Welcome to KIWIreviews - product reviews
•  click here to return to the homepage  •
Welcome visitor.Join us or log in

Product reviews on KIWIreviews.co.nz : Tuesday 24th September 2019 - 21:08:21

QuickSearch for:    What is QuickSearch?
QuickJump to:    What is QuickJump?
logon name: p/w:  
I want to:

You Are Here...

Home > Categories > Food > Sugars and Sweeteners > Molasses Unrefined Cane Sugar review

« Light Muscovado Unrefined Cane Sugar reviewLight Muscovado Unrefined Cane Sugar2degrees review2degrees »

Score: 8.8/10  [8 reviews]
3 out of 5
ProdID: 4164 - Molasses Unrefined Cane Sugar
Brand / Manufacturer: Billingtons

Molasses Unrefined Cane Sugar
Price:
$4.00
Sample/s Supplied by:
Click to search for all products supplied by Billington

Disclosure StatementFULL DISCLOSURE: A number of units of this product have, at some time, been supplied to KIWIreviews by the company for the purposes of unbiased, independent reviews. No fee was accepted by KIWIreviews or the reviewers themselves - these are genuine, unpaid consumer reviews.
Available:
selected retailers

Molasses Unrefined Cane Sugar product reviews

The ultimate dark brown soft sugar

Molasses is the ultimate soft brown sugar, packed full of natural cane molasses and has the deepest colour and richest flavour of all sugars. Perfect for Christmas and dark chocolate cakes, mincemeat and is excellent in ethnic cooking, marinades and barbecue dishes

Check out Billington's onlineClick here to see all the listings for Billington's Visit their website Follow them on Twitter Check them out on Facebook They do not have a YouTube Channel They do not have a Pinterest board They do not have an Instagram channel



Tags:
baking   billingtons   cane   cooking   seasoning   sugar
Other listings you may be interested in:
Watties Bit on the Side - Onion MarmaladeWatties Bit on the Side - Onion Marmalade
Rating: 9.8
Light Muscovado Unrefined Cane SugarLight Muscovado Unrefined Cane Sugar
Rating: 9.4
Yatai Japanese IzakayaYatai Japanese Izakaya
Rating: 9.0
Chilli Peach ChutneyChilli Peach Chutney
Rating: 8.6
Uncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom RiceUncle Ben's Express Rice : Mushroom Rice
Rating: 9.1
Congestion ReliefCongestion Relief
Rating: 9.3
Dad's Pies - Butter ChickenDad's Pies - Butter Chicken
Rating: 8.6
RJs Fruity TwistersRJs Fruity Twisters
Rating: 9.1
Dark Muscovado Unrefined Cane SugarDark Muscovado Unrefined Cane Sugar
Rating: 9.0
Just EssenceJust Essence
Rating: 10.0
SpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/RubSpiceCraft Cajun Seasoning/Rub
Rating: 9.5
Villars Classic Swiss Milk Chocolate BarVillars Classic Swiss Milk Chocolate Bar
Rating: 9.5
Farrah's Wraps - Caramelised OnionFarrah's Wraps - Caramelised Onion
Rating: 9.5

Product reviews...

Everyone is welcome to post a review. You will need to Join up or log in to post yours.

Click here to read the profile of kiwigirl04

Review by: kiwigirl04 (Sharlene)
Dated: 5th of June, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 9 out of 10
Natural:
Score 9 out of 10
Versatility:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I was excited to be able to review this product, I have been looking for a Molasses for a while and have never come across, once I got it, I was told I needed the syrup one but though what the heck ill give the sugar a go instead. I used this in a mutligrain Gluten Free bread and it was used to react with the yeast which it did nicely making the bread rise a good amount. The bread was soft and yummy, nice and sweet.

I have also used this in shepards pie it changed the taste a little but noone else seems to noticed this and everyone ate it. I have found its a bit hard to dig out of the packet but once out its easy to use, mould etc. It smells good and gives things a darker rich taste.

I have no problems using this, but will save it for my breads I think, and possbily a marinate when I make another as this seems like it will do a great job with a bit of sweetness into it

Click here to read the profile of muffinmum

Review by: muffinmum (Emma)
Dated: 26th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 10/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Natural:
Score 10 out of 10
Versatility:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

I was lucky enough to be part of the sample group for this and two other Billington's sugars. As a home baker this made me very happy and kept me busy searching for what to do. This Billington's Molasses Sugar was the most versatile of all 3 sugars and I remember it being used in all sorts of recipes by grandparents. So, to start from the beginning-

The box alone makes me happy, I love a good illuminated letter. This product would grab my attention on a shelf and jog my memory that I must have this in my cupboard. I tried to carefully open the packet inside the box but it was bursting at the seems and the bag split. I wasn't too worried as it is the kind of product that is best stored properly any way. I tasted some of the contents that ended up on the counter and it wasn't something I would eat lots of but I could taste the depth of flavour and how it could develop into a good full flavour with the right ingredients.

My recipe searching ended up with this- www.foodlovers.co.nz/recipes/gingerbread-tray-bake.htmlClick out to an external site which made my life easier as it already stated it used the sugar. I followed the recipe to the letter and rubbed the sugar through the flour/spice sieved ingredients. I felt this would incorporate it more evenly. The mixture tasted wonderful, some did get baked.

The final result in this lovely cake is outstanding. I can taste the the richness of the sugar and the difference that using this sugar has produced. This is something I would recommend to any one who enjoys cooking and I look forward to trying it in savoury recipes.

Click here to read the profile of tessak

Review by: tessak (Tess)
Dated: 21st of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.3/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Natural:
Score 10 out of 10
Versatility:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 7 out of 10

When being selected by KIWIreviews to review products from their suppliers, the first thing I do before even receiving the products is to search out information and if the products are goodies like Billingtons Natural Cane Sugars, I also search out recipes.

I had been selected to review three of Billingtons products and I already had plans and recipes for two of them that I was looking forward to trying, but when it came to the Molasses I was initially a little stumped. Like many of the other reviewers, I grew up in an era where my mother would give us kids a teaspoon of molasses syrup and a teaspoon of malt...it was good for us apparently. I do not know if it was good for us or not, but what I do remember about molasses as a kid was not all that great LOL Icon

When the package arrived, and still unsure what I would be doing with it, I opened it and decided to try it as it was. It had a nice aroma to it, which surprised me. Definitely nicer than the muscovado that is for sure, hehe, and it was also jam packed into the little box which pleased me again. Furthermore it was not half bad in terms of flavour! This little box of sugar was turning out to be quite a surprise.

Unsure where to start, I made a coffee, lol, and thought I would try it in that...not half bad to be honest! But I still wasnt sure what to use it for so I popped it aside and went and made a marinade using the muscovado instead.

Since receiving I have used this regularly in my coffee, but last night I decided to try it in some fudge, it mixed in well, and gave the fudge a nice creamy look. Unfortunately the fudge did not set fully, but the flavour was lovely and the kids really enjoyed too, my mother however was not such a great fan LOL Icon so guess she now knows how I felt as a kid.

A lovely soft sugar, that with some more research I'm sure would become used often in my home.

Click here to read the profile of sweetpea

Review by: sweetpea (Sarah)
Dated: 15th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.3/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Natural:
Score 10 out of 10
Versatility:
Score 7 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 10 out of 10

Well molasses is certainly an acquired taste and I have had several unopened tins of molasses in the cupboard that have been chucked over the years as I just can't get over memories of being made to drink a tablespoon a day when young! Thankfully the sugar is nicer than the syrup but Molasses is molasses after all so this is a very strong tasting sugar.

The box is brilliant and this is a very dense and moist sugar so packs down. I like that I can just stack these boxes easily in my pantry however the inner plastic is very thin and tore very easily and is not re-sealable so really the sugars need to be transferred to another container. I would love for the bags to be able to be closed after use.

I used this (just a couple of teaspoons) in my steak marinade and liked the taste. I also used it tonight in an apple and feijoa crumble but not sure I would do that again. There are a few recipes on the Billington's website that I want to try so will get a chance to use this more down the track but in the meantime have only used it in the Molasses bread. That was nice and I would make it again. However it is telling that even the Billingtons recipes only call for a small amount to be used each time so this is a product that I would use but in very small quantities over a long period of time.

I am not sure I would buy this mainly because I think this box will last me a long time. If I did want to buy Molasses as a sugar then this would be one I would buy however, as the taste is really rich and amazing. If you wanted a Molasses sugar then I would recommend that you tried this.

Click here to read the profile of mizim

Review by: mizim (Miriam)
Dated: 13th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.0/10
Price:
Score 7 out of 10
Natural:
Score 8 out of 10
Versatility:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I wasn't too sure what to use this for, but I like molasses and I like sugar so I knew that I could find something easily enough. It comes hard packed into a plastic bag in a small box, which while great for space, did make it a little hard to measure out the amounts that I needed.

I decided to try this in my cup of tea first and I found that I only needed 2 teaspoons of it for it to have a great taste (I'm usually a 3 teaspoon kind of person), so I used this in my tea about four times, and hubby did too. At the end of my packet I needed a Lemsip so I decided to try this in it and it made it taste really nice, that alone would have me getting this again.

Given the cold weather lately and not always feeling 100% recently I have made a porridge and fruit mixture in the crock pot a few times overnight, and I used 1/4 cup worth of the molasses sugar in it twice, having used brown sugar the first time, and it added a nice enough flavour to the oats.

My last big use with the sugar was to make a bbq marinade sauce for my dinner. I soaked my vegetarian "beef" in it for half a day and then chucked it in the frying pan. While that was doing it's thing I also had roast potato in the oven, which I had coated in the bbq sauce. It added a really nice, subtle flavour to the potatoes, and as for the "beef" it had a really nice, delicious, sticky coat to it.

I really liked this sugar, in fact so much so that I've eaten probably about 1 cups worth straight out of the packet... Will be buying this again without a doubt.

Click here to read the profile of kymmage

Review by: kymmage (Kym)
Dated: 13th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Natural:
Score 9 out of 10
Versatility:
Score 10 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When I first got these sugars, I remember thinking "What am I going to do with molasses?" I knew I'd come up with something, but I was not confident that would use a whole lot of it. I have tried black strap molasses liquid in the past, and while it has reminded me of malt the taste is much too nasty for me to enjoy. I can't even describe the bitter tangy sourness that I don't like. It's just too much and not sweet like malt.

However, I am a breastfeeding mother and people recommend molasses to me all the time for boosting milk supply. So I have been adding this to my morning coffee, and eating a spoonful on my porridge too. The box has been steadily decreasing in weight because I love the taste of this granulated molasses. I would probably eat it by the spoonful and I love the chocolatey colour of it too.

I'm not sure it has boosted my supply too much, but I'm sure it's adding to the goodness I do produce. As a pumping mother and with a goal to keep going for at least another 6 months I will try anything.

Aside from just eating this straight, I also made a honey molasses chicken dinner the other night and that was delicious. I mixed the honey, with the molasses, vinegar, garlic, and tomato sauce amongst other things. I marinated the chicken in the sauce and then basted the drumsticks I had while they baked. The result was delicious roasted chicken pieces with a sweet coating on the skin. Even my fussy daughter ate both her drumsticks happily. She would usually reject anything not "plain".

I also made a molasses BBQ sauce, this time with the Matakana Moonshine, tomato sauce and a few spices from my kitchen. My husband was quite impressed and we had that on chicken nuggets. I liked that I was being creative in a savoury way, as I usually bake cupcakes and cookies. I do still have a lot more of this sugar than the other two, but I'm definitely getting through it!

Click here to read the profile of jopukeko

Review by: jopukeko (Jo)
Dated: 12th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 8.8/10
Price:
Score 8 out of 10
Natural:
Score 10 out of 10
Versatility:
Score 9 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

I always thought molasses was a liquid, like a rich golden syrup. It was not something I had used before and the odd time I had come across it in a recipe I had simply substituted golden syrup and it had turned out OK. I was surprised to find that the Billington's Molasses was granulated and looked like a very dark brown sugar. It had a very strong smell and taste to it too.

I could tell by the packaging that it was a quality product. The box was very simple but classy with a window showing the contents. The only thing I would have changed would have been to make the bag resealable as I have had to transfer it into a container and label it to differentiate it from the other Billington products I have.

I used the molasses along with Billington's light Muscovado to make gingerbread men. It was so easy to make and it was the best tasting recipe I have made, both the dough and cooked biscuit. The children that helped me make it agreed too as they ate the whole biscuit rather than eating the decorations. They also told me that the dough looked like chocolate as soon as I added the molasses because of the dark colour.

As I am the baker in the household and my husband cooks the meal I can see that the molasses will enrich the marinades he makes especially as he usually grabs everything dark from the pantry to make it. The strong sweet caramel flavour will complement the soya sauce and whatever else he adds.

Of the three Billington products I have been given this is the one that I am least likely to buy again simply because the others suit our style of cooking more.

Click here to read the profile of samantha203

Review by: samantha203 (Samantha)
Dated: 10th of May, 2013

Link to this review Report this review

 

This Review: 9.0/10
Price:
Score 10 out of 10
Natural:
Score 10 out of 10
Versatility:
Score 8 out of 10
Personal Choice:
Score 8 out of 10

When the call came out for reviewers for this I was really reluctant at first because I have tried blackstrap molasses in the syrup form and really didn't like it. My midwife had recommend it as a iron source when I was pregnant and on it's own or even in food I didn't like the flavour.

The first thing I noticed was how cool the packaging is. The box is so simple and elegant and I think it would look good out on display on the shelf. When I opened up the box I could definitely smell the molasses with it's strong licorice scent. I like the smell I just don't like the taste. I tried a bit on my finger and didn't like it as a sugar on it's own it doesn't have much sweetness to it at all I found it really bitter. However when baking with it it doesn't leave the bad taste in the baking.

I used this to make a rich fruit cake and the fruit cake came out with such an intense flavour that I really liked it. When mixing the cake the mixture was so dark with the molasses added and the baked cake has a real dark colour to it too. Mixed with all the spices and the fruit the molasses is really sweet and I think helped to make the richness in this fruit cake. The cake certainly didn't have that licorice molasses taste so have definitely found a way that I can enjoy it.

Guest comments...

Random listing from 'Food'...

Score: 9.3
Product reviews for listing 6186: Mrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Thai Seasoning -  Brand / Manufacturer : Mrs Rogers

Product image for Mrs Rogers Eco-Pack - Thai SeasoningZesty flavours, aromatic spices and a hint of chilli. Add liberally to Thai inspired stir-fry, rice dish or BBQ meats and veges. Sprinkle over chicken before grilling or BBQ and serve on coconut rice with a squeeze of lime juice and fresh coriander leaves.

Go to the listing

General Disclaimer...

Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker - Do not copy content from this page. Creative Commons Licence All trademarks, images and copyrights on this site are owned by their respective companies.
KIWIreviews is an independent entity, part of the ePLURIBUS.nz Network. This is a free public forum presenting user opinions on selected products, and as such the views expressed do not necessarily reflect the opinion of KIWIreviews.co.nz and are protected under New Zealand law by the "Honest Opinion" clause of the Defamation Act of 1992. KIWIreviews accepts no liability for statements made on this site, under the assumption that they are the true and honest opinions of the individual posters. In most cases, prices and dates stated are approximate and should be considered as only guidelines.

"Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, 'I think I'll squeeze these pink dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?'"
unattributed

KIWIreviews Help GuideClick here for the Help Guide Subscribe to our Twitter streamVisit our
Twitter feed
Visit our Facebook pageVisit our
Facebook page
Visit our YouTube ChannelVisit our
YouTube channel
Follow us on instagramVisit our
Instagram album
Visit our Google+ pageVisit our
Google+ page
Visit our Flickr photostreamVisit our
Flickr photostream