Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Thursday 14th December 2017 - 11:27:10

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Breads > Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper review

« Farrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach reviewFarrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Premium White reviewFarrah's Wraps - Premium White »

Advertising...


Sick of adverts? Click here to join up for free and be rid of them.

Score: 9.3/10  [14 reviews]
4 out of 5
ProdID: 4407 - Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Brand / Source : Farrah's

Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper
Price:
$5.99
Samples Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Farrah

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
at your local supermarket

Farrah's Wraps - Fire Roasted Pepper product reviews

Proud to promote NZ productsNew Zealand Made
Farrah's Wraps are manufactured in Wellington, New Zealand using quality ingredients sourced from both local and overseas markets.

Won't Crack or Split When Rolled
Backed by The Farrah's Promise, Farrah's Wraps are guaranteed not to crack or split when rolled. They're great heated or eaten straight fresh from the pack.

Product Packaging
All Farrah's Wraps are packaged in high quality resealable bags which feature a tamperproof tear strip. This ensures freshness and quality to the very last wrap.

Low Allergen
All Farrah's Wraps are dairy-free, and most of the range is also yeast-free (excluding Chia & Quinoa Wraps and Sunflower & Linseed Wraps.)

Vegetarian and Vegan
All Farrah's Wraps are suitable for Vegans and Vegetarians. The range is also Halal Certified.

Check out Farrah's Wraps onlineClick here to see all the listings for Farrah's Wraps Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
dairy free   farrah   nzmade   peppers   wraps
Other listings you may be interested in:
Sweet Pepper SauceSweet Pepper Sauce
Rating: 8.6
Farrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Burrito Spice Mix
Rating: 9.1
Farrah's Wraps - WholemealFarrah's Wraps - Wholemeal
Rating: 9.4
Cafe CubaCafe Cuba
Rating: 5.8
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - Burrito 
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Taco Meal KitFarrah's Taco Meal Kit
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - Sprouted GrainFarrah's Wraps - Sprouted Grain
Rating: 9.9
Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps Farrah's Wraps - Cheesy snack wraps 
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's - White Snack WrapsFarrah's - White Snack Wraps
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake TinsFarrah's Tortilla Wrap Bake Tins
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - MultigrainFarrah's Wraps - Multigrain
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - TacoFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Taco
Rating: 9.0
Farrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with WrapsFarrah's Kitchen - Creative Ideas with Wraps
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Wraps - Premium WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Premium White
Rating: 9.6
Farrah's Mexican Tortillas - ChilliFarrah's Mexican Tortillas - Chilli
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Burrito Meal KitFarrah's Burrito Meal Kit
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Garlic ButterFarrah's Wraps - Garlic Butter
Rating: 8.8
Farrah's Wraps - Chia & QuinoaFarrah's Wraps - Chia & Quinoa
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Enchilada Meal KitFarrah's Enchilada Meal Kit
Rating: 9.8
Farrah's Wraps - Garden SpinachFarrah's Wraps - Garden Spinach
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Nacho Spice Mix
Rating: 9.3
Farrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice MixFarrah's Mexican Range - Taco Spice Mix
Rating: 9.4
Farrah's Wraps - Sunflower and LinseedFarrah's Wraps - Sunflower and Linseed
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre WhiteFarrah's Wraps - Wellness High Fibre White
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - HummusFarrah's Wraps - Hummus
Rating: 8.7

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of corbie

Review by: corbie (Tony)
Dated: 6th of April, 2016

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 7.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 6 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 6 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

Absolutely love this flavour. Has nice spicy zing to it, but isn't too hot (some of the family may disagree here - apparently my definition of "hot" is different to theirs!). Apart the traditional use as a wrap, we are thrilled this versatile product can be used as a pizza base, I just throw some cheeses (the more the merrier!) and toppings on the wrap and chuck it into a hot oven for a while. I have been known to be a garbage guts and scoff a whole one on my own!. Have not had issues with the wrap pizza base falling apart so that is a bonus.
The other way we enjoy these wraps is to put some toppings on the wrap and place it in a frying pan, then top it off with another wrap. If you have different flavour wraps on hand, mix it up with different flavours. When the cheese filling starts to melt carefully flip it over to do the other side and slide it on to a platter when done. Your choice how crispy the wraps are, but the firmer the wrap the easier it is to flip without losing the filling!
We like that the packaging is easy to get into, you don't need a swiss army knife like some! Simply tear off the top strip, and in the unlikely event that there are some wraps left over it is easy to reseal. I see that they will keep for a week once opened - highly unlikely that they will still be around after that long in this household!
Price can be a wee bit high, but we find them on special often enough and stock up the pantry when they are. I have just won a recipe book (thanks guys!), so looking forward to seeing what ideas are in there.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 28th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 9 out of 10

OMG we are in love with all the Farrah wrap products tried to date. The fire roasted pepper wraps are our absolute favorite. When I was selected to review a few packs of wraps, I automatically went to the Farrah wrap facebook page and organised purchasing a set of their Tortilla wrap bake tins.
As luck would have it, both the parcel of goodies from KIWIreviews and the parcel from Farrah wraps arrived on the very same day. I was so so very excited. I absolutely love the pans, they are such a fantastic and brilliant invention. Add to that how simply perfect the wraps are, and I can report my entire family love them. Combining the wraps with using the bake tins and there is so much one can do.
The first night we had the red pepper wraps made into baskets and then filled with spaghetti and meatballs. The wraps state on the packet that they do not crack or break, and unbelievably enough...this is actually true to word. Even my 6 year old was able to press the wraps into the pans without any troubles at all.
The packets are easy to open, and provide you with enough information that you can not go wrong. And these are versatile too. We also got the cook book and there is just so much you can do with them. Gone are the days of wraps just being wraps. We have had so much fun creating. As a family of 5 one packet is not quite enough though.
The red pepper wraps are a gorgeous flavour, not to peppery either, and as stated most definitely our favorite of the lot. So glad to have been introduced to Farrah wraps, because I can honestly say, no other wrap can compare.

Click here to read the profile of cherrycola27

Review by: cherrycola27 (Cheri)
Dated: 8th of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love roasted pepper and my husband hates it - he hates anything with peppers anywhere remotely near it so I was quite excited to see this flavour in the review stock I had but at the same time I was rather nervous as I don't do spicy foods at all. Well Farrah wraps did it again and has blown us both away with a flavouring that we both liked!! Hubby reckons they don't even taste like roasted pepper's but I thought they did so obviously its one of those things that comes down to individual tastes.

Originally some friends of mine used these while at our house for lunch (make it yourself wraps were on the menu) and they raved about the flavouring of these, not too overpowering but a nice and different taste they said. It was with their prompting and promising of not a lot of spice that I was brave enough to try them! So for us the somewhat lack of spice (for what I thought was going to be quite a spicy product) was great, some others may find it otherwise while others may not have even expected these to be spicy at all - again it comes down to individual tastes I guess.

I also used these wraps to make a quick snack before dinner by spreading a very very light amount of marg onto them and adding some finely grated cheese then grilling. The results were yummy!! Something I will definitely be doing again in the future!! While the wrap was crispy and crunchy to eat (kind of like a corn chip almost) it still didn't crack and cause a big mess everywhere - great results that again the hubby and I both liked! Definitely recommend these as a top flavour for others to try - you wont be disappointed!

Click here to read the profile of corrinas

Review by: corrinas (Corrina)
Dated: 3rd of August, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

My hubby loves wraps but I'm never fond of making them because they never go right for me. They always end up cracking and going everywhere. After reading the reviews on here I decided to give the Farrah wraps a try.

I made some chicken and bacon wraps and probably over filled them by the time I added lots of salad and sauces. The true test came when it came time to roll them. Each one rolled perfectly with no cracking (first time I have achieved unbroken wraps). Hubby likes his wraps toasted and they held up to that too, toasted nicely and held together well.

To begin with I was thinking they were a little plain tasting but after a few bites I got the hit of flavour. They have a little bite to them but are not over powering like a lot of roasted pepper products. I also loved the texture they weren't tough and chewy like some of the other wraps I have had.

I would recommend the wraps to others and will be buying them again I'm keen to try the others in the range. Hubby certainly won't mind as it means he will get one of his favourite meals more often.

Click here to read the profile of rosielee3

Review by: rosielee3 (Rosie)
Dated: 11th of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Value for Money:
Score 8 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Our family is really into quick and healthy meals. My 4 year old absolutely loves designing his own wraps for dinner.. the novelty never wears off! I had never tried Farrah's before and was really fascinated that it said "no cracking" on the front. Other brands we sometimes use, if you heat the wrap and then go back for a second wrap - the wraps tend to become hard, fragile and crack. A big bonus that these are made in New Zealand as well.

I heated the whole packet of these wraps in the microwave and everyone got to build their own wraps. It was a selection of salads, chicken bites, sour cream and BBQ sauce. I was interested to see what the flavour of the wrap itself would add to the meal. I found that the colour was really aesthetically appealing but there was no distinctive smell that I was thinking they may have. I thought that the flavour lacked in the wrap.

When I asked my partner what the thought, he said they tasted like cheddar (?!!) and were not starchy or gluggy like other brands that we use. This was a huge tick from him from my perspective as he will eat wraps, but only once a week (where as the 4 year old and I would eat them most nights if possible).

Overall these are something I would buy again, they are slightly pricier than other brands but outweigh other brands we buy in terms of quality. There was no cracking as it stated on the wraps we ate on our second helping which was so helpful when you have little people trying to hold big wraps! The only downside to me was the lack of flavour that the packaging appeared to promise me.

Click here to read the profile of nerdalert1101

Review by: nerdalert1101 (Gordon)
Dated: 1st of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

This was the first flavour of wraps that I tried from Farrah's, and boy, was it good! The spices from the pepper added a delicious taste to these wraps. We used these to make edible bowls for eating nachos, thanks to the Wrap bake tins, which was a very interesting way to eat them. Used in regular wraps, they were still delicious. The taste of the peppers had a definite spice to it, but there wasn't too much of it, meaning that it wasn't too "hot", which would have become a spice overload when eaten with spicy nachos.

The stuff was addictive to everyone in our family, for the whole bag was devoured quickly. Currently, this flavour is one of my favourites, and I wish that we had another bag of them, because they could make interesting thin and crispy pizza bases. The price is good, it has a great matching value to the product, and is highly affordable. The wraps felt rather healthy, rather low in starch and fat, it is something healthy enough for me to be happy eating them on a semi-regular basis, but not too often.

Overall, this product is high in the aspects of taste, price, value, and health. So, I'd say that this is a product I would highly recommend for the pantry. Enjoy!

Click here to read the profile of flabbergastered

Review by: flabbergastered (Karyn)
Dated: 1st of July, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Totally in love with these wraps! When I saw the name I was expecting strong flavours but I didn't get much flavour at all Sad Icon but that didn't stop my eating the whole packet! I loved the red colour of the red peppers and it seemed like I was eating something a little bit posh!

Again the wraps lived up to the promise that they wouldn't crack or break, and I tested them to the fullest! I rolled up the wrap tightly and probably overstuffed it with tasty fillings and it worked a treat! Even with using lashings of mayonnaise it didn't go soggy or leak and the contents stayed firmly in place while I was eating it, it is almost like the wrap sticks to itself when rolled which helps it stay together and makes it easy as to eat. Definitely a winner in my books and I have since brought more of these wraps from the supermarket.

I was amazed the first time I made sausage rolls and I just had to try making them again using this flavour and boy I tell you what they tasted even better with the fire roasted pepper flavour, and I am still stunned and amazed that the wraps didn't dry out, or break or even burn while cooking in the oven and in the flavour is just amazing....I won't use pastry again to make sausage rolls, I will be using Farrah Wraps from now on.

The versatility of these wraps is endless and I used the wraps as a pizza base, and usually I am not a thin pizza base kinda gal, but sandwiched together with cheese as per the instructions in the cookbook is perfect and when cooked in the oven the pizza base is perfectly crisp and doesn't buckle under the pressure of the toppings! Even the edges of the wrap that wasn't covered with toppings and was exposed to the heat in the oven didn't break when I cut through it with a knife so the 'crust' of the pizza was perfectly in tact.

So all in all whether it is used fresh as a wrap or baked in the oven these wraps are just perfect,, they taste amazing, are so versatile, stay fresh for ages (not that they last long enough in my house!) because of the zip lock bag that they come in, I can open up the pack in the morning to make a wrap for my lunch, seal it up and use more wraps to eat with my dinner because they have stayed fresh all day!

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 25th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.5/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well it was Friday which is "kids night" in our house and the kids get to choose dinner. They chose wraps which is usually a selection of salad items i.e. grated cheese, grated carrot, thin sliced lettuce, tomato, avocado, sliced cucumber, sliced capsicum and ham, cold chicken or beef strips. My children absolutely love constructing their wraps but with the brands we usually have it can all get a bit messy with them completely falling apart.

I really had to laugh with these because we decided to use the Fire Roasted Pepper and the Premium White Wraps and the first thing Miss Six (a bit of an expert reviewer now...) had to say was "wow these wraps are really good. They don't fall apart and break like the ones you usually buy mum."!!! The next thing she said after having her first bite of the Fire Roasted Pepper wrap was "what is that taste... this tastes really funny... mum its really hot.... I don't like it!" I did a trade and the kids started on their White packet.

Hubby had heated the wraps in the microwave and we got to eat the packet of Fire Roasted Pepper between us. We both loved that they didn't fall apart. There was no cracking at all and they were a great basis for constructing the perfect wrap. They are a decent size so you can get a lot in and they folded really well. Taste wise they do have a bit of a chilli bite but it is pleasant and adds a really nice touch to the wrap. I normally don't like anything spicy but really liked this and it jazzed up my dinner.

I would definitely buy these again and because they last for 5 days after opening or can be frozen for three months hubby and I can just use these for ourselves over a few meals. I would definitely recommend these wraps for a good quality wrap that is a little different to the normal bland fare that I usually buy!

CLARIFICATION: The wraps can be stored at room temperature for up to 120 days as long as the packet has not been opened. After opening, they should be eaten within 7 days to ensure they are at their best, or may be frozen for extended storage.

Click here to read the profile of muffinmum

Review by: muffinmum (Emma)
Dated: 24th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had tried these wraps at a friends house and enjoyed them. I knew they were a touch on the spicy side and not suitable for my daughter and her lunch box. We like a bit of spice and eat many meals they would go well with. This time I baked them to make chips and made a couple of bowls to put them in.

They were actually made for a party where I was serving a meat chili and jacket potato, the chips were the perfect way to scoop up that last bit and they tasted very good. The only flavour I added was a light sprinkle of paprika for a little decoration. They didn't need it for taste. They held up well and didn't sag at all. The bowls also worked well and I was impressed that the bigger wrap also worked well and made a good size bowl.

I was really impressed as were all our visitors and I ended up showing them the packet and talking about Farrah Wraps and how impressed I was with the product.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 17th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

These were the last wraps of the eight that I go to review, mainly because I was trying to think what to make with it, and use it on a night where I wouldn't have to cook a separate meal from the children (as so far they all hate anything remotely spicy). I ended up using it in two different meals served to myself, my husband and my mother.

The first night that I used this I turned them into edible bowls, my favourite way to eat wraps now, and even though I got distracted multiple times, I still managed not to burn them. LOL Icon In this I used a nacho flavouring packet, a tin of tomatoes and a tin of casserole mince (a vegetarian tinned food), mixed all together and into the bowl it went. I then put a good dollop of sour cream on top, some grated cheese and then back into the oven to melt. The food was a little spicy and the wrap added a nice little zing to the meal, and it was great to break and dip.

The second night we went Indian. Again I went with bowls, had I had more time I would have gotten more inventive. I used a Tikka Masala sauce with vegetarian chicken, onion, potato and spinach. Popped it all in the bowl with a coleslaw on the side. These wraps added a great flavour to the meal, even better than our 'nacho' dish, making it a much tastier meal all around.

Despite my concerns about the spice level in these wraps they had the perfect amount of zing and flavour without going crazy. A great addition to the meal.

Click here to read the profile of tucker

Review by: tucker (Karl)
Dated: 12th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

After seeing these bowls on display at the Food Show in Auckland last year, I knew I just HAD to try them. My usual "edible bowl" choice is a hollowed-out cobb loaf - and I find that if I get them from the supermarket I *always* end up with at least one bowl leaking due to the bakers having to cram loaves on the baking tray... and when two loafs touch, you don't get a solid crust!

So... girding myself for potential spectacular failure, I made four bowls and set them aside for later. Quarter of an hour later and I had a hearty beef mince nachos ready to go. A couple of generous serving spoons into the bowl, and pause... no leakages, no visible weak spots... hey, this might just work! SO, pile in more mince, jam in chips, a handful of cheese and a quick trip through the microwave to melt the cheese... hang on... microwave... microwaves make tortillas SOFT! *PANIC!*

Nope, nothing to worry about! The bottom was a little more flexible than I would have liked, but it held shape just fine, and the nacho dinner was a hit! Mr12 loved the way he could snap off chunks of the bowl as he got the level of mince down, providing him with more 'taco chips' to scoop mince out with. My wife though they were just dinky and would be great fun-food servers for kids parties or something. I thought maybe as a serving dish for dip or salsa, where the dish could just be picked up and eaten once the contents were (mostly) gone.

Now, the downside... Timing is crucial... if you leave these in the oven too long, they go from 'crispy' to 'crumbles' in the span of a minute or less. You *MUST* pay close attention, and will probably still lose half a pack to experimentation. You must also be aware that each VARIETY of wrap will have a different 'sweet spot' of timing. BUT... If you pull them out too soon, they won't harden fully and a hot or wet filling will cause them to slump. I had to pop the third bowl back in the oven for another minute to fully crisp up and stay rigid.

The second course, for lunch the next day, was having these as pizza bases. I wasn't prepared for making pizzas, so had to improvise on a lot of the basic ingredients. For the base sauce I blended up some mustard pickle, some tomato puree, a pinch of freshly ground black pepper and sea salt, plus some dried herbs, finished off with a tiny bit of cornstarch as a thickener. Worked amazingly well.

Topping that with some shaved ham and a bit of left-over fried bacon, some thinly sliced capsicum and finely diced onion, a left-over choritzo sausage sliced then diced, and topped with regular colby cheddar cheese before being thrown into the oven at 200 degrees for 7-10 minutes or so. I wasn't timing really, just watching it until it looked just about droolworthy. The end result... so good, I promised to make another batch for everyone for dinner using another set of wraps, since we had finished these ones.

The bases are amazing! I loved the Roasted Pepper flavour, which came through in both meals well enough to be noticeable, but not so strong as to hamper or affect the food they contained. With the first pizza, I made the mistake of setting the oven to 'grill' which did great things for the pizza top, but left the base a little undercooked and 'limp', so knowing I could cope better than the kids, I ate that one myself. Oh, the hardship. Wink Icon However, for the rest, I had the oven on 'bake' which presented the heat from the bottom, ensuring the base was fully cooked by the time the toppings were, and gave a more sturdy hand-held eating experience for younger hands.

Overall, these were great, and I certainly hope to convince the local Pakkie's department head to get this, and other, varieties in as regular lines. I can easily imagine myself having these on the weekly grocery list in permanent marker. LOL Icon

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 11th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I love chilli and my eyes lit up when I saw Fire Roasted Pepper Wraps in my box of Farrah products to review. They were sure to be a hit with my husband too although I didn't tell him what variety of wrap I was serving up so I could get his unbiased opinion.

The first thing I did was to make the Pork and Herb Sausage Rolls from the Farrah's Kitchen recipe book. This was so easy and a great success with the whole family. This also showed us the kick of pepper in the wrap although it didn't stop Miss 3 and Miss 4.5 from eating them. It was also much healthier than it would have been using pastry. I also used them to make garlic roti but the taste of garlic drowned out the pepper put it was still very nice.

After trying eight different varieties of Farrah wraps the fire roasted pepper is definitely one of the top ones for me. Due to the strong flavour it isn't as versitile as some of the others but with this one you don't feel you need to add relish or anything else to your healthy fillings just for flavour.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 10th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Value for Money:
Score 10 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 10 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

When I opened these wraps the first thing I did was smell them, I was expecting them to be spicy so thought they might have that spicy smell to them. They didn't have much of a smell but they certianly had a lot of flavour. They weren't spicy as in hot like I had expected but you could taste spice and a sweetness of the peppers which was really nice.

We had burrito's for dinner with strips of beef and salad so used these wraps because I thought the pepper taste would go well with the spicy beef it was so good and we had no problems rolling the burrito's. The wraps really don't split or crack so it made the burrito experience more enjoyable as you weren't having all the contents falling out. I could also roll the burrito's nice and tight as it didn't matter how hard I tugged they didn't rip. I think the best thing was they were so soft and fresh without having to microwave them like you are required to do with the tortillas that come in the old el paso kits.

The other thing I did with the remaining couple of wraps was to cut them up into tortilla chips. I cut up the wraps and cooked them in the oven until crisp which we served with a hummus dip and they were so good. The kids really enjoyed them and I was happy letting them have addtional servings as they are so much healthier than potato chips or cheesy corn chips. I actually prefered them to packaged corn chips as they don't have all that powdered flavouring.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 10th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Value for Money:
Score 9 out of 10
Healthy:
Score 9 out of 10
Tasty:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I had a real Fire Roasted Pepper Wraps day today. I took the whole pack to work with me this morning and for lunch I warmed two of them in the microwave. Then I used them to wrap up my lunch. I had a beef stew thing with creamy potatoes on the side. The wrap added a bit extra to my plate and meant I didn't need to go to the vending machine later. I found the pepper taste and spice was there in the wrap but not too hot for me. Like all the wraps in the range, these rolled really easily and didn't split or break up as I was eating. Nothing leaked out as I was eating either.

For dinner tonight I did the same flavour wraps in three ways. Firstly I took two of the wraps and pricked them all over. I scattered some cheese on one and then placed the second one on top of the cheese. Then I spread some BBQ sauce, cheese and diced bacon on top. I grilled the pizza in the oven and then cut it into wedges. Everyone had a taste. My husband was raving about the base consistency (he loves pizzas with a crispy thin base), and my eldest daughter thought the pizza was really nice, but a bit hot. My baby ate her piece very happily.

When I ate my piece I noticed that the slight spice of the wrap was influenced by being cooked to crispy. They were much hotter. The next thing I did was make a little quiche. Using the bake tin, I pressed one wrap in. I blind baked it for about 5 minutes and then I poured some part cooked eggs, cheese and bacon mixture into the wrap. I then cooked it until it was cooked through in the oven. The quiche came out really nice and bacony. The heat from the peppers was definitely evident as well.

I was left with one wrap in the packet. With the last wrap I cut it into wedges and then used some chocolate spread on the wedges. I rolled them into chocolate pepper snails and offered my daughter one. She quickly claimed them all and ate almost every single one. I did manage to get one as did my husband. He wasn't too impressed but he doesn't like chocolate spread. I thought they made a good dessert and it was like chocolate and chilli really. Because of the heat I probably wouldn't buy this one again, but the wraps were still tasty and versatile.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.8
Product reviews for listing 3659: Anathoth Beetroot Chutney -  Produced by Anathoth

Product image for Anathoth Beetroot ChutneyBeetroot is the king of the root vegetables and this tasty chutney is a perfect balance of nutritious ingredients. Try with cheese, meats and salads.

    •  Gluten Free
    •  No preservatives
    •  No artificial colouring
    •  No artificial flavouring

430gm pottle

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Reality is what refuses to go away when I stop believing in it."
Philip K. Dick

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream