Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 21st May 2019 - 21:20:11

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Hygiene Products > Sanitary Products > EZ Towels review

« DiCAPac Alpha - WP-C1 reviewDiCAPac Alpha - WP-C1Silver Linings Playbook reviewSilver Linings Playbook »

Score: 8.6/10  [11 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4434 - EZ Towels
Brand / Manufactured by: EZtowels

EZ Towels
Price:
$5.00 per 10-pack tube
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by EZ Towel NZ

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at selected quality retailers

EZ Towels product reviews

EZ Towels are durable, full-sized towels made of 100% Rayon. EZ Towels come compacted in a convenient tablet size, all you need to do is add water and watch it grow.

Once the EZ Towel is activated, unroll it and it's ready to use. EZ Towel is soft, durable and biodegradable.

Great for home, office, restaurants, schools, daycares, camping, fishing and more!

Check out EZ Towel NZ onlineClick here to see all the listings for EZ Towel NZ Visit their website They do not have a Twitter account They do not have a Facebook page They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
cloth   compact   convenient   emergency   portable   rayon   towels   wipe
Other listings you may be interested in:
Soused Soapery - Joe BrewtusSoused Soapery - Joe Brewtus
Rating: 9.1
Active Platinum Dishwasher TabletsActive Platinum Dishwasher Tablets
Rating: 9.5
Pest Xit UltraPest Xit Ultra
Rating: 9.1
Soused Soapery - Bittersweet - Sugar ScrubSoused Soapery - Bittersweet - Sugar Scrub
Rating: 9.7
Earthwise Laundry Liquid Orange and EucalyptusEarthwise Laundry Liquid Orange and Eucalyptus
Rating: 10.0
microSonic ToothbrushmicroSonic Toothbrush
Rating: 8.5
Terra Baby Wipes - Goat's MilkTerra Baby Wipes - Goat's MilkEarthwise Aloe Vera ConditionerEarthwise Aloe Vera Conditioner
Rating: 9.9
Only Good - Delight Natural Body WashOnly Good - Delight Natural Body Wash
Rating: 9.7
Tea Tree DeodorantTea Tree Deodorant
Rating: 9.5
Shark Steam Lite MopShark Steam Lite Mop
Rating: 6.8
Air Freshener Apple BlossomAir Freshener Apple Blossom
Rating: 9.3
Odor-NiteOdor-Nite
Rating: 4.3

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of nighthawknz

Review by: nighthawknz (Marc)
Dated: 19th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When I first got these to review I read the container and thought to myself 10mls of water, yeah right. I got a syringe that measured 5mls, and even then it was enough but I refilled it and put another 5mls in and sure enough I had a wet full sized cloth in my hands. With all these hydrated foods and other products why not have a hydrated towel too I thought.

I also thought when would I use these. Well I thought and came up with a few places but so far, haven't had the chance to use them for those reasons, some being camping, hiking, kids messy faces.

The main reason is forgetting to take them with me being so small. One thing I found a little disappointing was when you only use a small amount of hot water, it expands giving you a cold towel, something tells me that to get a hot towel you need to a lot more hot water like maybe a cup. This isn't a negative just something that I know for next time :), some of the things I love about it is however, it's strong compared to paper towels you get which means with how messy the kids faces get, you won't break it.

Well after finally trying them out (even my daughters messy hands and face) I will now be making sure they are with me for when I really DO need them.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 2nd of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Originally I wasn't so sure about these EZ towels and wondered what all the fuss was about... However after being sent a packet to review I have to say I am converted. These are great! I will definitely be buying them in the future and plan on giving some to my camping mad parents too as I know they will find them really handy on their adventures.

First things first I tried one of these out by chucking one into a container of water, obviously this was way more water than I needed but I just wanted to see how quickly it expanded and how they worked. The result was an instant facecloth that was nice & soft and held a nice amount of water - not dry and not soaking/dripping wet. I have to say I was really surprised at the softness of the cloth, I don't know why but I really did expect it to be rough/not nice. Just perfect for wiping grubby little faces or sticky hands - for this reason alone a few are going to be living in my car glove box from now on!

Being an early childhood teacher I couldn't resist trying these out with the children I work with ~ children are so curious and I knew they would love figuring these out! One of the children suggested a really great idea of using dye with the towel to see whether the towel would still expand so off we went to experiment. We used a paintbrush to just dab dye onto the towel and it barely needed any at all. It really is quite amazing how little amount of liquid these towels need to open! The result was an amazing piece of tie-dye like art work - a great experiment which the children loved. Plus we had science and art learning happening all in one ~ I wouldn't hesitate to buy these again just for use in experiments at work!

One thing I didn't like about these towels is I was really aware of the size of these towels while with the children at my work - they really do look like a peppermint lolly so I was careful to keep the tube firmly zipped into my pocket. Overall however these are a great little pack of 10 clothes which are in a portable container so easily stored or carried while taking up minimal space. They only need water to activate and its great that they aren't full of the extra chemicals and additives that wet wipes have. Perfect for the every day parent, grandparent, camper or traveller - the uses really are endless!

Click here to read the profile of diogenes

Review by: diogenes (Rob)
Dated: 1st of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

These towels are great concept in product design; they are light and easy to carry and can be re-hydrated with a few drops of water to produce a full sized hand towel.

The concept works very well in practice and have been happy to keep these in the car for emergency use. It doesn't matter if you leave the top off, there is nothing to dry out like those other hand wipes - they work with any water you have to hand and provided you do have some water somewhere, these towels will work as and when you need them.

I would like to see some detergents or antiseptics impregnated into the cloth for extra cleaning action, but I guess if this was easy, it would have been done by now anyway. This isn't a gripe by any means just a 'wish list' to make this product better.

The towel is reusable and can be washed and re-used as you like. In practice I have never done this because my wife chucks everything out whether I want to recycle it or not. The towels are sturdy enough to be washed and re-used.

It is a simple product and a simple idea but the great idea is in its simplicity. I love this.

Click here to read the profile of laugan

Review by: laugan (Selena)
Dated: 24th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I discovered a variation of these a few years ago and promptly bought a pack for my parents as they were traveling then couldn't find one for me! When I came across them again I bought them and have continued to do so.

I keep a tube in the car and a tube in my bag, the small size means it doesn't take up precious space, which as every Mum knows is important. My children as past the stage or requiring wet wipes for nappy changes so I didn't really want to continue to carry them around with me and these are a great alternative. My eldest often asks for one if we've been out for a meal and he's sticky, he then goes off and cleans himself up, usually bringing the towel back damp so I can clean his sister up as well.

I have discovered that you can easily put a small drop of liquid soap onto a dry towel and not have it expand, once it's dry you have a pre soaped towel which is handy when headed somewhere you know soap isn't going to be available. I definitely recommend these to all parents and travelers as they're easy to carry in your luggage and you don't have to worry about the restrictions the airlines have on liquids but can still freshen up easily.

Click here to read the profile of raeofsunshine

Review by: raeofsunshine (Raewyn)
Dated: 24th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.5/10
Price:
Score 6 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When I got offered a sample of these to try, I jumped at the chance as even though my girl is nearly 5 now, I'm still trying to figure out the best, cost-effective, portable system for carrying something to wipe her face and hands should we get somewhere and find she's forgotten to clean her face or we get a spontaneous treat while out... the usual sort of thing!

These are a great little pack of 10 wipes which are in a pretty portable container so easily carried in the glove box or in a handbag. Then comes the awesome part - when you want to use one, you wet it and the little tablet becomes a full sized cloth - I mean how awesome is that!

I always carry a water bottle so when I needed to use a wipe the other day, I just poured a bit of water over it and it expanded instantly. I was outside luckily as water spilled out of my hand and onto the ground - I couldn't think of a better way of doing it without dunking it into my drinking water which I wouldn't want to do!

Anyway it made the cloth wet enough to open, but not too wet - I didn't even have to wring out the cloth. And it cleaned my daughters face 10 times better than the current cheap wipes that roll around the floor of my car! I felt like the cloth had many more uses left in it, and was tempted to rinse it out when I got home and re-use it ! But it's meant to be disposable and break down easily, so into the bin it went.

I also liked the idea that it cleans with water only, rather than using all the chemicals that go into wipes.

I'd definitely keep these on hand in the future for little emergencies, but I'd probably feel like I was wasting them if I were to use them for daily clean-ups - a pack of 10 won't go that far. But what an awesome little product to have around for when needed.

Click here to read the profile of crackerjack

Review by: crackerjack (Steve)
Dated: 14th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

As a pensioner on a very tight budget, something like this for $5 would have to have something pretty amazing to make it beat a 99c box of tissues from the supermarket. From my side of things, the two main things these have going for them is they are portable and they can be used wet. After much thought, I decided that because I don't go out much, I wouldn't really use them, so since one of my tamariki tane had just had a new child, I thought his partner may find them more useful and they could tell me how they went.

They threw the tube of these towels into the nappy bag, and promised to let me know how they went. I was surprised when they rang me later that night with their thoughts, I was expecting to not hear for at least a week. Turns out they were so impressed they wanted to let me know right away.

On the way home they stopped at a local park to let their old kids run around, and to give the baby a chance to feed since it's not safe to breastfeed in a moving car. The lovely little pepe tane had a very liquid burp that ended up all over his face and Mum's breast, so they whipped out a towel pellet and got it damp. One of the things that really impressed them was how little water was actually needed to make the towel expand - You need only enough to get the towel damp, not soaking wet. Unrolling it was a little tough, but because of how strong the towel is they didn't tear it and a quick squeeze was enough to get the water more even distributed.

It was tough enough not to tear, but still soft enough that it didn't scratch or irritate their pepe tane's tender face and the holes in the cloth were good for cleaning up the mess rather than just moving it around. They did say though that the holes were a little bigger than ideal, and it did make for sticky hands, but nothing a quick rinse from the water bottle couldn't fix. Then they just tossed the cloth in a baggie to take home for washing.

Though they thought these cloths were very convenient and portable, they were a little expensive, but you pay for the convenience factor these days and having seen them at a weekend market nearby they know they can be purchased at better rates when you buy in bulk, so they said they were more willing to give them a go next time, having had the chance to try them first. They asked me to pass my thanks on to KIWIreviews, and EZ Towel for the chance to trial them. It has made their decision to buy more a lot easier and smarter.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I am a fan of these, for sure. I grew up watching WAY too much MacGyver as a kid, and when combined with time in the Cubs and Scouts, it wired my brain for always being prepared and improvisational abilities. A skillset that has proven itself invaluable, and even life-saving, more than once in my life. Recently, surviving a severe car crash along with my family on a rural road, having a tube of these would have been absolutely brilliant for cleaning the mud and dust off the kids' faces when we climbed back up the gully wall to the roadside.

As a parent who always plans for the worst so I don't get too many nasty surprises, the first thing I noticed about these was the one negative I have about them - when fresh out of the tube, these look just like Oddfellow peppermints. It's the only thing that I really don't like - because I have a 5yr old who loves to stick random things in his mouth and suck on them when he's doing heavy thinking, or is lost in the TV watching Puzzle Inc or Wordworld. If he stumbled across a tube of these, he may just end up shoving one in his gob and that would be serious trouble... So... a word to the wise: Do NOT leave these within the reach of young kids. Sounds like common sense, I know... but the number of times people overlook common sense would astound you.

So, on to the benefits... small, easy to carry, and able to be used at a moment's notice if you have pretty much any liquid handy, these are a wonder when you are in a pinch and need of an emergency 'damp wipe' for hands, face or other assorted body parts or surfaces. I found them to be strong enough to hold up to sturdy usage, but delicate enough not to damage the paint job on my latest car when removing a big blob of sticky ice-cream some passing pedestrian had kindly donated to my vehicle's bonnet while I was in the shops. The best bit was that I was able to pop it into one of the handy ziplock bags I keep a stash of in the glove box, take it home to be rinsed, and reused. It even survived a tour through the washing machine unharmed, which impressed me greatly.

I can not stress how handy these could be in any number of situations. A tube in the car glovebox, another in the emergency car tool kit, another in every first-aid kit, and even a tube in the good lady's purse, the baby's stroller (better make that 2 or 3 tubes in there) and a few more stashed away to refill the aforementioned locations, would be a great investment. Heck, buy a dozen for your EQC Emergency Kits too! And hey, if you have a boat and go fishing, these are brilliant - you have plenty of water around you!

Though $5 per tube sounds pricey, you can usually find these at major shows and events - such as major craft fairs, Fieldays, etc - at bulk-buy rates. Perfect time to stock up! If you are planning to buy big stocks, but there are no shows in time, it could be worth your while to drop the chaps a note through their website and see what sort of deals could be arranged.

Overall, I think these are just brilliant, and when I see them at a show next time, I will be looking to stock up! My only suggestion to the manufacturers is to change the colour! Make them look less like a favourite Kiwi candy, and you'll remove the one serious negative I can see.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 7th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 5.5/10
Price:
Score 4 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 4 out of 10

I saw these a few years ago at a Parent and Child show, bought some as they were on sale and promptly lost them. So when these came up on offer I said yes please. You get ten towels per tube, it's nice and compact and won't take up much room anywhere.

Got my four year old to throw one in under water and watch it grow, which delighted her to no end. Gave it a good ring out to get rid of excess water and off we went. I used it to clean my four year old, five year old and two year old faces and hands. I did a nice job and it was good to throw it out knowing it would degrade easily and have no long term harm on the environment.

I got curious as to exactly how much water it would need to make it unfold and have enough moisture to do a good clean. My two year old is special needs and so the bag is usually filled to the brink, but would it be worthwhile having this in the bag as well? One of the things we always have on hand for her is a small 10ml tube of water, so I popped one open, emptied it out onto one of the towels and it turns out that 10mls is the perfect amount.

My next test was to see just how much I could do with one single towel. I wiped down both benches, cleaned a very messy dinner table, wiped off the computer desk, the fireplace mantel, sticky milk that my youngest had spilt, some spilt juice (thanks hubby) and my daughters face - not in that order. One wipe = eleven rinses.

For $5 per tube I don't think I would buy this as wipes are by far cheaper, but if on sale then I would grab one, but only then.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 6th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I had never heard of EZ towels until I was offered a packet to review via KIWIreviews. As a mother who spends much of her day wiping hands, faces, benches, doors, windows, and repeat lol there was no way I was not going to pass up trying these out.

Usually I just add a pkt of baby wipes to the glove box in.the car or my bag or whatever, but as my kids have sensitive skin I.do.have to be particular about what I buy. Plus to.get value for money it is best to buy the larger pack of wipes than it is to buy the travel packs.

It was great to receive a nice compact little tube of EZ towels that would fit nicely in my bag, or even pocket and not take loads of room. And as water is 'usually' freely available then
these are great. I do see though that water is not always around and as such no liquid means no towels :(

So these we towels are about the size of a 20c coin that is about 2.5cm in width. You pop it in water and it expands to the size of a handy little wash cloth. All of my kids thought this was amazing. What I thought was amazing was how durable they were for something so thin and they washed coal dust n.dirt right off master 12s hands and sticky lollies and dirt off miss 6. They are a really great wee product.

The only complaint from my kids was regarding the smell which they did not like. We will definitely be keeping them in car and handbag at all times.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 24th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I was given a packet of these EZ Towels to review the other week. I had heard from others that the packs are often quite hard to open. However, when I took the clear plastic security seal off my tube, I found the tube was very easy to open. I pushed the lid down as hard as I could, and it was easy to open every time. My nails are notoriously soft so opening packets is hard at the best of times. The tube I was allocated worked well for me.

I have kept my packet in the glove compartment in my car. It gets pretty full in there with manuals and obsolete maps, amongst other junk. However, this tube is really small and it fits in there well. I always have an emergency bottle of water in the car for the car, so I am also always ready for an EZ towel. The towel tablet looks pretty ordinary.

At a restaurant recently, I knew the kids would get messy at lunch. So I squirrelled an EZ towel into my bag. When it was clean up time, I simply got a small glass of water and invited my daughter to do a magic trick for us. I handed her the tablet and she was very uncertain of where I was going with this "trick". Finally she dropped it into the water and it started to grow. Both children were excited to watch it. After it grew into a towel they both willingly had their faces cleaned.

My youngest hates having her face washed, but she happily played peek a boo with the towel after allowing me to tidy her hands and face up. The water afterwards was not pretty. The towel dried out fine and is re-usable. My eldest wanted to "do that magic again!" I suspect that the tube would last 5 seconds in her hands.

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 21st of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Effectiveness:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

I have seen EZ Towels demonstrated at expos and always been curious about them. Were they just a novelty thing or were they really practical. When I was offered some to review I was keen to try them and find out for myself. I have two preschoolers of my own as well as doing home based childcare so I have plenty of opportunity to try these.

The first thing I discovered was the tube was very difficult to open although became easier the more I open and closed it. This is probably a very good thing because they look a lot like lollies. I had to tell the kids that this was a magic towel and we don't put towels in our mouth. Once they realised this we didn't have an issue.

I told Miss 4.5 and Miss 3 that they would have a special treat in the shower and gave them a towel each as they hopped in. There were smiles and wowing as the towels got wet and expanded. They were both able to unroll it themselves until it was opened out flat. The towel itself is very strong and did a great job with shower gel of washing their bodies. The cloths were able to be used again the next night too although they weren't magical.

The other thing I did with my carekids was a great activity that was science, maths and art. I got them to decorate a towel disc each with felt tip pens. Then we squirted water on them and unraveled it. The result was similar to tie-dying. Again the kids were very impressed at the magical quantities of the EZ towel.

The EZ towels are perfect for your bag or glove box as the tube is so small. You can use them anywhere you need a damp cloth. The only thing I wouldn't use it for is wiping bottoms as it has tiny holes. As my own girls are out of nappies I find a packet of wet wipes lasts so long in the car it dries out. EZ towels would be the perfect solution to this problem as I would just moisten one as I need it.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Hygiene Products'...

Score: 10.0
Product reviews for listing 5654: SoapNut Shells
Brand / Manufactured by: SoapNuts NZ

Product image for SoapNut Shells SoapNuts 100% Natural Detergent, Soap Nuts or Soap Berry, also sometimes referred to as Washing Nuts or Wash Berry are naturally grown and have amazing washing powers.

The shells of these nuts/berries contain a natural substance called Saponin. Once they come in contact with water they create mild suds similar to soap. This soapy substance has remarkable detergent abilities, easily replacing normal detergents. It works effectively by removing dirt and dissolving oils from clothes and other surfaces.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Why do banks charge a fee on 'insufficient funds' when they know there is not enough?"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream