before you go to sleep, and this is what I did.

I liked the taste, it wasn't full on and the carbonation was just right for a drink your supposed to drink near bedtime, I managed to down it all in a few mouthfuls and it was pleasant to drink. I think it would appeal to a wide range of people.

After half an hour almost to the second of drinking the drink, my eyes got really tired while watching TV, which I took as a sign the drink was working it's magic. Time for bed, and I fell asleep pretty much like normal. The thing that was different from other nights was the dreams, I had some vivid dreams which I will put down to the ingredients in the drink. In my opinion this isn't a bad thing and was something that I wasn't really expecting.

As for sleep, I slept all night, I wouldn't say I was more refreshed or anything in the morning as I just felt like I normally do. But for someone who has no trouble sleeping I think this product would work well for the not so lucky, I will be buying a can for my friend who has trouble sleeping and I'm sure it will help them.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 22nd of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
The Taste Factor:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I have spent many years struggling to fall asleep. I usually have to build an elaborate story to fall into, to keep my mind busy with something else in order to relax enough to sleep. I'm not sure how long this has been going on, but I remember doing it in Primary school which was over 25 years ago.

I saw this product at my local supermarket and decided to get a can. The can is a striking blue with a yellow moon motif. I thought it was really effective and easy to find on the shelf. When I got it to the counter, the assistant asked me if I had ever tried it. I said I hadn't but that I was curious. They very diplomatically told me they disliked the product and wished me luck.

When I got the product home, I decided to chill it in the fridge. Then after an hour and just before bedtime I had the drink. I didn't bother reading the can until I had consumed it. That was a bit naughty because I am a breastfeeding mum. Whoops! But I figured my "baby" is 15 months old so it probably wouldn't hurt her too much. I suspect the warning was because of the lavender which can be harmful in pregnancies.

The flavour of this is mild, sweet and herbal. It reminded me of the Chi drink. The fizz is light and not overly bubbly. I enjoyed the flavour and the level of carbonation a lot. I did find that last night it was a lot faster to fall asleep and I feel great and well rested today. This is despite having to wake countless times in the night for sick children, sometimes up for 1 and a half hours straight. I would buy this product again, though I think I might wait til after I wean.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 17th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
The Taste Factor:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Frankly, I usually have no trouble getting to sleep... it's the staying asleep that I have the most trouble with. I lay the blame for that squarely at the feet of "Stress" - so a drink that claims to settle the nerves and ease stress, allowing for a better night's sleep, is something I was keen to try.

After reading the contents and ingredients, though they very soothing blend, I was wondering what it would taste like - I think I was expecting something akin to a fizzy iced tea, because what I got when I took a mouthful really surprised me. The flavour was unusual, but really mild, which was nice. Not too sweet, but with just a hint to cover any 'tanin bitterness' which was really appreciated, as that 'dry' taste really turns me off a drink. (Which is why I don't drink red wines, but love them in cooking.)

As for the fizzy aspect, this was actually really smooth, with minimal if any carbonation, so nothing to 'excite' the tastebuds - very smart. A still drink would have been too flat, a fizzy one would have been too stimulating... this had just enough tingle to make it interesting, without perking my tastebuds up at all - well done, developers!

So, how effective was it... well, that's a strange one to answer. I have known for many years that my brain is wired a little different to most, but the effects of this drink really were unexpected. It left my mind free to buzz and hum all it liked, but washed all the tension and stress out of my body causing me to droop right off. The following morning my wife said I was sounding a lot more awake and perky than usual, despite my body utterly refusing to budge out of bed. Not too sure if that's a good thing or not - wide awake mind, drowsy body... but the dreams were seriously funky! LOL Icon

Overall, an unusual drink, and one that I am sure is going to be one of those beverages that people either love or hate. It's good at what it does, but it's going to be an acquired taste. If you suffer from sleep deprivation or excessive stress caused by something physical, this may be something you want to give a serious try.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 13th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
The Taste Factor:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I don't drink a lot of hot drinks so the thought and taste of a relaxing bedtime tea doesn't appeal. The thought of a chilled drink to relax me for a good night's sleep intrigued me. After reading another reviewer's comments I was reluctant to try it. In fact the can sat in my fridge for two weeks before I was brave enough to try it. I am relieved to report that me experience of the Good Night Drink n Dream is very different.

The previous night I had very little sleep stressing about trivial things and as a person that needs my sleep I knew that I had to get a good sleep last night or I would turn into an ogre and not the friendly Shrek kind. I found there was no recommendation on the can when to drink it so I looked on the website. 30-45 minutes before bed was the suggestion so I went for the 45 minute option. The website also had helpful tips on getting a good night's sleep which I have seen elsewhere but was handy to read again.

The drink had a mild fruity/herbal taste which was not at all unpleasant as I had feared. It had very little fizz so didn't give me a blotted felling as I lay in bed. I fact I found it was very nice considering it's medicinal properties. The 250ml can was the perfect size as it didn't necessitate a toilet trip in the wee hours.

I found it was very easy to fall asleep last night. My husband was hopping in the shower as I was going to bed and I don't recall hearing the shower turn off or him hoping into bed. I woke a few times during the night as I normally do but found it very easy to resettle, I didn't even check the clock. I was pleasantly surprised when the alarm went off.

The price would stop me from having a can every night but it would be great for those times that you are too stressed to unwind for bed. I also think it would be good for when you are sleeping in an unfamiliar bed or need to go to bed earlier than usual for an early start in the morning. I will be keeping a can in the fridge for these nights.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 6th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 4.3/10
Value for Money:
Score 3 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 5 out of 10
The Taste Factor:
Score 5 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

The first thing that is easy to see about this drink is that, it is indeed, easy to see that this is aimed at you drinking it at night. It's an attractive tin, a lovely midnight blue with stars and a moon. Going off the front of the tin alone this is a relaxation drink, for someone used to drinking things like this to wake me up... I was interested to see how this would do

The only thing I found to be missing from the can was information about how long one was expected to wait for the relaxation to kick in or when you should drink it. The website has a good amount of information on it, more than you can fit on a can, and says that you should drink it 30-45 minutes before you want to go to bed, or after work to help you unwind. Considering that my 'work' finishes after the kids are all in bed....

I split the can with my husband who has a great difficulty sleeping and staying asleep so I knew that he would be a good person to trial this on. I drank the rest (just over half a glass) as I am a sleep deprived mummy of six years.

My husband drank his quickly but has loudly proclaimed that he doesn't like the taste of it at all and left an unwelcome after taste. I think this has a nice smell, it's also a little smoother than I would expect from a carbonated drink. As for taste, to me it tasted like a rather weak herbal tea, I didn't dislike it, but unless it helps me sleep easier tonight it's not a drink I would grab off the shelves.

About half an hour after drinking this I developed a small headache, panadol, a large glass of water and then off to bed I went. It didn't take too long to fall asleep, I did still wake twice during the night but when I awoke each time I fell back to sleep within a minute or two. The only downside was that both times I still had the headache and it felt like I was in a bit of a fog, so not entirely pleasant but at least sleep caught up with me easily. When I woke up I still had a slight headache and I still felt like I was in a bit of a fog.

Sadly for me, whilst this was a great idea, it did a great job of helping me sleep but the side effects weren't good so I wouldn't drink this again.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Beverages'...

Score: 9.2
Product reviews for listing 5805: Harvest Scrumpy Cider with Raspberry -  Brewed by: The Harvest Cidery

Product image for Harvest Scrumpy Cider with RaspberryBack in the day a few thirst Englishmen got into the habit of raiding orchards for fruit to brew their cider. The sneaky buggers called their missions "Scrumping" and the resulting drop "Scrumpy".

Today we don't nick the fruit, but the spirit and passion of scrumping still lives on.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"What do you do when you discover an endangered animal that only eats endangered plants?"
anonymous

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream